DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed 07/31/2023, in which claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the references listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 07/31/2023.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Reference no. K.22 in the instant application’s pre-grant publication (pgpub) paragraph 106.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference nos. K.24 and K.25 in Fig. 8.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 contains a period in the limitation “The method as claimed in claim 14, wherein the energy storage system comprises at least one of.” Followed by further limitations. A claim should only end in a period at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an electrical connection unit for connecting… a first energy converter that is … configured to convert … a second energy converter that is … configured to convert” in claim 1 and 14
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, 14, 15, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. 2012/0096845 to Ingersoll et al., (hereinafter Ingersoll), in view of US Patent Publication No. 2011/0062166 to Ingersoll et al., (hereinafter Ingersoll ‘166)
Regarding claim 1, Ingersoll teaches an electrical energy storage system for injecting and withdrawing electrical energy (Power is stored or released from energy storage (i.e. injected and withdrawn), see P31-33, Ingersoll), comprising:
a) an electrical connection unit for connecting the energy storage system to an electrical energy supply grid (Connection to grid, see Fig. 2 #206, P31-32, 47, 85, 106, Ingersoll),
b) a first energy converter that is electrically connected to the electrical connection unit and is configured to convert electrical energy supplied via the energy supply grid into hydraulic energy that is provided via a hydraulic medium located in the energy storage system (Conversion of electrical energy to hydraulic energy, see P32 Fig. 2 #s278 and 271, P31-32, 47, 85, 106, Ingersoll),
c) a second energy converter that is hydraulically connected to the first energy converter and is configured to convert the hydraulic energy provided by the first energy converter into gas pressure energy that is provided via a pressurized gas located in the energy storage system (Conversion of hydraulic energy to pressurized gas energy (e.g. compressed air) through a compression device, see P33, P31-32 Fig. 2 #201, P31-32, 47, 85, 106, Ingersoll),
d) a pressurized gas storage unit that is connected to the second energy converter via a pressurized gas connection and is configured to store the gas pressure energy provided by the second energy converter in the form of compressed pressurized gas (Compressed gas is stored in gas storage chambers, see Fig. 2 #204, P32, p31-33, Ingersoll), further comprising at least one of:
e) at least part of the second energy converter and/or of the pressurized gas storage unit has a phase change storage medium in which compression heat that arises when the pressurized gas is compressed is able to be stored, f) the second energy converter has at least one piston chamber in which a separator piston is mounted so as to be moveable, wherein the pressurized gas is separated from the hydraulic medium by the separator piston, wherein the separator piston has a base material and a thermal insulation material that has lower thermal conductivity than the base material, wherein a thermal insulation layer is formed between the pressurized gas and the hydraulic medium by the thermal insulation material, g) the second energy converter has at least one hydraulic cylinder and a pneumatic cylinder that is separate from the hydraulic cylinder and is mechanically coupled to the hydraulic cylinder (Pneumatic cylinder system 410/430 coupled to hydraulic actuator 472/474 with separate piston/cylinder section, see Fig. 4A, p113, p8-9, p57, 63, 65, Ingersoll).
Ingersoll does not explicitly teach further comprising at least one of: e) at least part of a second energy converter and/or of a pressurized gas storage unit has a phase change storage medium in which compression heat that arises when a pressurized gas is compressed is able to be stored, f) a second energy converter has at least one piston chamber in which a separator piston is mounted so as to be moveable, wherein a pressurized gas is separated from a hydraulic medium by the separator piston, wherein the separator piston has a base material and a thermal insulation material that has lower thermal conductivity than the base material, wherein a thermal insulation layer is formed between the pressurized gas and the hydraulic medium by the thermal insulation material.
