DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “th” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “tradition” should - - traditional - - . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 8 , 12-13, 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, step d), it is unclear what is meant by heating to temperatures to boiling.
Claims 4 and 8 both recite “following the addition of maltodextrin”. However, claims 1 says “adding the mixture to maltodextrin”. It is unclear whether maltodextrin is added to the mixture, or is the mixture added to the maltodextrin?
Claim 12 is rejected as it is unclear what is considered “more rapid than tradition methods or fermentation”. It is unclear what methods are considered “tradition”.
Claims 12 and 24 recite the limitation "the malt beverage" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 is confusing as the claim recites “heating to at least 75oC for at least 20 minutes”. It is not clear what is heated. Additionally, it is not clear what yeast is added to, what is aerated and what exactly is heated. There is no nexus that ties the steps together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2016/0108448 (GE).
As to claim 1, GE teaches a method for producing a beverage [0353] comprising:
Mixing malt extract, water and yeast [0006] [0193], [0358], [0359];
Aerating the mixture between 30 C to 45oC [0253], which overlaps that claimed;
Adding the mixture [0360] to water, and hop solution [0354];
heating to temperatures to boiling [0358]; and
cooling [0358] the mixture.
GE does not expressly teach aerating for 2-5 hours and adding lactic acid along with maltodextrin to the mixture. However, GE teaches that starch, including dextrose syrups, can be used to ferment yeast to produce lactic acid [0005], [0301]. Glucoamylases are often used to further saccharify starch after the starch has been liquified [0006] [0374].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use aeration 2- 5 hours and add maltodextrin as a soluble starch that reacts to produce lactic acid during fermentation to produce the beverage.
As to claim 2, GE teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the beverage contains 0% alcohol [0020].
As to claim 3, [0358] teaches a that the process for making beer involves: (a) preparing a mash, (b) filtering the mash to prepare a wort, and (c) fermenting the wort to obtain a fermented beverage, such as beer. Typically, milled or crushed malt, malt and adjunct, or adjunct is mixed with water and held for a period of time under controlled temperatures to permit the enzymes present in the malt and/or adjunct to convert the starch present in the malt into fermentable sugars. The mash is then transferred to a mash filter where the liquid is separated from the grain residue. This sweet liquid is called “wort,” and the left over grain residue is called “spent grain.” The mash is typically subjected to an extraction, which involves adding water to the mash in order to recover the residual soluble extract from the spent grain. The wort is then boiled vigorously to sterilize the wort and help develop the color, flavor and odor. Hops are added at some point during the boiling. The wort is cooled and transferred to a fermenter. It would have been obvious to vary the malt and starch (i.e., when liquified can provide maltodextrin), as GE teaches that the malt and corresponding sugars obtained in the wort ultimately help develop the color, flavor (i.e., which includes sweetness) and odor, of the beer.
As to claim 4, maltodextrin can be obtained as discussed above. [0354] of GE teaches that the principal raw materials used in making these beverages are water, hops and malt. In addition, but also exclusively, adjuncts such as common corn grits, refined corn grits, brewer's milled yeast, rice, sorghum, refined corn starch, barley, barley starch, dehusked barley, wheat, wheat starch, torrified cereal, cereal flakes, rye, oats, potato, tapioca, and syrups, such as corn syrup, sugar cane syrup, inverted sugar syrup, barley and/or wheat syrups, and the like may be used as a source of starch.
As to claim 5, GE teaches in [0359] that alcohol content is determined after heating [0359].
As to claims 6 and 8, the fermentation time and ingredients would naturally add aldehydes and volatile organic compounds, such as allyl isothiocyanate (i.e., naturally found in hops [0354]).
As to claim 7, [0355] of GE teaches that proteins contribute to the body, foam and overall character of the beverage. It would have been obvious to vary the amount of protein based on the desired body, foam and overall character of the beverage, including mouthfeel.
As to claim 9, GE teaches at [0358] that hop components can be added. It would have been obvious to add hop extracts.
As to claims 10 and 11, GE teaches that the beverage can be a beer or flavored malt liquor [0361]. This includes non-alcoholic beer, non-alcoholic malt liquor and the like, but also alternative cereal and malt beverages such as fruit flavored malt beverages, e.g., citrus flavored, such as lemon-, orange-, lime-, or berry-flavored malt beverages, liquor flavored malt beverages, e.g., vodka-, rum-, or tequila-flavored malt liquor, or coffee flavored malt beverages, such as caffeine-flavored malt liquor, and the like. Thus, the additives would add caffeine.
As to claim 12, GE of [0359] teaches that the beer usually contains from about 2% to about 10% v/v alcohol, although beer with a higher alcohol content, e.g., 18% v/v, may be obtained. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add alcohol to adjust the alcohol content, as desired. This would naturally result in the creation of an alcoholic beverage more rapidly than traditional fermentation.
Regarding claim 13, GE teaches a method for producing a beverage [0353] comprising:
Mixing malt extract, water and yeast [0006] [0193], [0358], [0359];
Aerating the mixture between 30 C to 45oC [0253], which overlaps that claimed;
Adding the mixture [0360] to water, and hop solution [0354];
heating to temperatures to boiling [0358] (i.e., at least 75oC). In particular, the wort is then boiled vigorously to sterilize the wort and help develop the color, flavor and odor. It would have been obvious to vary the time based on desired color, flavor, etc.; and
cooling [0358] the mixture.
