DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 11 Dec 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-19 and 21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the abstract and the Claims overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11 Sept 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okazaki et al (US 6981704).
Regarding Claim 21, Okazaki et al discloses an annular sealing member (Figure 5a; abstract). The sealing member comprising:
a body portion (see Annotated Figure B),
a plurality of first protruding portions (see Annotated Figure B), and
a plurality of second protruding portions (see Annotated Figure B),
wherein the plurality of first protruding portions and the plurality of second protruding portions protrude along radial directions of the annular sealing member (see Annotated Figure B), the body portion is arranged between the plurality of first protruding portions and the plurality of second protruding portions along the radial direction of the annular sealing member (see Annotated Figure B), the body portion comprises an outer peripheral side (see Annotated Figure B) and an inner peripheral side (see Annotated Figure B), the plurality of first protruding portions are protruded outwardly from the inner peripheral side along the radial directions of the sealing member and are circumferentially distributed along the inner peripheral side (see Annotated Figure B), the plurality of second protruding portions are protruded outwardly from the outer peripheral side and are circumferentially distributed along the outer peripheral side (see Annotated Figure B);
the plurality of first protruding portions and the plurality of second protruding portions are symmetrically distributed along radial directions of the body portion with respect to the body portion (see Annotated Figure B).
Annotated Figure B – Okazaki et al
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2022/0146003) in view of McCuistion (US 2,841,429) in further view of Brouwer (US 5,531,524).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu et al disclose an electric valve (Figures 1 and 8; via actuator 40; ¶ 29). The valve comprising:
a valve body assembly (10 and 30), a valve core (20), a valve core seat (201; Figure 8), and a first annular sealing member (202; Figure 8), wherein the valve body assembly (10 and 30) comprises an accommodating portion (the portion within body 10 where sealing gasket 102 sits as shown in Figures 1 and 2) defining an accommodating cavity (filled by the sealing gasket 102), the first annular sealing member (202; Figure 8) comprises a body portion (see Annotated Figure A), a first protruding portion (Annotated Figure A), the first protruding portion protrude along a radial direction of the first annular sealing member (radially inward as seen in Annotated Figure A), the valve core seat (201) comprises a first face (see Annotated Figure A), a second face (see Annotated Figure A), and a third face (see Annotated Figure A), the second face extends along an axial direction of the valve core seat (see Annotated Figure A; where at least a portion of the direction extends axially (right and left as seen in the orientation of Annotated Figure A), the first face and the third face each extends along an radial direction of the valve core seat (see Annotated Figure A; out/downward as shown in the orientation of Annotated Figure A), at least part of the valve core seat is arranged in the accommodating cavity (Figure 2 as the gasket 102 sits within the body cavity), and the first annular sealing member (202) is arranged in the accommodating cavity (Figure 2) and is arranged at an outer periphery of part of the valve core seat (away from the valve core as shown in Figures 2 and 8);
in the radial direction of the accommodating portion, the first protruding portion abuts against the second face (Annotated Figure A); in an axial direction of the accommodating portion, one end of the body portion abuts against the first face (Annotated Figure A) and another end of the body portion abuts against a side wall of the valve body assembly (Figure 2), the first annular sealing member (202; Figure 8) is in a tightly pressed state (¶ 44 by the force of the valve and valve core seat 201), and an outer surface of part of the valve core fits closely with at least part of the third face (Figure 2),
but fails to expressly disclose a plurality of first protruding portions, and a plurality of second protruding portions, the plurality of first protruding portions and the plurality of second protruding portions protrude along a radial direction of the first annular sealing member, the body portion is arranged between the plurality of first protruding portions and the plurality of second protruding portions along the radial direction of the first annular sealing member, the body portion comprises an outer peripheral side and an inner peripheral side, the plurality of first protruding portions are protruded outwardly from the inner peripheral side along the radial directions of the first sealing member and are circumferentially distributed along the inner peripheral side, the plurality of second protruding portions are protruded outwardly from the outer peripheral side and are circumferentially distributed along the outer peripheral side, in the radial direction the second protruding portion abuts against the accommodating portion, and the plurality of first protruding portions and the plurality of second protruding portions are symmetrically distributed along radial directions of the body portion with respect to the body portion.
