DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 have been presented for examination.
Claims 1-19 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 10/03/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 10/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ito (US 20190227571 A1).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “In claim 1, Examiner suggests changing “a conveyance vehicle” to “one or more conveyance vehicles” to improve clarity regarding dependent claim 6. Claims 8 and 14 are objected to using the same reasoning applied to claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the conveyance vehicle comprises: a first conveyance vehicle; and a second conveyance vehicle configured to convey the object in cooperation with the first conveyance vehicle” in claim 6. Examiner suggests amendments to reflect as follow “the one or more conveyance vehicles comprise: a first conveyance vehicle; and a second conveyance vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13 and 19 are objected to using the same reasoning applied to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US 20190227571 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ito discloses a conveyance system comprising [0009] “a vehicle guidance system including a plurality of vehicles, a positioning device a guidance device and a storage device”:
a conveyance vehicle configured to convey an object based on a first traveling path [0054] “AGVs are exemplified as vehicles. An AGV is an unguided car which autonomously travels while carrying products, parts, etc., and transporting them unmannerly to a predetermined place. An AGV may be referred to as a transport robot. [0140] “the guidance device 20 determines a traveling path of the AGV. A “traveling path” is a path from the current location of the AGV 10 to a point of final arrival. A traveling path may be one section to be traveled with one guidance command, or N split sections (N: an integer which is 2 or greater) to be traveled with a plurality of guidance commands.”
a sensor configured to transmit information regarding a position of the conveyance vehicle via a network [0135] “the positioning device 30 consecutively measures the locations of the AGV 10 during its back-and-forth movements, and transmit the location information to the guidance device 20.” [0117] “the communication circuit 37 is connected to the output of an antenna element 34a that is provided in each reception antenna 34, and receives a radio frequency electrical signal which is generated from an electromagnetic wave that is received by the antenna element 34a.”
at least one transceiver configured to communicate with the conveyance vehicle and the sensor [0076] “the relay devices 32 wirelessly receive identification information of the AGVs 10 that is transmitted from the AGVs 10, and transmit it to the guidance device 20 and the positioning device 30 not shown. Moreover, the relay devices 32 wiredly receive guidance commands for the AGVs 10, which are output from the positioning device 30, and wirelessly transmit them to the AGVs 10.” [0113] “From the positioning device 30, the communication circuit 27 acquires location information indicating the location of each AGV 10. Moreover, from the AGV 10, the communication circuit 27 receives information of its state of travel via the reception antennas 34 of the relay devices 32. At this time, communications may be relayed by the positioning device 30. Moreover, the communication circuit 27 transmits a guidance command to each AGV 10, via the transmission antennas 33 of the relay devices 32.”
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to determine a second traveling path based on the information regarding the position of the conveyance vehicle [0099] “The travel control unit 17 of the AGV 10 includes a microcontroller 55, a memory 56, and a communication circuit 57. The microcontroller 55, which is a microcomputer or a computer, controls the operation of the AGV 10. The memory 56, on which a computer program to be executed by the microcontroller 55 is laid out, temporarily stores guidance commands which are received from the guidance device 20. Note that the memory 56 is a block including a so-called DRAM and a flash memory. The flash memory stores a computer program to be executed by the microcontroller 55, for example.” [0148] “based on the current location and the traveling situation, the guidance device 20 estimates an expected location of arrival after executing the guidance command for the kth section. The reason why the estimation process is necessary is that, as described earlier, the AGV 10 may travel a path (solid line) that is deviated from the presumed path (broken line) (i.e., second path updated/corrected section/path). Then, at step S316, the guidance device 20 transmits a guidance command from the expected location of arrival to the end of a (k+1).sup.th section.” Ito system shows that the guidance device estimates an expected arrival location based on current location/travel state and then generates the next guidance command corresponding to determining an updated/second path based on position/travel information.
and correct a traveling of the conveyance vehicle based on the first traveling path and the second traveling path [0153] “the guidance device 20 corrects the initial guidance command so that the AGV 10 will next travel from the expected location of arrival (x1,y1) to the location of arrival (x2*,y2*) in section 2. In other words, an angle θ.sub.2** and a distance L.sub.2** from the expected location of arrival (x1,y1) to the location (x2*,y2*) are calculated. The calculated angle θ.sub.2** and distance L.sub.2** serve as the corrected guidance command to replace the existing guidance command 2. At step S316, the guidance device 20 transmits corrected guidance command 2 to the AGV 10 a plurality of times. The reason for the “plurality of times” of transmission is that, depending on the radio condition when transmitting guidance commands from the guidance device 20 to the AGV 10, the guidance command (k+1) may possibly not be received be the AGV 10.” Ito’s system involves correcting the initially intended command/path (to the original target) by computing a corrected angle/distance from the expected (deviated) arrival point and transmitting the corrected command, which corresponds to correcting travel using the original path and the updated path.
