DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 and 16-25 are presented for examination.
Claims 12-15 and 26-30 are canceled.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 16-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., (hereinafter Park), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0083939, in view of Harrison et al., (hereinafter Harrison), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0359733.
As per claim 1, Park discloses a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) in a network [fig. 8, 15, 18, paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0121, 0143, 0157, 0567, a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) in a network (a network over which the base station directly communicates with a device)], comprising:
generating a capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, generating a capability message (UE may report capability information to the gNB)] indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability [paragraphs 0249-0252, 0310, 0411, 0434-0437, 0491, 0562, indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability (coherence capability report (e.g., full coherence, partial-coherence, and non-coherence) of the UE)];
transmitting the capability message to a base station [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, transmitting the capability message to a base station (UE may report capability information to the gNB)];
receiving UL scheduling information for transmitting first UL data and second UL data [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0204, 0284, 0332, 0377, 0399, 0401, 0405, 0539, 0549, 0560, 0562, receiving UL scheduling information for transmitting first UL data and second UL data (receive downlink control information (DCI) for uplink (UL) transmission scheduling; information on UL scheduling is divided into two DCIs; dual-stage codebook (W=W1W2) for frequency selective precoding; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)]; and
transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data based on the UL scheduling information and based on at least one of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, or the UL TX switching coherence capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data based on the UL scheduling information and based on at least one of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, or the UL TX switching coherence capability (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
Park discloses generating a capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450] indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability [paragraphs 0249-0252, 0310, 0411, 0434-0437, 0491, 0562]. Park does not explicitly disclose generating a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency; and transmitting first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency.
However, Harrison teaches generating a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency [fig. 4, 12, paragraphs 0092, 0101, 0115, 0169, 0170, generating a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency (a UE 200 may indicate a first and a second value of coherence capability, respectively corresponding to a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200)], and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169, 0170, an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency (a UL signaling module 220 for signaling a coherence capability to the base station 100; coherence among TX chains; a UE 200 indicates if it can adequately maintain the relative phase of transmit chains over time in order to support coherent transmission; a UE to maintain well controlled relative phase across TX chains may also be a function of the carrier frequency)]; and transmitting first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169-0172, transmitting first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency (a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 2, Park discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the base station in response to the capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, receiving, from the base station in response to the capability message (a network configures a codebook based on a UE capability)], a configuration message indicating a non-coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0434-0437, 0562, a configuration message indicating a non-coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data (support various transmitting operations (non-coherent transmission operation, partial-coherent transmission operation, full-coherent transmission operation, etc); the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information)]; and
wherein transmitting comprises transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the non-coherent codebook [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein transmitting comprises transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the non-coherent codebook (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
As per claim 3, Park discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the base station in response to the capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, receiving, from the base station in response to the capability message (a network configures a codebook based on a UE capability)], a configuration message indicating a fully coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0434-0437, 0508, 0562, a configuration message indicating a fully coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data (support various transmitting operations including full-coherent transmission operation; NR supports 3 levels of UE capability for UL MIMO transmission: Full coherence: All ports can be transmitted coherently; the full coherence codebook may be configured with full coherence transmission codebook)]; and
wherein transmitting comprises transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the fully coherent codebook [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0508, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein transmitting comprises transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the fully coherent codebook (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
As per claim 4, Park discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the base station in response to the capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, receiving, from the base station in response to the capability message (a network configures a codebook based on a UE capability)], a configuration message indicating a partially coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0434-0437, 0505, 0562, a configuration message indicating a partially coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data (support various transmitting operations (partial-coherent transmission operation); the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information; partial coherence: Ports pairs corresponding to ports in an SRS resource can be transmitted coherently )]; and
wherein transmitting comprises transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the partially coherent codebook [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0508, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein transmitting comprises transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the partially coherent codebook (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
As per claim 5, Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
each of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, and the UL TX switching coherence capability includes a fully coherent transmission capability, a partially coherent transmission capability, or a non-coherent transmission capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0434-0437, 0508, 0562, each of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, and the UL TX switching coherence capability includes a fully coherent transmission capability, a partially coherent transmission capability, or a non-coherent transmission capability (UE capability for UL MIMO transmission: [0435] Full coherence: All ports can be transmitted coherently. [0436] Partial coherence: Port pairs can be transmitted coherently. [0437] Non-coherence: No port pairs can be transmitted coherently)].