McCuistion teaches an annular sealing member (Figure 2) with a first protruding portion (4), a second protruding portion (5) the first protruding portion (4) and the second protruding portion (5) protrude along a radial direction of the first annular sealing member (Figures 1-2 with protruding portion 5 extending radially inward and protruding portion 4 extends radially outwards) with a body portion (1 generally), where the body portion (1 generally) is arranged between the first protruding portion (4) and the second protruding portion (5) along a radial direction of the first annular sealing member (Figure 2), the second protruding portion abuts against the accommodating portion (Figure 3 shows the second protruding portion abutting a wall, and Yu et al disclose where the accommodating portion is the wall surface of the valve body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yu et al with the seal as taught by McCuistion for the advantage of allowing fluid tight connection even in instances of low pressure, as taught by McCuistion (Col 3, lines 34-40).
Annotated Figure A - Yu et al
Brouwer teaches a first annular sealing member (30 in Figures 5-7) with a plurality of first protruding portions (92 of 90 as seen in Figures 5-6), and a plurality of second protruding portions (86 of 84), the plurality of first protruding portions (92) and the plurality of second protruding portions (86) protrude along a radial direction of the first annular sealing member (inward and outward as seen in Figure 5), the body portion (the central ring area between 102 and 112) is arranged between the plurality of first protruding portions (92; Figure 5) and the plurality of second protruding portions (86) along the radial direction of the first annular sealing member (Figure 5), the body portion comprises an outer peripheral side (Figure 5 toward 14) and an inner peripheral side (Figure 5 toward 12), the plurality of first protruding portions are protruded outwardly from the inner peripheral side along the radial directions of the first sealing member (Figure 5 toward 12) and are circumferentially distributed along the inner peripheral side (Figure 5), the plurality of second protruding portions are protruded outwardly from the outer peripheral side (toward 14 in Figure 5) and are circumferentially distributed along the outer peripheral side (Figure 5) and the plurality of first protruding portions (92) and the plurality of second protruding portions (86) are symmetrically distributed along radial directions of the body portion with respect to the body portion (Figures 5-7 show the first protruding portions 92 distributed radially inward of the body potion along a radial direction and distributed symmetrically with respect to the body portion and the second protruding portions 86 distributed radially outward of the body potion along a radial direction and distributed symmetrically with respect to the body portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular sealing member of Yu et al, as modified by McCuistion, with the protruding portions as taught by Brouwer for the advantage of stabilizing the annular sealing member and the valve core seat within the system by exerting a radial spring force against the accommodating portion and valve core seat, as taught by Brouwer (Col 4, lines 61-64).
Regarding Claim 2, Yu et al disclose where the body portion (Annotated Figure A) further comprises protruding ribs (Annotated Figure A), and abut against the side wall of the valve body assembly respectively (Figure 2) along the axial direction of the accommodating portion (Figure 2), and the first annular sealing member (202) is tightly pressed between the first face and the side wall of the valve body assembly through the protruding ribs (Figure 2),
But fails to expressly disclose where protruding ribs protrude outwards from two ends of the body portion respectively along an axial direction of the first annular sealing member and abut against the first face.
McCuistion teaches an annular sealing member (Figure 2) with a first protruding portion (4), a second protruding portion (5) with a body portion (1 generally), where protruding ribs (7 and 8) protrude outwards from two ends of the body portion (1 generally) respectively along an axial direction of the first annular sealing member (Figure 2) and abut against the first face (11 in Figure 3 where the first face of Yu et al is the wall surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yu et al with the seal as taught by McCuistion for the advantage of allowing fluid tight connection as the seal compresses, as taught by McCuistion (Col 4, lines 3-6).
