DETAILED ACTION
SURFACE CLEANING HEAD AND SURFACE CLEANING DEVICE
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08-11-2026 has been entered. Claims 1,3-11,15-16,21 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 24, 25,27, 28 and 31 have been cancelled. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8-11-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully
considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the prior art combination of Xia in view of Seo, Kress, Carden fails to teach the new amendment, specifically base reference Xia fails to teach wherein the brush assembly is an integral assembly and comprises: a connecting wall removably connected to the housing and covering at least a portion of the side opening, the connecting wall having an inside surface and an outside surface, wherein at least a portion of the outside surface of the connecting wall constitutes at least a portion of a side outer contour surface of the surface cleaning head; a cleaning roller having an end rotatably supported on the inside surface of the connecting wall, the cleaning roller being driven by a drive device to rotate around a transverse axis; and a side brush mounted on the outside surface of the connecting wall and exposed outwardly along the transverse axis; wherein the cleaning roller and the side brush are mechanically coupled together through the connecting wall such that the side brush follows the cleaning roller in rotation around the transverse axis; wherein the connecting wall, the cleaning roller, and the side brush, as part of the integral assembly, are mounted into or removed from the brush chamber together.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Additionally, Xia is not relied on to teach these limitations prior art Seo and Kress are.
Seo teaches a surface cleaning head (10, figure 1) wherein a brush assembly (200, figure 3) is an integral assembly (see figure 3) and comprises:
a connecting wall (220 and 230, 260 figure )removably connected (“the user can easily repair or replace the cleaning member”) to the housing and covering at least a portion of a side opening (figures 5 and 6), the connecting wall (see figure 2 ) having an inside surface and an outside surface, wherein at least a portion of the outside surface (figures 3-5) of the connecting wall (220 and 230, 260, figure 4) constitutes at least a portion of a side outer contour surface of the surface cleaning head (see 220 connection w/ 144, figures 5 and 6);
a cleaning roller (210, figure 4) having an end rotatably supported on the inside surface of the connecting wall, the cleaning roller being driven by a drive device (“ an external drive source”) to rotate around a transverse axis; and
a side brush (250, figure 4) mounted on the outside surface of the connecting wall;
wherein the cleaning roller and the side brush are mechanically coupled together (see 224, figure 5) through the connecting wall such that the side brush follows the cleaning roller in rotation around the transverse axis;
wherein the connecting wall, the cleaning roller, and the side brush, as part of the integral assembly (see figure 3), are mounted into or removed from the brush chamber (102, figure 3) together.
Kress teaches a cleaning device where the cleaning device includes a roller, and a side brush where portions of the side brush can be adjusted with respect to transverse axis of the roller (figure 9 “Different arrangements of bristle bundles of the brush attachment 200 are shown in FIGS Figures 9 to 11 shown. The outwardly directed rows of bristle bundles 210.1, 210.2, 210.3 change the angle between the roller brush axis 220 and the bristle bundles with each further row facing outwards to smaller values. The angle range of the angle α of the bristle bundles is between 0 ° and 120 °, as in Figure 9 shown. With the help of the laterally arranged side brush attachment 200, not only the corners between the floor and the wall can be cleaned, but also the wall itself at the height of the roller diameter.”);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4-11,15-16,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (US20180110388A1) in view Seo et al. (KR20080000187A), Kress (EP3287061B1) and Carden (US 3733635 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Xia teaches a surface cleaning apparatus (10, figure 1) including a surface cleaning head (14, figure 1) movable along a surface to be cleaned, a cleaning liquid delivery system (para 0043) having a cleaning liquid tank (300, figure 1), and a dirty liquid recovery system (para 0043,0058) having a suction source (para 0087) and a recovery tank (401, figure 16b), wherein the surface cleaning head comprises:
a housing (551, figure 10);
a suction pathway (para 0062,0075-0080) located within the housing;
a brush chamber (565, figure 10) provided at a forward portion of the housing (551, figure 10) in fluid communication with the suction pathway (para 0062,0075-0080) and having a lower opening (564, figure 8) facing the surface to be cleaned ; and
a brush assembly (para 0052, figure 10) removably mounted (para 0066) in the brush chamber (565, figure 10) and comprising, a cleaning roller (546, figure 10), the cleaning roller (546, figure 10) driven by a drive device to rotate around a transverse axis.