However, Ingersoll ‘166 from the same or similar field of energy storage systems, teaches further comprising at least one of: e) at least part of a second energy converter and/or of a pressurized gas storage unit has a phase change storage medium in which compression heat that arises when a pressurized gas is compressed is able to be stored, f) a second energy converter has at least one piston chamber in which a separator piston is mounted so as to be moveable, wherein a pressurized gas is separated from a hydraulic medium by the separator piston, wherein the separator piston has a base material and a thermal insulation material that has lower thermal conductivity than the base material, wherein a thermal insulation layer is formed between the pressurized gas and the hydraulic medium by the thermal insulation material (A phase change material (medium) is used in view of heat in compression/expansion device for a pressurized energy storage, see P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by Ingersoll and incorporating a phase change medium, as taught by Ingersoll ‘166.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better address heat via heat transfer mechanisms that has an advantage of not requiring a heat exchanger (see P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll ‘166 teaches wherein at least part of a phase change storage medium is arranged on an outside of at least part of the second energy converter and/or of a pressurized gas storage unit, on which cooling fins and/or other cooling structures are arranged (A phase change material separate (outside) of an energy storage, and fins arranged on a compression unit, see P68, P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by the combination that includes Ingersoll and incorporating fins and a phase change medium, as taught by Ingersoll ‘166.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better address heat via heat transfer mechanisms that has an advantage of not requiring a heat exchanger during an compression expansion and to employ fins that can further improve thermal transfer (see p69, P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll further teaches wherein a compression heat stored is suppliable back to a pressurized gas during an expansion of a pressurized gas and/or during a withdrawal from a pressurized gas storage unit (Heat energy is received in receiving or releasing in a compression or expansion, see P30, Ingersoll).
Ingersoll ‘166 further teaches a phase change storage medium (A phase change material (medium) is used in view of heat in compression/expansion device for a pressurized energy storage, see P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by Ingersoll and incorporating a phase change medium, as taught by Ingersoll ‘166.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better address heat via heat transfer mechanisms that has an advantage of not requiring a heat exchanger (see P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll further teaches wherein an energy storage system is designed without a heat exchanger in the region of a second energy converter (No heat exchanger near compression device, see Fig. 2 #201, Ingersoll. Also in Ingersoll ‘166 p81).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll further teaches wherein a first energy converter is designed as a bidirectional energy converter by way of which either supplied electrical energy is convertable into hydraulic energy or hydraulic energy is convertable into electrical energy to be withdrawn from an energy storage system (System where energy can be stored or released to grid through a first converter, see p31-33, P31-32, 47, 85, 106, Fig. 2 #278, 271, Ingersoll).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll further teaches wherein a second energy converter is designed as a bidirectional energy converter by way of which either supplied hydraulic energy is convertible into gas pressure energy or gas pressure energy to be withdrawn from a pressurized gas storage unit is convertable into hydraulic energy (System where energy can be stored or released to grid through a second converter hydraulic , see p31-33, P31-32, 47, 85, 106, Fig. 2 #201, Ingersoll).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll further teaches wherein a second energy converter is connected to a hydraulic system, which has a tank in which a supply of hydraulic medium is stored (A hydraulic system has a supply source chambers, see p113, Ingersoll).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll further teaches wherein a tank is hydraulically coupled to a second energy converter via a hydraulic pump (Hydraulic pump system in converting to energy storage, see P113, Fig. 2 #s 270, 271, 201, 278; p31-33, , Ingersoll).
Ingersoll ‘166 further teaches a filter (A filter used, see P77, Ingersoll ‘166).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by Ingersoll and incorporating a filter, as taught by Ingersoll ‘166.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better keep contaminants from interfering with a system and potentially cause damage or early wear and tear (see P77, Ingersoll ‘166).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll ‘166 further teaches wherein a phase change storage medium is arranged around a tank and/or in a region of a first energy converter (A phase change material is used in around a compression/expansion device for a pressurized energy storage, see P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by Ingersoll and incorporating a phase change medium around a tank and/or converter, as taught by Ingersoll ‘166.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better address heat via heat transfer mechanisms that has an advantage of not requiring a heat exchanger (see P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll further teaches wherein a second energy converter is designed as a single-stroke system in which a maximum injection capacity is limited by an available capacity of the second energy converter for a hydraulic medium (Stroke of a compression single piston, with a specific volume of a cylinder, see p18, p20, Fig. 2, p68, Ingersoll).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches s all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll further teaches wherein a second energy converter is designed as a cyclically operated alternating-stroke system in which, at least when electrical energy is injected into the energy storage system, a hydraulic medium is conveyed cyclically back and forth between a first and at least one second piston accumulator of the second energy converter (Energy storage system includes two pistons with alternating opposite strokes as depicted, see Fig. 2, p17, Ingersoll).
