DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on January 29, 2021.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on July 28, 2023.
Claims 1 – 10 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on July 28, 2023 and November 11, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because under CFR 1.84(u), “Where only a single view is
used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation “FIG.” must not appear.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because in accordance with the drawing objection presented above, all mentions to FIG. 1 should be deleted and instead replaced with the words “the
FIGURE.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim (KR20130124775A, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1 – 3, 5, 7, 9 and 10, Kim teaches:
An organic electroluminescent device, comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic material layer formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic electroluminescent material has a host, wherein the host is one or more compounds represented by Formula 1
(In Example 9, as shown in Table 2, a device is provided with the structure as described in [0318 – 0322] of substrate/anode/HIL/HTL/EML/ETL/EIL/cathode.” The emission layer contains Mat-22
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein A is selected from an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms; L1 and L2 are each a single bond; n1 is 1; R is hydrogen; n is 9; R2 is a substituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms, wherein the substituents are deuterium as required by claim 7. This compound has a molecular weight of 533 as required by claim 5.)
Wherein the composition further comprises at least one dopant (As described in [0322], compound C-545T is provided as a dopant.)
Regarding the limitations “wherein the organic material layer is formed using a composition having an organic electroluminescent material and a solvent,” “wherein the solvent includes at least one of a chlorine-based solvent, an ether-based solvent, an aromatic solvent, an aliphatic solvent, a ketone-based solvent, an ester-based solvent, and alcohol-based solvent, an amide-based solvent, and a benzoate-based solvent,” and “wherein the organic material layer is formed by any one of spin coating, dip coating, doctor blade coating, spray coating, roll coating, inkjet printing, and screen printing” in claims 1, 3 and 10, Examiner notes that the limitations are product by process limitations. While the Example of Kim is formed using vaccumm deposition ([0322]), it is Examiner's position that the article of the applied prior art is identical to or only slightly different than the claimed article. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden has been shifted to Applicant to show unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The applied prior art either anticipated or strongly suggested the claimed subject matter. It is noted that if Applicant intends to rely on Examples in the specification or in a submitted declaration to show unobviousness, Applicant should clearly state how the Examples of the present invention are commensurate in scope with the claims and how the Comparative Examples are commensurate in scope with the applied prior art.
As per claim 4, Kim is silent with respect to the solubility of Mat-22. However, because Kim teaches substantially the same structure as claimed by Applicant, and because the claim does not require a solubility in any specific solvent, the property of solubility in solvent is considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 2 (US20180130951A1).
As per claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8, Kim 2 teaches:
An organic electroluminescent device, comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic material layer formed between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0022]: “Another aspect provides a method of manufacturing an organic light-emitting device, the method including forming an organic layer that is disposed between a first electrode and a second electrode and includes an emission layer, wherein the forming of the organic layer includes performing a solution process using the ink composition.”)
Wherein the organic material layer is formed using a composition having an organic electroluminescent material and a solvent (Abstract: “The ink composition contains a compound represented by Formula 1, an amine-based compound, and a polar solvent:
.”)
Wherein the organic electroluminescent material has a host, wherein the host is one or more compounds represented by Formula 1
(In [0053], Kim teaches that the compound represented by Formula 1 may be selected from compound 20
. Compound 20 reads on the claimed Formula wherein A is selected from an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms; L1 and L2 are each a single bond; n1 is 1; R is hydrogen; n is 9; R2 and R6 are both an unsubstituted alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms, as required by claim 6. This compound has a molecular weight of 566 as required by claim 5 and is the same as compound 49 in claim 8
.)
Kim 2 does not teach a specific device formed from Compound 20, but Kim 2 teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Kim 2 as Kim 2. demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 3, Kim 2 teaches:
Wherein the solvent includes at least one of … a benzoate-based solvent ([0108]: “In one embodiment, the polar solvent may be selected from a methyl benzoate, an ethyl benzoate, an n-propyl benzoate, an iso-propyl benzoate, and a t-butyl benzoate.”)
As per claim 4, Kim 2 teaches:
Wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 has a solubility in the solvent of 0.1 wt% to 50 wt% ([0109]: “In one embodiment, a solubility of the compound represented by Formula 1 in the polar solvent may be in a range of about 1% to about 10%.”)
As per claim 7, another representative compound taught by Kim 2 is Compound 19
, which contains the claimed deuterium.
As per claim 9, Kim 2 teaches:
Wherein the composition further comprises at least one dopant ([0116]: “In one embodiment, the emission layer includes a host and a dopant, the host may include a compound represented by Formula 1, and the dopant may include a compound represented by Formula 2.”)
As per claim 10, Kim 2 teaches:
Wherein the organic material layer is formed by any one of spin coating, dip coating, doctor blade coating, spray coating, roll coating, inkjet printing, and screen printing ([0121]: “In one embodiment, the solution process may be spin coating, slot coating, dip coating, bar coating, roll coating, gravure coating, micro gravure coating, wire coating, spray coating, ink-jet printing, nozzle printing, screen printing, flexo printing, offset printing, or casting.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20170342318A1, US20220384733A1, US20220093868A1, and US20170117478A1 all teach compounds that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789