Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB2101369.3, filed on 2/01/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/31/2023, 10/16/2023, and 11/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 8/15/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because:
Non Patent Literature C11 is in an unreadable format;
Documents C15-C23 are incorrectly classified as Foreign Patent Documents.
It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
30;
Pp. 14 Para 4, Pp. 22, Para 2, “communication resource 28” appears to be the --communication resource 30-- of Figure 2. The examiner will proceed as such.
128;
130;
612;
614;
708;
Figure 11(b), Real measurements 4, 14, 20.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Pp. 37, Para 6, Upper line 1004.
Figure 10, higher line 1002 appears to be upper line 1004. The examiner will proceed as such.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it greatly exceeds the suggested 150-word limit. The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pp. 37, Para 37, “real measurement size 2,8,20 for the first dataset (face data set) and the second data set (camouflage data set), respectively” appears to be --real measurement size 2,8,20 and 4,14,20 for the first dataset (face data set) and the second data set (camouflage data set), respectively--. The examiner will proceed as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 17 and 27 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 line 4: “wherein at least one a), b) and c)” appears to be --wherein at least one of a), b) and c)--;
Claim 17 line 1: "according to claim [[16] 1" appears to be --according to claim 1-- ;
Claim 27 line 13: "preserves signal information and/or [[supresses]] suppresses background information" appears to be --preserves signal information and/or suppresses background information--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 12, and 17are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “the selection of the frequency” is unclear. Previously in claim 10 there was a “selecting more than one frequency”. Which should be considered as “the frequency”?
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “a) the frequencies are selected” is unclear. Previously in claim 9 there was “a periodic function characterised by a frequency”. Which should be considered as “the frequencies”?
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “wherein obtaining the feature values” is unclear. Previously in claim 1, there was “generating a plurality of feature values”. How does one approach “obtaining the feature values”? Is this different than “generating a plurality of feature values”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 15-19, 24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable by Ozaki et al. (JP2016161438A, “Ozaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Ozaki teaches a sensor device for photon-based imaging comprising:
one or more photon detectors configured to produce a plurality of photon detection signals in response to a plurality of photon detection events, wherein each photon detection event has a corresponding detection time and wherein the detection times of the plurality of photon detection events are distributed in accordance with a distribution over time (Para [0010], Fig 1, where the radar device 1 with light source 2 has light detecting unit 5.); and
processing circuitry configured to perform a sketching process using timing information of the plurality of photon detection events to obtain a compressed representation of the distribution over time, wherein the sketching process comprises (Para [0032], Fig 7, where the pixel data processing unit 15 includes a time measuring unit 31 includes a time to digital converter to measure the time from light emission to light reception):
generating a plurality of feature values based on the timing information of the plurality of photon detection events using one or more feature functions (Para [0034], Fig 7, where histogram generation unit 32 generates a histogram (a type of compressed representation) using data input from the data generation circuit 44, where the horizontal axis of the histogram is time);
combining the generated plurality of feature values to obtain the compressed representation of the distribution over time, wherein (Para [0034], Fig 7, where the histogram generation unit 32 adds the count value of the data input to the time bin)
the feature functions have one or more properties such that combining the plurality of feature values generated using the one or more feature functions preserves signal information and/or suppresses background information and/or distinguishes signal information from background information in the compressed representation (Para [0035], Fig 7, where the signal to noise ratio calculator 34 calculates the ratio of the reflected light to the disturbance light as the signal to noise ratio, and the signal information is preserved by the distance calculation unit 33 calculates the distance from the device to the targeted object based on the histogram),
wherein the compressed representation is such that at least one or more desired parameters of the distribution over time can be estimated by performing a parameter estimation process using the compressed representation, wherein the parameter estimation process is based on a model of the distribution over time (Para [0035], Fig 7, where the distance calculation unit calculates the distance from the device to the targeted object).
Regarding claim 2, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein each photon detector comprises a single photon avalanche diode (SPAD) (Para [0017], Fig 5, where the light receiving element 17 is a SPAD).
Regarding claim 3, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1,wherein the one or more feature functions is based on an expected background distribution of the photon detection events (Para [0043], Fig 7, where the histogram generation unit 32 uses the threshold unit based on the SN ratio is used when generating measurements).
Regarding claim 4, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1,wherein the one or more feature functions comprise a functional form such that, when combining the feature values, the feature values associated with background photon detection events substantially cancel to provide a zero or at least substantially suppressed contribution to the compressed representation (Para [0043], Fig 7, where the histogram generation unit 32 can change the threshold value when generating measurements based on the SN ratio value).
Regarding claim 8, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more feature functions produce non-zero valued feature values and/or wherein combining the feature values uses feature values obtained from each of the plurality of photon detection events (Para [0034], Fig 7, where the histogram generation unit 32 adds the count value of the data input to the time bin by using information from photo detection events).