As per claim 6, Park discloses the method of claim 5, wherein:
the non-coherent transmission capability is a default mode of transmission capability [paragraphs 0273, 0331, 0342, 0434-0437, 0444, 0456, 0507, the non-coherent transmission capability is a default mode of transmission capability (the gNB may indicate a transmission method (in advance or preconfigured) to the UE transmitting with non-coherent JT)].
As per claim 7, Park discloses the method of claim 1, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first frequency includes a first plurality of frequencies; or the second frequency includes a second plurality of frequencies.
However, Harrison teaches wherein the first frequency includes a first plurality of frequencies; or the second frequency includes a second plurality of frequencies [fig. 4, 5, 12, paragraphs 0007, 0058, 0092, 0101, 0115, 0169, 0170, wherein the first frequency includes a first plurality of frequencies; or the second frequency includes a second plurality of frequencies (a UE 200 may indicate a first and a second value of coherence capability, respectively corresponding to a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200; transmitter and the receiver are equipped with multiple antennas)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 8, Park discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
switch from a first scheduled transmission of the first UL data to a second scheduled transmission of the second UL data or from the second scheduled transmission of the second UL data to the first scheduled transmission of the first UL data, wherein the switching maintains coherency in the second UL TX chain [paragraphs 0252-0254, 0312, 0321, 0332, 0383, 0411, 0478, 0486, 0488, 0491, 0562, switch from a first scheduled transmission of the first UL data to a second scheduled transmission of the second UL data or from the second scheduled transmission of the second UL data to the first scheduled transmission of the first UL data, wherein the switching maintains coherency in the second UL TX chain (4-Tx codebook may be sorted/grouped based on the same basis codeword (different codebooks are applied); panel is well calibrated like coherent; in order to minimize the degradation, a UE may recommend such that codeword corresponding to a specific domain or direction must be included to a gNB; UE may support coherent transmission through its own transmission chain)];
wherein the capability message indicates a partially coherent transmission capability or a fully coherent transmission capability for the UL TX switching coherence capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein the capability message indicates a partially coherent transmission capability or a fully coherent transmission capability for the UL TX switching coherence capability (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
Park does not explicitly disclose configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency.
However, Harrison teaches configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169-0172, configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency (a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200; a UL signaling module 220 for signaling a coherence capability to the base station 100; coherence among TX chains; a UE 200 indicates if it can adequately maintain the relative phase of transmit chains over time in order to support coherent transmission; a UE to maintain well controlled relative phase across TX chains may also be a function of the carrier frequency)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 9, Park discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
switch from a first scheduled transmission of the first UL data to a second scheduled transmission of the second UL data or from the second scheduled transmission of the second UL data to the first scheduled transmission of the first UL data, wherein the switching causes a loss in coherency in the second UL TX chain [paragraphs 0252-0254, 0312, 0321, 0332, 0383, 0411, 0478, 0486, 0488, 0491, 0562, switch from a first scheduled transmission of the first UL data to a second scheduled transmission of the second UL data or from the second scheduled transmission of the second UL data to the first scheduled transmission of the first UL data, wherein the switching causes a loss in coherency in the second UL TX chain (4-Tx codebook may be sorted/grouped based on the same basis codeword (different codebooks are applied); panel is well calibrated like coherent; in order to minimize the degradation, a UE may recommend such that codeword corresponding to a specific domain or direction must be included to a gNB; UE may support coherent transmission through its own transmission chain)];
wherein the capability message indicates a non-coherent transmission capability for the UL TX switching coherence capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein the capability message indicates a non-coherent transmission capability for the UL TX switching coherence capability (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
Park does not explicitly disclose configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency.
However, Harrison teaches configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169-0172, configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency (a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200; a UL signaling module 220 for signaling a coherence capability to the base station 100; coherence among TX chains; a UE 200 indicates if it can adequately maintain the relative phase of transmit chains over time in order to support coherent transmission; a UE to maintain well controlled relative phase across TX chains may also be a function of the carrier frequency)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 10, Park discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a UL TX switching capability indicating whether a first UL TX chain or a second UL TX chain is configured for UL TX switching; and transmitting the UL TX switching capability to the base station [paragraphs 0411, 0424, 0434-0437, 0447, 0486, 0491, 0513, generating a UL TX switching capability indicating whether a first UL TX chain or a second UL TX chain is configured for UL TX switching; and transmitting the UL TX switching capability to the base station (the UL MIMO capable UE may support coherent transmission through its own transmission chain)].
