DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on December 3rd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-14, 16, 19-22, 25, and 27-28 are pending in the application. The arguments regarding suitability of prior arts Sakhnini et al. and Lei are found persuasive and, therefore, withdrawn. However, it does not place the application in condition for allowance and the rejections are maintained over new prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ly et al. (US 2022/0038322 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ly et al. teach a method for bandwidth part (BWP) switching, performed by a terminal device, comprising: switching from a source BWP to a target BWP using a first switching mode or a second switching mode (Fig. 3, [0065], as shown by reference number 330, the BS 110 may provide an indication to switch from the source BWP to a target BWP. For example, the BS 110 may trigger or cause the UE 120 to switch from the source BWP to the target BWP. In some aspects, the indication may comprise DCI. For example, the DCI may include a value indicating a BWP, of the set of BWPs configured by the BS 110, to be used as an active BWP of the UE 120. (Note: it is an example of first switching mode as it refers to switching only the downlink (DL) BWP or only the uplink (UL) BWP independently),
Ly et al. teach wherein, a switching delay used by the first switching mode is longer than a switching delay used by the second switching mode (Fig. 3, [0065-0066], if the UE 120 were to use the source BWP's PRT allocation for the target BWP (e.g., based at least in part on a semi-static configuration of the PRT sequence), then the PRT locations for the target BWP would fall outside of the bandwidth of the target BWP, thereby degrading PAPR of transmissions of the UE 120. Furthermore, semi-statically updating the PRT sequence of the UE 120 for each BWP switch may be prohibitively resource-intensive and may introduce significant latency. Each time the BWP of the UE 120 changes, the BS 110 may indicate an updated PRT sequence via DCI. In this way, the BS 110 indicates an updated PRT sequence (e.g., a PRT allocation) for a target BWP associated with a BWP switch of a UE 120 via dynamic signaling, such as DCI, which improves PAPR on the target BWP, and which reduces latency and overhead associated with the configuration of the PRT allocation. (Note: as described above, the BWP switching delay (latency) is higher in first switching mode than the second switching mode).
Regarding claim 12, Ly et al. teach a method for bandwidth part (BWP) switching, performed by a terminal device, comprising: switching from a source BWP to a target BWP using a first switching mode or a second switching mode (Fig. 3, [0065], as shown by reference number 330, the BS 110 may provide an indication to switch from the source BWP to a target BWP. For example, the BS 110 may trigger or cause the UE 120 to switch from the source BWP to the target BWP. In some aspects, the indication may comprise DCI. For example, the DCI may include a value indicating a BWP, of the set of BWPs configured by the BS 110, to be used as an active BWP of the UE 120. (Note: it is an example of first switching mode as it refers to switching only the downlink (DL) BWP or only the uplink (UL) BWP independently),
Ly et al. teach wherein, a switching delay used by the first switching mode is longer than a switching delay used by the second switching (Fig. 3, [0065-0066], if the UE 120 were to use the source BWP's PRT allocation for the target BWP (e.g., based at least in part on a semi-static configuration of the PRT sequence), then the PRT locations for the target BWP would fall outside of the bandwidth of the target BWP, thereby degrading PAPR of transmissions of the UE 120. Furthermore, semi-statically updating the PRT sequence of the UE 120 for each BWP switch may be prohibitively resource-intensive and may introduce significant latency. Each time the BWP of the UE 120 changes, the BS 110 may indicate an updated PRT sequence via DCI. In this way, the BS 110 indicates an updated PRT sequence (e.g., a PRT allocation) for a target BWP associated with a BWP switch of a UE 120 via dynamic signaling, such as DCI, which improves PAPR on the target BWP, and which reduces latency and overhead associated with the configuration of the PRT allocation. (Note: as described above, the BWP switching delay (latency) is higher in first switching mode than the second switching mode).