Xia fails to teach the surface cleaning head that comprises wherein the brush assembly is an integral assembly and comprises:
a connecting wall removably connected to the housing and covering at least a portion of the side opening, the connecting wall having an inside surface and an outside surface, wherein at least a portion of the outside surface of the connecting wall constitutes at least a portion of a side outer contour surface of the surface cleaning head;
a cleaning roller having an end rotatably supported on the inside surface of the connecting wall, the cleaning roller being driven by a drive device to rotate around a transverse axis; and
a side brush mounted on the outside surface of the connecting wall;
wherein the cleaning roller and the side brush are mechanically coupled together through the connecting wall such that the side brush follows the cleaning roller in rotation around the transverse axis;
wherein the connecting wall, the cleaning roller, and the side brush, as part of the integral assembly, are mounted into or removed from the brush chamber together
Seo discloses a surface cleaning head (10, figure 1) wherein a brush assembly (200, figure 3) is an integral assembly (see figure 3) and comprises:
a connecting wall (220 and 230, 260 figure )removably connected (“the user can easily repair or replace the cleaning member”) to the housing and covering at least a portion of a side opening (figures 5 and 6), the connecting wall (see figure 2 ) having an inside surface and an outside surface, wherein at least a portion of the outside surface (figures 3-5) of the connecting wall (220 and 230, 260, figure 4) constitutes at least a portion of a side outer contour surface of the surface cleaning head (see 220 connection w/ 144, figures 5 and 6);
a cleaning roller (210, figure 4) having an end rotatably supported on the inside surface of the connecting wall, the cleaning roller being driven by a drive device (“ an external drive source”) to rotate around a transverse axis; and
a side brush (250, figure 4) mounted on the outside surface of the connecting wall;
wherein the cleaning roller and the side brush are mechanically coupled together (see 224, figure 5) through the connecting wall such that the side brush follows the cleaning roller in rotation around the transverse axis;
wherein the connecting wall, the cleaning roller, and the side brush, as part of the integral assembly (see figure 3), are mounted into or removed from the brush chamber (102, figure 3) together
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xia to have a brush chamber having a laterally outward side opening; brush assembly comprising a connecting wall, and a side brush, the connecting wall removably connected to the housing and covering at least a portion of the side opening, the connecting wall having an inside surface and an outside surface, an end of the cleaning roller mounted on the inside surface and the side brush mounted on the outside surface, wherein the side brush is mechanically coupled to the cleaning roller to follow the cleaning roller around the transverse axis based on teachings of Seo. This modification would allow the surface cleaning apparatus clean interior conners and where the floor and the wall meet. (see Seo pages 2-5)
Xia in view of Seo fails to teach a side brush exposed outwardly along the transverse axis.
Kress teaches a cleaning device where the cleaning device includes a roller, and a side brush where portions of the side brush can be adjusted with respect to transverse axis of the roller (figure 9 “Different arrangements of bristle bundles of the brush attachment 200 are shown in FIGS Figures 9 to 11 shown. The outwardly directed rows of bristle bundles 210.1, 210.2, 210.3 change the angle between the roller brush axis 220 and the bristle bundles with each further row facing outwards to smaller values. The angle range of the angle α of the bristle bundles is between 0 ° and 120 °, as in Figure 9 shown. With the help of the laterally arranged side brush attachment 200, not only the corners between the floor and the wall can be cleaned, but also the wall itself at the height of the roller diameter.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Xia to have of the side brush is exposed outwardly along the transverse axis. This modification would help improve the efficiency of cleaning corners and walls (see Kress)
Xia in view of Seo and Kress fails to teach wherein the brush assembly comprises a mudguard mounted on the outside surface of the connecting wall, the mudguard surrounding at least an upper portion of the side brush, and wherein at least a portion of the mudguard has projecting laterally from the outside surface of the connecting wall; and the mudguard and the side brush are adhered to a vertical surface to realize brushing of a portion of the vertical surface in contact with the side brush during operation.
Carden teaches a splash guard for floor scrubbing machine (abstract) where the brush assembly (14, figure 4) comprises a mudguard (18, figure 3) mounted on outside surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Xia to have a mudguard mounted on the outside surface of the connecting wall, the mudguard surrounding at least an upper portion of the ,and wherein at least a portion of the mudguard has projecting laterally from the outside surface of the connecting wall based on teachings of Carden. This modification would ensure that reduce splashback of dirty liquid. (see col 1 lines 15-23).
