DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/22/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Status
Claims 1-19, and 21-25, are pending.
Claims 15, 18, and 19, are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner best understands ethanolamine as recited in claim 23 to be synonymous with Applicants’ elected species of monoethanolamide.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 stands objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 appears to be missing “and a” following “a salt thereof,” in ln 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 16, 17, and 24, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US 20110039702 A1), in view of McKnight et al (US 20130123104 A1, hereinafter “McKnight”) and Cosmetic Ingredient Review (MEA, CIR Expert Panel Meeting, 2011, pp. 1-239, hereinafter “CIR”), as evidenced by PubChem (Propylene Glycol, retrieved 2026).
Long teaches stable aqueous liquid herbicidal compositions comprising 20-35 wt% of a water-soluble herbicidal ingredient, a C8-C16 alkyl ether sulfate from about 3-35 wt%, organic solvent from 1-20 wt%, etc. (abs, ¶¶ 22, 25, examples, claims 1, 6, 9). The water-soluble herbicidal ingredient includes glufosinate and salts thereof, and mixtures thereof (¶ 16, examples). Suitable solvents include methanol, ethanol, isopropanol, propylene glycol, glycerol, dipropylene glycol, and combinations are also suitable (¶ 23). As evidenced by PubChem, propylene glycol is synonymous with 1,2-propylene glycol (synonyms, structure). In embodiments isopropanol is used in combination with dipropylene glycol (ex. 8, 11). The water-soluble herbicidal ingredient is usually provided in a 50 wt% aqueous solution, and an equal amount of water is provided with the water-soluble herbicidal ingredient; additional water may be added as necessary (¶ 20). The wt% for the water-soluble herbicidal active ingredient reflects the amount of herbicide only, not the total solution amount (¶ 20). The alkyl ether sulfates may contain linear aliphatic groups having 8-16 carbon atoms, and the degree of ethoxylation may be from 1-10 moles of ethylene oxide, usually 2-4 moles of ethylene oxide (¶ 21). Examples include sodium lauryl ether sulfate, ammonium lauryl ether sulfate, and other salts of lauryl ether sulfate (¶ 21). The composition may optionally include auxiliary agents commonly used in herbicide formulations and known to those skilled in the art, such as carriers, pigments, defoamers (i.e., antifoaming agents), etc. (¶ 32). In particular embodiments, for example, the defoamer was included at 0.25 and 0.50 wt% (examples 1-12).
Long does not teach Applicant’s elected species of the compound of formula (I), an embodiment comprising B.1, B.2, and B.3, nor a single embodiment comprising the amounts of the components as instantly claimed.
McKnight teaches agricultural pesticide compositions comprising herbicides, such as glufosinate salts, and one or more surfactants selected from alkyl ether sulfate surfactants, including sodium laureth sulfate, ammonium laureth sulfate, monoethanolamine laureth sulfate, etc. (abs, ¶¶ 171, 173, 336).
CIR teaches monoethanolamine laureth sulfate (MEA-laureth sulfate, CAS 68184-04-3) is the ethanolamine salt of sulfated, ethoxylated lauryl alcohol, wherein the number of ethylene glycol units range from 1 to 4 (CIR Panel Book Page 34). The structure of monoethanolamine laureth sulfate is as follows:
.
Regarding the herbicidal compound of claim 1, it would have been obvious to select from glufosinate or salts thereof, or combinations thereof, as taught by Long.
Regarding the amount of the herbicidal compound of claim 1, it would have been obvious to include 20-35 wt% of glufosinate or salts thereof, or combinations thereof, as taught by Long.
Regarding the mixture of alcoholic solvents of claim 1, where the working embodiments of Long comprise isopropanol and dipropylene glycol, and it would have been obvious to further include an additional solvent, such as 1,2-propylene glycol or glycerol, where mixtures of solvents are taught by Long to be suitable.
Regarding the water of claim 1, where the compositions of Long are aqueous liquid compositions, the compositions necessarily comprise water.
Regarding the compound of formula (I) of claim 1, it would have been obvious to modify the compositions of Long by substituting monoethanolamine laureth sulfate for the alkyl ether sulfate salts of Long, where monoethanolamine laureth sulfate was a known surfactant suitable for agricultural pesticide compositions comprising glufosinate, as taught by McKnight, and where Long teaches other salts of laureth sulfate are suitable.
