Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 1, 3, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramos (GB 2 569 655), copy attached. Regarding claim 1 . Hair styling device, comprising: Ramos discloses : a hair styling component configured to face hair to be subjected to a styling action by means of the hair styling device, ( See figs. 1 and 4) a heating mechanism configured to heat the hair styling component ( page 7, lines 23-26, heaters) , a component temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the hair styling component ( Page 7, lines 33-35 sensor 20) , a hair temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of hair faced by the hair styling component during operation of the hair styling device ( page 7, lines 36-37) , and a controller configured to receive inputs from at least both the component temperature sensor and the hair temperature sensor, and to process the inputs to control operation of the heating mechanism and obtain a temperature setting of the hair styling component in view of a moisture content of the hair estimated from at least the detected hair temperature. (14, pages 7, lines 28-30 page 8, lines 17-23 and page 3, lines 30-36). Ramos does not disclose that the device senses the temperature of hair. It discloses that the temperature of a substrate treated is sensed. However, it would have been obvious to treat hair with the device of Ramos, as Ramos teaches that the device may be used for beauty, flat ironing and curling hair. As such, it would have been obvious to use the device of Ramos to treat hair, and as such, it would have been obvious to sense the temperature of the hair as the substrate being treated. Thus, the features of claim 1 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 3 . Ramos discloses all of the features of claim 1. Ramos does not discloses : Hair styling device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to derive from the input from the component temperature sensor and the hair temperature sensor one or more of a value that is representative of the temperature of the hair styling component at the start of a styling action, a value that is representative of a drop of the temperature of the hair styling component in the styling action, a value that is representative of a drop of the temperature of the hair in the styling action, a value that is representative of a peak temperature of the hair in the styling action, a value that is representative of a peak temperature of the hair styling component in the styling action, and a difference between a value that is representative of a peak temperature of the hair in the styling action and a value that is representative of a peak temperature of the hair styling component in the styling action, and to involve the one or more of the values in processing the inputs to control operation of the heating mechanism. However, Ramos discloses that the device is computer programed, and runs a program to control the device. IT would have been obvious a matter of design choice to impletement the recited features for the obvious benefits of controlling the device safely, in view of the fact that Ramos includes temperature sensors for sensing the start temperature, detecting a change in temp, and keeping the device less than a peak temperature for safety. See Figs. 3-8 and Fig. 9. As such the recited features would have been obvious as a mere rearrangement of the methods of Ramos see MPEP 2144(VI)(C) and 2144.06(II) and 2144.07 . Here there is no evidence that the recited features provide unexpected results. As such, the features would have been obvious. Regarding claim 4 . Ramos discloses: Hair styling device according to claim 1, wherein the hair temperature sensor is of the non-contact type. ( 20) The sensors of Ramos may be contact type or non-contact. It would have been obvious to try to make the sensors non-contact for the benefit of easing manufacturing, and allowing an available sensor to be used in the device. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Regarding claim 8 . Ramos discloses all of the features of claim 1. Ramos does not disclose: Hair styling device according to claim 1, comprising an indicator configured to provide a person with information including information related to the moisture content of the hair based on the inputs. However, Ramos disclose that the the device may provide a user with information and feedback and that the device includes a humidity sensor. See abstract. It would have been obvious to provide a user data on moisture content of the hair for the obvious benefit of informing a user so the styling results may be improved. Thus, the features of claim 8 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Claims 2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramos (GB 2 569 655), copy attached in view of Pang (WO 2020/120348), of record. Regarding claim 2 . Ramos discloses all of the features of claim 1: Ramos does not discloses : Hair styling device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to derive from the input from the hair temperature sensor a value that is representative of the time duration of a styling action, and to involve the value in processing the inputs to control operation of the heating mechanism. IN related art, Pang discloses: the controller is configured to derive from the input from the hair temperature sensor a value that is representative of the time duration of a styling action, and to involve the value in processing the inputs to control operation of the heating mechanism. ( page 10, last paragraph- page 11, third paragraph.) Pang discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of improved control of hair styling, and improved results. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to perform the recited features in the device of Ramos to obtain the benefits of improved styling results. Regarding claims 6 -7 . Ramos discloses all of the features of claim 1. Ramos does not discloses : Hair styling device according to claim 1, comprising a detector configured to detect a use condition of the hair styling component, wherein the controller is configured to receive a use signal from the detector, and to derive from the use signal a value that is representative of the time duration of a styling action, and to involve the value in processing the inputs to control operation of the heating mechanism. Regarding claim 7 . Hair styling device according to claim 6, wherein the position detector comprises a switching mechanism configured to be in one of at least two different conditions and to be caused to switch from one condition to another as the position of the hair styling component changes. However, the recited features are mere sensor, and a timer based on the sensed features. In related art Pang discloses using a sensor , and timing based on the sensed property. See page 10, last paragraph-page 11, third paragraph. Pang teaches that sensing and then using a timer based on the sensed property provides the benefit of enhanced styling results. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramos (GB 2 569 655), copy attached in view of Hafemannn ( U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0147323 ). Regarding claim 5 . Ramos discl oses all of the features of claim 1. Ramos does not discloses : Hair styling device according to claim 1, comprising a pressure sensor configured to detect a clamping pressure between hair styling surfaces of the hair styling component, wherein the controller is configured to receive a pressure signal from the pressure sensor, and wherein the controller is configured to involve the pressure signal in processing the inputs to control operation of the heating mechanism. In related art, Hafemann discloses: a pressure sensor configured to detect a clamping pressure between hair styling surfaces of the hair styling component, wherein the controller is configured to receive a pressure signal from the pressure sensor, and wherein the controller is configured to involve the pressure signal in processing the inputs to control operation of the heating mechanism. ( [0010]) Hafemann discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of providing enhanced hair styling, and as such, it would have been obvious to include a pressures sensor in the device of Ramos as taught by Hafemann , and the features of claim 5 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROBERT G BACHNER whose telephone number is (571)270-3888 . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 10-6 EST . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Leonard Chang can be reached at (571) 270-36 91 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898