DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 16-17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2022/0146003) in view of Okazaki et al (US 6,981,704) in further view of McCuistion (US 2,841,429) in further view of Ninomiya et al (US 4,411,407).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu et al disclose an electric valve (Figures 1 and 8; via actuator 40; ¶ 29). The valve comprising:
a valve body assembly (10 and 30), a valve core (20), a valve core seat (201 Figure 8), and a first annular sealing member (202; Figure 8), wherein the valve body assembly (10 and 30) comprises an accommodating portion (the portion within body 10 where sealing gasket 102 sits as shown in Figures 1 and 2) defining an accommodating cavity (filled by the sealing gasket 102),
the first sealing member (202; Figure 8) is arranged in the accommodating cavity (filled by the sealing gasket 102; of the embodiment of 202 of Figure 8) and located between the valve body assembly (10 and 30 of Figure 1) and the valve core seat (201; ¶ 43), the first annular sealing member (202; Figure 8) comprises a body portion (see Annotated Figure A), a first protruding portion (see Annotated Figure A) extending radially inward from an inner peripheral side of the body portion and distributed circumferentially (see Annotated Figure A), the valve core seat (201) comprises a first face (see Annotated Figure A), a second face (see Annotated Figure A), and a third face (see Annotated Figure A), the second face extends along an axial direction of the valve core seat (see Annotated Figure A; where at least a portion of the direction extends axially (right and left as seen in the orientation of Annotated Figure A), the first face and the third face each extends along a radial direction of the valve core seat (see Annotated Figure A; out/downward as shown in the orientation of Annotated Figure A), at least part of the valve core seat is arranged in the accommodating cavity (Figure 2 as the gasket 102 sits within the body cavity),
in a radial direction of the accommodating portion, the first protruding portion abuts against the second face (see Annotated Figure A); in an axial direction of the accommodating portion, one end of the body portion abuts against the first face (see Annotated Figure A) and another end of the body portion abuts against a side wall of the valve body assembly (Figure 2), the first annular sealing member (202; Figure 8) is in a tightly pressed state (¶ 44 by the force of the valve and valve core seat 201), and an outer surface of a part of the valve core fits closely with at least a part of the third face (Figure 2),
but fails to expressly disclose where the first protruding portion is a plurality of first protruding portions extending radially inward from an inner peripheral side of the body portion and distributed circumferentially and a plurality of second protruding portions extending radially outward from an outer peripheral side of the body portion and distributed circumferentially, in the radial direction the plurality of second protruding portions abuts against the accommodating portion, the valve core seat is formed of a hard resin material, and the first sealing member is formed of a soft rubber material.
Annotated Figure A - Yu et al
Okazaki et al teaches an annular sealing member (Figure 5a; abstract) with a plurality of first protruding portions (see Annotated Figure B), and a plurality of second protruding portions (see Annotated Figure B), where the first protruding portion is a plurality of first protruding portions extending radially inward from an inner peripheral side of the body portion (see Annotated Figure B) and distributed circumferentially (see Annotated Figure B) and a plurality of second protruding portions extending radially outward from an outer peripheral side of the body portion and distributed circumferentially (see Annotated Figure B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sealing member of Yu et al with the sealing member as taught by Okazaki et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the sealing member of Okazaki et al within the valve of Yu et al) to yield predictable results (to provide a fluid tight seal between the valve core and the valve body).
Annotated Figure B – Okazaki et al
McCuistion teaches an annular sealing member (Figure 2) with a first protruding portion (4), a second protruding portion (5) the first protruding portion (4) and the second protruding portion (5) protrude along a radial direction of the first annular sealing member (Figures 1-2 with protruding portion 5 extending radially inward and protruding portion 4 extends radially outwards) with a body portion (1 generally), where the body portion (1 generally) is arranged between the first protruding portion (4) and the second protruding portion (5) along a radial direction of the first annular sealing member (Figure 2), the second protruding portion abuts against the accommodating portion (Figure 3 shows the second protruding portion abutting a wall, and Yu et al disclose where the accommodating portion is the wall surface of the valve body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sealing member of Yu et al. as modified by Okazaki et al with the seal as taught by McCuistion for the advantage of allowing fluid tight connection even in instances of low pressure, as taught by McCuistion (Col 3, lines 34-40).