Regarding claim 14, Ingersoll teaches a method for injecting and withdrawing electrical energy by way of an energy storage system (Power is stored or released from energy storage (i.e. injected and withdrawn), see P31, Ingersoll) comprising:
a) an electrical connection unit for connecting the energy storage system to an electrical energy supply grid (Connection to grid, see Fig. 2 #206, P31-32, 47, 85, 106, Ingersoll),
b) a first energy converter that is electrically connected to the electrical connection unit and is configured to convert electrical energy supplied via the energy supply grid into hydraulic energy that is provided via a hydraulic medium located in the energy storage system (Conversion of electrical energy to hydraulic energy, see P32 Fig. 2 #s278 and 271, P31-32, 47, 85, 106, Ingersoll),
c) a second energy converter that is hydraulically connected to the first energy converter and is configured to convert the hydraulic energy provided by the first energy converter into gas pressure energy that is provided via a pressurized gas located in the energy storage system (Conversion of hydraulic energy to pressurized gas energy (e.g. compressed air) through a compression device, see P33, P31-32 Fig. 2 #201, P31-32, 47, 85, 106, Ingersoll),
d) a pressurized gas storage unit that is connected to the second energy converter via a pressurized gas connection and is configured to store the gas pressure energy provided by the second energy converter in the form of compressed pressurized gas (Compressed gas is stored in gas storage chambers, see Fig. 2 #204, P32, p31-33, Ingersoll), the method comprising:
i)injecting electrical energy into the energy storage system by converting the electrical energy into hydraulic energy via the first energy converter and the hydraulic energy into gas pressure energy via the second energy converter and storing the gas pressure energy in the pressurized gas storage unit in the form of compressed pressurized gas (Power is stored or released from energy storage by way of a electrical to mechanical hydraulic system to gas pressure compression system to a gas storage chamber, see P31-33, Fig. 2, Ingersoll),
j)withdrawing electrical energy from the energy storage system by decompressing compressed pressurized gas stored in the pressurized gas storage unit and generating hydraulic energy therefrom via the second energy converter or a further second energy converter, and converting the hydraulic energy into electrical energy via the first energy converter or a further first energy converter and outputting the electrical energy to the electrical energy supply grid or another electrical consumer (Power can be transmitted/released to the grid, which involves the system to essentially function in reverse with expansion instead of compression, thus gas storage, expansion, hydraulic mechanical system to electrical system for grid transmission, see p32, p22, 85, p47, P31-33, Fig. 4, p14 Ingersoll), the method further comprising at least one of:
k) supplying thermal energy in the form of industrial waste heat and/or heat from solar panels to the energy storage system as further energy carrier, wherein the pressurized gas located in the pressurized gas storage unit is heated in the energy storage system by the thermal energy, l) wherein the pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter is selectively connectable to the ambient atmosphere via at least one valve, and, when electrical energy is withdrawn from the energy storage system, cyclically opening and closing the at least one valve, wherein the at least one valve is closed in a respective cycle before a specific pressure value of the gas pressure in the pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter that is above atmospheric pressure is reached, m) wherein the pressurized gas storage unit is selectively connectable to the pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter via at least one non-return valve and/or directional valve, and comprising cyclically opening and closing the at least one non-return valve and/or directional valve, wherein the non- return valve and/or directional valve is opened or closed in a respective cycle before a specific pressure value of the gas pressure in the pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter that is above atmospheric pressure is reached, n) the first energy converter has a hydraulic motor with an adjustable cylinder capacity, further comprising adjusting the cylinder capacity of the hydraulic motor to perform speed regulation and/or power regulation of the hydraulic motor (Volume of a hydraulic actuator ram piston adjusted to provide power, see p47, 85, p113, Ingersoll).
Ingersoll does not explicitly teach further comprising at least one of: k) supplying thermal energy in the form of industrial waste heat and/or heat from solar panels to a energy storage system as further energy carrier, wherein a pressurized gas located in a pressurized gas storage unit is heated in the energy storage system by the thermal energy, l) wherein a pressurized gas circuit of a second energy converter is selectively connectable to ambient atmosphere via at least one valve, and, when electrical energy is withdrawn from an energy storage system, cyclically opening and closing the at least one valve, wherein the at least one valve is closed in a respective cycle before a specific pressure value of the gas pressure in the pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter that is above atmospheric pressure is reached, m) wherein a pressurized gas storage unit is selectively connectable to a pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter via at least one non-return valve and/or directional valve, and comprising cyclically opening and closing the at least one non-return valve and/or directional valve, wherein the non- return valve and/or directional valve is opened or closed in a respective cycle before a specific pressure value of the gas pressure in the pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter that is above atmospheric pressure is reached.