As per claim 11, Park discloses a user equipment (UE) [fig. 8, 15, 18, paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0121, 0143, 0157, 0262, 0567, a user equipment (UL data transmission process between a UE and a gNB)], comprising:
a memory comprising instructions; one or more processors configured to execute the instructions in the memory [fig. 8, 15, 18, paragraphs 0567, 0569, a memory comprising instructions; one or more processors configured to execute the instructions in the memory (UE 1820 includes a processor 1821, a memory 1822; memory 1822 may be connected to the processor 1821 to store various types of information for driving the processor 1821)] to generate a capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, generating a capability message (UE may report capability information to the gNB)] indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability [paragraphs 0249-0252, 0310, 0411, 0434-0437, 0491, 0562, indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability (coherence capability report (e.g., full coherence, partial-coherence, and non-coherence) of the UE)]; and a transceiver [fig. 8, 15, 18, paragraphs 0567, 0569, a radio frequency (RF) unit 1823 (a radio frequency (RF) unit 1823)] configured to:
transmit the capability message to a base station [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, transmit the capability message to a base station (UE may report capability information to the gNB)];
receiving UL scheduling information for transmitting first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0204, 0284, 0332, 0377, 0399, 0401, 0405, 0539, 0549, 0560, 0562, receiving UL scheduling information for transmitting first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency (receive downlink control information (DCI) for uplink (UL) transmission scheduling; information on UL scheduling is divided into two DCIs; dual-stage codebook (W=W1W2) for frequency selective precoding; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)]; and
transmit at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data based on the UL scheduling information and based on at least one of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, or the UL TX switching coherence capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, transmit at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data based on the UL scheduling information and based on at least one of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, or the UL TX switching coherence capability (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
Park discloses generate a capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450] indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability [paragraphs 0249-0252, 0310, 0411, 0434-0437, 0491, 0562]. Park does not explicitly disclose generate a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency; and transmit first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency.
However, Harrison teaches generate a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency [fig. 4, 12, paragraphs 0092, 0101, 0115, 0169, 0170, generate a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency (a UE 200 may indicate a first and a second value of coherence capability, respectively corresponding to a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200)], and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169, 0170, an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency (a UL signaling module 220 for signaling a coherence capability to the base station 100; coherence among TX chains; a UE 200 indicates if it can adequately maintain the relative phase of transmit chains over time in order to support coherent transmission; a UE to maintain well controlled relative phase across TX chains may also be a function of the carrier frequency)]; and transmit first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169-0172, transmit first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency (a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 16, Park discloses a method of wireless communication by a base station [fig. 8, 15, 18, paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0121, 0143, 0157, 0567, a method of wireless communication by a base station (a network over which the base station directly communicates with a device)] comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a capability message (UE may report capability information to the gNB)] indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability [paragraphs 0249-0252, 0310, 0411, 0434-0437, 0491, 0562, indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability (coherence capability report (e.g., full coherence, partial-coherence, and non-coherence) of the UE)];
transmitting, to the UE, UL scheduling information for transmitting, by the UE, first UL data and second UL data [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0204, 0284, 0332, 0377, 0399, 0401, 0405, 0539, 0549, 0560, 0562, transmitting, to the UE, UL scheduling information for transmitting, by the UE, first UL data and second UL data (receive downlink control information (DCI) for uplink (UL) transmission scheduling; information on UL scheduling is divided into two DCIs; dual-stage codebook (W=W1W2) for frequency selective precoding; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)]; and
receiving, from the UE, at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data based on the UL scheduling information and based on at least one of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, or the UL TX switching coherence capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, receiving, from the UE, at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data based on the UL scheduling information and based on at least one of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, or the UL TX switching coherence capability (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
Park discloses receiving a capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450] indicating a first coherence capability, a second coherence capability, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability [paragraphs 0249-0252, 0310, 0411, 0434-0437, 0491, 0562]. Park does not explicitly disclose receiving a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency, and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency; and transmitting first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency.