Regarding claim 25, Ly et al. teach a communication device, comprising: a transceiver, a memory and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory respectively, wherein the processor is configured to control transmission and reception of radio signals of the transceiver by executing computer-executable instructions on the memory, and is capable of implementing (Fig. 2, [0045, 0052], an example 200 of a base station 110 in communication with a UE 120 in a wireless network 100, in accordance with the present disclosure. Base station 110 may be equipped with T antennas 234a through 234t, and UE 120 may be equipped with R antennas 252a through 252r. controller/processor 240 of base station 110, controller/processor 280 of UE 120, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform or direct operations of, for example, process 600 of FIG. 6, process 700 of FIG. 7, and/or other processes as described herein. Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively. In some aspects, memory 242 and/or memory 282 may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions (e.g., code and/or program code) for wireless communication. For example, the one or more instructions, when executed (e.g., directly, or after compiling, converting, and/or interpreting) by one or more processors of the base station 110 and/or the UE 120, may cause the one or more processors, the UE 120, and/or the base station 110 to perform or direct operations),
Ly et al. teach a method for BWP switching, the method comprising: switching from a source BWP to a target BWP using a first switching mode or a second switching mode (Fig. 3, [0065], as shown by reference number 330, the BS 110 may provide an indication to switch from the source BWP to a target BWP. For example, the BS 110 may trigger or cause the UE 120 to switch from the source BWP to the target BWP. In some aspects, the indication may comprise DCI. For example, the DCI may include a value indicating a BWP, of the set of BWPs configured by the BS 110, to be used as an active BWP of the UE 120. (Note: it is an example of first switching mode as it refers to switching only the downlink (DL) BWP or only the uplink (UL) BWP independently),
Ly et al. teach wherein, a switching delay used by the first switching mode is longer than a switching delay used by the second switching mode (Fig. 3, [0065-0066], if the UE 120 were to use the source BWP's PRT allocation for the target BWP (e.g., based at least in part on a semi-static configuration of the PRT sequence), then the PRT locations for the target BWP would fall outside of the bandwidth of the target BWP, thereby degrading PAPR of transmissions of the UE 120. Furthermore, semi-statically updating the PRT sequence of the UE 120 for each BWP switch may be prohibitively resource-intensive and may introduce significant latency. Each time the BWP of the UE 120 changes, the BS 110 may indicate an updated PRT sequence via DCI. In this way, the BS 110 indicates an updated PRT sequence (e.g., a PRT allocation) for a target BWP associated with a BWP switch of a UE 120 via dynamic signaling, such as DCI, which improves PAPR on the target BWP, and which reduces latency and overhead associated with the configuration of the PRT allocation. (Note: as described above, the BWP switching delay (latency) is higher in first switching mode than the second switching mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-14 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0038322 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0247614 A1).
Ly et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Ly et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the switching delay used by the second switching mode has a plurality of candidate values, and the plurality of candidate values correspond to different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); regarding claim 3, wherein the switching delay used by the second switching mode has a plurality of candidate values, and the plurality of candidate values correspond to different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); regarding claim 13, Li et al. teach wherein the switching delay used by the second switching mode has a plurality of candidate values, and the plurality of candidate values correspond to different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); regarding claim 14, Li et al. teach wherein, a SCS of the source BWP is different from a SCS of the target BWP, and a larger value from a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the source BWP and a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the target BWP is determined as the switching delay of the second switching mode or, the SCS of the source BWP is identical to the SCS of the target BWP, and a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the source BWP or the SCS of the target BWP is determined as the switching delay of the second switching mode; regarding claim 27, Li et al. teach further comprising: in the second switching mode, determining that a SCS of the source BWP is different from a SCS of the target BWP, and determining switching delay used by the second switching mode based on a first SCS, wherein the first SCS is a smaller one of the SCS of the source BWP and the SCS of the target BWP; regarding claim 28, Li et al. teach a communication device, comprising: a transceiver, a memory and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory respectively, wherein the processor is configured to control transmission and reception of radio signals of the transceiver by executing computer-executable instructions on the memory, and is capable of implementing the method for BWP switching of claim 12.
Regarding claim 2, Li et al. teach wherein the switching delay used by the second switching mode has a plurality of candidate values, and the plurality of candidate values correspond to different subcarrier spacings (SCSs) (Fig. 12, [0181, 0195], active BWP switch delay: It is a switch delay of performing BWP switching by the terminal device, and is related to a capability of the terminal device. The terminal device is not allowed to receive or send data during the active BWP switch delay. For example, as shown in fig. 12, the active BWP switch delay may be understood as a duration of a process and a state in which the terminal device switches from the first BWP to the second BWP, and also refers to a duration of a process and a state in which the terminal device switches from the second BWP to the first BWP. A current value and definition of the active BWP switch delay may be determined based on the NR protocol. Considering occurrence of a new terminal type in the future, a new value and definition of the active BWP switch delay may occur. For example, for a REDCAP terminal proposed in a 3GPP proposal, a value of the active BWP switch delay is different from a value provided in the NR protocol. The switch delay supported by the terminal device may be represented by using a quantity of OFDM symbols, a quantity of slots (slot), a specific time value (for example, 140 μs), or another form, and is not specifically limited. Specifically, the switch delay supported by the terminal device may be a same time value when corresponding to different SCSs. For example, the switch delay is a value not greater than 500 μs, for example, 140 μs, 200 μs, 250 μs, or 400 μs. Specifically, when the switch delay is represented by using a quantity of OFDM symbols, for SCS=15 kHz, the switch delay is two OFDM symbols; for SCS=30 kHz, the switch delay is four OFDM symbols; for SCS=60 kHz, the switch delay is M OFDM symbols, where M is an integer not greater than 8; and for SCS=120 kHz, the switch delay is K OFDM symbols, where K is an integer not greater than 16. Alternatively, switch delays corresponding to different SCSs may correspond to different time values. For example, switch delays corresponding to SCS=15 kHz and SCS=30 kHz are a time value, and switch delays corresponding to SCS=60 kHz and SCS=120 kHz are another time value).