Regarding Claim 3, McCuistion teaches where the protruding ribs (7 and 8) comprise a first protruding rib (7 on the right as seen in Figure 2), a second protruding rib (8 on the right as seen in Figure 2), a third protruding rib (7 on the left as seen in Figure 2), and a fourth protruding rib (8 on the left as seen in Figure 2), the first protruding rib and the second protruding rib are arranged at a same end of the body portion (to the right as seen in Figure 2), and the third protruding rib and the fourth protruding rib are arranged at a same other end of the body portion (to the left as seen in Figure 2); in the axial direction of the accommodating portion, the first protruding rib and the second protruding rib each abuts against the first face (the first face disclosed by Yu et al), and the third protruding rib and the fourth protruding rib each abuts against the side wall of the valve body assembly (the valve body assembly disclosed by Yu et al).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu et al disclose where the third face (Annotated Figure A) comprises an arc-shaped face (on the transition to the 4th face), the valve core seat further comprises a recess formed by the arc-shaped face recessing to an interior of the valve core seat (inward toward 203 from the 3rd face), and an outer surface of part of the valve core fits closely with the arc-shaped face (Figure 2 when the valve core is closed).
Regarding Claim 6, Yu et al disclose where the body portion (Annotated Figure A) comprises an outer peripheral side and an inner peripheral side (radially inner and outer as seen in Figure 2), the first protruding portion is protruded inwardly from the inner peripheral side along the radial direction of the first annular sealing member (Annotated Figure A) and is equally circumferentially distributed along the inner peripheral side, the second protruding portion (taught by Brouwer as discussed above) is protruded outwardly from the outer peripheral side and is equally circumferentially distributed along the outer peripheral side (Figure 2 of Brouwer), and the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion are symmetrically distributed with respect to the body portion (Figure 2 of McCuistion).
Regarding Claim 6, Brouwer teaches wherein the plurality of first protruding portions (92) are equally circumferentially distributed along the inner peripheral side (Figure 5), the plurality of second protruding portions (86) are equally circumferentially distributed along the outer peripheral side (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) comprises a first valve body (10) and a second valve body (30) fixedly connected (Figure 2), the first valve body (10) comprises a first support bracket (where 102 sits) and the second valve body comprises a second support bracket (best seen in Figure 1 with the protrusions below 30), the first support bracket abuts against the second support bracket (Figure 2), and the accommodating portion is formed by mating of the first support bracket and the second support bracket (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Yu et al disclose where the first support bracket (10; where 102 sits) comprises a first recessed face formed by a free end face of the first support bracket recessing inwardly (the bottom portion that supports 102 shown in Figures 1-2), the second support bracket (on 30, best seen in Figure 1) comprises a second recessed face formed by a free end face of the second support bracket recessing inwardly (and upwardly as seen in Figures 1-2), the first recessed face is a semi-circular arc-shape face and the second recessed face is a semi-circular arc-shaped face (Figures 1-2), and the accommodating portion is formed by assembling of the first recessed face and the second recessed face (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) comprises a first valve body (10) and a second valve body (30) fixedly connected (Figure 2), the first valve body (10) comprises a first support bracket (where 102 sits) and the second valve body comprises a second support bracket (best seen in Figure 1 with the protrusions below 30), the first support bracket abuts against the second support bracket (Figure 2), and the accommodating portion is formed by mating of the first support bracket and the second support bracket (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) comprises a first valve body (10) and a second valve body (30) fixedly connected (Figure 2), the first valve body (10) comprises a first support bracket (where 102 sits) and the second valve body comprises a second support bracket (best seen in Figure 1 with the protrusions below 30), the first support bracket abuts against the second support bracket (Figure 2), and the accommodating portion is formed by mating of the first support bracket and the second support bracket (Figure 2).
Claim(s) 5, 10-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Yu et al (US 2022/0146003) in view of McCuistion (US 2,841,429) in further view of Brouwer (US 5,531,524).
