DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 12-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oi et al. (US 2013/0209791) in view of Nagamune et al. (US 2018/0370197).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 12, Oi discloses electrically conductive laminate comprising a layer containing carbon nanotube (0058) and sodium carboxymethylcellulose (0061) wherein a ratio of a mass of the sodium carboxymethylcellulose to a mass of the carbon nanotubes is 0.5 to 6 (0065), wherein an substrate (0051) provided with the layer wherein the substrate comprising triacetylcellulose, i.e. pulp, (0051).
Regarding thickness, Oi discloses a thickness of the layer is adjusted to obtain desired surface resistance (0079). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the layer including that presently claimed to obtain required surface resistivity.
Oi does not disclose BET specific surface area of the carbon nanotube.
Nagamune discloses a film (0019) comprising multi walled carbon nanotubes having BET specific surface area of 550 m2/g or less to obtain excellent flexibility and film formability (0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the BET specific surface area of Nagamune in the carbon nanotubes of Oi to obtain excellent flexibility and film formability.
While there is no disclosure that the electrically conductive laminate is an electromagnetic wave suppression sheet as presently claimed, applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the preamble does not state any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations and further that the purpose or intended use, i.e. electromagnetic wave suppression sheet, recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art electrically conductive laminate and further that the prior art structure which is a electrically conductive laminate identical to that set forth in the present claims is capable of performing the recited purpose or intended use.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Oi in view of Nagamune discloses the electromagnetic wave noise suppression sheet of claim 1, wherein the surface resistivity of the layer is 1 to 1x104 Ω/□ (0079).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Oi in view of Nagamune discloses the electromagnetic wave noise suppression sheet of claim 1, wherein the carbon nanotubes are multiwalled carbon nanotubes (0058).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oi et al. (US 2013/0209791) in view of Nagamune et al. (US 2018/0370197) in view of Imazu et al. (US 2014/0248494).
Regarding claims 19-20, Oi in view of Nagamune discloses the electromagnetic wave noise suppression sheet of claim 1, but fails to disclose weight average molecular weight of the sodium carboxymethylcellulose.
Imazu discloses film (0034) comprising carbon nanotube and dispersant such as sodium carboxymethylcellulose with weight average molecular weight of 10,000 to 500,000 to obtain improved dispersibility (0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the weight average molecular weight of Imazu in the sodium carboxymethylcellulose of Oi in view of Nagamune to obtain improved dispersibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to present claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787