DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected drawn to a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/17/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4, drawn to the positive electrode active material, in the reply filed on 4/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “LixMnyNizSiaMfO2-αFα“ and recites that f can be 0 and also recites that M is at least one element, it is unclear if M has to be at least one element since M can also not be present when f is equal to 0. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites that M is at least two elements, however, since f can be 0 it is unclear if M has to be at least one element since M can also not be present when f is equal to 0. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 20130209871 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses a positive electrode active material (see claim 1) for non-aqueous electrolyte secondary batteries (claim 2 and claim 3), the positive electrode active material comprising a lithium-transition metal composite oxide having a composition formula of LiyNiaCobMncMdOxFz1Pz2,
wherein x=y and 1.0≤ y≤ 1.3 which overlaps with the range of x, 1.0 < x ≤ 1.2,
wherein a=z, and 0 < a ≤ 0.3 which overlaps with the range of z, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.4,
wherein b+z2=f, (0≤b≤0.25)+(0.01≤z2≤0.1)=0.01 ≤ (b+z2) ≤0.35, which overlaps with the range of f, 0 ≤f ≤ 0.05
wherein c=y, and 0.3≤c≤0.7 which overlaps with the range of y, 0.4 ≤ y ≤ 0.8,
wherein d=a, and 0≤d≤0.1 which overlaps with the range of a, 0 < a ≤ 0.03
wherein x+z1=2, which overlaps with 1.9≤(x+z1) ≤ 2.1
wherein z1=α, and 0.07≤z1≤0.15 which overlaps with 0<α≤0.1, and wherein
y+a+b+c+d+z2≤ 2 + A, wherein A is z2 and z2 overlaps with the claimed range of A (0.01≤z2≤0.1).
Kato discloses that M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Al, Si, Zr, Ti, Fe, Mg, Nb, Ba and V and that the amount of cobalt can be zero (b=0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use any of the elements listed for the possibility of M including Si because Kato discloses that these elements are appropriate for M.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges for the claimed compositional ranges as disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kato discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kato discloses M is silicon and phosphorus and/or cobalt (claim 1) and wherein b+z2=f, (0≤b≤0.25)+(0.01≤z2≤0.1)=0.01 ≤ (b+z2) ≤0.35, which overlaps with the range of f, 0 ≤f ≤ 0.03.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges for the claimed compositional ranges as disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kato discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kato discloses a representing a molar ratio of Si satisfies wherein d=a, and 0≤d≤0.1 which overlaps with the range of a, 0.002≤a ≤0.015 (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges for the claimed compositional ranges as disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 20130209871 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4 above Oshima (US 20150099167 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kato discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Kato discloses that P is present and further discloses that b can be equal to zero which would indicate there is no Co in the composition.
However, Kato does not disclose an additional element including Al, Sb, Sr, Ti, Nb, or Mg is present in the compound.
Oshima discloses a dopant for a lithium nickel manganese compound can include Si and any one of Ti or Al [0022] and the dopant types and amount are not necessarily limited.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further include an additional dopants including Ti and/or Al as disclosed by Oshima in the lithium manganese nickel oxide cathode material of Kato because Oshima discloses that is possible to use these types of dopants in a lithium manganese nickel oxide cathode material.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 20130209871 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4 above Noguchi (US 20030086863 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kato discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Kato discloses that P is present and further discloses that b can be equal to zero which would indicate there is no Co in the composition.
Noguchi discloses a dopant for a lithium nickel manganese compound can include Si and Ti instead of only Si [0051]-[0072], more especially [0058]-[0061].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further include an additional dopants to Si including Ti as disclosed by Noguchi in the lithium manganese nickel oxide cathode material of Kato because Oshima discloses that is possible to use these types of dopants in a lithium manganese nickel oxide cathode material.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726