DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leininger (U.S. Patent No. 1,380,661) in view of Pardue (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0174006).
Regarding claim 1, Leininger discloses a screen [FIGS. 1, 3] comprising: a frame (frame defined by leg members 14, 16, and 17) having a plurality of adjoined leg members (14, 16, 17) that contiguously form a defined shape substantially in a first plane (as shown in Figures 1 and 3, the screen frame defines a shape substantially in the plane of the sash; it is noted that in the context of the disclosure, the definition of the shape “substantially in a first plane” explicitly does not require that the shape be entirely constrained within a single plane, as the camber of the legs would render such a constraint impossible); and a screening mesh (13) affixed to the frame [FIG. 1], wherein at least one of the plurality of adjoined leg members is constructed with a camber in a second plane, the second plane being transverse to the first plane (as shown in Figures 1 and 3, the leg members 14 are cambered in a second transverse plane); wherein the frame is configured to deflect when the frame is inserted in a channel in a loaded state (insertion of the frame into the channel of the window guideways is shown in Figure 3; the deflection of leg members 14 of the frame when inserted is also shown in Figure 3 and described on page 2, lines 49-65).
Leininger does not explicitly disclose that the frame is adapted to maintain the camber in the second plane when in an unloaded state.
Nonetheless, Pardue discloses a screen comprising a frame (710) having a plurality of adjoined leg members (side edges 712, 714, and corresponding top and bottom edges), wherein at least one of the plurality of adjoined leg members is constructed with a camber [FIG. 7B], wherein the frame is adapted to maintain the camber in the second plane when in an unloaded state (paragraph 0044 discloses that the side edges 712, 714 of the frame may be curved in an unloaded state).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frame of Leininger to maintain the camber in an unloaded state, as taught by Pardue, in order to provide resistance against bending in the opposite direction of the camber, so as to ensure a reliable fit for the frame within the window that is more secure against wind or other forces that could dislodge the screen.
Regarding claim 3, Leininger discloses that the screen comprises a first (side leg members 14) and second (upper and lower leg members 16, 17) pair of opposing leg members, wherein the first pair of opposing members is cambered and the second pair of opposing members is substantially linear [FIGS. 1, 3].
Regarding claim 4, Leininger discloses that the first pair of opposing members is longer than the second pair such that the defined shape is a rectangle [FIG. 1].
Regarding claim 5, Leininger discloses that at least two of the plurality of adjoined leg members are cambered (side leg members 14 are cambered as shown in Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, Leininger discloses that the frame further comprises a concave side and a convex side, and further wherein the screening mesh is affixed to the concave side (as shown in Figure 5, the screening mesh 13 is wrapped around the leg members 14 at portion 15, thereby affixing the screening mesh to the concave side of the frame).
Regarding claim 7, Leininger discloses a cambered window or door screen [FIGS. 1, 3] adapted for use with a window or door having a channel for receiving the screen (page 2, lines 41-65; the window includes guideways 9 that define a channel receiving the screen as shown in Figure 3), the screen comprising: a frame (frame defined by leg members 14, 16, and 17) having a plurality of adjoined leg members (14, 16, 17) that contiguously form a defined shape substantially in a first plane (as shown in Figures 1 and 3, the screen frame defines a shape substantially in the plane of the sash); and a screening mesh (13) affixed to the frame [FIG. 1], wherein at least one of the plurality of adjoined leg members is constructed with a camber in a second plane [FIGS. 1, 3], the second plane being transverse to the first plane (as shown in Figures 1 and 3, the leg members 14 are cambered in a second transverse plane), and wherein the at least one cambered leg member engages with the channel to secure the screen within the channel (page 2, lines 41-65) [FIG. 3]; and wherein the channel has a channel width (width of the guideways 9 shown in Figure 3), wherein the cambered screen has a cambered width in the second plane that is greater than the channel width (the screen can have a cambered width greater than the width of the channel as shown in at least Figure 2), and wherein the frame is configured to deflect in a loaded state for insertion into and removal from the channel (page 2, lines 41-65).
Leininger does not explicitly disclose that the frame is adapted to maintain the camber in the second plane when in an unloaded state.
Nonetheless, Pardue discloses a screen comprising a frame (710) having a plurality of adjoined leg members (side edges 712, 714, and corresponding top and bottom edges), wherein at least one of the plurality of adjoined leg members is constructed with a camber [FIG. 7B], wherein the frame is adapted to maintain the camber in the second plane when in an unloaded state (paragraph 0044 discloses that the side edges 712, 714 of the frame may be curved in an unloaded state).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frame of Leininger to maintain the camber in an unloaded state, as taught by Pardue, in order to provide resistance against bending in the opposite direction of the camber, so as to ensure a reliable fit for the frame within the window that is more secure against wind or other forces that could dislodge the screen. It is further noted that the channel is not positively recited in the claim, and therefore, the channel width is also not a positive requirement. The frame of Leininger, as modified by Pardue, would include a camber that would inherently have a cambered width that is larger than at least a channel having a width equal to non-cambered width of the frame, thereby satisfying the requirements of the intended use limitation directed to the cambered width and the channel width.