Regarding Claim 2, Ito discloses the conveyance system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to generate positional information indicating the position of the conveyance vehicle based on the information regarding the position of the conveyance vehicle [0117] “The positioning device 30 includes a CPU 35, a memory 36, and a communication circuit 37, which are connected via an internal bus. Through the below-described process, the CPU 35 measures the location of each AGV 10, and generates location information indicating the measured location.” [0132] “the guidance device 20 acquires information of the location of the AGV 10 as measured by the positioning device 30, and stores it to the memory 26.”
determine the second traveling path based on the positional information of the conveyance vehicle [0070] “The guidance device 20 generates a guidance command (k+1) from the expected location of arrival PE(K+1) to the destination P(k+2) in the next section (“B3” in FIG. 1). Then, the guidance device 20 transmits the guidance command (k+1) once or a plurality of times to the AGV 10, before travel of the current section is completed (“B4” in FIG. 1).” [0148] “based on the current location and the traveling situation, the guidance device 20 estimates an expected location of arrival after executing the guidance command for the kth section. The reason why the estimation process is necessary is that, as described earlier, the AGV 10 may travel a path (solid line) that is deviated from the presumed path (broken line) (i.e., second path updated/corrected section/path).”
compare the first traveling path with the second traveling path, generate control information for correcting the traveling of the conveyance vehicle based on the result of comparing the first traveling path with the second traveling path, and transmit the control information to the conveyance vehicle via the at least one transceiver [0173] “If the current location of the AGV 10 has a significant discrepancy from the path to be followed with an initial guidance command which is transmitted from the guidance device 20, it is no longer possible to correct the traveling errors by using the gyroscope 14c. In such cases, the guidance device 20 may again transmit to the AGV 10 a guidance command for returning to the path which is in accordance with the initial guidance command, so as to bring the AGV 10 back on the initially presumed path.” [0153] “the guidance device 20 corrects the initial guidance command so that the AGV 10 will next travel from the expected location of arrival (x1,y1) to the location of arrival (x2*,y2*) in section 2. In other words, an angle θ.sub.2** and a distance L.sub.2** from the expected location of arrival (x1,y1) to the location (x2*,y2*) are calculated. The calculated angle θ.sub.2** and distance L.sub.2** serve as the corrected guidance command to replace the existing guidance command 2. At step S316, the guidance device 20 transmits corrected guidance command 2 to the AGV 10 a plurality of times.” The system transmits the control information to the vehicle. Ito’s system evaluating a discrepancy between the path to be followed and the initial guidance command is equivalent to comparing the first traveling path with the second traveling path.
Regarding Claim 3, Ito discloses the conveyance system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to predict, based on the result of comparing the first traveling path with the second traveling path, a third traveling path along which the conveyance vehicle travels and generate the control information based on the first traveling path and the third traveling path [0068] “the AGV 10 may travel a path (solid line) that is deviated from a presumed path (broken line). However, the AGV 10 does not need to determine whether it has deviated from the presumed path (broken line) or not. During travel of the AGV 10, the guidance device 20 estimates (predicts) an expected location of arrival PE(K+1), from the current location, traveling velocity, moving direction, and the like of the AGV 10 (“B2” in FIG. 1).” [0152] “the guidance device 20 estimates an expected location of arrival (x1,y1) of the AGV 10. The estimation can be made from the location of the AGV 10 (xt,yt), the moving direction, the remaining time to travel, and the current traveling velocity. A “remaining time to travel” is a length of time obtained by subtracting the time t from the expected traveling time.” [0161] “As will be understood from FIG. 13, even if the AGV 10 arrives at a location (□) that is different from the initially-expected location of arrival (◯) in each section, the guidance command is corrected so that it will again approach the target location (◯) of that section in the next section. As described above, while traveling a given section, an expected location of arrival (□) in that section is estimated, and the guidance command is corrected based on the expected location of arrival as the start location of the next section. Then, before travel of the current section is completed, an update to the corrected guidance command is made for the next section. As a result, without accumulation of traveling errors in the traveling path of the AGV 10, the AGV 10 is able to arrive at the point of final arrival T relatively accurately.” The system calculates different arrival locations that are different from the expected arrival locations which indicates multiple paths that the vehicle travels on to reach the destination. Ito describes predicting/estimating an expected arrival location from current motion (a predicted path outcome), and explains correction is based on the estimated arrival serving as the next section start to reach the original target corresponding to predicting a future travel outcome/path and generating control based on the original intended target/path and the predicted deviation.