Regarding claim 15, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1 wherein the timing information comprises a representation of the detection time of each photon detection event signal and/or wherein the timing information may comprise a count of photon detection events in one or more pre-determined timing intervals (Para [0034], Fig 7, where histogram generation unit 32 generates a histogram (a type of compressed representation) using data input from the data generation circuit 44, where the horizontal axis of the histogram is time separated into bins)
Regarding claim 17, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim [[16] 1, wherein obtaining the feature values comprises retrieving a value from a look-up table and/or performing a feature value generating algorithm, for example, digit-by-digit algorithm or CORDIC algorithm (Para [0034], Fig 7, where histogram generation unit 32 generates a histogram (a type of compressed representation) using data input from the data generation circuit 44 to generate feature values)
Regarding claim 18, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the device further comprises at least one of a), b):
a)processing circuitry associated with the one or more photon detectors, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process the plurality of produced photon detection signals to produce a plurality of photon detection event signals, wherein each photon detection event signal comprises time data representative of the detection time at which the photon detection event occurred (Para [0032], Fig 7, (a) where time measurement unit measures the time from light emission to reception and outputs a measurement signal);
b) a memory resource for storing the compressed representation and/or a communication interface for communication of the compressed representation to a further device (Para [0037], (b) also discloses storing the data of the histogram in a memory).
Regarding claim 19, Ozaki teaches the device as claimed in claim 1,wherein combining the plurality of the feature values comprises storing a running total or average of the feature values and updating the running total or average using a new feature value in response to a photon detection event.
Regarding claim 24, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the parameter estimation process on the compressed representation thereby to determine an estimate for the one or more desired parameters and wherein the device further comprises a communication resource for communicating the determined estimates to a further computing resource (Ozaki, Para [0036], where the distance calculation unit calculates the distance from the targeted object to the device).
Regarding claim 26, Ozaki teaches an imaging system comprising the sensor device as claimed in claim 1 and an illumination source (Para [0010], Fig 1, where the radar device 1 with light source 2 has light detecting unit 5).
Regarding claim 27, Ozaki teaches a method comprising:
performing a sketching process using timing information of a plurality of photon detection events, wherein each photon detection event has a corresponding detection time and wherein the detection times of the plurality of photon detection events are distributed in accordance with a distribution over time, to obtain a compressed representation of the distribution over time, wherein the sketching process comprises (Para [0032], Fig 7, where the pixel data processing unit 15 includes a time measuring unit 31 includes a time to digital converter to measure the time from light emission to light reception. Para [0034], Fig 7, where histogram generation unit 32 generates a histogram (a type of compressed representation) using data input from the data generation circuit 44, where the horizontal axis of the histogram is time):
generating a plurality of feature values based on the timing information of the plurality of photon detection events using one or more feature functions (Para [0034], Fig 7, where the histogram is separated into time bins);
combining the generated plurality of feature values to obtain the compressed representation of the distribution over time, wherein (Para [0034], Fig 7, where the histogram generation unit 32 adds the count value of the data input to the time bin)
the one or more feature functions have one or more properties such that combining the plurality of feature values generated using the one or more feature functions preserves signal information and/or [[supresses]] suppresses background information and/or distinguishes signal information from background information in the compressed representation (Para [0035], Fig 7, where the signal to noise ratio calculator 34 calculates the ration of the reflected light to the disturbance light as the signal to noise ratio, and the signal information is preserved by the distance calculation unit 33 calculates the distance from the device to the targeted object based on the histogram),
wherein the compressed representation is such that at least one or more desired parameters of the distribution over time can be estimated by performing a parameter estimation process using the compressed representation, wherein the parameter estimation process is based on a model of the distribution over time (Para [0035], Fig 7, where the distance calculation unit calculates the distance from the device to the targeted object).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 9-12, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki in view of Seto et al. (JP2018197705A, "Seto”).
Regarding claim 5, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1.
However, Ozaki does not teach wherein the one or more feature functions comprises a mapping of timing information to a phase representation so that the feature values are representative of a phase, such that, when the feature values are combined, the phases for background events substantially cancel.
On the other hand, Seto teaches the use of trigonometric functions to represent the emitting pulse as a phase, such that when represented would show the cancelling of background noise (Seto, Para [0045]-[0050], Fig 8, where the detection signal detected by photodetector 4 is represented by a trigonometric equation, and the phase is adjusted such that the additive noise component is cancelled. Combined with the Ozaki, Fig 7, histogram generation unit 32 the generated measurements represent the cancelling phase).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sensor device of Ozaki in view of Seto, by applying the technique using trigonometric functions to represent the photo detection data such that the frequencies of pulses can allow for phase representation and cancelling of background noise. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 6, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1.
However, Ozaki does not teach wherein the one or more feature functions comprise at least one of: a non-linear function, a periodic function, a continuous function or wherein the one or more feature functions comprises a set of:
periodic triangle functions, harmonic periodic functions, periodic complex representations.
