DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In the preliminary amendment filed July 28, 2023, Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7. Claims 11 and 12 were added. Claims 1-12 are pending in the current application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) received on July 28, 2023, December 9, 2024, and December 23, 2024 has been considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (WO 2021/085911 A1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US 2022/0123429 A1) (refer to US version for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses a battery rack, comprising:
a plurality of battery modules, each battery module of the plurality of battery modules including at least one battery cell, wherein each battery module has at least one venting hole (Figs. 5, 7 and 9; Paragraphs [0036]: a battery module 10 may include a battery cell 100, a module case 200, a cooling air supply unit 300, a cooling air discharge unit 400, a venting opening 500, and [0073]: a rack case 50 for accommodating the plurality of battery modules 10);
a rack case accommodating the plurality of battery modules (Fig. 9; Paragraph [0073]: a rack case 50 for accommodating the plurality of battery modules 10); and
a plurality of support brackets disposed in the rack case such that each support bracket of the plurality of support brackets supports a respective battery module of the plurality of battery modules and is in communication with the at least one venting hole of the respective battery module (Fig. 7; Paragraphs [0054]: Each of the plurality of blocking brackets 700 may include a bracket base 710 and a bracket block 730, [0055]: The bracket base 710 may be mounted to the inner walls at both sides of the module case 200. The bracket base 710 may be fixed to the module case 200 by welding or screwing at the inner walls at both sides of the module case 200, and [0056]: The bracket block 730 extends from the bracket base and may be disposed to be spaced apart from the venting opening 500 and the sheet member 600 by a predetermined distance. The bracket block 730 may be provided to have a size for covering the venting opening ).
Regarding claim 2, Yoo discloses the battery rack according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of support brackets includes a guide channel to guide a flow route of vent gas vented from the at least one venting hole of the respective battery module (Fig. 7; Paragraph [0067]: the blocking bracket 700 is disposed between the battery cells 100 and the venting opening 500, it is possible to effectively prevent the flame F from being leaked out of the venting opening 500, by means of the blocking bracket 700).
Regarding claim 11, Yoo discloses the battery rack according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of support brackets includes a main body having a guide channel and an auxiliary body extending upwards from the main body (Figs. 4 and 7; Paragraph [0054]: Each of the plurality of blocking brackets 700 may include a bracket base 710 and a bracket block 730 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US 2022/0123429 A1) in view of Lindstrom et al. (US 2019/0140235 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo discloses the battery rack according to claim 2.
Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the rack case includes a venting channel in communication with the guide channels of the plurality of support brackets.
Lindstrom teaches:
wherein the rack case includes a venting channel in communication with the guide channels of the plurality of support brackets (Paragraph [0025]: The thermal runaway gas inlets 26 fluidly couple with the battery module vent ports 14 when the battery module 12 is docked in the rack assembly, and the thermal runaway gas channel 24 defines a thermal runaway gas pathway).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo to disclose wherein the rack case includes a venting channel in communication with the guide channels of the plurality of support brackets as taught by Lindstrom. Yoo discloses a rack case for accommodating the plurality of battery modules (Yoo Paragraph [0073]). Using rack assembly of Lindstrom would ensure that the cooling air pathway and thermal runaway gas pathway are physically separated, thereby minimizing the risk of the thermal runaway gas substantially mixing with cooling air thereby potentially resulting in a spontaneous ignition and an explosion (Lindstrom Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo discloses the battery rack according to claim 2.
Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each of the guide channels includes at least one guide hole in communication with the at least one venting hole of the respective battery module.
Lindstrom teaches:
wherein each of the guide channels includes at least one guide hole in communication with the at least one venting hole of the respective battery module (Paragraph [0025]: The manifold 18 is also provided with a thermal runaway gas channel 24 with thermal runaway gas inlets 26 that each couple to a respective vent port 14 of a battery module 12, and which direct thermal runaway gases vented from the battery module 12 via its vent ports 14 into the thermal runaway channel 24, through an outlet at the top of the frame 17, and away from the system ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo to disclose wherein each of the guide channels includes at least one guide hole in communication with the at least one venting hole of the respective battery module as taught by Lindstrom. Yoo discloses a rack case for accommodating the plurality of battery modules (Yoo Paragraph [0073]). Using rack assembly of Lindstrom would ensure that the cooling air pathway and thermal runaway gas pathway are physically separated, thereby minimizing the risk of the thermal runaway gas substantially mixing with cooling air thereby potentially resulting in a spontaneous ignition and an explosion (Lindstrom Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
the battery rack according to claim 4, wherein the at least one guide hole is disposed at a location corresponding to the at least one venting hole when each battery module is mounted on a respective one of the plurality of support brackets.