Further, Xia as modified by Seo, Kress and Carden would teach the mudguard surrounding at least an upper portion of the side brush (See Carden, col 1 lines 26-35; figures 1-4) , and the mudguard and the side brush are adhered to a vertical surface to realize brushing of a portion of the vertical surface in contact with the side brush during operation (see “Different arrangements of bristle bundles of the brush attachment 200 are shown in FIGS Figures 9 to 11 shown. The outwardly directed rows of bristle bundles 210.1, 210.2, 210.3 change the angle between the roller brush axis 220 and the bristle bundles with each further row facing outwards to smaller values. The angle range of the angle α of the bristle bundles is between 0 ° and 120 °, as in Figure 9 shown. With the help of the laterally arranged side brush attachment 200, not only the corners between the floor and the wall can be cleaned, but also the wall itself at the height of the roller diameter.”)
Regarding claim 3, modified Xia teaches wherein at least a portion of the mudguard is made of a flexible material (see Carden col 1 lines 26-35).
Regarding claim 4, modified Xia taches wherein the side brush (Seo’s 250, figure 4) comprises a brush holder (Seo’s 252, figure 4) and one or more cleaning elements (see Seo’s 254, figure 4) disposed on the brush holder.
Regarding claim 5, modified Xia teaches wherein at least a portion of the one or more cleaning elements (see Seo’s 254, figure 4) are distributed along a circumference around the transverse axis.
Regarding claim 6, modified Xia teaches wherein the outside surface of the connecting wall has a recessed portion (see Seo outside surface 232, figures 4-5 and annotated figure below) intersected with the lower opening, and wherein the recessed portion is adapted to receive the side brush (see Seo figures 4- 5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Xia teaches wherein a forward portion of the connecting wall has a front opening (see Seo 262, figure 4) located directly in front of and in communication with the recessed portion, and wherein a portion of the one or more cleaning elements (see Seo 254, figures 4-5) are exposed outwardly through the front opening (see Seo figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 8, modified Xia teaches wherein a lower portion of the connecting wall has a bottom opening (see Seo 260, figures 4-5), and wherein a portion of the one or more cleaning elements (see Seo 254, figures 4-5) are inclined in an inward direction and pass through the bottom opening.
Regarding claim 9, modified Xia teaches wherein the one or more cleaning elements (see Seo 254, figures 4-5) comprise bristle tufts (see Seo discloses “brush bristle”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Xia teaches wherein the cleaning roller (see Seo 210, figure 4) and the side brush (see Seo 250, figure 4) are removable (Seo discloses “the user can easily repair or replace the cleaning member”) from the connecting wall.
Regarding claim 11, modified Xia teaches wherein the side brush (see Seo 250, figure 4) is configured (capable of performing this action) to be individually removable from the connecting wall when the brush assembly is mounted in the brush chamber.
Regarding claim 15, modified Xia teaches wherein at least a portion of the one or more cleaning elements (see Seo 250, figure 4)protrude laterally from the outside surface of the connecting wall.
Regarding claim 16, modified Xia teaches wherein the surface cleaning head comprises an upper cover removably disposed on the top of the housing (see Xia 542, para 0061), and wherein the brush assembly is configured ( Seo discloses “the user can easily repair or replace the cleaning member”) to be removed from the brush chamber only after the upper cover is removed from the housing.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (US20180110388A1) in view Seo et al. (KR20080000187A), Kress (EP3287061B1), Carden (US 3733635 A 1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Parr (US20050132524A1)
Regarding claim 21, modified Xia teaches all the limitations stated above and wherein the cleaning liquid delivery system comprises a first liquid spray nozzle for the cleaning roller (see Xia 554, figure 23) , and wherein the first liquid spray nozzle is fluidly connected to cleaning liquid tank (300, figures 2-16a)but fails to teach a second liquid spray nozzle for the side brush, and second liquid spray nozzle are fluidly connected to the cleaning liquid tank.
Parr teaches a cleaning apparatus that includes a cleaning liquid delivery system (para 0020-0028) comprises a first liquid spray nozzle (792, figure 2) for the cleaning roller (201, figure 2) ,and a second liquid spray nozzle (221L, figure 2) for the side brush (para 0019), and wherein the first liquid spray nozzle and second liquid spray nozzle are fluidly connected to the cleaning liquid tank (620, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xia to have a second liquid spray nozzle for the side brush, and second liquid spray nozzle are fluidly connected to the cleaning liquid tank based on teachings of Parr. This modification would ensure that liquid cascades down to the side portions of the brush assembly (see Parr para 0019).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723