Regarding Claim 5, Yu et al disclose where the recess comprises an annular inclined face (along the 4th face as seen in Annotated Figure A), a plane passing through a central axis of the valve core seat is defined (along the radial centerline of the valve core seat as seen in the orientation of Annotated Figure A), but fails to expressly disclose an included angle 0 is defined between a projection of the annular inclined face on the plane and a projection of a straight face of the third face on the plane, and the included angle 0 is in a range from 110 degrees to 130 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the included angle to be in a range from 110 degrees to 130 degrees since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an appropriate sealing angle based on the shape of the valve core. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that having the included angle to be in a range from 110 degrees to 130 degrees, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to the particular arrangement.
Regarding Claim 10, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) is provided with a first connection port channel (11), a second connection port channel (12), a third connection port channel (13), the valve core (20) is provided with a guide channel (21) extending through the valve core (Figure 2), the first connection port channel is communicated with the guide channel (Figure 1), and the guide channel is communicable with one or two of the second connection port channel (Figure 1), the third connection port channel (Figure 1), by rotation of the valve core (Figure 1).
But fail to expressly disclose a fourth connection port channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fourth connection port channel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system or to introduce an additional fluid into the system.
Regarding Claim 11, Yu et al disclose where the guide channel comprises a first opening and a second opening (14 and 15 in Figure 2), the guide channel is communicated through the first opening to one or two of the second connection port channel, the third connection port channel, and the fourth connection port channel (Figure 2), and the guide channel is communicated with the first connection port channel through the second opening (Figure 2);
the valve body assembly comprises a first connection port portion forming the first connection port channel (Figure 1), the first connection port portion comprises a projecting portion formed by extending along an axial direction of the first connection port portion (Figure 1), the second opening is arranged at an outer periphery of the projecting portion (Figure 2), and the projecting portion abuts against a wall face forming the guide channel (via 20 in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Yu et al disclose where an outer surface of the valve core comprises a spherical face (Figure 1), the first opening is arranged on the spherical face (Figure 1), the third face comprises an arc-shaped face (203 in Annotated Figure A), and part of the spherical face fits closely with the arc-shaped face (Figure 2);
a plane perpendicular to a central axis of the valve core is defined (Figures 3-5), an included angle a is defined by projections of the first opening on the plane and a center of the projection of the spherical face on the plane (Figures 3-5), an included angle p is defined by outer endpoints of the projection of two arc-shaped faces arranged at either side of the first opening on the plane and the center (on each of 102 in Figures 3-5), and an included angle y is defined by the outer endpoints of the projection of two adjacent arc-shaped faces on the plane and the center,
but fails to expressly disclose wherein p>a>y, and 70 degrees ≤a≤ 100 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein p>a>y, and 70 degrees ≤a≤ 100 degrees since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an appropriate sealing angle based on the shape of the valve core. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that having p>a>y, and 70 degrees ≤a≤ 100 degrees, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to the particular arrangement.
Regarding Claim 13, Yu et al disclose where the valve core (20) comprises a limiting portion (411), the valve body assembly comprises a stop portion (421), a valve body cavity is defined in the valve body assembly (Figure 2; ¶ 47), the valve core is arranged in the valve body cavity (Figure 2), the limiting portion is configured to abut against the stop portion by rotation of the valve core (¶ 47), and a movement stroke of the valve core is limited by the limiting portion abutting against the stop portion (¶ 47).