Ninomiya et al teach a valve (Figures 1 and 7), with a valve core seat (105’) and a sealing member (106’), the valve core seat (105’) is formed of a hard resin material (Col 4, lines 49-62), and the first sealing member (106’) is formed of a soft rubber material (Col 4, lines 49-62).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vault of Hartsell to be made from plastic since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a commonly used material that is inexpensive and durable.
Regarding Claim 2, Yu et al disclose where the body portion (Annotated Figure A) further comprises protruding ribs (Annotated Figure A), and abut against the side wall of the valve body assembly respectively (Figure 2) along the axial direction of the accommodating portion (Figure 2), and the first annular sealing member (202) is tightly pressed between the first face and the side wall of the valve body assembly through the protruding ribs (Figure 2),
But fails to expressly disclose where protruding ribs protrude outwards from two ends of the body portion respectively along an axial direction of the first annular sealing member and abut against the first face.
McCuistion teaches an annular sealing member (Figure 2) with a first protruding portion (4), a second protruding portion (5) with a body portion (1 generally), where protruding ribs (7 and 8) protrude outwards from two ends of the body portion (1 generally) respectively along an axial direction of the first annular sealing member (Figure 2) and abut against the first face (11 in Figure 3 where the first face of Yu et al is the wall surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yu et al with the seal as taught by McCuistion for the advantage of allowing fluid tight connection as the seal compresses, as taught by McCuistion (Col 4, lines 3-6).
Regarding Claim 3, McCuistion teaches where the protruding ribs (7 and 8) comprise a first protruding rib (7 on the right as seen in Figure 2), a second protruding rib (8 on the right as seen in Figure 2), a third protruding rib (7 on the left as seen in Figure 2), and a fourth protruding rib (8 on the left as seen in Figure 2), the first protruding rib and the second protruding rib are arranged at a same end of the body portion (to the right as seen in Figure 2), and the third protruding rib and the fourth protruding rib are arranged at a same other end of the body portion (to the left as seen in Figure 2); in the axial direction of the accommodating portion, the first protruding rib and the second protruding rib each abuts against the first face (the first face disclosed by Yu et al), and the third protruding rib and the fourth protruding rib each abuts against the side wall of the valve body assembly (the valve body assembly disclosed by Yu et al).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu et al disclose where the third face (Annotated Figure A) comprises an arc-shaped face (on the transition to the 4th face), the valve core seat further comprises a recess formed by the arc-shaped face recessing to an interior of the valve core seat (inward toward 203 from the 3rd face), and an outer surface of part of the valve core fits closely with the arc-shaped face (Figure 2 when the valve core is closed).
Regarding Claim 6, Brouwer teaches wherein the plurality of first protruding portions (92) are equally circumferentially distributed along the inner peripheral side (Figure 5), the plurality of second protruding portions (86) are equally circumferentially distributed along the outer peripheral side (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) comprises a first valve body (10) and a second valve body (30) fixedly connected (Figure 2), the first valve body (10) comprises a first support bracket (where 102 sits) and the second valve body comprises a second support bracket (best seen in Figure 1 with the protrusions below 30), the first support bracket abuts against the second support bracket (Figure 2), and the accommodating portion is formed by mating of the first support bracket and the second support bracket (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Yu et al disclose where the first support bracket (10; where 102 sits) comprises a first recessed face formed by a free end face of the first support bracket recessing inwardly (the bottom portion that supports 102 shown in Figures 1-2), the second support bracket (on 30, best seen in Figure 1) comprises a second recessed face formed by a free end face of the second support bracket recessing inwardly (and upwardly as seen in Figures 1-2), the first recessed face is a semi-circular arc-shape face and the second recessed face is a semi-circular arc-shaped face (Figures 1-2), and the accommodating portion is formed by assembling of the first recessed face and the second recessed face (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) comprises a first valve body (10) and a second valve body (30) fixedly connected (Figure 2), the first valve body (10) comprises a first support bracket (where 102 sits) and the second valve body comprises a second support bracket (best seen in Figure 1 with the protrusions below 30), the first support bracket abuts against the second support bracket (Figure 2), and the accommodating portion is formed by mating of the first support bracket and the second support bracket (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) comprises a first valve body (10) and a second valve body (30) fixedly connected (Figure 2), the first valve body (10) comprises a first support bracket (where 102 sits) and the second valve body comprises a second support bracket (best seen in Figure 1 with the protrusions below 30), the first support bracket abuts against the second support bracket (Figure 2), and the accommodating portion is formed by mating of the first support bracket and the second support bracket (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 22, Okazaki et al teach where each of the plurality of first protruding portions is radially opposite to and aligned with a respective one of the plurality of second protruding portions (see Annotated Figure B).