Lindstrom teaches:
the battery rack according to claim 4, wherein the at least one guide hole is disposed at a location corresponding to the at least one venting hole when each battery module is mounted on a respective one of the plurality of support brackets (Paragraph [0032]: wherein the power and communication couplings 42 and thermal runaway gas inlets 26 of the manifold 25 matingly engage with the respective external power connection ports 38, signal connection ports 40 and vent ports 14 of the battery modules 12. In particular, each thermal runaway gas inlet 26 and associated vent port 14 form a substantially fluid tight seal ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo to disclose the battery rack according to claim 4, wherein the at least one guide hole is disposed at a location corresponding to the at least one venting hole when each battery module is mounted on a respective one of the plurality of support brackets as taught by Lindstrom. Yoo discloses a rack case for accommodating the plurality of battery modules (Yoo Paragraph [0073]). Using rack assembly of Lindstrom would ensure that the cooling air pathway and thermal runaway gas pathway are physically separated, thereby minimizing the risk of the thermal runaway gas substantially mixing with cooling air thereby potentially resulting in a spontaneous ignition and an explosion (Lindstrom Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Yoo discloses the battery rack according to claim 1.
Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of battery modules is stacked on top of each other along a vertical direction of the rack case, and wherein the plurality of support brackets is disposed between the plurality of battery modules in the vertical direction of the rack case.
Lindstrom teaches:
wherein the plurality of battery modules is stacked on top of each other along a vertical direction of the rack case, and wherein the plurality of support brackets is disposed between the plurality of battery modules in the vertical direction of the rack case (Figs. 3 and 4: couplings 42 (i.e., support brackets) in vertical direction, Paragraph [0033]:The width of the frame 17 is selected so that there is a lateral space between each side of the battery module 12 and the respective frame side wall when the battery module 12 is mounted in the frame 17 and docked with the manifold 18; further, the height of each battery compartment is selected so that there is vertical space in between adjacent battery modules 12 when the battery modules 12 are mounted in the frame).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo to disclose wherein the plurality of battery modules is stacked on top of each other along a vertical direction of the rack case, and wherein the plurality of support brackets is disposed between the plurality of battery modules in the vertical direction of the rack case as taught by Lindstrom. Yoo discloses a rack case for accommodating the plurality of battery modules (Yoo Paragraph [0073]). Using rack assembly of Lindstrom would ensure that the cooling air pathway and thermal runaway gas pathway are physically separated, thereby minimizing the risk of the thermal runaway gas substantially mixing with cooling air thereby potentially resulting in a spontaneous ignition and an explosion (Lindstrom Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
an energy storage system comprising at least one battery rack according to claim 1
Lindstrom teaches:
an energy storage system comprising at least one battery rack according to claim 1 (Fig. 2b: Paragraph [0026]: The bottom surface of the enclosure comprises a heat exchanger 41 that is in thermal communication with the energy cells 32; the heat exchanger 41 comprises multiple heat exchange fins that extend along the length of the battery module enclosure 30 ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo to disclose an energy storage system comprising at least one battery rack according to claim 1 as taught by Lindstrom. Yoo discloses a rack case for accommodating the plurality of battery modules (Yoo Paragraph [0073]). Using rack assembly of Lindstrom would ensure that the cooling air pathway and thermal runaway gas pathway are physically separated, thereby minimizing the risk of the thermal runaway gas substantially mixing with cooling air thereby potentially resulting in a spontaneous ignition and an explosion (Lindstrom Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Yoo discloses the battery rack according to claim 11.
Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the rack case has a venting channel, and wherein the guide channel is in fluid communication with the venting channel and the respective one of the plurality of battery modules.