Regarding claim 3, Li et al. teach further comprising: determining to use the second switching mode, determining that a SCS of the source BWP is different from a SCS of the target BWP, and determining a larger value from a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the source BWP and a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the target BWP as the switching delay used by the second switching mode; or determining to use the second switching mode, determining that the SCS of the source BWP is identical to the SCS of the target BWP, and determining a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the source BWP or the SCS of the target BWP as the switching delay used by the second switching mode (Fig. 6, [0108, 0195], the eMBB service has a lower requirement for a service delay indicator than the URLLC service. Therefore, because different BWPs carry different services, different SCSs need to be configured to meet QoS requirements of respective services. For example, an SCS of the eMBB service is usually configured to 15 kHz or 30 kHz, and an SCS of the URLLC service may be configured to 30 kHz or 60 kHz. It may be understood that a larger SCS indicates a shorter slot, so that a service may have a shorter air interface transmission delay. When the eMBB service and the uRLLC service of the terminal device arrive at the terminal device at different moments, to allow for QoS of the two different services, the terminal device needs to switch between BWPs. A brief switching procedure may include: (1) The terminal device originally uses the BWP Y as an active BWP, and receives and sends data of the eMBB service. When the terminal device determines that the uRLLC service arrives, the terminal device starts BWP switching, and switches from the BWP Y to the BWP X. When the terminal device switches to the BWP X, the terminal device uses the BWP X as an active BWP, and receives and sends data of the uRLLC service. (2) When the terminal device completes receiving and sending the data of the uRLLC service, the terminal device starts BWP switching, and switches from the BWP X to the BWP Y, to continue to receive and send data of the eMBB service on the BWP Y. Specifically, the switch delay supported by the terminal device may be a same time value when corresponding to different SCSs. For example, the switch delay is a value not greater than 500 μs, for example, 140 μs, 200 μs, 250 μs, or 400 μs. Specifically, when the switch delay is represented by using a quantity of OFDM symbols, for SCS=15 kHz, the switch delay is two OFDM symbols; for SCS=30 kHz, the switch delay is four OFDM symbols; for SCS=60 kHz, the switch delay is M OFDM symbols, where M is an integer not greater than 8; and for SCS=120 kHz, the switch delay is K OFDM symbols, where K is an integer not greater than 16. Alternatively, switch delays corresponding to different SCSs may correspond to different time values. For example, switch delays corresponding to SCS=15 kHz and SCS=30 kHz are a time value, and switch delays corresponding to SCS=60 kHz and SCS=120 kHz are another time value).
Regarding claim 13, Li et al. teach wherein the switching delay used by the second switching mode has a plurality of candidate values, and the plurality of candidate values correspond to different subcarrier spacings (SCSs) (Fig. 12, [0181, 0195], active BWP switch delay: It is a switch delay of performing BWP switching by the terminal device, and is related to a capability of the terminal device. The terminal device is not allowed to receive or send data during the active BWP switch delay. For example, as shown in FIG. 12, the active BWP switch delay may be understood as a duration of a process and a state in which the terminal device switches from the first BWP to the second BWP, and also refers to a duration of a process and a state in which the terminal device switches from the second BWP to the first BWP. A current value and definition of the active BWP switch delay may be determined based on the NR protocol. Considering occurrence of a new terminal type in the future, a new value and definition of the active BWP switch delay may occur. For example, for a REDCAP terminal proposed in a 3GPP proposal, a value of the active BWP switch delay is different from a value provided in the NR protocol. The switch delay supported by the terminal device may be represented by using a quantity of OFDM symbols, a quantity of slots (slot), a specific time value (for example, 140 μs), or another form, and is not specifically limited. Specifically, the switch delay supported by the terminal device may be a same time value when corresponding to different SCSs. For example, the switch delay is a value not greater than 500 μs, for example, 140 μs, 200 μs, 250 μs, or 400 μs. Specifically, when the switch delay is represented by using a quantity of OFDM symbols, for SCS=15 kHz, the switch delay is two OFDM symbols; for SCS=30 kHz, the switch delay is four OFDM symbols; for SCS=60 kHz, the switch delay is M OFDM symbols, where M is an integer not greater than 8; and for SCS=120 kHz, the switch delay is K OFDM symbols, where K is an integer not greater than 16. Alternatively, switch delays corresponding to different SCSs may correspond to different time values. For example, switch delays corresponding to SCS=15 kHz and SCS=30 kHz are a time value, and switch delays corresponding to SCS=60 kHz and SCS=120 kHz are another time value).