However, Ingersoll ‘166 from the same or similar field of energy storage systems, teaches further comprising at least one of: k) supplying thermal energy in the form of industrial waste heat and/or heat from solar panels to a energy storage system as further energy carrier, wherein a pressurized gas located in a pressurized gas storage unit is heated in the energy storage system by the thermal energy, l) wherein a pressurized gas circuit of a second energy converter is selectively connectable to ambient atmosphere via at least one valve, and, when electrical energy is withdrawn from an energy storage system, cyclically opening and closing the at least one valve, wherein the at least one valve is closed in a respective cycle before a specific pressure value of the gas pressure in the pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter that is above atmospheric pressure is reached, m) wherein a pressurized gas storage unit is selectively connectable to a pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter via at least one non-return valve and/or directional valve, and comprising cyclically opening and closing the at least one non-return valve and/or directional valve, wherein the non- return valve and/or directional valve is opened or closed in a respective cycle before a specific pressure value of the gas pressure in the pressurized gas circuit of the second energy converter that is above atmospheric pressure is reached (Solar heat can be used to heat in energy storage, see p92, P102, 52, Ingersoll ‘166).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by Ingersoll and incorporating use of solar heat, as taught by Ingersoll ‘166.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better take advantage of available heat energy in the process of compression/expansion to provide greater efficiency by making use of available heat (see p92, P102, 52, Ingersoll ‘166).
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 14.
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingersoll, in view of Ingersoll ‘166, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2011/0030332 to Vandor (hereinafter Vandor)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll ‘166 further teaches a thermally insulating material layer and the phase change storage medium is arranged in cavities remaining between the thermally insulating material layer, cooling fins and/or other cooling structures and the outside of at least part of the second energy converter and/or of the pressurized gas storage unit (A phase change material in a chamber cavity, where a chamber can be insulated, see P81, p99, Ingersoll ‘166 )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by the combination that includes Ingersoll and incorporating insulation, as taught by Ingersoll ‘166.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better maintain thermal isolation in an application requiring containment of thermal media (see p99, P81, Ingersoll ‘166).
Ingersoll does not explicitly teach wherein fins and/or other cooling structures are covered with a thermally insulating material layer.
However, Vandor from the same or similar field of energy storage teaches wherein fins and/or other cooling structures are covered with a thermally insulating material layer (Insulated fins, p9, p30, Vandor )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by the combination that includes Ingersoll and incorporating insulation, as taught by Vandor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better maintain thermal isolation in an application needing containment of thermal media (see p9, p30, Vandor).
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingersoll, in view of Ingersoll ‘166, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2015/0318702 to Treppmann et al., (hereinafter Treppmann)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ingersoll and Ingersoll ‘166 teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Ingersoll does not explicitly teach wherein several or all components of an energy storage system are accommodated in a housing that corresponds to a freight container according to ISO 668.
However, Treppmann from the same or similar field of energy storage systems, teaches wherein several or all components of an energy storage system are accommodated in a housing that corresponds to a freight container according to ISO 668 (A energy storage system can be housed in a container system standardized according to ISO 668, see P14, Abs., Treppmann).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage as described by the combination that includes Ingersoll and incorporating a container according to a specified standard, as taught by Treppmann.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide a modular system that can permit easier mobility of components in a standardized dimensional module that is more suitable for faster transport (see P14, Abs., Treppmann).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ingersoll et al., US. Patent Publication No. 2012/0057998 teaches a compression/expansion device with fins.
Samara-Rubio et al., US. Patent Publication No. 2013/0240068 teaches a compressed energy storage with phase change, air intake, and fins.
Blieske, US. Patent Publication No. 2012/0057997 teaches a compressed energy storage with hydraulic and pneumatic cylinder.
Conclusion
/EMILIO J SAAVEDRA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117