DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the reply filed on 07/28/2026 in which claims 24, 39, and 43, were amended. Claims 28 and 38 have been cancelled. Currently, claims 24-27, 29-37, and 39-43, are pending for examination in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 24-27, 29-37, and 39-43, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one pin extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis” (claim 1), in combination with a housing cover assembly comprising “two separate housing covers” (claim 29), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim, which is directly dependent from independent claim 24, recites the limitation of “wherein the housing cover assembly comprises two separate housing covers.” However, the newly amended claim limitations within independent claim 24 now requires “wherein the housing cover assembly comprises at least one pin extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.” The originally filed specification does not support a medicament delivery device sub-assembly which contains both these limitations in combination. As such, the limitations of claim 29 are now considered to be new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-27, 30-35, 42, and 43, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stillman (PGPub 2016/0082201).
[Claims 24, 30, and 43] Stillman teaches a medicament delivery device (figure 5) comprising:
a housing (figure 5, item 102) extending along a longitudinal axis from a proximal end to a distal end (figure 5), where the housing (figure 5, item 102) comprises a tubular section (figure 5, item 113; paragraph [0017]) with an internal surface facing towards the longitudinal axis and an external surface facing away from the longitudinal axis (figure 5);
an aperture (figure 5, item 120) extending through the tubular section (figure 5, item 113) from the internal surface to the external surface (figure 5; paragraph [0017]);
a syringe carrier (figure 5, items 106/108) axially fixed within the housing (figure 5, item 102);
a syringe (figure 5, item 10) positioned within the syringe carrier (figure 5, items 106/108) and having a shoulder (figure 5, item 20) located at a proximal end of the syringe (figure 5, item 10); and
a housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) attached in the aperture (figure 5, item 120) of the housing (figure 5, item 102) (paragraph [0018]), where the housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) engages (figure 5, via item 151) the shoulder (figure 5, item 20) to axially fix the syringe (figure 5, item 10) relative to the housing (figure 5, item 102) (paragraph [0033]),
wherein the housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) comprises at least one pin (figure 5, item 151) (alternatively, one of the two “retention tabs” 148 could be interpreted as a “pin”) extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (figure 5).
[Claims 25, 26, and 34] Stillman teaches the limitations of claim 24, upon which claims 25, 26, and 34, depend. In addition, Stillman discloses the housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) comprises a protrusion (figure 5, item 148) (the examiner notes only 1 of the 2 “retention tabs” 148 would be required) extending towards the longitudinal axis (figure 5);
wherein the protrusion (figure 5, item 148) of the housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) comprises a surface (figure 5) facing the distal end of the housing (figure 5, item 102), wherein the surface (figure 5) is shaped to fit between a medicament delivery shield and a shoulder of said syringe so as to support said shoulder of said syringe (the examiner notes both the “medicament delivery shield” and the “syringe” are only functionally recited within claims 24/26; as such, the “surface” taught by Stillman is functionally capable of meeting this limitation);
wherein the housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) comprises an arm (figure 5, item 140), where the protrusion (figure 5, item 148) of the housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) is attached to the arm (figure 5, item 140).
[Claims 27 and 42] Stillman teaches the limitations of claim 24, upon which claim 27 depends. Stillman also teaches a syringe (figure 5, item 10) in the housing (figure 5, item 102), and wherein the syringe (figure 5, item 10) is held relative to the housing (figure 5, item 102) by the housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) (paragraphs [0018], [0033]).
[Claims 31-33] Stillman teaches the limitations of claim 24, upon which claims 31-33 depend. Stillman further discloses the housing cover assembly (figure 5, item 104) comprises a rigid arm (figure 5, item 148) which extends in a direction parallel (the examiner notes the arm has a thickness with is parallel to the longitudinal axis) to the longitudinal axis (figure 5).
[Claim 35] Stillman teaches the limitations of claim 24, upon which claim 35 depends. In addition, Stillman discloses the external surface of the tubular section (figure 5, item 113) is configured to be held by a user during use of a medicament delivery device comprising the medicament delivery device sub-assembly (figure 5; the examiner notes the structure is capable of meeting this functional limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stillman (PGPub 2016/0082201), in view of Lerner (PGPub 2014/0039456).
[Claim 29] Stillman teaches the limitations of claim 24, upon which claim 29 depends. Although disclosing one or more features may be implemented into the device (paragraph [0035]), Stillman does not specifically disclose the housing cover assembly consists of two separate housing covers.
However, Lerner teaches a medicament delivery device sub-assembly (figure 28, item 100) comprising a housing cover assembly (figure 28, items 112) consisting of two separate housing covers (figures 29 and 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the structure taught by Stillman, to have utilized two separate housing covers, as taught by Lerner, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stillman (PGPub 2016/0082201), in view of Roervig et al. (PGPub 2015/0174335).
[Claims 36 and 37] Stillman teaches the limitations of claim 24, upon which claims 36 and 37 depend. Stillman does not specifically disclose the housing cover assembly comprises a window.
However, Roervig teaches a medicament delivery device sub-assembly (figure 9) comprising a housing cover assembly (figure 9, item 3a) having a window (figure 9, item 6), wherein a window frame (figure 9, item 11) extends around the window (paragraphs [0081], [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the structure taught by Stillman, to have utilized a window in the housing cover assembly, as taught by Roervig, in order to provide increased functionality and versatility, by allowing for an easy means by which a user might visually inspect the contents of the syringe within the housing (Roervig; paragraph [0081]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 39-41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 09/01/2026