DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kalensky (U.S. Publication Number 2019/0224444).
Referring to claim 1, Kalensky discloses comprising: a receiver configured to receive a signal based on sensor data including vocalization data from a subject (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); and a body which includes: a breathing simulator configured to simulate the breathing of the subject; and a vocalization simulator configured to simulate the vocalization of the subject; wherein the body simulator is configured to modulate the simulated breathing based on the vocalization data by adjusting an amplitude of the simulated breathing during the simulated vocalization (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 2, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured to intermittently synchronize the simulated breathing and the simulated vocalization (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 3, Kalensky discloses wherein the simulated breathing is based on a breath component of the signal, and the simulated breathing is based on a vocalization component of the signal (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2)
Referring to claim 4, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured such that: the simulated breathing of the subject is generated in real-time, and the simulated vocalization of the subject is generated in real-time (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 5, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured such that: the simulated breathing includes a periodic component and a modulation (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 6, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured such that: the modulation is based on a vocalization component of the received signal (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 7, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured such that: the modulation is an intermittent modulation (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 8, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured such that: the modulation is at least one of: a phase shift, a delay, a positive pulse superimposed on the simulated breathing, a negative pulse superimposed on the simulated breathing, an increase in amplitude, or a decrease in amplitude (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 9, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured such that: the modulation is determined by a machine learning algorithm (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 10, Kalensky discloses, wherein the body simulator is configured such that: the simulated breathing is determined by the machine learning algorithm (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 11, Kalensky discloses wherein the machine learning algorithm is configured to predict a beginning of an utterance or a speech break (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 12, Kalensky discloses wherein the body includes: a chest region, and a head and neck region; and wherein the breathing simulator is at the chest region, and wherein the vocalization simulator is at the head and neck region (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 13, Kalensky discloses comprising: at least one sensor for acquiring breathing data and vocalization data (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); a transmitter for transmitting a signal including a breathing component and a vocalization component (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); wherein the breathing component is based on the breathing data and is modulated based on the vocalization data by adjusting an amplitude of the simulated breathing during the simulated vocalization (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 14, Kalensky discloses comprising: at least one sensor for acquiring vocalization data (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); a transmitter for transmitting a signal based on the vocalization data (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); and a body simulator (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2) comprising: a receiver configured to receive the signal, and a breathing simulator configured to simulate the breathing of the subject (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); wherein the system is configured to modulate the simulated breathing based on the vocalization data (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 15, Kalensky discloses comprising: determining vocalization data from at least one sensor (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); transmitting a signal based on the vocalization data (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); receiving the signal at a body simulator (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); simulating breathing (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); simulating vocalization based on the vocalization data (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2); and modulating the simulated breathing based on the vocalization data (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 16, Kalensky discloses wherein the modulation is an intermittent modulation that is configured to correct for a latency between a periodic component
of the simulated breathing and the vocalization data (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 17, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured such that the adjustment of suppressing the amplitude includes suppressing an inhalation phase by extending an exhalation phase of the simulated breathing to coincide with a
duration of the simulated vocalization (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 18, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is
configured such that the adjustment of the amplitude includes during the simulated vocalization is followed by simulating an inhalation phase of breathing that is deeper than a previous periodic inhalation subsequent to the simulated vocalization (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 19, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is configured such that the adjustment of the amplitude includes simulating an inhalation phase of
breathing that is deeper than a previous periodic inhalation subsequent to the simulated
vocalization (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Referring to claim 20, Kalensky discloses wherein the body simulator is
configured such that the adjustment of the amplitude includes delaying an inhalation phase of the simulated breathing in response to a determination of an onset of vocalization (paragraphs 0015, 0041, 0042, 0087, 0088 & Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The currently amended claims do not further limit the structural claims. What is being added is the intended use of the claim. Therefore, the current prior art still applies to the claims.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YE (U.S. Publication Number 2014/0142933) teaches a device and method for processing vocal signal. This patent publication can be applied to the intended use of the claim by using paragraphs 0013, 0018 and claims 1 & 10.
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715