DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 7/31/2023. Since the initial filing, claims 10-13, 15 and 20 have been amended and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings, specifically the tables and graphs and associated legends, are not of sufficient quality to permit examination. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6:
Line 1-2: “wherein the indicator associated with the effective inspiration volume Eeffective is an effective inspiration volume ration Eeffective” should be “wherein the indicator associated with the effective inspiration volume Veffective is an effective inspiration volume ration Eeffective”
Claim 16:
Line 2: “volumeeffective” should be “volume Veffective”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “analogy” in claims 3, 5, 13 and 15 is used by the claim with an unclear meaning, while the accepted meaning is “a comparison of two otherwise unlike things based on resemblance of a particular aspect.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. As Examiner is uncertain what the intended meaning of “analogy” is in this context, no art has been applied at this time. However, Examiner reserves the right to apply art once the 112 issues have been resolved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-12 ,14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ljungberg (US 2019/0192046).
In regards to claim 1, Ljungberg discloses a method for evaluating inhalation administration, comprising the following steps: 1) using a flow detector (spirometer 20) and an inhalation administration device to be evaluated or a corresponding simulator to perform measurement according to inspiration requirements for the inhalation administration device, to obtain data of an inspiration flow- time curve (F-T) (paragraph 30, Fig 3); 2) according to an inspiration flow parameter of the inhalation administration device, obtaining a start time ti and an end time ti2 of each effective inspiration flow section on the inspiration flow-time curve (paragraph 30, see Annotated Fig 3); 3) calculating an effective inspiration volume Veffective based on the inspiration flow-time curve and a series of time parameters ti and ti2 obtained; and 4) evaluating an effective inhalation state of a user using the inhalation administration device with the effective inspiration volume Veffective or indicators associated with the effective inspiration volume Veffective, to determine whether the inhalation administration device is applicable to the user (areas 44 and 46 show amount of medication user received i.e.: effective volume, paragraph 30, Fig 3).
Annotated Fig 3
In regards to claim 2, Ljungberg discloses the method of claim 1 and Ljungberg further discloses wherein the inspiration flow parameter comprises a lower limit of effective inspiration flow (see Annotated Fig 3).
In regards to claim 4, Ljungberg discloses the method of claim 1 and Ljungberg further discloses wherein the inspiration flow parameter comprises a lower limit of effective inspiration flow and an upper limit thereof (see Annotated Fig 3).
In regards to claim 10, Ljungberg discloses the method of claim 1 and Ljungberg further discloses a system for evaluating inhalation administration, comprising a flow detector (spirometer 20) and an intelligent terminal (computer 10), wherein the flow detector detects patient-related data of an inspiration flow-time curve (F-T) with a time change, and the intelligent terminal comprises a data processing system and a method for evaluating inhalation administration, the method is the method according to claim 1 (see above Claim 1 Rejection); a wire or wireless connection is adopted between the flow detector and the intelligent terminal; and inspiration flow-time data detected by the flow detector is uploaded to the intelligent terminal (paragraph 33).
In regards to claim 11, Ljungberg discloses the system of claim 10 and Ljungberg further discloses wherein the flow detector is equipped with an adjustable intake resistance unit and comprises different resistance gears (resistance of mouthpiece 22 may be adjustable, paragraph 28 and 55).
In regards to claim 12, Ljungberg discloses the system of claim 10 and Ljungberg further discloses wherein the inspiration flow parameter comprises a lower limit of effective inspiration flow (see Annotated Fig 3).
In regards to claim 14, Ljungberg discloses the system of claim 10 and Ljungberg further discloses wherein the inspiration flow parameter comprises a lower limit of effective inspiration flow and an upper limit of effective inspiration flow (see Annotated Fig 3).
In regards to claim 20, Ljungberg discloses the system of claim 10 and Ljungberg further discloses wherein the intelligent terminal further comprises an evaluation guiding module for guiding an evaluation test of a patient, and the evaluation guiding module comprises one or more guidance forms of sounds, characters, graphics and animations (paragraph 34 and 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 16, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljungberg (US 2019/0192046).
In regards to claim 6, Ljungberg discloses the method of claim 1.
While Ljungberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the indicator associated with the effective inspiration volume Eeffective is an effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective; the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective is calculated by the following method: obtaining an inspiration start time t0 and an inspiration end time tX on the inspiration flow- time curve; calculating a total inspiration volume Vtotal based on the inspiration flow-time curve and the obtained time parameters t0 and tx; and then calculating the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective; wherein the total inspiration volume Vtotal and the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective are calculated according to the following formula:
V
t
o
t
a
l
∫
t
0
t
x
F
t
d
t
E
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
V
t
o
t
a
l
*
100
%
wherein t denotes time, F(t) denotes a time function of inspiration flow, t0 denotes an inspiration start time, and tx denotes an inspiration end time, it does teach obtaining start and end times of inspiration on the inspiration flow-time curve (Fig 2), calculating volume from the inspiration flow-time curve using and integration formula (find areas under curves, paragraph 30 and 46), and shows the ratio between the total volume and the effective volume (graph in Fig 3 illustrates percentage/ration between limited areas 44 and 46 and total areas beneath curves 54 and 56). While the explicit mathematical formulae are not described, their usage and methodology are clear in the provided description and figures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ljungberg wherein the indicator associated with the effective inspiration volume Eeffective is an effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective; the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective is calculated by the following method: obtaining an inspiration start time to and an inspiration end time tX on the inspiration flow- time curve; calculating a total inspiration volume Vtotal based on the inspiration flow-time curve and the obtained time parameters to and tx; and then calculating the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective; wherein the total inspiration volume Vtotal and the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective are calculated according to the following formula:
V
t
o
t
a
l
∫
t
0
t
x
F
t
d
t
E
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
V
t
o
t
a
l
*
100
%
wherein t denotes time, F(t) denotes a time function of inspiration flow, t0 denotes an inspiration start time, and tx denotes an inspiration end time as these are commonly known mathematical means by which to calculate features of inhalers to determine useful information regarding effective usage.
In regards to claim 7, Ljungberg discloses the method of claim 1.
While Ljungberg does not explicitly disclose further comprising: using an effective inspiration duration Teffective and/or an average effective inspiration flow Feffective, wherein the effective inspiration duration Teffective and the average effective inspiration flow Feffective are calculated according to the following formula:
T
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
∑
i
=
1
n
(
t
i
2
-
t
i
1
F
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
/
T
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
i denotes the serial number of the effective inspiration flow section, and i = 1 ... n, where 1 denotes a first effective inspiration flow section and n denotes a last effective inspiration flow section; ti1 denotes a start time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section; and ti2 denotes an end time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section, it does teach obtaining time data in relation to flow data (Fig 2 and 3) using time durations and averages to determine effective usage (paragraph 30-31). While the explicit mathematical formulae are not described, their usage and methodology are clear in the provided description and figures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ljungberg to further comprise; using an effective inspiration duration Teffective and/or an average effective inspiration flow Feffective, wherein the effective inspiration duration Teffective and the average effective inspiration flow Feffective are calculated according to the following formula:
T
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
∑
i
=
1
n
(
t
i
2
-
t
i
1
F
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
/
T
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
i denotes the serial number of the effective inspiration flow section, and i = 1 ... n, where 1 denotes a first effective inspiration flow section and n denotes a last effective inspiration flow section; ti1 denotes a start time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section; and ti2 denotes an end time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section as these are commonly known mathematical means by which to calculate features of inhalers to determine useful information regarding effective usage.
In regards to claim 9, Ljungberg discloses the method of claim 1.
While Ljungberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the effective inspiration volume Veffeceive is calculated according to the following formula:
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
∑
i
=
1
n
(
∫
t
i
1
t
i
2
F
t
d
t
)
t denotes time;
F(t) denotes a time function of inspiration flow;
i denotes the serial number of the effective inspiration flow section, and i = 1 ... n, wherein 1 denotes a first effective inspiration flow section and n denotes a last effective inspiration flow section;
ti1 denotes a start time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section; and
ti2 denotes an end time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section, it does teach it does teach obtaining start and end times of inspiration on the inspiration flow-time curve (Fig 2), calculating volume from the inspiration flow-time curve using and integration formula (find areas under curves, paragraph 30 and 46). While the explicit mathematical formulae are not described, their usage and methodology are clear in the provided description and figures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ljungberg wherein the effective inspiration volume Veffeceive is calculated according to the following formula:
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
∑
i
=
1
n
(
∫
t
i
1
t
i
2
F
t
d
t
)
t denotes time;
F(t) denotes a time function of inspiration flow;
i denotes the serial number of the effective inspiration flow section, and i = 1 ... n, wherein 1 denotes a first effective inspiration flow section and n denotes a last effective inspiration flow section;
ti1 denotes a start time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section; and
ti2 denotes an end time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section as these are commonly known mathematical means by which to calculate features of inhalers to determine useful information regarding effective usage.