Regarding claim 14, Li et al. teach wherein, a SCS of the source BWP is different from a SCS of the target BWP, and a larger value from a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the source BWP and a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the target BWP is determined as the switching delay of the second switching mode or, the SCS of the source BWP is identical to the SCS of the target BWP, and a candidate value corresponding to the SCS of the source BWP or the SCS of the target BWP is determined as the switching delay of the second switching mode (Fig. 6, [0195], the switch delay supported by the terminal device may be represented by using a quantity of OFDM symbols, a quantity of slots (slot), a specific time value (for example, 140 μs), or another form, and is not specifically limited. Specifically, the switch delay supported by the terminal device may be a same time value when corresponding to different SCSs. For example, the switch delay is a value not greater than 500 μs, for example, 140 μs, 200 μs, 250 μs, or 400 μs. Specifically, when the switch delay is represented by using a quantity of OFDM symbols, for SCS=15 kHz, the switch delay is two OFDM symbols; for SCS=30 kHz, the switch delay is four OFDM symbols; for SCS=60 kHz, the switch delay is M OFDM symbols, where M is an integer not greater than 8; and for SCS=120 kHz, the switch delay is K OFDM symbols, where K is an integer not greater than 16. Alternatively, switch delays corresponding to different SCSs may correspond to different time values. For example, switch delays corresponding to SCS=15 kHz and SCS=30 kHz are a time value, and switch delays corresponding to SCS=60 kHz and SCS=120 kHz are another time value).
Regarding claim 27, Li et al. teach further comprising: in the second switching mode, determining that a SCS of the source BWP is different from a SCS of the target BWP, and determining switching delay used by the second switching mode based on a first SCS, wherein the first SCS is a smaller one of the SCS of the source BWP and the SCS of the target BWP (Fig. 6, [0108, 0195], the eMBB service has a lower requirement for a service delay indicator than the URLLC service. Therefore, because different BWPs carry different services, different SCSs need to be configured to meet QoS requirements of respective services. For example, an SCS of the eMBB service is usually configured to 15 kHz or 30 kHz, and an SCS of the URLLC service may be configured to 30 kHz or 60 kHz. It may be understood that a larger SCS indicates a shorter slot, so that a service may have a shorter air interface transmission delay. When the eMBB service and the uRLLC service of the terminal device arrive at the terminal device at different moments, to allow for QoS of the two different services, the terminal device needs to switch between BWPs. A brief switching procedure may include: (1) The terminal device originally uses the BWP Y as an active BWP, and receives and sends data of the eMBB service. When the terminal device determines that the uRLLC service arrives, the terminal device starts BWP switching, and switches from the BWP Y to the BWP X. When the terminal device switches to the BWP X, the terminal device uses the BWP X as an active BWP, and receives and sends data of the uRLLC service. (2) When the terminal device completes receiving and sending the data of the uRLLC service, the terminal device starts BWP switching, and switches from the BWP X to the BWP Y, to continue to receive and send data of the eMBB service on the BWP Y. Specifically, the switch delay supported by the terminal device may be a same time value when corresponding to different SCSs. For example, the switch delay is a value not greater than 500 μs, for example, 140 μs, 200 μs, 250 μs, or 400 μs. Specifically, when the switch delay is represented by using a quantity of OFDM symbols, for SCS=15 kHz, the switch delay is two OFDM symbols; for SCS=30 kHz, the switch delay is four OFDM symbols; for SCS=60 kHz, the switch delay is M OFDM symbols, where M is an integer not greater than 8; and for SCS=120 kHz, the switch delay is K OFDM symbols, where K is an integer not greater than 16. Alternatively, switch delays corresponding to different SCSs may correspond to different time values. For example, switch delays corresponding to SCS=15 kHz and SCS=30 kHz are a time value, and switch delays corresponding to SCS=60 kHz and SCS=120 kHz are another time value).
Regarding claim 28, Li et al. teach a communication device, comprising: a transceiver, a memory and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory respectively, wherein the processor is configured to control transmission and reception of radio signals of the transceiver by executing computer-executable instructions on the memory, and is capable of implementing the method for BWP switching of claim 12 (Figs. 10-19, [0247, 0249], the terminal device may perform periodic BWP switching from a source BWP to a plurality of target BWPs based on the configuration information of the plurality of BWP hopping patterns, and the network device does not need to deliver an RRC message or a DCI message for each BWP switching of the terminal device. In this way, a switch delay can be reduced, signaling overheads can be reduced, and performance of the terminal device and quality of service can be improved. The terminal device 900 includes a processor 9001, a memory 9002, a control circuit, an antenna, and an input/output apparatus. The processor 9001 is mainly configured to: process a communication protocol and communication data, control the entire terminal device, execute a software program, and process data of the software program, for example, configured to support the terminal device in performing actions described in the foregoing method embodiment, for example, configured to perform steps 902, 133, and 163. The memory 9002 is mainly configured to store a software program and data. For example, the software program may be a program corresponding to the foregoing method embodiment, and the data may be the configuration information. The control circuit is mainly configured to convert a baseband signal and a radio frequency signal and process the radio frequency signal. The control circuit and the antenna together may also be referred to as a transceiver 9003, mainly configured to receive and send radio frequency signals in an electromagnetic wave form. For example, the transceiver 9003 is configured to perform steps 901, 131, 132, 161, and 162. The input/output apparatus, such as a touchscreen, a display screen, or a keyboard, is mainly configured to receive data input by a user and output data to the user).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Li et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of switching delay used by the second switching mode has a plurality of candidate values, and the plurality of candidate values correspond to different subcarrier spacings (SCSs). The motivation is to support an improved method for bandwidth part (BWP) switching (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0038322 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0396403 A1).