Claim(s) 5, 10-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Yu et al (US 2022/0146003) in view of Okazaki et al (US 6981704) in further view of McCuistion (US 2,841,429) in further view of Ninomiya et al (US 4,411,407).
Regarding Claim 5, Yu et al disclose where the recess comprises an annular inclined face (along the 4th face as seen in Annotated Figure A), a plane passing through a central axis of the valve core seat is defined (along the radial centerline of the valve core seat as seen in the orientation of Annotated Figure A), but fails to expressly disclose an included angle 0 is defined between a projection of the annular inclined face on the plane and a projection of a straight face of the third face on the plane, and the included angle 0 is in a range from 110 degrees to 130 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the included angle to be in a range from 110 degrees to 130 degrees since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an appropriate sealing angle based on the shape of the valve core. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that having the included angle to be in a range from 110 degrees to 130 degrees, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to the particular arrangement.
Regarding Claim 10, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) is provided with a first connection port channel (11), a second connection port channel (12), a third connection port channel (13), the valve core (20) is provided with a guide channel (21) extending through the valve core (Figure 2), the first connection port channel is communicated with the guide channel (Figure 1), and the guide channel is communicable with one or two of the second connection port channel (Figure 1), the third connection port channel (Figure 1), by rotation of the valve core (Figure 1).
But fail to expressly disclose a fourth connection port channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fourth connection port channel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system or to introduce an additional fluid into the system.
Regarding Claim 11, Yu et al disclose where the guide channel comprises a first opening and a second opening (14 and 15 in Figure 2), the guide channel is communicated through the first opening to one or two of the second connection port channel, the third connection port channel, and the fourth connection port channel (Figure 2), and the guide channel is communicated with the first connection port channel through the second opening (Figure 2);
the valve body assembly comprises a first connection port portion forming the first connection port channel (Figure 1), the first connection port portion comprises a projecting portion formed by extending along an axial direction of the first connection port portion (Figure 1), the second opening is arranged at an outer periphery of the projecting portion (Figure 2), and the projecting portion abuts against a wall face forming the guide channel (via 20 in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Yu et al disclose where an outer surface of the valve core comprises a spherical face (Figure 1), the first opening is arranged on the spherical face (Figure 1), the third face comprises an arc-shaped face (203 in Annotated Figure A), and part of the spherical face fits closely with the arc-shaped face (Figure 2);
a plane perpendicular to a central axis of the valve core is defined (Figures 3-5), an included angle a is defined by projections of the first opening on the plane and a center of the projection of the spherical face on the plane (Figures 3-5), an included angle p is defined by outer endpoints of the projection of two arc-shaped faces arranged at either side of the first opening on the plane and the center (on each of 102 in Figures 3-5), and an included angle y is defined by the outer endpoints of the projection of two adjacent arc-shaped faces on the plane and the center,
but fails to expressly disclose wherein p>a>y, and 70 degrees ≤a≤ 100 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein p>a>y, and 70 degrees ≤a≤ 100 degrees since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an appropriate sealing angle based on the shape of the valve core. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that having p>a>y, and 70 degrees ≤a≤ 100 degrees, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to the particular arrangement.
Regarding Claim 13, Yu et al disclose where the valve core (20) comprises a limiting portion (411), the valve body assembly comprises a stop portion (421), a valve body cavity is defined in the valve body assembly (Figure 2; ¶ 47), the valve core is arranged in the valve body cavity (Figure 2), the limiting portion is configured to abut against the stop portion by rotation of the valve core (¶ 47), and a movement stroke of the valve core is limited by the limiting portion abutting against the stop portion (¶ 47).