Regarding Claim 14, Yu et al disclose where the electric valve operates in, but is not limited to, five operating modes:
a first operating mode in which the first connection port channel is communicated with the second connection port channel through the guide channel (Figure 3);
a second operating mode in which the first connection port channel is simultaneously communicated with the second connection port channel and the third connection port channel through the guide channel (Figure 4);
a third operating mode in which the first connection port channel is communicated with the third connection port channel through the guide channel (Figure 5);
wherein the five operating modes are not limited sequentially (Figures 3-5);
but fails to expressly disclose where a fourth operating mode in which the first connection port channel is simultaneously communicated with the third connection port channel and the fourth connection port channel through the guide channel; and a fifth operating mode in which the first connection port channel is communicated with the fourth connection port channel through the guide channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fourth operating mode in which the first connection port channel is simultaneously communicated with the third connection port channel and the fourth connection port channel through the guide channel; and a fifth operating mode in which the first connection port channel is communicated with the fourth connection port channel through the guide channel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system or to introduce an additional fluid into the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Yu et al disclose where in the second operating mode (Figure 4), an area of a part in which the guide channel is communicated with the second connection port channel and an area of a part in which the guide channel is communicated with the third connection port channel are proportionally adjusted by an angle of rotation of the valve core (Figure 4), and in the fourth operating mode, an area of a part in which the guide channel is communicated with the third connection port channel and an area of a part in which the guide channel is communicated with the fourth connection port channel are proportionally adjusted by an angle of rotation of the valve core (as would be obvious as modified as discussed above; Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) is provided with a first connection port channel (11), a second connection port channel (12), a third connection port channel (13), the valve core (20) is provided with a guide channel (21) extending through the valve core (Figure 2), the first connection port channel is communicated with the guide channel (Figure 1), and the guide channel is communicable with one or two of the second connection port channel (Figure 1), the third connection port channel (Figure 1), by rotation of the valve core (Figure 1).
But fail to expressly disclose a fourth connection port channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fourth connection port channel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system or to introduce an additional fluid into the system.
Regarding Claim 19, Yu et al disclose where the valve body assembly (10 and 30) is provided with a first connection port channel (11), a second connection port channel (12), a third connection port channel (13), the valve core (20) is provided with a guide channel (21) extending through the valve core (Figure 2), the first connection port channel is communicated with the guide channel (Figure 1), and the guide channel is communicable with one or two of the second connection port channel (Figure 1), the third connection port channel (Figure 1), by rotation of the valve core (Figure 1).
But fail to expressly disclose a fourth connection port channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fourth connection port channel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system or to introduce an additional fluid into the system.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2022/0146003) in view of McCuistion (US 2,841,429) in further view of Brouwer (US 5,531,524) in further view of Tappe (US 8,360,092).
Regarding Claim 9, Yu et al, as modified by McCuistion and Brouwer, teach all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly teach where the first valve body and the second valve body each is formed by injection moulding of a plastic material, the valve core seat is formed by injection moulding of a hard resin material, and the first annular sealing member is formed by injection moulding of a soft rubber material.
Tappe teaches a valve (Figure 1) where the valve body is formed by injection moulding of a plastic material (Col 4, lines 27-29; where the first and second valve bodies are disclosed by Yu et al), the valve core seat is formed by injection moulding of a hard resin material (Col 4, lines 27-33), and the first annular sealing member is formed by injection moulding of a soft rubber material (Col 10, lines 29-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the claimed materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a commonly used material that is inexpensive and durable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 Dec 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amends Claim 1 to incorporate some limitations from Claim 6 and argues that the current prior art fails to teach or disclose these limitations. Applicant additionally argues specifically that Brouwer fails to teach these limitations because Brouwer fails to teach where the plurality of first protruding portion and the plurality of second protruding portions are arranged in the same phase, as required by the Claims.
As discussed above, Brouwer teaches where the plurality of first protruding portions (92) and the plurality of second protruding portions (86) are symmetrically distributed along radial directions of the body portion with respect to the body portion (Figures 5-7 show the first protruding portions 92 distributed radially inward of the body potion along a radial direction and distributed symmetrically with respect to the body portion and the second protruding portions 86 distributed radially outward of the body potion along a radial direction and distributed symmetrically with respect to the body portion). Therefore Brouwer teaches where each of the first and second protruding portions are distributed symmetrically with respect to the body portion, which is recited in the claim.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., where the plurality of first protruding portion and the plurality of second protruding portions are arranged in the same phase are arranged aligned or symmetrical to each other) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Claims recite where the plurality of first protruding portions and the plurality of second protruding portions are symmetrically distributed along radial directions of the body portion with respect to the body portion. Therefore Brouwer teaches where they are symmetric about the body portion as required and discussed above.
Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753