Ly et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 8 above. Ly et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the source BWP and the target BWP to which the second switching mode is applied satisfy at least one limited condition; wherein the at least one limited condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: a configuration parameter of the source BWP being identical to a configuration parameter of the target BWP, wherein the configuration parameter comprises at least one of: a SCS, a center frequency point or a bandwidth; the source BWP and the target BWP carrying different information, wherein the information comprises a channel or a signal; or information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from information carried by a BWP to which the first switching mode is applied, wherein the information comprises at least one of a channel or a signal; regarding claim 16, wherein the source BWP and the target BWP to which the second switching mode is applied satisfy at least one limited condition; wherein the at least one limited condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: a configuration parameter of the source BWP being identical to a configuration parameter of the target BWP, wherein the configuration parameter comprises of at least one of: a SCS, a center frequency point or a bandwidth; the source BWP and the target BWP carrying different information, wherein the information comprises a channel or a signal; and information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from information carried by a BWP to which the first switching mode is applied, wherein the information comprises at least one of a channel or a signal.
Regarding claim 5, Xu et al. teach wherein the source BWP and the target BWP to which the second switching mode is applied satisfy at least one limited condition; wherein the at least one limited condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: a configuration parameter of the source BWP being identical to a configuration parameter of the target BWP, wherein the configuration parameter comprises at least one of: a SCS, a center frequency point or a bandwidth; the source BWP and the target BWP carrying different information, wherein the information comprises a channel or a signal; or information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from information carried by a BWP to which the first switching mode is applied, wherein the information comprises at least one of a channel or a signal (Fig. 2, [0096-0097, 0101, 0157] wireless communications system 200 may implement, or be implemented by, aspects of wireless communications system 100. For example, wireless communications system 200 may support signaling which enables UEs 115 to be configured with BWP switching patterns for wireless communications at the respective UEs 115. The wireless communications system 200 may include a base station 105-a, a first UE 115-a, a second UE 115-b, and a third UE 115-c. The first UE 115-a may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals, to the base station 105-a using the communication link 205-a and the base station 105-a may transmit downlink signals, such as downlink control signals or downlink data signals, to the first UE 115-a using the communication link 205-a. The first device 305-a may transmit, to the third device 305-c, an indication of a BWP switching procedure from the first BWP of the BWP switching pattern to the second BWP of the BWP switching pattern. For example, in cases where the first device 305-a does not inform the third device 305-c of the full BWP switching pattern at 335, the first device 305-a may indicate that the first device 305-a is to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP. In this regard, the first device 305-a may transmit an indication to the third device 305-c that subsequent transmissions between the first device 305-a and the third device 305-c may be performed based on (e.g., in accordance with) the second BWP switching pattern. Conversely, it is noted herein that the separate indication of the BWP switching procedure may be unnecessary in cases where the first device 305-a transmits the indication of the entire BWP switching pattern at 335. The base station 105-a may transmit control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) each time the first UE 115-a and/or the second UE 115-b is to switch from one BWP to another).
Regarding claim 16, Xu et al. teach wherein the source BWP and the target BWP to which the second switching mode is applied satisfy at least one limited condition; wherein the at least one limited condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: a configuration parameter of the source BWP being identical to a configuration parameter of the target BWP, wherein the configuration parameter comprises of at least one of: a SCS, a center frequency point or a bandwidth; the source BWP and the target BWP carrying different information, wherein the information comprises a channel or a signal; and information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from information carried by a BWP to which the first switching mode is applied, wherein the information comprises at least one of a channel or a signal (Fig. 2, [0096-0097, 0101, 0157], wireless communications system 200 may implement, or be implemented by, aspects of wireless communications system 100. For example, wireless communications system 200 may support signaling which enables UEs 115 to be configured with BWP switching patterns for wireless communications at the respective UEs 115. The wireless communications system 200 may include a base station 105-a, a first UE 115-a, a second UE 115-b, and a third UE 115-c. The first UE 115-a may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals, to the base station 105-a using the communication link 205-a and the base station 105-a may transmit downlink signals, such as downlink control signals or downlink data signals, to the first UE 115-a using the communication link 205-a. The first device 305-a may transmit, to the third device 305-c, an indication of a BWP switching procedure from the first BWP of the BWP switching pattern to the second BWP of the BWP switching pattern. For example, in cases where the first device 305-a does not inform the third device 305-c of the full BWP switching pattern at 335, the first device 305-a may indicate that the first device 305-a is to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP. In this regard, the first device 305-a may transmit an indication to the third device 305-c that subsequent transmissions between the first device 305-a and the third device 305-c may be performed based on (e.g., in accordance with) the second BWP switching pattern. Conversely, it is noted herein that the separate indication of the BWP switching procedure may be unnecessary in cases where the first device 305-a transmits the indication of the entire BWP switching pattern at 335. The base station 105-a may transmit control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) each time the first UE 115-a and/or the second UE 115-b is to switch from one BWP to another).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Xu et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of applying second switching mode for the source BWP and the target BWP to satisfy, and information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from information carried by a BWP to which the first switching mode is applied, wherein the information comprises at least one of a channel or a signal. The motivation is to support an improved method for signaling bandwidth parts (BWPs) for wireless communications (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0038322 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0396403 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Deogun et al. (US 2021/0051631 A1).