In regards to claim 16, Ljungberg discloses the system of claim 10.
While Ljungberg does not explicitly discloses wherein the indicator associated with the effective inspiration volumeeffective is an effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective; the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective is calculated by the following method: obtaining an inspiration start time t0 and an inspiration end time tx on the inspiration flow-time curve; calculating a total inspiration volume Vtotal based on the inspiration flow-time curve and the obtained time parameters t0 and tx; and then calculating the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective-; wherein the total inspiration volume Vtotal and the effective volume ratio Eeffective are calculated according to the following formula:
V
t
o
t
a
l
∫
t
0
t
x
F
t
d
t
E
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
V
t
o
t
a
l
*
100
%
wherein t denotes time, F(t) denotes a time function of inspiration flow, t0 denotes an inspiration start time, and tx denotes an inspiration end time, it does teach obtaining start and end times of inspiration on the inspiration flow-time curve (Fig 2), calculating volume from the inspiration flow-time curve using and integration formula (find areas under curves, paragraph 30 and 46), and shows the ratio between the total volume and the effective volume (graph in Fig 3 illustrates percentage/ration between limited areas 44 and 46 and total areas beneath curves 54 and 56). While the explicit mathematical formulae are not described, their usage and methodology are clear in the provided description and figures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ljungberg wherein the indicator associated with the effective inspiration volume Eeffective is an effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective; the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective is calculated by the following method: obtaining an inspiration start time to and an inspiration end time tX on the inspiration flow- time curve; calculating a total inspiration volume Vtotal based on the inspiration flow-time curve and the obtained time parameters to and tx; and then calculating the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective; wherein the total inspiration volume Vtotal and the effective inspiration volume ratio Eeffective are calculated according to the following formula:
V
t
o
t
a
l
∫
t
0
t
x
F
t
d
t
E
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
V
t
o
t
a
l
*
100
%
wherein t denotes time, F(t) denotes a time function of inspiration flow, t0 denotes an inspiration start time, and tx denotes an inspiration end time as these are commonly known mathematical means by which to calculate features of inhalers to determine useful information regarding effective usage.
In regards to claim 17, Ljungberg discloses the system of claim 10.
While Ljungberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: using an effective inspiration duration Teffective and/or an average effective inspiration flow Feffective to determine whether an inhalation administration device is applicable to a patient, and calculating the effective inspiration duration Teffective and the average effective inspiration flow Feffective according to the following formula:
T
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
∑
i
=
1
n
(
t
i
2
-
t
i
1
F
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
/
T
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
i denotes the serial number of the effective inspiration flow section, and i = 1 ... n, where 1 denotes a first effective inspiration flow section and n denotes a last effective inspiration flow section; ti1 denotes a start time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section; and ti2 denotes an end time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section, it does teach obtaining time data in relation to flow data (Fig 2 and 3) using time durations and averages to determine effective usage (paragraph 30-31). While the explicit mathematical formulae are not described, their usage and methodology are clear in the provided description and figures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ljungberg to further comprise; using an effective inspiration duration Teffective and/or an average effective inspiration flow Feffective to determine whether an inhalation administration device is applicable to a patient, and calculating the effective inspiration duration Teffective and the average effective inspiration flow Feffective according to the following formula:
T
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
∑
i
=
1
n
(
t
i
2
-
t
i
1
F
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
/
T
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
i denotes the serial number of the effective inspiration flow section, and i = 1 ... n, where 1 denotes a first effective inspiration flow section and n denotes a last effective inspiration flow section; ti1 denotes a start time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section; and ti2 denotes an end time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section as these are commonly known mathematical means by which to calculate features of inhalers to determine useful information regarding effective usage.
In regards to claim 19, Ljungberg discloses the system of claim 10.
While Ljungberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the effective inspiration volume Veffeceive is calculated according to the following formula:
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
∑
i
=
1
n
(
∫
t
i
1
t
i
2
F
t
d
t
)
t denotes time;
F(t) denotes a time function of inspiration flow;
i denotes the serial number of the effective inspiration flow section, and i = 1 ... n, wherein 1 denotes a first effective inspiration flow section and n denotes a last effective inspiration flow section;
ti1 denotes a start time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section; and
ti2 denotes an end time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section, it does teach it does teach obtaining start and end times of inspiration on the inspiration flow-time curve (Fig 2), calculating volume from the inspiration flow-time curve using and integration formula (find areas under curves, paragraph 30 and 46). While the explicit mathematical formulae are not described, their usage and methodology are clear in the provided description and figures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ljungberg wherein the effective inspiration volume Veffeceive is calculated according to the following formula:
V
e
f
f
e
c
t
i
v
e
=
∑
i
=
1
n
(
∫
t
i
1
t
i
2
F
t
d
t
)
t denotes time;
F(t) denotes a time function of inspiration flow;
i denotes the serial number of the effective inspiration flow section, and i = 1 ... n, wherein 1 denotes a first effective inspiration flow section and n denotes a last effective inspiration flow section;
ti1 denotes a start time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section; and
ti2 denotes an end time of the i(th) effective inspiration flow section as these are commonly known mathematical means by which to calculate features of inhalers to determine useful information regarding effective usage.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljungberg (US 2019/0192046) in view of Mishelevich (US 5363842).
In regards to claim 8, Ljungberg teaches the method of claim 1.
While Ljungberg does not disclose further comprising: determining a breath-holding duration, wherein a method for determining the breath-holding duration comprises: obtaining a breath-holding end time th, on the inspiration flow-time curve and calculating the breath-holding duration (Tbreath-holding) according to the following formula:
T
b
r
e
a
t
h
-
h
o
l
d
i
n
g
=
t
h
-
t
x
wherein th denotes the breath-holding end time, and tx denotes an inspiration end time and a breath-holding start time, it does teach obtaining various time data with respect to the user breathing (Fig 2 and 3).
Further, Michelevich teaches an inhalation device which records time data including breath-holding (column 6 line 1-9 and column 9 line 14-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ljungberg to further comprise: determining a breath-holding duration, wherein a method for determining the breath-holding duration comprises: obtaining a breath-holding end time th, on the inspiration flow-time curve and calculating the breath-holding duration (Tbreah-holding) according to the following formula:
T
b
r
e
a
t
h
-
h
o
l
d
i
n
g
=
t
h
-
t
x
wherein th denotes the breath-holding end time, and tx denotes an inspiration end time and a breath-holding start time as taught by Ljungberg and Mishelevich as, while the explicit mathematical formulae are not described, their usage and methodology are clear in the provided description and figures, and these extracted features are known to be used to determine the appropriateness of the treatment and treatment device.
In regards to claim 18, Ljungberg discloses the system of claim 10.
While Ljungberg does not disclose the method further comprising: determining a breath-holding duration, wherein a method for determining the breath-holding duration comprises: obtaining a breath-holding end time th, on the inspiration flow-time curve and calculating the breath-holding duration (Tbreah-holding) according to the following formula:
T
b
r
e
a
t
h
-
h
o
l
d
i
n
g
=
t
h
-
t
x
wherein th denotes the breath-holding end time, and tx denotes an inspiration end time and a breath-holding start time, it does teach obtaining various time data with respect to the user breathing (Fig 2 and 3).
Further, Michelevich teaches an inhalation device which records time data including breath-holding (column 6 line 1-9 and column 9 line 14-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ljungberg wherein the method further comprises: determining a breath-holding duration, wherein a method for determining the breath-holding duration comprises: obtaining a breath-holding end time th, on the inspiration flow-time curve and calculating the breath-holding duration (Tbreah-holding) according to the following formula:
T
b
r
e
a
t
h
-
h
o
l
d
i
n
g
=
t
h
-
t
x
wherein th denotes the breath-holding end time, and tx denotes an inspiration end time and a breath-holding start time as taught by Ljungberg and Mishelevich as, while the explicit mathematical formulae are not described, their usage and methodology are clear in the provided description and figures, and these extracted features are known to be used to determine the appropriateness of the treatment and treatment device.
Conclusion
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785