Further, it would have been obvious to formulate the monoethanolamine laureth sulfate surfactant wherein n is equal to 3, as taught by Long and CIR, thereby meeting the elected species.
Regarding the amount of the compound of formula (I) of claim 1, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition comprising the monoethanolamine laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above in amounts ranging from 3-35 wt%, as taught by Long. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, it would have been obvious to include solvents B.1 and B.2 in amounts ranging from 1-20 wt%, as taught by Long. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to formulate the compositions with 20-35 wt% of the herbicidal active ingredient, as taught by Long.
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to select from among the suitable solvents taught by Long, such as ethanol as solvent B.1.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to select from the suitable solvents taught by Long, such as 1,2-propylene glycol as solvent B.2.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition made obvious above with 20-35 wt% glufosinate or salts thereof, or mixtures thereof, and 1-20 wt% of ethanol, 1,2-propylene glycol, and dipropylene glycol, for the same reasons discussed above by Long. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding the amount of water of claims 7 and 8, where Long teaches liquid aqueous formulations, and that the herbicidal active ingredient is usually included in equal amounts with water, where the herbicidal active agent ranges from 20-35 wt%, it would have been obvious to include 20-35 wt% water, as taught by Long. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, the number of ethylene oxide repeating units of 3 is made obvious above by Long and CIR, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 10, the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above comprises hydrogens in the RA, RB, RC, and RD, positions of formula (I), thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, the M+ cation in the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above is a protonated monoethanolamine, which appears to read on an ammonium cation of a primary amine as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 12, the M+ cation in the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above is a protonated monoethanolamine, wherein the R1-R4 of formula (II) are H or C2 alkyl, wherein one of the groups is substituted with OH, thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the M+ cation in the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above is a monoethanolammonium cation, i.e., protonated ethanolamine, as illustrated by CIR above, thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition made obvious above with 20-35 wt% glufosinate or salts thereof, or mixtures thereof, 1-20 wt% of ethanol and 1,2-propylene glycol, and 20-35 wt% water, for the same reasons discussed above by Long.
Regarding the amount of the compound of formula (I) of claim 16, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition comprising the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above in amounts ranging from 3-35 wt%, as taught by Long for the same reasons discussed above. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to further include auxiliary agents commonly used in herbicide formulations and known to those skilled in the art, such as carriers, pigments, defoamers (i.e., antifoaming agents), etc., as taught by Long. It would have been obvious to include known amounts, such as 0.25 and 0.50 wt% for defoamers, as used in the working examples of Long.
Regarding claim 24, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition made obvious above with 20-35 wt% glufosinate or salts thereof, or mixtures thereof, 1-20 wt% of ethanol and 1,2-propylene glycol, and 20-35 wt% water, for the same reasons discussed above by Long, overlapping the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding the amount of the compound of formula (I), it would have been obvious to formulate the composition comprising the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above in amounts ranging from 3-35 wt%, as taught by Long for the same reasons discussed above. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
First, Applicants assert there is no reasonable expectation of success that modifying Long would have arrived at the specifically recited ternary mixture of B.1-B.3 solvents that is phase stable. Applicants assert Long teaches a long list of different solvent species, examples 7 and 10 share two components of the recited ternary mixture, but there is no reason to select a third solvent from Long. Applicants assert that Long’s own comparative examples also demonstrate that selection of other solvents from its own list can result in phase separation. Applicants assert McKnight and CIR do not remedy this deficiency. Applicants assert that the inclusion of a third solvent would either likely do nothing or destabilize the herbicidal composition.
Second, Applicants assert the Examples 7 and 10 of Long are the closest to the instant claims, but recites only two out of the three solvents. Applicants assert that B.3 an B.1 without the third solvent does not result in a stable formulation comprising glufosinate and the compound of formula (I), as shown in the instant examples. Applicants assert that all binary solutions of dipropylene glycol and C1-C3 monoalcohols (Table MC.1) undergo phase separation. Applicants assert that only the combination of solvents B.1, B.2, and B.3 remain stable during long term storage, and asserts this benefit could not have been expected.