Regarding Claim 14, Yu et al disclose where the electric valve operates in, but is not limited to, five operating modes:
a first operating mode in which the first connection port channel is communicated with the second connection port channel through the guide channel (Figure 3);
a second operating mode in which the first connection port channel is simultaneously communicated with the second connection port channel and the third connection port channel through the guide channel (Figure 4);
a third operating mode in which the first connection port channel is communicated with the third connection port channel through the guide channel (Figure 5);
wherein the five operating modes are not limited sequentially (Figures 3-5);
but fails to expressly disclose where a fourth operating mode in which the first connection port channel is simultaneously communicated with the third connection port channel and the fourth connection port channel through the guide channel; and a fifth operating mode in which the first connection port channel is communicated with the fourth connection port channel through the guide channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fourth operating mode in which the first connection port channel is simultaneously communicated with the third connection port channel and the fourth connection port channel through the guide channel; and a fifth operating mode in which the first connection port channel is communicated with the fourth connection port channel through the guide channel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system or to introduce an additional fluid into the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Yu et al disclose where in the second operating mode (Figure 4), an area of a part in which the guide channel is communicated with the second connection port channel and an area of a part in which the guide channel is communicated with the third connection port channel are proportionally adjusted by an angle of rotation of the valve core (Figure 4), and in the fourth operating mode, an area of a part in which the guide channel is communicated with the third connection port channel and an area of a part in which the guide channel is communicated with the fourth connection port channel are proportionally adjusted by an angle of rotation of the valve core (as would be obvious as modified as discussed above; Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) is provided with a first connection port channel (11), a second connection port channel (12), a third connection port channel (13), the valve core (20) is provided with a guide channel (21) extending through the valve core (Figure 2), the first connection port channel is communicated with the guide channel (Figure 1), and the guide channel is communicable with one or two of the second connection port channel (Figure 1), the third connection port channel (Figure 1), by rotation of the valve core (Figure 1).
But fail to expressly disclose a fourth connection port channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fourth connection port channel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system or to introduce an additional fluid into the system.
Regarding Claim 19, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) is provided with a first connection port channel (11), a second connection port channel (12), a third connection port channel (13), the valve core (20) is provided with a guide channel (21) extending through the valve core (Figure 2), the first connection port channel is communicated with the guide channel (Figure 1), and the guide channel is communicable with one or two of the second connection port channel (Figure 1), the third connection port channel (Figure 1), by rotation of the valve core (Figure 1).
But fail to expressly disclose a fourth connection port channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fourth connection port channel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system or to introduce an additional fluid into the system.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2022/0146003) in view of Okazaki et al (US 6981704) in further view of McCuistion (US 2,841,429) in further view of Ninomiya et al (US 4,411,407) in further view of Tappe (US 8,360,092).
Regarding Claim 9, Yu et al, as modified by Okazaki et al, McCuistion and Ninomiya et al, teach all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly teach where the first valve body and the second valve body each is formed by injection moulding of a plastic material, the valve core seat is formed by injection moulding, and the first annular sealing member is formed by injection moulding.
Tappe teaches a valve (Figure 1) where the valve body is formed by injection moulding of a plastic material (Col 4, lines 27-29; where the first and second valve bodies are disclosed by Yu et al), the valve core seat is formed by injection moulding of a hard resin material (Col 4, lines 27-33), and the first annular sealing member is formed by injection moulding of a soft rubber material (Col 10, lines 29-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the claimed materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a commonly used material that is inexpensive and durable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Additionally, Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to modify the valve core seat and sealing member of Yu et al such that the valve core seat is formed of a hard resin material, and the first sealing member is formed of a soft rubber material since Yu et al discloses forming valve core seat 201 of a lower hardness material and forming sealing member 202 of a material with wear resistance. However, Yu et al recognizing an advantage of the material choice of the valve components does not constitute a teaching away, as preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. Thus, the selection of the material for Yu et al does not constitute a teaching away.
Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753