Lindstrom teaches:
wherein the rack case has a venting channel, and wherein the guide channel is in fluid communication with the venting channel and the respective one of the plurality of battery modules (Paragraph [0025]: The thermal runaway gas inlets 26 fluidly couple with the battery module vent ports 14 when the battery module 12 is docked in the rack assembly, and the thermal runaway gas channel 24 defines a thermal runaway gas pathway).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo to disclose wherein the rack case has a venting channel, and wherein the guide channel is in fluid communication with the venting channel and the respective one of the plurality of battery modules as taught by Lindstrom. Yoo discloses a rack case for accommodating the plurality of battery modules (Yoo Paragraph [0073]). Using rack assembly of Lindstrom would ensure that the cooling air pathway and thermal runaway gas pathway are physically separated, thereby minimizing the risk of the thermal runaway gas substantially mixing with cooling air thereby potentially resulting in a spontaneous ignition and an explosion (Lindstrom Abstract).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US 2022/0123429 A1) in view of Lindstrom et al. (US 2019/0140235 A1) in further view of Lee (WO 2020/075962 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, discloses the battery rack according to claim 4.
Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a barrier membrane is disposed in the at least one guide hole to open or close the at least one guide hole according to a predetermined temperature.
Lee teaches:
the battery rack according to claim 4, wherein a barrier membrane is disposed in the at least one guide hole to open or close the at least one guide hole according to a predetermined temperature (Pg. 5: The pair of film members 500 seals at least one of the plurality of openings 500 at a predetermined temperature or less, and in the present embodiment, seals all the plurality of openings 500 and melts at a predetermined temperature or more, and the plurality of openings 500) .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, to disclose wherein a barrier membrane is disposed in the at least one guide hole to open or close the at least one guide hole according to a predetermined temperature as taught by Lee. Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, discloses one or more battery modules mounted in a rack assembly has a structure which defines a cooling air pathway for flowing cooling air across the side and/or bottom of each battery module thereby cooling the battery module, or alternatively, across the energy calls in the battery module (Lindstrom Abstract). Using the barrier membranes of Lee would provide faster discharge of hot gas and flame when there is high temperature in a battery module due to abnormal heat generation, thereby preventing explosion of the battery module.
Regarding claim 7, Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, does not explicitly disclose:
the battery rack according to claim 6, wherein the barrier membrane melts or tears above the predetermined temperature to make the at least one guide hole and the at least one venting hole communicate with each other.
Lee teaches:
the battery rack according to claim 6, wherein the barrier membrane melts or tears above the predetermined temperature to make the at least one guide hole and the at least one venting hole communicate with each other (Pg. 6: When such a mesh-shaped opening 600, and also, such as the abnormal thermal runaway, occurs, it is exposed to the outside through the melting film member 500 while the high temperature gas and flame inside the module case 200. It can be discharged more quickly).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, to disclose wherein the barrier membrane melts or tears above the predetermined temperature to make the at least one guide hole and the at least one venting hole communicate with each other as taught by Lee. Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, discloses one or more battery modules mounted in a rack assembly has a structure which defines a cooling air pathway for flowing cooling air across the side and/or bottom of each battery module thereby cooling the battery module, or alternatively, across the energy calls in the battery module (Lindstrom Abstract). Using the barrier membranes of Lee would provide faster discharge of hot gas and flame when there is high temperature in a battery module due to abnormal heat generation, thereby preventing explosion of the battery module.
Regarding claim 8, Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, does not explicitly disclose:
the battery rack according to claim 6, wherein the barrier membrane is a plastic membrane having a predetermined thickness.
Lee teaches:
the battery rack according to claim 6, wherein the barrier membrane is a plastic membrane having a predetermined thickness (Pg. 5: The pair of film members 500 may have a size capable of covering all of the plurality of openings 400 provided on each side of the module case).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, to disclose wherein the barrier membrane is a plastic membrane having a predetermined thickness as taught by Lee. Yoo, in view of Lindstrom, discloses one or more battery modules mounted in a rack assembly has a structure which defines a cooling air pathway for flowing cooling air across the side and/or bottom of each battery module thereby cooling the battery module, or alternatively, across the energy calls in the battery module (Lindstrom Abstract). Using the barrier membranes of Lee would provide faster discharge of hot gas and flame when there is high temperature in a battery module due to abnormal heat generation, thereby preventing explosion of the battery module.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fukushima et al. (WO 2016/205663 A1) discloses supports frames that are disposed on the four edges of the battery rack to hold the battery modules together; The support frames 2840 are mechanically coupled to the battery modules 2850 via a plurality of bolts (Paragraph [1234]). However, the support frames do not include guide channels. The frames are only used to support the battery rack structure and plurality of battery modules.
/CHINYERE MPAMUGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685