DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/868,619 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim recites all of the limitations of the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/877,806 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim recites all of the limitations of the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/580,877 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim recites all of the limitations of the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “beads” in claim 12 is used by the claim to mean “beams,” while the accepted meaning is “small rounded pieces of material.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. It is unclear how element 500 of the instant specification can be considered “beads” when they appear to be columns or beams in the instant Drawings.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 simply recites a battery pack in the preamble that comprises the module and nothing else. There is no patentable distinction between the pack and the module absent additional claimed features. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon (US 2018/0254444 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Yoon discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one battery cell B (paragraph 47); a module unit 110 containing a unit module frame 111/112 surrounding the cell B, a side surface of the unit module frame 111/112 having a recessed part (recessed areas between elements 115e in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon discloses a gas discharge port 133 extending through a surface 130 of the unit module frame 111/112 at the recessed part (see Figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, It should be noted that the partial region is not defined and is therefore arbitrary in size and shape. The Office considers the region depicted in Figure 10 of surface 130 where the port 133 is located to be the partial region in Yoon.
Regarding claim 4, Yoon discloses an electrode lead 124 extending from the cells and adjacent the port 133 (see Figure 10).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon discloses that the recess is towards the cells (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon discloses that the recessed side of the frame and the side of the cell are parallel (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon discloses that the module unit is a first module unit, the battery module further comprising a second module unit stacked with the first module unit, the recessed part forms a space part between the first and second module (see Figure 10).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon discloses that the gas discharge port is fluid communication with the space part (paragraphs 84-86).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon discloses that the unit module frame comprises protrusions that protrudes 115e from the at least one battery cell relative to the recessed part, unit module frame of the second module unit has protrusions 115e, and protrusions 115e of the and second module units contact with each other (see figure 10).
Regarding claim 10, Yoon discloses that the first and second module units are coupled to one another by a coupling member 140 (paragraph 84).
Regarding claim 14, Yoon discloses that the bottom of the unit module frame is aluminum for its high heat conductivity so as to dissipate heat (paragraph 57) and the use of polymer resin with the aluminum (paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 16, Yoon discloses that coupling members 140 are located at the protrusions 115e (see Figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon as applied to claims 10 and 7 above, and further in view of Schaefer (US 2014/0113171 A1).
Yoon does not disclose straps or reinforcement “beads” (see USC 112 rejection above) but does disclose the importance of heat dissipation (paragraph 7). Schaefer—in an invention for a battery cell stack housing—discloses the use of tension bands 8 that surrounds the cells for reinforcement that are made of thermally conductive material so as to convey excess heat away from the cells (paragraph 111). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add the thermally conductive straps to stack of Yoon so as to reinforcement the structure of the device while also keeping the cells cooler as suggested by Schaefer.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725