Ly et al. and Xu et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 8 above. Ly et al. and Xu et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the source BWP and the target BWP carrying different information comprises: one of the source BWP and the target BWP carrying fewer information than the other one of the source BWP and the target BWP or, wherein the information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from the information carried by the BWP to which the first switching mode is applied comprises: the at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP carries fewer information than the BWP to which the first switching mode is applied; regarding claim 17, wherein the source BWP and the target BWP carrying different information comprises: one of the source BWP and the target BWP carrying fewer information than the other one of the source BWP and the target BWP or, wherein the information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from the information carried by the BWP to which the first switching mode is applied comprises: the at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP carries fewer information than the BWP to which the first switching mode is applied.
Regarding claim 6, Deogun et al. teach wherein the source BWP and the target BWP carrying different information comprises: one of the source BWP and the target BWP carrying fewer information than the other one of the source BWP and the target BWP or, wherein the information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from the information carried by the BWP to which the first switching mode is applied comprises: the at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP carries fewer information than the BWP to which the first switching mode is applied (Fig. 3, [0043, 0134], the inclusion of BWP switching information in a DL scheduling grant or within a DL data burst and/or the autonomous BWP switch configuration can allow the UE to quickly switch to the second BWP (e.g., the narrowband BWP, refers a lower or fewer data throughput) after receiving a last scheduled DL data burst and/or after completing transmissions of UL data bursts. The disclosed embodiments can reduce the amount of time that the UE spent in monitoring the first BWP (e.g., the wideband BWP) after completing a DL communication or a UL communication. The disclosed embodiments can also remove the dependency on the LBT delays, which can be significant in a congested channel, from the BWP switching delay. Thus, the disclosed embodiments can provide the UE with extra power savings. While the disclosed embodiments are described in the context of reducing delays in switching from a wideband BWP to a narrowband BWP, the disclosed embodiments may be applied to quickly switch from any BWP to another BWP after a communication. For example, the BWP switching duration may begin when the UE initiates a reconfiguration of the UE's frontend components to switch communication from a first BWP (e.g., the wideband BWP 302) to a second BWP (e.g., the narrowband BWP 304) and may end when the UE is ready to communicate the in the second BWP. The interruption time may be predetermined or based on UE's capability. For example, the UE may send a capability report to the BS indicating the BWP switching duration. The BS may schedule the UE taking the interrupt time into consideration. For example, the BS may not schedule the UE for any communication during the interruption time).
Regarding claim 17, Deogun et al. teach wherein the source BWP and the target BWP carrying different information comprises: one of the source BWP and the target BWP carrying fewer information than the other one of the source BWP and the target BWP or, wherein the information carried by at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP being different from the information carried by the BWP to which the first switching mode is applied comprises: the at least one of the source BWP and the target BWP carries fewer information than the BWP to which the first switching mode is applied (Fig. 3, [0043, 0134], the inclusion of BWP switching information in a DL scheduling grant or within a DL data burst and/or the autonomous BWP switch configuration can allow the UE to quickly switch to the second BWP (e.g., the narrowband BWP, refers a lower or fewer data throughput) after receiving a last scheduled DL data burst and/or after completing transmissions of UL data bursts. The disclosed embodiments can reduce the amount of time that the UE spent in monitoring the first BWP (e.g., the wideband BWP) after completing a DL communication or a UL communication. The disclosed embodiments can also remove the dependency on the LBT delays, which can be significant in a congested channel, from the BWP switching delay. Thus, the disclosed embodiments can provide the UE with extra power savings. While the disclosed embodiments are described in the context of reducing delays in switching from a wideband BWP to a narrowband BWP, the disclosed embodiments may be applied to quickly switch from any BWP to another BWP after a communication. For example, the BWP switching duration may begin when the UE initiates a reconfiguration of the UE's frontend components to switch communication from a first BWP (e.g., the wideband BWP 302) to a second BWP (e.g., the narrowband BWP 304) and may end when the UE is ready to communicate the in the second BWP. The interruption time may be predetermined or based on UE's capability. For example, the UE may send a capability report to the BS indicating the BWP switching duration. The BS may schedule the UE taking the interrupt time into consideration. For example, the BS may not schedule the UE for any communication during the interruption time)..