On the other hand, Seto teaches the use of trigonometric and non-linear functions to represent photon detection events over time (Seto, Para [0045]-[0050], Fig 8, where the detection signal detected by photodetector 4 is represented by a trigonometric equation. This in addition to Ozaki, Para [0034], Fig 7, where the histogram generation unit 32 creates a histogram which is a non-linear function)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sensor device of Ozaki in view of Seto, by applying the use of trigonometric functions to represent photodetection data over time. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 9, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1.
However, Ozaki does not teach wherein the photon detection events occur over a pre-determined detection time period and wherein the one or more feature functions comprises a periodic function characterised by a frequency that is a multiple of the inverse of the pre-determined detection time period.
On the other hand, Seto teaches using the angular frequency of the pulse repetition rate of pulses, and therefore a predetermined period for mapping photodetection data (Seto, Para [0045]-[0050], Fig 8, where the detection signal detected by photodetector 4 is represented by a trigonometric equation using repetition angular frequency, where the time is a predetermined period).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Ozaki in view of Seto, by applying the technique of using trigonometric functions for representing photodetection signals, and resultingly using the frequency of the signal in addition to the time period. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 10, Ozaki in view of Seto teaches the device according to claim 9 wherein the sketching process comprises selecting more than one frequency for the one or more feature functions in accordance with a frequency-selection scheme and wherein the sketching process further comprises generating feature values and combining said feature values for each selected frequency and wherein the selection of the frequency is such that combining feature values generated by the sketching function at each of the selected frequencies suppresses the background information (Seto, Para [0045]-[0050], Fig 8, where the detection signal detected by photodetector 4 is represented by a trigonometric equation using repetition angular frequency, where the time is a predetermined period. Combined with Ozaki Para [0034], Fig 7, where the histogram generation unit 32 adds the count value of the data input, the frequency can be changed to continuously update the histogram).
Regarding claim 12, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 9, wherein at least one of a), b) and c):
a) the frequencies are selected in accordance with a random distribution;
b) a first pre-determined number of frequencies from a set of frequencies are selected (Seto, Para [0045]-[0050], Fig 8, (b) where the detection signal has a predetermined time period and there set of frequencies;
c) a frequency equal to zero is selected to provide information related to the number of photon detection events (Ozaki, Para [0037], (c) where the vertical axis of the histogram is the integration of photon count values over a set time, which when 0 the count value is also 0).
Regarding claim 21, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more desired parameters comprise a measure of distance between the sensor device and a target in a scene (Ozaki, Para [0036], Fig 7, where the distance calculation unit calculates the distance from the targeted object to the device).
However, Ozaki does not teach and/or a measure of intensity of reflection of light by a target and/or are estimated from the compressed representation by performing a mathematical optimization process using the compressed representation.
On the other hand, Seto teaches using the intensity as one of the estimated parameters by using it in relation with the signal measured using a trigonometric function (Seto, Para [0045]-[0050], Fig 8, where intensity noise is considered in relation with the angular frequency. Since the frequency is considered with the histogram data, it can be can be calculated similar to that of the distance calculation unit disclosed in Ozaki, Para [0036]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sensor device of Ozaki in view of Seto, by applying an intensity unit similar to Ozaki’s distance calculation unit suggesting the parameter can be estimated and used when using photodetection signals as data. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale G.
Regarding claim 22, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1.
However, Ozaki does not teach wherein the model of the distribution over time comprises at least a portion that is dependent on intensity.
On the other hand, Seto teaches using intensity when generating photodetection signal data and therefore making the distribution over time dependent on intensity.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sensor device of Ozaki in view of Seto, by applying the use of intensity in the collection of signal data making the distribution of that data dependent on the parameter. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki in view of Shimokawa (JPH08304068A, "Shimokawa”).
Regarding claim 13, Ozaki teaches the device according to claim 1.
However, Ozaki does not teach wherein the one or more feature functions comprises at least one of: a polynomial function; a piecewise polynomial function; a spline function or wherein the feature functions comprise or are configured to be formed from a set of basis functions, wherein at least one a), b) and c):
a) the set of basis functions comprise a set of polynomial basis functions that are combinable to form an approximation of a sinusoidal function or other periodic, non-linear function;
b) each basis function comprises a local portion centred on or associated with a respective time and the local portion of each basis function overlaps in time with one or more local portions of the other basis functions and/or the local portion comprises a polynomial function;
c) at least two basis functions of the set of basis functions are non-zero over at least part of, optionally, all of a time window.
On the other hand, Shimokawa teaches the use of spline/piecewise functions to approximate photodetection data over time (Shimokawa, Para [0031], (a and b) where the center of the light quantity data can be approximated with a spline function which is a type of piecewise polynomial function, and therefore a polynomial. When combined with the arrival time data disclosed in Ozaki, Para [0032], the spline function approximates with respect to time as well).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sensor device of Ozaki in view of Shimokawa, by applying the use of spline functions to approximate the representation of photodetection data to have a compressed representation of the data. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645