However, Harrison teaches receiving a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency [fig. 4, 12, paragraphs 0092, 0101, 0115, 0169, 0170, receiving a capability message indicating a first coherence capability of a first frequency, a second coherence capability of a second frequency (a UE 200 may indicate a first and a second value of coherence capability, respectively corresponding to a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200)], and an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169, 0170, an uplink (UL) transmission (TX) switching coherence capability indicating whether an UL TX chain is able to maintain coherency with another UL TX chain after switching from the second frequency to the first frequency (a UL signaling module 220 for signaling a coherence capability to the base station 100; coherence among TX chains; a UE 200 indicates if it can adequately maintain the relative phase of transmit chains over time in order to support coherent transmission; a UE to maintain well controlled relative phase across TX chains may also be a function of the carrier frequency)]; and transmitting first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169-0172, transmitting first UL data using the first frequency and second UL data using the second frequency (a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 17, Park discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, in response to the capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, transmitting, to the UE, in response to the capability message (a network configures a codebook based on a UE capability)], a configuration message indicating a non-coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0434-0437, 0562, a configuration message indicating a non-coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data (support various transmitting operations (non-coherent transmission operation, partial-coherent transmission operation, full-coherent transmission operation, etc); the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information)]; and
wherein receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data comprises receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the non-coherent codebook [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data comprises receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the non-coherent codebook (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
As per claim 18, Park discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, in response to the capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, transmitting, to the UE, in response to the capability message (a network configures a codebook based on a UE capability)], a configuration message indicating a fully coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0434-0437, 0508, 0562, a configuration message indicating a fully coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data (support various transmitting operations including full-coherent transmission operation; NR supports 3 levels of UE capability for UL MIMO transmission: Full coherence: All ports can be transmitted coherently; the full coherence codebook may be configured with full coherence transmission codebook)]; and
wherein receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data comprises receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the fully coherent codebook [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0508, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data comprises receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the fully coherent codebook (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
As per claim 19, Park discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, in response to the capability message [fig. 15, paragraphs 0252, 0332, 0447, 0450, transmitting, to the UE, in response to the capability message (a network configures a codebook based on a UE capability)], a configuration message indicating a partially coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0434-0437, 0505, 0562, a configuration message indicating a partially coherent codebook for transmitting at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data (support various transmitting operations (partial-coherent transmission operation); the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information; partial coherence: Ports pairs corresponding to ports in an SRS resource can be transmitted coherently )]; and
wherein receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data comprises receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the partially coherent codebook [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0508, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data comprises receiving at least one of the first UL data or the second UL data using the partially coherent codebook (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
As per claim 20, Park discloses the method of claim 16, wherein:
each of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, and the UL TX switching coherence capability includes a fully coherent transmission capability, a partially coherent transmission capability, or a non-coherent transmission capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0434-0437, 0508, 0562, each of the first coherence capability, the second coherence capability, and the UL TX switching coherence capability includes a fully coherent transmission capability, a partially coherent transmission capability, or a non-coherent transmission capability (UE capability for UL MIMO transmission: [0435] Full coherence: All ports can be transmitted coherently. [0436] Partial coherence: Port pairs can be transmitted coherently. [0437] Non-coherence: No port pairs can be transmitted coherently)].
As per claim 21, Park discloses the method of claim 20, wherein:
the non-coherent transmission capability is a default mode of transmission capability [paragraphs 0273, 0331, 0342, 0434-0437, 0444, 0456, 0507, the non-coherent transmission capability is a default mode of transmission capability (the gNB may indicate a transmission method (in advance or preconfigured) to the UE transmitting with non-coherent JT)].
As per claim 22, Park discloses the method of claim 16, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first frequency includes a first plurality of frequencies; or the second frequency includes a second plurality of frequencies.