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly et al. with Xu et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Deogun et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of carrying by one of the source BWP and the target BWP fewer information than the other one of the source BWP and the target BWP. The motivation is to support an improved method for bandwidth part (BWP) switching after data communication (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0038322 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0231818 A1).
Ly et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 8 above. Ly et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein an unfinished hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback or an unfinished non-scheduled transmission exists on the source BWP before switching using the second switching mode, the method further comprises: determining completion of switching using the second switching mode, sending the unfinished HARQ-ACK feedback or the unfinished non-scheduled transmission on the target BWP; regarding claim 21, wherein an unfinished HARQ-ACK feedback or an unfinished non-scheduled transmission exists on the source BWP before switching using the second switching mode, the method further comprises: determining completion of the terminal device switching using the second switching mode, receiving the unfinished HARQ-ACK feedback or the unfinished non-scheduled transmission on the target BWP.
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. teach wherein an unfinished hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback or an unfinished non-scheduled transmission exists on the source BWP before switching using the second switching mode, the method further comprises: determining completion of switching using the second switching mode, sending the unfinished HARQ-ACK feedback or the unfinished non-scheduled transmission on the target BWP (Fig. 9, [0225, 0242], the UE can receive MBS PDSCH carrying TB 1 in the MBS BWP1 and transmit HARQ-ACK through PUCCH. Meanwhile, the BS may trigger BWP switching through the DCI that schedules the MBS PDSCH carrying TB 1 in the MBS BWP1. Based on the DCI, the UE can perform BWP switching. Based on that Unicast BWP switching triggered by the DCI indicates the Unicast BWP2, UE may switch to the Unicast BWP2. For example, the switching to the Unicast BWP2 may include RACH procedure for UL synchronization (if necessary). And, the switching to the Unicast BWP2 may include associated MBS BWP (i.e., CFR) switching. For example, assume that the MBS BWP 1 is associated with the unicast BWP 1, and the MBS BWP 2 is associated with the unicast BWP 2. Based on that the active unicast BWP is switched from the unicast BWP 1 to the unicast BWP 2, the UE may also switch the associated (active) MBS BWP (i.e., CFR). That is, the MBS BWP can be changed from MBS BWP1 to the MBS BWP2 based on the BWP switching indicated by the DCI. After the switching, the UE may perform HARQ-ACK transmission and MBS PDSCH reception through the switched BWP. After the UE switches to the MBS DL BWP#2 and receives the MBS TB through the MBS PDSCH, the UE may monitor the PDCCH of the MBS DL BWP#2. When the DCI received in the MBS DL BWP#2 indicates switching to the uncast DL BWP#1 or MBS DL BWP#1, or when a certain time has elapsed after receiving the MBS PDSCH, or received in the MBS DL BWP#2, or when the HARQ ACK is successfully transmitted for the last MBS TB, the MBS DL BWP#2 may be deactivated, and an indicated/predetermined uncast DL BWP#1/MBS DL BWP#1 may be activated. Here, the DCI received from the MBS DL BWP #2 may indicate that the MBS PDSCH transmission for the last TB. Alternatively, if a predetermined time has elapsed after the MBS PDSCH is received, switching to the initial DL BWP or to the default DL BWP may be performed. The base station may indicate the predetermined time value through a DCI, MAC CE, or RRC message).
