DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Applicant's submission filed on January 20, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 2, and 12-19, are pending in the current application.
Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 18, line 4, the term “witches” should be changed to “switches.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawayanagi (U.S. Pat. No. 9,616,812 B2) in view of Joo (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0218371 A1).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Sawayanagi discloses a working vehicle (Abstract), the vehicle comprising: a switch device (e.g., 20, 30, and 40; FIGS. 2, 3, and 4), but does not disclose the claimed modes.
However, Joo discloses (i) that the switch device is switchable between a first operation mode (¶ [0069]) and a second operation mode (¶ [0070]), and a plurality of multiple switches (851; ¶¶ [0026], [0027], [0084], FIG. 12), wherein the plurality of switches (851) is comprised in the switch device (FIGS. 11 and 12) and wherein each switch of the plurality of switches (851) is associated with and controls a corresponding first light emitting region (e.g., 831; 851 controls actuation of a respective one of a light emitting region under 823, as shown in FIG. 12), and a corresponding second light emitting region (e.g., 832; 851 controls actuation of a respective one of a light emitting region under 832, as shown in FIG. 14A) distinct from the first light emitting region (831; FIG. 14A), and the corresponding first light emitting region (831) is turned on in the first operation mode of the switch device (FIG. 14A), and the corresponding second light emitting region (832) is turned on in the second operation mode of the switch device (FIG. 14B), as recited in Claim 1, (ii) that upon switching from the second operation mode to the first operation mode, the second light emitting region (832) is turned off (FIG. 14A) and the first light emitting region (831) is turned on (FIG. 14B), as recited in Claim 12, (iii) that the first light emitting region (831) is disposed adjacent to the second light emitting region (832 (e.g., FIG. 14B), as recited in Claim 14, (iv) a monitor (801; FIG. 12), wherein, in the second operation mode, the second light emitting region (832) is provided with numerals capable of being input to the monitor (inherent in the device of FIG. 11), as recited in Claim 15,
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Joo with those of Sawayanagi to provide multiple input mechanisms providing optical feedback and ease of actuation.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Joo and Sawayanagi discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed width. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize regions having varying widths to provide increased optical feedback for a desired region (e.g., wider numbers, wider icons, wider letters, etc.). It has been concluded that absent any convincing showing of the criticality of the design, this particular design is nothing more than the inventor choice without departing from the scope of the invention. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Joo and Sawayanagi discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed state. However, it would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to turn on a second light emitting region to provide optical feedback to a device operator upon start-up (e.g., a key-on state). It has been concluded that absent any convincing showing of the criticality of the design a second light emitting region to provide optical feedback to a device operator upon start-up, this particular design is nothing more than the inventor choice without departing from the scope of the invention. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 17, Sawayanagi discloses a working vehicle (Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising: a switch device (e.g., 20, 30, and 40; FIGS. 2, 3, and 4), but does not disclose the claimed modes. However, Joo discloses a switch device switchable between a first operation mode and a second operation mode under a predetermined condition (¶¶ [0069]-[0070]), and, and a plurality of switches (851), wherein: the plurality of switches (851) is comprised in the switching device (FIG. 11), each switch of the plurality of switches (851) is associated with a first light emitting region (831) and a second light emitting region (832) distinct from the first light emitting region (831; FIGS. 14A and 14B), and the first light emitting region (831) is turned on in the first operation mode (FIG. 14A), and the second light emitting region (832) is turned on in the second operation mode (FIG. 14B). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Joo with those of Sawayanagi to provide multiple input mechanisms providing optical feedback and ease of actuation.
The combination of Joo and Sawayanagi discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed key-on state, and that the second operation mode starts when the working vehicle enters the key-on state.
However, it would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to turn on a second light emitting region to provide optical feedback to a device operator upon start-up (e.g., a key-on state). It has been concluded that absent any convincing showing of the criticality of the design, this particular design is nothing more than the inventor choice without departing from the scope of the invention. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
The combination of Joo and Sawayanagi discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention, and Joo further discloses that each switch in the plurality of switches (851) is associated with a corresponding function (FIGS. 14A, 14B), wherein the operation state of the corresponding function is indicated by turning on the first light emitting region (FIG. 14A), as recited in Claim 18, and (ii) that the corresponding operation state indicates whether the corresponding function is: in operation (e.g., an illumination of numeral “1” in FIG. 14A), as recited in Claim 19. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Joo with those of Sawayanagi to provide multiple input mechanisms providing optical feedback and ease of actuation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833