DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2015118782. Regarding claims 1, 10 and 12, the reference teaches a tubular aluminum silicate that is an additive in a secondary battery electrolyte (abstract, [0019] of machine translation). Regarding claim 4, the surface area of the aluminum silicate can be 784 m2/g, which anticipates the claimed range ([0107]). Regarding claim 5, the aluminum silicate has a pore size of 0.3-2.2 nm, which also anticipates the claimed range ([0016]). Thus, the instant claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015118782.
The reference is applied to claims 1, 4, 5, 10 and 12 for the reasons stated above. Further regarding claim 2, the reference teaches that the tubes have a length of “about 10 nm to several microns long” ([0014]). Regarding claim 11, the reference teaches that the aluminum silicate is contained in the electrolyte in an amount of 0.1 g per 10 mL of electrolyte ([0111]).
However, the reference is not anticipatory of the claimed ranges of particle size (claim 2) of the weight percent of aluminum silicate in the electrolyte (claim 11). The reference further does not teach the composition as recited in claim 3.
However, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing because the initially, the claimed particle size and the size disclosed by the reference overlap. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 191USPQ 90; In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934). Accordingly, claim 2 is rendered obvious.
With respect to claim 11, the reference discloses the amount of aluminum silicate in terms of a concentration (0.1 g per 10 mL). It can be seen that this is a small amount of aluminum silicate, which may overlap with the claimed range (0.1-2.0 % by weight). Paragraph [0019] of the reference provides guidance on the maximum and minimum limits of the additive in the electrolyte, for example when it is less than 5 mg per 1 mL, it does not perform the effect of the invention (metal ion trapping). Thus, the amount of aluminum silicate is identified as a result effective variable by the reference. It has been held that the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites specific compositional ranges of Si, Al, and O within the aluminum silicate. The reference does not appear to provide guidance as to the composition of the aluminum silicate therein, other than that an X-ray diffraction pattern of the product contains confirmed peaks specific to the tubular aluminum silicate ([0106]). The position is taken that a skilled artisan could have routinely optimized the composition of the aluminum silicate of JP ‘782, in order to affect the morphology, porosity, or conductivity of the resultant product. As such, the ranges recited in claim 3 would be obvious one skilled in the art.
Conclusion
/Jonathan Crepeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725
April 16, 2026