Regarding claim 21, Lee et al. teach wherein an unfinished HARQ-ACK feedback or an unfinished non-scheduled transmission exists on the source BWP before switching using the second switching mode, the method further comprises: determining completion of the terminal device switching using the second switching mode, receiving the unfinished HARQ-ACK feedback or the unfinished non-scheduled transmission on the target BWP (Fig. 9, [0225, 0242], the UE can receive MBS PDSCH carrying TB 1 in the MBS BWP1 and transmit HARQ-ACK through PUCCH. Meanwhile, the BS may trigger BWP switching through the DCI that schedules the MBS PDSCH carrying TB 1 in the MBS BWP1. Based on the DCI, the UE can perform BWP switching. Based on that Unicast BWP switching triggered by the DCI indicates the Unicast BWP2, UE may switch to the Unicast BWP2. For example, the switching to the Unicast BWP2 may include RACH procedure for UL synchronization (if necessary). And, the switching to the Unicast BWP2 may include associated MBS BWP (i.e., CFR) switching. For example, assume that the MBS BWP 1 is associated with the unicast BWP 1, and the MBS BWP 2 is associated with the unicast BWP 2. Based on that the active unicast BWP is switched from the unicast BWP 1 to the unicast BWP 2, the UE may also switch the associated (active) MBS BWP (i.e., CFR). That is, the MBS BWP can be changed from MBS BWP1 to the MBS BWP2 based on the BWP switching indicated by the DCI. After the switching, the UE may perform HARQ-ACK transmission and MBS PDSCH reception through the switched BWP. After the UE switches to the MBS DL BWP#2 and receives the MBS TB through the MBS PDSCH, the UE may monitor the PDCCH of the MBS DL BWP#2. When the DCI received in the MBS DL BWP#2 indicates switching to the uncast DL BWP#1 or MBS DL BWP#1, or when a certain time has elapsed after receiving the MBS PDSCH, or received in the MBS DL BWP#2, or when the HARQ ACK is successfully transmitted for the last MBS TB, the MBS DL BWP#2 may be deactivated, and an indicated/predetermined uncast DL BWP#1/MBS DL BWP#1 may be activated. Here, the DCI received from the MBS DL BWP #2 may indicate that the MBS PDSCH transmission for the last TB. Alternatively, if a predetermined time has elapsed after the MBS PDSCH is received, switching to the initial DL BWP or to the default DL BWP may be performed. The base station may indicate the predetermined time value through a DCI, MAC CE, or RRC message).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Lee et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of using the second switching mode for HARQ-ACK) feedback or an unfinished non-scheduled transmission exists on the source BWP. Determining completion of switching using the second switching mode, sending the unfinished HARQ-ACK feedback. The motivation is to support an improved method for activating a second BWP based on the DCI (see [0006]).
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0038322 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0231818 A1) as applied to claims 10 and 21 above, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0248411 A1)
Ly et al. and Lee et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 8 above. Ly et al. and Lee et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, further comprising: determining that the switching delay when using the second switching mode for switching comprises a transmission occasion, suspending sending or receiving the HARQ-ACK feedback or the non-scheduled transmission at the transmission occasion: regarding claim 22, further comprising: determining that the switching delay when using the second switching mode for switching comprises a transmission occasion, suspending sending or receiving the HARQ-ACK feedback or the non-scheduled transmission at the transmission occasion.
Regarding claim 11, Jung et al. teach further comprising: determining that the switching delay when using the second switching mode for switching comprises a transmission occasion, suspending sending or receiving the HARQ-ACK feedback or the non-scheduled transmission at the transmission occasion (Figs. 3 and 8B, [0056, 0138], an example in which the UE bandwidth 300 is configured to two bandwidth parts, namely, BWP #1 (301) and BWP #2 (302). The base station may configure one or more bandwidth parts to the UE. the base station 840 receives the panel capability information transmitted by the specific UE 850 (860), and when receiving that the capability information of the UE 850 is MPUE type 1, the base station 840 may allocate a PUCCH resource and a PUSCH resource so that the UE 850 may activate a plurality of panels, but only one panel may be used for uplink transmission. In addition, because a plurality of panels are not activated, the base station 840, in consideration of the switching delay between panels, allocates PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS configuration and configuration information transmission so that the UE 850 can perform uplink transmission using only one panel (870). The base station 840 may not allocate resources for uplink transmission in a plurality of spatial domains in consideration of the capabilities of the UE 850. Specifically, the base station 840 may indicate a specific panel of the UE 850 when scheduling PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK or UCI information at one time point, and then perform the reception operation by performing Rx beamforming only in the direction transmitted from the specific panel of the UE 850 at the time of HARQ-ACK or UCI transmission of the UE.).
Regarding claim 22, Jung et al. teach further comprising: determining that the switching delay when using the second switching mode for switching comprises a transmission occasion, suspending sending or receiving the HARQ-ACK feedback or the non-scheduled transmission at the transmission occasion (Figs. 3 and 8B, [0056, 0138], an example in which the UE bandwidth 300 is configured to two bandwidth parts, namely, BWP #1 (301) and BWP #2 (302). The base station may configure one or more bandwidth parts to the UE. the base station 840 receives the panel capability information transmitted by the specific UE 850 (860), and when receiving that the capability information of the UE 850 is MPUE type 1, the base station 840 may allocate a PUCCH resource and a PUSCH resource so that the UE 850 may activate a plurality of panels, but only one panel may be used for uplink transmission. In addition, because a plurality of panels are not activated, the base station 840, in consideration of the switching delay between panels, allocates PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS configuration and configuration information transmission so that the UE 850 can perform uplink transmission using only one panel (870). The base station 840 may not allocate resources for uplink transmission in a plurality of spatial domains in consideration of the capabilities of the UE 850. Specifically, the base station 840 may indicate a specific panel of the UE 850 when scheduling PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK or UCI information at one time point, and then perform the reception operation by performing Rx beamforming only in the direction transmitted from the specific panel of the UE 850 at the time of HARQ-ACK or UCI transmission of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ly et al. with Lee et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jung et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining that the switching delay when using the second switching mode for receiving the HARQ-ACK feedback. The motivation is to support an improved method for channel measurements and reporting procedures associated with bandwidth part switching (see [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473 2/17/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473