DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 6-10 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed on 03/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai et al., JP 2017080806 (hereafter Nagai).
Regarding claim 6,
A laser cutting method for a steel strip, comprising (abstract)
cutting an end in a width direction of the steel strip including a joint obtained by joining a rear end of a preceding steel strip and a front end of a following steel strip by using a laser beam, (abstract teaches “Steel strip notching equipment for
forming a notch in a plate width direction end portion of a joint part where the rear end of a preceding steel strip and the leading end of a succeeding steel strip are joined is characterized in that cutting is performed on a laser cutting machine”)
wherein the steel strip is cut such that an interval between pieces of dross having an aspect ratio of 1.0 or more is set to 1.0 mm or more( The aspect ratio is interpreted as (dross height/dross width) as described in paragraph [9] of the original disclosure. Fig. 4 (a) further teaches a dross with an aspect ratio of 1.
It is implied that an interval between more than 1 mm between dross in Fig. 4(a).)
and an interval between dross having an aspect ratio of 1.0 or more and dross having an aspect ratio of less than 1.0 is set to 1.0 mm or more in the end in the width direction after cutting. (Annotated Fig. 4 (a) teaches 1mm or more distance between two dross.)
Fig. 4 in Nagai
Regarding claim 8,
A laser cutting facility , in which the laser cutting method for the steel strip according to claim 6 is executed. (Nagai teaches in abstract “Steel strip notching equipment for forming a notch in a plate width direction end portion of a joint part where the rear end of a preceding steel strip and the leading end of a succeeding steel strip are joined is characterized in that cutting is performed on a laser cutting machine”. It is implied that the laser cutting is carried out in a laser cutting facility for a steel strip.)
Regarding claim 9,
A cold rolling method for a steel strip, comprising performing cold rolling on a steel strip (Abstract teaches “a cold rolling method, and a manufacturing method of a cold rolling steel strip”)
cut by the laser cutting method for the steel strip according to claim 6. (Abstract teaches “Steel strip notching equipment for forming a notch in a plate width direction end portion of a joint part where the rear end of a preceding steel strip and the leading end of a succeeding steel strip are joined is characterized in that cutting is performed on a laser cutting machine by pulse cutting”)
Regarding claim 10,
A method of manufacturing a cold rolled steel strip, comprising manufacturing the cold rolled steel strip (Abstract teaches “a cold rolling method, and a manufacturing method of a cold rolling steel strip”)
by a process including the cold rolling method for the steel strip according to claim 9. (Similar scope to claim 9 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Takeda et al., US 20030015568 (hereafter Takeda).
The laser cutting method for the steel strip according to claim 6, wherein a cutting process of cutting the end in the width direction (Abstract in Nagai)
….in the steel strip with a laser are continuously executed with the steel strip being stopped. (The claim is interpreted as the steel strip is continuously rolled. Abstract in Nagai teaches “a manufacturing method of a cold rolling steel strip that enable cold rolling without causing a joint part rupture (weld zone rupture)”.)
and a hole forming process of forming one or more holes (Nagai is silent about this.
Takeda teaches “In a continuous processing line, a weld portion is detected in an after process, and there is a case where a hole is processed in a vicinity of the weld portion to be used as a marker for shearing away the portion or for control” in paragraph [86]. )
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the step of forming a hole in the steel strip as taught in Takeda in the method of Nagai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “it is possible to process the hole, which is necessary for detecting the weld portion in an after process, concurrently with the shearing operation, and a time which the line is stopped may be shortened and, at the same time, a number of installation spaces may be reduced and it is possible to make cost reductions” as taught in paragraph [88] in Takeda.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/19/2026 with respect to claim(s) 6-10 have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant cited MPEP 2125 (II) on page 5 of the remarks and argued that
MPEP 2125 (II) sets forth “When the reference does not disclose that the drawings are to scale and is silent as to dimensions, arguments based on measurement of the drawing features are of little value.” However, Fig. 4 in Nagai is an actual photograph of a laser cut surface to compare dross as taught in the google translated image below. The photograph has an explicit scale mark of 1mm to measure the actual features in the photograph.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761