Regarding claim 9, Leininger discloses that the screen comprises a first (side leg members 14) and second (upper and lower leg members 16, 17) pair of opposing leg members, wherein the first pair of opposing members is cambered and the second pair of opposing members is substantially linear [FIGS. 1, 3].
Regarding claim 10, Leininger discloses that the first pair of opposing members is longer than the second pair such that the defined shape is a rectangle [FIG. 1].
Regarding claim 11, Leininger discloses that the channel extends at least on opposing sides of the window or door frame and each of the first pair of opposing members engages with the channel to secure the screen (page 2, lines 41-65) [FIGS. 1, 3].
Regarding claim 12, Leininger discloses that the channel has a first wall and a second wall and each of the first pair of opposing members engages the first wall of the channel at a midpoint of the member and engages the second wall at each of two endpoints of the member, whereby the screen is secured in the channel (the walls of the channel 9 are shown in Figure 3; a midpoint of the leg members 14 contacts the first wall on the left side of the drawing as shown in Figure 3 and the endpoints of the leg members 14 contact the second wall on the right side of the drawing as shown in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Leininger discloses that at least two of the plurality of adjoined leg members are cambered (side leg members 14 are cambered as shown in Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, Leininger discloses that the frame further comprises a concave side and a convex side, and further wherein the screening mesh is affixed to the concave side (as shown in Figure 5, the screening mesh 13 is wrapped around the leg members 14 at portion 15, thereby affixing the screening mesh to the concave side of the frame).
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leininger (U.S. Patent No. 1,380,661) in view of Pardue (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0174006), as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Kraus (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0240721).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Leininger, as modified above, discloses the frame, but does not disclose that it is formed from a single piece of wire.
Nonetheless, Kraus discloses a screen frame formed from single piece of wire (301) having a first end and a second end [FIGS. 10, 11], the wire is bent in a plurality of locations (corners 1002) and the first end is adjoined to the second end to establish a defined shape (paragraph 0047).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frame of Leininger, as modified above, to be formed from a single piece of wire, as taught by Kraus, in order to enable faster manufacturing of the screen assembly, and to enable easier production of specific screen shapes or sizes for custom manufacturing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Leininger, as modified by Pardue, fails to disclose a frame configured to maintain a camber in an unloaded state, and to deflect in a loaded state, but this argument is not found persuasive. Leininger explicitly discloses a deflection of the frame at least in frame members 14 along the vertical sides of the frame under a load, as shown in Figures 1-3. Figure 3 and page 2, lines 49-65 of Leininger further disclose installation of the frame within a channel (the guideways 9 of the window frame), wherein the frame is in a loaded state such that it deflects. Pardue is relied upon only to teach a frame having a camber in an unloaded state, and is not relied upon to teach a composition/rigidity of the frame or the screen. The frame of Leininger is inherently capable of being formed such that it maintains a camber in an unloaded state. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the teachings of Pardue that modifying the frame of Leininger to have at least some camber in an unloaded state would allow for positioning of the screen in an orientation that is more resistant to wind or other forces that could dislodge the screen from an installed position. The modification would not require that the screen be made inflexible, and it is noted that resistance to bending in a particular direction would not render the screen of Leininger inoperable for its intended purpose. The screen of Leininger would still be capable of bending without increased resistance in at least one direction (the direction coinciding with that of the unloaded camber), which would therefore allow for all of the movements necessary to achieve the size adjustment and resilient fit of the screen in the opening.
Applicant also argues that Leininger does not disclose a frame that bends, and that the fabric screen 13 is the only element that bends in any way. This argument is not found persuasive. Figure 1 of Leininger illustrates side frame members 14 provided at the side edges of the screen, which are shown deflecting under load. These frame members are further described on page 2, lines 49-65 as being insertable into the guideways 9 under a load that causes them to deflect, which is also shown in Figure 3. Applicant’s argument that Pardue fails to disclose deflection of the frame members is also not found persuasive, as Pardue is not relied upon in the rejection to teach the deflection of the frame members under load (this limitation is disclosed by Leininger, as set forth above). In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s argument with respect to the combination of Leininger, Pardue, and Kraus are directed to the same limitations as those addressed above, and are not found persuasive for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634