Regarding Claim 4, Ito discloses the conveyance system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to, based on determining that an amount of deviation of the conveyance vehicle from the first traveling path has become equal to or larger than a predetermined value based on the positional information of the conveyance vehicle, generate the control information, and transmit the control information to the conveyance vehicle via the at least one transceiver [0204] “The guidance device 20 updates a guidance command when a predetermined condition is satisfied. The “predetermined condition” may be that, for example, due to a deviation during travel of the AGV 110, an expected location of arrival of the AGV 110 has been deviated by a predetermined level or more from the location of the initial point of passage.” [0205] “The guidance device 20 transmits an updated guidance command for the AGV 110 to the file server 40. The file server 40 replaces the identification information of the AGV 110 that has already been retained, with the newly received guidance command. To the guidance device 20, the file server 40 transmits a notification of update completion indicating that an update of the guidance command is completed.”
Regarding Claim 5, Ito discloses the conveyance system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: based on determining that the conveyance vehicle is traveling in a specific section based on the positional information of the conveyance vehicle, generate the control information, and transmit the control information to the conveyance vehicle via the at least one transceiver [0066] “One guidance command defines one section to be traveled.” [0081] “while the AGV 10 is moving in the current section, a guidance command for the next section is corrected and transmitted. In doing so, the guidance command for the next section is transmitted a plurality of times, at a constant interval, or while changing the frequency of transmitting as described above.” [0161] “before travel of the current section is completed, an update to the corrected guidance command is made for the next section. As a result, without accumulation of traveling errors in the traveling path of the AGV 10, the AGV 10 is able to arrive at the point of final arrival T relatively accurately.”
Regarding Claim 6, Ito discloses the conveyance system according to claim 2, wherein the conveyance vehicle comprises: a first conveyance vehicle; and a second conveyance vehicle configured to convey the object in cooperation with the first conveyance vehicle [0009] “a vehicle guidance system according to the present disclosure is a vehicle guidance system for guiding each of a plurality of vehicles, the vehicle guidance system including a plurality of vehicles, a positioning device to measure a location of and output location information for each of the plurality of vehicles” [0078] “FIG. 2 illustrates various AGVs 10 during travel. For example, an AGV 10a, which loaded a car 100a, has just arrived at a vacant slot 102a. An AGV 10b is moving toward a location S at which to load a car 100b. After loading the car 100b, the AGV 10b will transport the car 100b to a vacant slot 102b, in accordance with guidance commands from the guidance device 20. An AGV 10c is bringing out from a parking slot a car 100c which has been parked there. An AGV 10d has unloaded at the checkout point a car 100d which it loaded, and now has receded.” [0237] “FIG. 27 is a diagram illustrating an example where three AGVs 10p, 10q and 10r are made to undergo the same motion. It is assumed that, while maintaining the relative positioning (distance and angle) between one another, the three AGVs 10p, 10q and 10r are made to move in the same direction and by the same distance.” This establishes a system guiding a plurality of vehicles and shows multiple AGVs operating in the same environment, and describes multiple AGVs moving while maintaining relative positioning (coordinated/cooperative travel), which corresponds to first/second vehicles cooperating in operation.
Regarding Claim 7, Ito discloses the conveyance system according to claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to transmit the control information to the first conveyance vehicle via the at least one transceiver [0070] “The guidance device 20 generates a guidance command (k+1) from the expected location of arrival PE(K+1) to the destination P(k+2) in the next section (“B3” in FIG. 1). Then, the guidance device 20 transmits the guidance command (k+1) once or a plurality of times to the AGV 10, before travel of the current section is completed (“B4” in FIG. 1).” [0113] “the communication circuit 27 acquires location information indicating the location of each AGV 10. Moreover, from the AGV 10, the communication circuit 27 receives information of its state of travel via the reception antennas 34 of the relay devices 32. At this time, communications may be relayed by the positioning device 30. Moreover, the communication circuit 27 transmits a guidance command to each AGV 10, via the transmission antennas 33 of the relay devices 32.”
Regarding Claim 8, The claim recites a control apparatus of the parallel limitations in claim 1, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 9, The claim recites a control apparatus of the parallel limitations in claim 2, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 10, The claim recites a control apparatus of the parallel limitations in claim 3, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 11, The claim recites a control apparatus of the parallel limitations in claim 4, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 12, The claim recites a control apparatus of the parallel limitations in claim 5, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 13, The claim recites a control apparatus of the parallel limitations in claim 6-7, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 14, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 1, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 15, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 2, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 16, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 3, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 17, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 4, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 18, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 5, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 19, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 6, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Conclusion
/HUSSAM ALDEEN ALZATEEMEH/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/Madison R. Inserra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662