DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/27/2026 along with an RCE. Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-16, 19-22 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 4/27 have been considered but they are moot because in view of new ground of rejection as set forth below in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (WO 2021/175032; see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1:
Li discloses a system and method for sending a paging early indication (PEI), performed by a network device (abstract; figures), comprising:
determining a target monitoring occasion for PEI based on a first target time, wherein the first target time is before a start time of a paging occasion of a user equipment group, and an interval between the first target time and the start time is an offset duration (para 130 [monitoring timing]; see para 131, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {PEI corresponds to S consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions, then the nth PEI of the M PEIs sent by the network device The corresponding PDCCH monitoring opportunity is: the (Mn)*S+1th PDCCH monitoring opportunity to the (M-n+1)*Sth PDCCH forward from the minimum time offset before the paging occasion as the starting position Monitoring timing}; fig 7-10; para 153-154,212); and
sending, on a time-frequency resource of the target monitoring occasion for PEI, a PEI corresponding to the user equipment group (para 130-131 [PEIs are sent]; para 87,103; figs 2-6; para 134 [send PEI]; para 137; figs 7-9);
wherein determining the target monitoring occasion for PEI based on the first target time comprises at least one of:
determining a monitoring occasion for PEI closest to the first target time as the target monitoring occasion for PEI (para 130-131 {minimum time offset before the paging occasion}[minimum time is equivalent to the closest]; see para 154,185), [Note: optional claim language requires only one or the other element]; or
determining a target radio frame for PEI based on the first target time, and determining a monitoring occasion for PEI in the target radio frame for PEI as the target monitoring occasion for PEI (figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 19:
Li discloses all of the subject matter as described above in claim 1, and further discloses a base station device (figs), comprising: a processor (701 in fig 13); and a memory (702 in fig 13; para 228) for storing instructions when executed by the processor, the base station device is caused to perform the method as in claim 1 above (para 231-235; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claims 9, and 20:
Li discloses a system and method for a user equipment (abstract; see figures), comprising:
a processor (figs 11-13; processor 701 in fig 13); and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (fig 13 [memory 702]); wherein when the executable instructions in the memory are executed by the processor (para 224,231), the user equipment is configured to:
determine a target monitoring occasion for Paging Early Indication (PEI) based on a second target time, wherein the second target time is before a start time of a paging occasion of the user equipment and an interval between the second target time and the start time is an offset duration (para 130 [monitoring timing]; see figures 2-6; para 131 {PEI corresponds to S consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions, then the nth PEI of the M PEIs sent by the network device The corresponding PDCCH monitoring opportunity is: the … forward from the minimum time offset before the paging occasion as the starting position Monitoring timing}; fig 7-10; para 153-154, 212); and
receive, on a time-frequency resource of the target monitoring occasion for PEI, a PEI corresponding to the user equipment (para 130-131 [PEIs are sent]; para 87,103; figs 2-6; para 134 [send PEI]; para 137; figs 7-9);
wherein the user equipment is further configured to perform at least one of:
determining a monitoring occasion for PEI closest to the second target time as the target monitoring occasion for PEI (para 130-131 {minimum time offset before the paging occasion}[minimum time is equivalent to the closest]; see para 154,185), [Note: optional claim language requires only one or the other element]; or
determining a target radio frame for PEI based on the second target time, and determining a monitoring occasion for PEI in the target radio frame for PEI as the target monitoring occasion for PEI (figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 21:
Li discloses all of the subject matter as described above in claim 1, and further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Para 234; figs 11-13), having executable instructions stored thereon, wherein when the executable instructions are executed by a processor, the method of claim 1 is performed (see Li figs, throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 22:
Li discloses all of the subject matter as described above in claim 9, and further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (para 228; para 234; figs 11-13), having executable instructions stored thereon, wherein when the executable instructions are executed by a processor, the method of claim 9 is performed (see Li figs, throughout the disclosure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-8,10, 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631