First, respectfully, this arguments is not persuasive. Where Long teaches multiple solvents can be included, including mixtures of solvents, it would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to include any combination of solvents from those that are taught to be suitable. Additionally, where Long teaches the herbicidal compositions are stable, it would be reasonably expected that the suitable solvents would result in a stable formulation. While embodiments with two solvents may be exemplified, the reference can be relied upon for all it teaches, even non preferred or alternative embodiments. Applicants assert that the inclusion of a third surfactant to Long would likely do nothing or destabilize the compositions is merely attorney argument and attorney argument does not take the place of evidence where evidence is required. See MPEP 716.01(C)(II) and (III). There appears to be no teachings or suggestions in Long that would suggest that further including a third solvent would either not do anything or destabilize the compositions, as asserted by Applicants.
Second, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. From Table MC.1, the examiner does agree with Applicants that the formulations comprising B.3 and B.1, without the third solvent do not appear to result in stable formulations comprising glufosinate ammonium and MEA-LES, which does not appear to be taught by the prior art of record, however, it does not appear the results can be reasonably extended to the full scope of the instant claims. From Tables M.1 and M.2, only glufosinate ammonium is tested as the active ingredient, MEA-LES is the only tested compound of formula (I), and all of the components, including those of A, B, C, and D, are tested in a much narrower range than instantly claimed. Based on these results, it is not clear if altering the glufosinate form, the compound of formula (I), and the amounts of the other components, within the full scope of the instant claims, would result in the same stability shown in the instant tables.
Claims 1-14, 16, 17, and 21-25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur et al (US 20200367504 A1, hereinafter “Baur”), in view of McKnight et al (US 20130123104 A1, hereinafter “McKnight”) and Cosmetic Ingredient Review (MEA, CIR Expert Panel Meeting, 2011, pp. 1-239, hereinafter “CIR”), as evidenced by PubChem (Propylene Glycol, retrieved 2026).
Baur teaches compositions comprising water-soluble herbicides, wherein the composition comprises water soluble herbicide, solvents, co-solvents, and surfactants (abs, ¶¶ 20-33, 187). The water-soluble herbicide includes glufosinate or salts thereof (¶¶ 36, 37, 145, 159, 187). The water-soluble herbicide is included in an amount of 1-80 wt%, preferably 10-35 wt% (¶ 145). Frequently suitable combinations of different solvents include methanol, ethanol, isopropanol, etc. (¶ 140). Suitable co-solvents include propylene glycol, glycerol, dipropylene glycol, etc. (¶¶ 81). As evidenced by PubChem, propylene glycol is synonymous with 1,2-propylene glycol (synonyms, structure). Surfactants, including anionic surfactants include alkyl ether sulfates, including lauryl ether sulfate sodium salt, organic salts based on alkanolamine, etc. (¶¶ 94, 187). The alkyl ether sulfates can comprise 1-20 alkyleneoxy units, most preferably 3 to 5 (¶ 20). The alkyl ether sulfates are included from 0.1 to 97 wt%, especially 2 to 70 wt%, very particularly 5 to 60 wt% (¶ 145). In embodiments, the solvents are included at 2 wt% (table 2). Cosolvents are included at 0-30 wt% (¶ 145, claim 16). The amount of water can range from 0.01 to 95 wt%, preferably 5% to 85% by weight, especially 10% to 60% by weight (¶ 145, claim 16). Further surfactants including anionic, nonionic, cationic, and zwitterionic surfactants can be included from 0 to 25 wt% (¶¶ 32, 92, claims 2, 16). The compositions may also further include defoamers (¶ 123).
Baur does not appear to teach Applicant’s elected species of the compound of formula (I), an embodiment comprising B.1, B.2, and B.3, nor a single embodiment comprising the amounts of the components as instantly claimed.
McKnight teaches agricultural pesticide compositions comprising herbicides, such as glufosinate salts, and one or more surfactants selected from alkyl ether sulfate surfactants, including sodium laureth sulfate, ammonium laureth sulfate, monoethanolamine laureth sulfate, etc. (abs, ¶¶ 171, 173, 336).
McKnight does not appear to specifically teach the number of ethylene glycol units of the monoethanolamine laureth sulfate.
CIR teaches monoethanolamine laureth sulfate (MEA-laureth sulfate, CAS 68184-04-3) is the ethanolamine salt of sulfated, ethoxylated lauryl alcohol, wherein the number of ethylene glycol units range from 1 to 4 (CIR Panel Book Page 34). The structure of monoethanolamine laureth sulfate is as follows:
.