GE does not expressly teach aerating for 2-5 hours and adding lactic acid along with maltodextrin to the mixture. However, GE teaches that starch, including dextrose syrups, can be used to ferment yeast to produce lactic acid [0005], [0301]. Glucoamylases are often used to further saccharify starch after the starch has been liquified [0006] [0374].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use aeration 2- 5 hours and add maltodextrin as a soluble starch that reacts to produce lactic acid during fermentation to produce the beverage.
As to claim 14, Danisco teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the beverage contains 0% alcohol [0020].
As to claim 15, [0358] teaches a that the process for making beer involves: (a) preparing a mash, (b) filtering the mash to prepare a wort, and (c) fermenting the wort to obtain a fermented beverage, such as beer. Typically, milled or crushed malt, malt and adjunct, or adjunct is mixed with water and held for a period of time under controlled temperatures to permit the enzymes present in the malt and/or adjunct to convert the starch present in the malt into fermentable sugars. The mash is then transferred to a mash filter where the liquid is separated from the grain residue. This sweet liquid is called “wort,” and the left over grain residue is called “spent grain.” The mash is typically subjected to an extraction, which involves adding water to the mash in order to recover the residual soluble extract from the spent grain. The wort is then boiled vigorously to sterilize the wort and help develop the color, flavor and odor. Hops are added at some point during the boiling. The wort is cooled and transferred to a fermenter. It would have been obvious to vary the time and temperature of the steps based on the desired color, flavor, odor, etc….
As to claim 16, maltodextrin can be obtained as discussed above. [0354] of GE teaches that the principal raw materials used in making these beverages are water, hops and malt. In addition, but also exclusively, adjuncts such as common corn grits, refined corn grits, brewer's milled yeast, rice, sorghum, refined corn starch, barley, barley starch, dehusked barley, wheat, wheat starch, cereal, cereal flakes, rye, oats, potato, tapioca, and syrups, such as corn syrup, sugar cane syrup, inverted sugar syrup, barley and/or wheat syrups, and the like may be used as a source of starch.
As to claim 17, GE teaches in [0359] that alcohol content is determine after heating [0359].
As to claims 18 and 20, the fermentation time and ingredients would naturally add aldehydes and volatile organic compounds, such as allyl isothiocyanate (i.e., naturally found in hops [0354]).
As to claim 19, [0355] of GE teaches that proteins contribute to the body, foam and overall character of the beverage. It would have been obvious to vary the amount of protein based on the desired body, foam and overall character of the beverage, including mouthfeel.
As to claim 21, GE teaches at [0358] that hop components can be added. It would have been obvious to add hop extracts.
As to claims 22-23, GE adds flavor to the beverage GE teaches that the beverage can be a beer or flavored malt liquor [0361]. This includes non-alcoholic beer, non-alcoholic malt liquor and the like, but also alternative cereal and malt beverages such as fruit flavored malt beverages, e.g., citrus flavored, such as lemon-, orange-, lime-, or berry-flavored malt beverages, liquor flavored malt beverages, e.g., vodka-, rum-, or tequila-flavored malt liquor, or coffee flavored malt beverages, such as caffeine-flavored malt liquor, and the like. Thus, the additives add caffeine. Additionally, adjuncts such as common corn grits, refined corn grits, brewer's milled yeast, rice, sorghum, refined corn starch, barley, barley starch, dehusked barley, wheat, wheat starch, torrified cereal, cereal flakes, rye, oats, potato, tapioca, and syrups. Such as corn syrup, sugar cane syrup, inverted sugar syrup, barley and/or wheat syrup [0354]. This would naturally add flavor.
As to claim 24, GE of [0359] teaches that the beer usually contains from about 2% to about 10% v/v alcohol, although beer with a higher alcohol content, e.g., 18% v/v, may be obtained. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add alcohol to adjust the alcohol content, as desired. This would naturally result in a beverage more rapidly than traditional fermentation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 11-12, 21-26 of copending Application No. 18/075,398 ( ‘398 reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claims 1-2, 11-12, 21-26 of the 398 reference application recite malt, hops, psycho, and/or physiological active compounds it would have been obvious to add known compounds such as flavor and hops to beverages.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-16, 19-20, 23, 25-28, 32, 34, 36-38, 42, 44 and 46 of copending Application No. 18/857,289 (‘289 reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claims 14-16, 19-20, 23, 25-28, 32, 34, 36-38, 42, 44 and 46 recite malt, hops, psycho, and/or physiological active compounds it would have been obvious to add known compounds such as flavor and hops to beverages.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,517,031. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference in the claims is that the ‘031 application recite flavor, psycho, and physiological active compounds, it would been obvious to add compounds such as flavor compounds to a beverage.
Claims 13-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,517,031. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference in the claims is that the ‘031 application recite flavor, psycho, and physiological active compounds, it would been obvious to add compounds such as flavor compounds to a beverage.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791