DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are currently pending
Claims 13-20 are currently withdrawn from consideration
Claims 3-4, 6, 8-10 and 12 are currently amended
Claims 1-12 are currently rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 12/06/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Election/Restrictions
During a telephone conversation with Attorney Joshua A. Crawford, Reg. No. 72,137, on March 25th, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-12. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Specification
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract needs to be on a separate page. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 state “the filter”. Does Applicant intend to recite “the integrated filter” instead? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “of any of claim 1,” and instead should state “of claim 1,” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 2 states “the filter”. Does Applicant intend to recite “the integrated filter” instead? Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 states “wherein a length is measured” and instead should state “wherein the length is measured” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 3 states “the filter”. Does Applicant intend to recite “the integrated filter” instead? Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 states “the filter”. Does Applicant intend to recite “the integrated filter” instead? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 2 and 3 each state “the filter”. Does Applicant intend to each recite “the integrated filter” instead? Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “the filter”. Does Applicant intend to recite “the integrated filter” instead? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 states “the filter”. Does Applicant intend to recite “the integrated filter” instead? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “the filter”. Does Applicant intend to recite “the integrated filter” instead? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wherein the first coupling fitting is configured to connect” on line 2 of claim 4, and “the gripping protrusion configured to allow” on line 3 of claim 9.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a filter” on line 8. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘an integrated filter,’ as recited on line 1 of claim 1, or a different filter? Claims 2-12 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the check valve,” on line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the convex portion towards the connection portion.” on line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 7-8 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 6.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the convex portion,” on line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the connection portion towards the convex portion.” on lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 11 is also rejected since this claim depends on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG XIONGGUO et al. (CN 205781113 U) (hereinafter “Zheng”) (see attached English description).
Regarding Claim 1:
Zheng teaches an inlet hose assembly having an integrated filter (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22), the faucet inlet hose assembly comprising:
a hose comprising a first hose end and a second hose end (see FIG. 1, a pipe body 10 further including outlet heads 11 at each end of the pipe 10) (see paragraphs 7, 16 and 19);
a first coupling fitting, wherein the first hose end terminates at the first coupling fitting (see FIG. 1, a clamping clamp 13) (see paragraphs 7, 16 and 19);
a second coupling fitting, wherein the second hose end terminates at the second coupling fitting (see FIG. 1, a clamping clamp 13) (see paragraphs 7, 16 and 19);
a hose connector connected to the first hose end (see FIG. 1, a connecting nut 12) (see paragraphs 2, 6, 7, 16 and 19); and
a filter at least partially within the first coupling fitting and coupled to the hose connector (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see paragraphs 7, 16 and 19).
Although Zheng teaches an inlet hose assembly (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22), one may broadly interpret that Zheng does not explicitly teach a faucet inlet hose assembly, as recited in the preamble of independent claim 1. However, this claim limitation is in the preamble and it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the inlet hose assembly of Zheng to be capable and configured to be used and attached to a faucet for optimization purposes and to effectively remove contaminants and particles from a faucet stream (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 2:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 1, wherein the first coupling fitting comprises a check valve, a nut, and the hose connector (see FIG. 1, a clamping clamp 13 and the connecting nut 12) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 16 and 19).
Regarding Claim 3:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises a convex portion and a connection portion, and the convex portion extends away from the first hose end (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 4:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 1, wherein the first coupling fitting is configured to connect to a water source (see FIG. 1, a clamping clamp 13) (see paragraphs 4-5, 7, 16 and 19).
Regarding Claim 5:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 3, wherein the connection portion comprises a fitting that removably connects to the check valve, and the fitting comprises a snap fitting (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 6:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises a plurality of channels, wherein each channel of the plurality of channels extends from the convex portion towards the connection portion (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 7:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 6, wherein a length of a first channel of the plurality of channels is greater than a length of a second channel of the plurality of channels, wherein a length is measured along a surface of the filter extending from the convex portion to the connection portion (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding the claim limitation ‘a length of a first channel of the plurality of channels is greater than a length of a second channel of the plurality of channels’, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the inlet hose assembly of Zheng to be configured to have this specific length configuration for optimization purposes and to effectively remove contaminants and particles from a faucet stream (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 8:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 6, wherein a length of each channel of the plurality of channels extends from about 50% to about 80% of a total distance measured along an exterior surface of the filter extending from a center of the convex portion to a bottommost location of the connection portion (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding the claim limitation ‘a length of each channel of the plurality of channels extends from about 50% to about 80% of a total distance’, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the inlet hose assembly of Zheng to be configured to have this specific length configuration for optimization purposes and to effectively remove contaminants and particles from a faucet stream (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 9:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises a gripping protrusion extending from a center of the convex portion, the gripping protrusion configured to allow a tool to grip the filter (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 10:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises a plurality of cut-outs extending from the connection portion towards the convex portion (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 11:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 10, wherein each cut-out of the plurality of cut-outs extends from about 50% to about 80% of a total distance measured along an exterior surface of the filter extending from a center of the convex portion to a bottommost location of the connection portion (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding the claim limitation ‘wherein each cut-out of the plurality of cut-outs extends from about 50% to about 80% of a total distance’, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the inlet hose assembly of Zheng to be configured to have this specific length configuration for optimization purposes and to effectively remove contaminants and particles from a faucet stream (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Regarding Claim 12:
Zheng teaches the faucet inlet hose assembly of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises one or more of a metal such as stainless steel, aluminum, or brass; a thermoplastic such as polyamide, acrylic, polycarbonate, polyoxymethylene, polyester, polystyrene, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyurethane, polyphenylene sulfite, polyphenylene oxide, polysulfone, polyphthalamide, combinations thereof or copolymers thereof; or an elastomer such as acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene or silicone rubber (Examiner’s note: these claim limitations are in an alternative form and therefore only one has to occur) (see FIG. 1, whole structure further including a filter 30) (see FIG. 3, a filter 30) (see FIGS. 2-3, valve 20, nut 12 and/or sealing gaskets 21, positioning grooves 22, and positioning rings 23) (see paragraphs 7, 10-11, 16, 19 and 22).
Other References Considered
Cronley (U.S. 2004/0164547 A1) (hereinafter “Cronley”) teaches a quick-connecting coupler for hoses, pipes and faucets.
FIACK THOMAS et al. (WO 2014/202133 A1) (hereinafter “Fiack”) teaches a suction hose fitting.
Howard et al. (U.S. 2008/0272590 A1) (hereinafter “Howard”) teaches a reusable fitting, connector assembly and kit.
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773