Regarding the herbicidal compound of claim 1, it would have been obvious to include 1-80 wt%, preferably 10-35 wt%, of glufosinate or salts thereof, as taught by Baur, overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding the mixture of alcoholic solvents of claim 1, where Baur teaches the compositions comprise solvents and cosolvents, and mixtures thereof are taught to be suitable, it would have been obvious to include methanol, ethanol, isopropanol, and mixtures thereof as a solvent, and cosolvents including 1,2-propylene glycol, glycerol, and dipropylene glycol, as taught to be suitable by Baur.
Regarding the water of claim 1, the composition of Baur made obvious above are taught to comprise water.
Regarding the compound of formula (I) of claim 1, it would have been obvious to modify the compositions of Baur by substituting monoethanolamine laureth sulfate for the alkyl ether sulfate salts of Baur, where monoethanolamine laureth sulfate was a known surfactant suitable for agricultural pesticide compositions comprising glufosinate, as taught by McKnight, and where Baur teaches salts of laureth sulfate are suitable, including monoethanolamine salts.
Further, it would have been obvious to formulate the monoethanolamine laureth sulfate surfactant wherein n is equal to 3, where Baur teaches alkyleneoxide units of 3 are suitable, and a where ethylene glycol repeating units of 3 were known for known to be suitable for monoethanolamine laureth sulfate, as taught by CIR, thereby meeting the elected species.
Regarding the amount of the compound of formula (I) of claim 1, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition comprising the monoethanolamine laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 97 wt%, especially 2 to 70 wt%, very particularly 5 to 60 wt%, as taught by Baur. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, it would have been obvious to include solvents B.1 and B.2 in amounts overlapping the claimed range where solvents at 2 wt% are disclosed in embodiments and cosolvents are taught to range from 0-30 wt%, as taught by Baur. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Further, the skilled artisan would have been reasonably expected to determine the working range for the solvent mixtures in order to achieve desired formulation properties, stability, etc. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition with 1-80 wt%, preferably 10-35 wt%, of glufosinate or salts thereof, as taught by Baur, overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, it would been obvious to select from ethanol as solvent B.1, as taught by Baur.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to select from the suitable solvents taught by Baur, such as 1,2-propylene glycol as solvent B.2.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition made obvious above with glufosinate or salts thereof, ethanol, 1,2-propylene glycol, dipropylene glycol, and water, in amounts overlapping the claimed ranges, for the same reasons discussed above by Baur. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, the number of ethylene oxide repeating units of 3 is made obvious above by Baur and CIR, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 10, the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above comprises hydrogens in the RA, RB, RC, and RD, positions of formula (I), thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, the M+ cation in the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above is a protonated monoethanolamine, which appears to read on an ammonium cation of a primary amine as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 12, the M+ cation in the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above is a protonated monoethanolamine, wherein the R1-R4 of formula (II) are H or C2 alkyl, wherein one of the groups is substituted with OH, thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the M+ cation in the MEA-laureth sulfate surfactant made obvious above is a monoethanolammonium cation, i.e., protonated ethanolamine, as illustrated by CIR above, thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition made obvious above with glufosinate or salts thereof, ethanol, 1,2-propylene glycol, water, and the compound of formula (I), in amounts overlapping the claimed ranges, for the same reasons discussed above by Baur. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to further include anionic, nonionic, cationic, or zwitterionic surfactants, in amounts up to 25 wt%, as taught by Baur, overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Additionally and alternatively, it would have been obvious to include further solvents and antifoaming agents, as taught by Baur. Regarding their amounts, it would have been well within the relative skills of the skilled artisan to determine the optimal working ranges for additional solvents and antifoaming agents, in order to achieve desired formulation properties, stability, foaming, etc. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 21, 22, and 25, it would have been obvious to formulate the compositions made obvious above that are free from alkyl polyglucosides, where alkyl polyglucosides appear to be taught as optional surfactants by Baur.
Regarding claim 23, where monoethanolamine lauryl ether sulfate is made obvious above, it appears the limitation of the cation M+ selected from ethanolamine is met.