However, Harrison teaches wherein the first frequency includes a first plurality of frequencies; or the second frequency includes a second plurality of frequencies [fig. 4, 5, 12, paragraphs 0007, 0058, 0092, 0101, 0115, 0169, 0170, wherein the first frequency includes a first plurality of frequencies; or the second frequency includes a second plurality of frequencies (a UE 200 may indicate a first and a second value of coherence capability, respectively corresponding to a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200; transmitter and the receiver are equipped with multiple antennas)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 23, Park discloses the method of claim 16,
switch from a first scheduled transmission of the first UL data to a second scheduled transmission of the second UL data or from the second scheduled transmission of the second UL data to the first scheduled transmission of the first UL data, wherein the switching maintains coherency in the second UL TX chain [paragraphs 0252-0254, 0312, 0321, 0332, 0383, 0411, 0478, 0486, 0488, 0491, 0562, switch from a first scheduled transmission of the first UL data to a second scheduled transmission of the second UL data or from the second scheduled transmission of the second UL data to the first scheduled transmission of the first UL data, wherein the switching maintains coherency in the second UL TX chain (4-Tx codebook may be sorted/grouped based on the same basis codeword (different codebooks are applied); panel is well calibrated like coherent; in order to minimize the degradation, a UE may recommend such that codeword corresponding to a specific domain or direction must be included to a gNB; UE may support coherent transmission through its own transmission chain)];
wherein the capability message indicates a partially coherent transmission capability or a fully coherent transmission capability for the UL TX switching coherence capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein the capability message indicates a partially coherent transmission capability or a fully coherent transmission capability for the UL TX switching coherence capability (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
Park does not explicitly disclose configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency.
However, Harrison teaches configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169-0172, configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency (a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200; a UL signaling module 220 for signaling a coherence capability to the base station 100; coherence among TX chains; a UE 200 indicates if it can adequately maintain the relative phase of transmit chains over time in order to support coherent transmission; a UE to maintain well controlled relative phase across TX chains may also be a function of the carrier frequency)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 24, Park discloses the method of claim 16,
switch from a first scheduled transmission of the first UL data to a second scheduled transmission of the second UL data or from the second scheduled transmission of the second UL data to the first scheduled transmission of the first UL data, wherein the switching causes a loss in coherency in the second UL TX chain [paragraphs 0252-0254, 0312, 0321, 0332, 0383, 0411, 0478, 0486, 0488, 0491, 0562, switch from a first scheduled transmission of the first UL data to a second scheduled transmission of the second UL data or from the second scheduled transmission of the second UL data to the first scheduled transmission of the first UL data, wherein the switching causes a loss in coherency in the second UL TX chain (4-Tx codebook may be sorted/grouped based on the same basis codeword (different codebooks are applied); panel is well calibrated like coherent; in order to minimize the degradation, a UE may recommend such that codeword corresponding to a specific domain or direction must be included to a gNB; UE may support coherent transmission through its own transmission chain)];
wherein the capability message indicates a non-coherent transmission capability for the UL TX switching coherence capability [fig. 17, paragraphs 0022, 0332, 0434-0437, 0518-0520, 0562, wherein the capability message indicates a non-coherent transmission capability for the UL TX switching coherence capability (PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI; the UE may perform codebook based PUSCH transmission based on the precoding information, the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook may include a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer and/or a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes)].
Park does not explicitly disclose configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency.
However, Harrison teaches configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency [fig. 4, 12, 21, paragraphs 0073, 0079, 0091-0093, 0101, 0115, 0169-0172, configuring a first UL TX chain to transmit the first UL data using the first frequency; and configuring a second UL TX chain to: transmit the first UL data using the first frequency, transmit the second UL data using the second frequency (a first and a second frequency band used for transmission by the UE 200; a UL signaling module 220 for signaling a coherence capability to the base station 100; coherence among TX chains; a UE 200 indicates if it can adequately maintain the relative phase of transmit chains over time in order to support coherent transmission; a UE to maintain well controlled relative phase across TX chains may also be a function of the carrier frequency)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by indicating a coherence capability of a frequency as taught by Harrison because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of improving the latency of data transmissions [Harrison, paragraph 0240].
As per claim 25, Park discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, an UL TX switching capability indicating whether a first UL TX chain or a second UL TX chain is configured for UL TX switching [paragraphs 0411, 0424, 0434-0437, 0447, 0486, 0491, 0513, receiving, from the UE, an UL TX switching capability indicating whether a first UL TX chain or a second UL TX chain is configured for UL TX switching (the UL MIMO capable UE may support coherent transmission through its own transmission chain)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al., U.S. Publication No. 2024/0187072 discloses maintaining coherence between multiple transmission antennas for a carrier with two uplink transmission antennas when dynamical switching between two frequency bands is performed.
Huang et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0393931 discloses wherein coherence can be maintained between antenna ports.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469