Regarding claim 24, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition made obvious above with glufosinate or salts thereof, ethanol, 1,2-propylene glycol, water, and the compound of formula (I) in amounts overlapping the claimed ranges, for the same reasons discussed above by Baur. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14, 16, 17, and 21-25, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/033,418 (reference application), hereinafter ‘418, in view of Long (US 20110039702 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘418 disclose an aqueous agrochemical formulation comprising at least one water-soluble pesticide selected from glufosinate or a salt thereof. The composition further comprises at least one organosulfate surfactant of formula (I) (appears to be substantially the same compound instantly claimed). The compositions may further comprise organic solvents.
The claims of ‘418 do not disclose the combination of solvents B.1, B.2, and B.2, nor the amounts of the components as instantly claimed.
It would have been obvious to further include known solvents, such as those taught by Long for the same reasons discussed above and of record.
It would have been obvious to include known amounts of components suitable for aqueous herbicidal compositions comprising glufosinate and a surfactant, such as those taught by Long for the same reasons above and of record.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The following are also rejected in view of Long (US 20110039702 A1) for the same reasons:
Copending application no. 17/793,755, while disclosing an agrochemical composition comprising formula (I) as instantly claimed, wherein the active ingredient is glufosinate or (L)-glufosinate, or a salt thereof, and is present in an amount of more than 25 wt%, and more than 10 wt% of an organic solvent, the claims do not disclose the combination of solvents B.1, B.2, and B.3, as instantly claimed, nor their amounts. It would have been obvious to modify the claims of ‘755 by including known solvents and amounts of components that were known to be suitable for aqueous herbicidal compositions comprising glufosinate and a surfactant, as taught by Long for the same reasons above and of record.
Copending application no. 17/793,475, while disclosing a liquid herbicidal composition comprising ammonium salt of glufosinate, a compound of formula (I) as instantly claimed, the claims do not disclose the inclusion of solvents B.1, B.2, or B.3, as instantly claimed, nor the amount of components as instantly claimed. It would have been obvious to modify the claims of ‘475 by including known solvents and amounts of components that were known to be suitable for aqueous herbicidal compositions comprising glufosinate and a surfactant, as taught by Long for the same reasons above and of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicants assert there is no reasonable expectation of success that a skilled person would have arrived at the specifically recited ternary mixture of B.1-B.3 alcohol solvents in view of Long, and the instant application demonstrates unexpected results, for the same reasons discussed above.
Respectfully, this argument is not persuasive for the same reasons discussed above. Accordingly, the nonstatutory double patenting stands rejected for the same reasons above and of record.
Claims 1-14, 16, 17, and 21-25, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/033,418 (reference application), hereinafter ‘418, in view of over Baur et al (US 20200367504 A1, hereinafter “Baur”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘418 disclose an aqueous agrochemical formulation comprising at least one water-soluble pesticide selected from glufosinate or a salt thereof. The composition further comprises at least one organosulfate surfactant of formula (I) (appears to be substantially the same compound instantly claimed). The compositions may further comprise organic solvents.
The claims of ‘418 do not disclose the combination of solvents B.1, B.2, and B.2, nor the amounts of the components as instantly claimed.
It would have been obvious to further include known solvents, such as those taught by Baur for the same reasons discussed above and of record.
It would have been obvious to include known amounts of components suitable for aqueous herbicidal compositions comprising glufosinate and a surfactant, such as those taught by Baur for the same reasons above and of record.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The following are also rejected in view of Baur for the same reasons:
Copending application no. 17/793,755, while disclosing an agrochemical composition comprising formula (I) as instantly claimed, wherein the active ingredient is glufosinate or (L)-glufosinate, or a salt thereof, and is present in an amount of more than 25 wt%, and more than 10 wt% of an organic solvent, the claims do not disclose the combination of solvents B.1, B.2, and B.3, as instantly claimed, nor their amounts. It would have been obvious to modify the claims of ‘755 by including known solvents and amounts of components that were known to be suitable for aqueous herbicidal compositions comprising glufosinate and a surfactant, as taught by Baur for the same reasons above and of record.
Copending application no. 17/793,475, while disclosing a liquid herbicidal composition comprising ammonium salt of glufosinate, a compound of formula (I) as instantly claimed, the claims do not disclose the inclusion of solvents B.1, B.2, or B.3, as instantly claimed, nor the amount of components as instantly claimed. It would have been obvious to modify the claims of ‘475 by including known solvents and amounts of components that were known to be suitable for aqueous herbicidal compositions comprising glufosinate and a surfactant, as taught by Baur for the same reasons above and of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA A ATKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612