DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mechanism” when used in each of claim 22, 24 and 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 25, “the mist sorting mechanism” has insufficient antecedent basis in the claim; to overcome this rejection, claim 25 would need to depend upon claim 24 for antecedent basis, rather than current dependency on claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al (US 2013/0230808).
Regarding claim 33, Suzuki teaches a separation and recovery device (title, abstract, [0002], Fig 15-17) for separating and recovering a solvent component from a water-based development waste liquid generated by developing a flexographic-printing original plate with a water-based developer containing at least a surfactant (surface active agent, [0033-0036,0059]), comprising: a waste-liquid heating mechanism for heating the water-based development waste liquid at a temperature that separates the water-based development waste liquid in a static state into two layers (settling tank 71 separates developing solution into high concentration layer 81 and low concentration layer 82 that may be separately removed, see Figs 15-17, [0095-0117], tank may be provided with temperature control mechanism [0095]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-24, 26-32 and 35-36 allowed, claim 25 would be allowable if amended as suggested above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Considering claims 1-32 and 35-36, each of the independent claims are directed at least to a method or system for separating and recovering a solvent from a development waste liquid generated during development of a flexographic-printing original plate, comprising: a heating step/mechanism for heating the development waste liquid, an atomization step/chamber for atomizing the development waste liquid heated in the heating step into mists, and a recovery step/mechanism for recovering the mists formed by the atomization step atomizing.
Suzuki et al (US 2013/0230808)is regarded as the closest relevant prior art, Suzuki teaches a separation and recovery method and device (title, abstract, [0002], Fig 15-17) for separating and recovering a solvent component from a water-based development waste liquid generated by developing a flexographic-printing original plate with a water-based developer containing at least a surfactant (surface active agent, [0033-0036,0059]), comprising: a waste-liquid heating step/mechanism for heating the water-based development waste liquid at a temperature that separates the water-based development waste liquid in a static state into two layers (settling tank 71 separates developing solution into high concentration layer 81 and low concentration layer 82 that may be separately removed, see Figs 15-17, [0095-0117], tank may be provided with temperature control mechanism [0095]), however Suzuki does note teach an atomization step/chamber for atomizing the development waste liquid heated in the heating step into mists, and a recovery step/mechanism for recovering the mists formed by the atomization step atomizing.
Donnelly (US 6,159,345) teaches a solvent recovery system and method, Donnelly teaches contaminated solvent 12 is fed via line 22 and pump 62 to distillation tank 14, where a heater 28 provides heated oil to control temperature in tank 14, where vaporized solvent is condensed, in condenser 16, and clean solvent 18 recovered. However Donnelly does not teach an atomization step/chamber for atomizing the development waste liquid heated in the heating step into mists. There is not teaching or suggestion to modify the atomization chamber into Donnelly.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsumoto (US 4,599,294) teaches atomizer. Koboshi (US 5,004,522) teaches photographic waste treatment. Kurematsu (US 5,057,191) teaches photographic waste treatment. Komatsu (US 5,573,895) teaches photographic waste treatment. Nomura (US 2005/0069820) teaches photographic waste treatment. Ishikawa (US 6,949,331) teaches photographic waste treatment. Matuura (US 2007/0295595) teaches ultrasonic separation. Watanabe (US 2023/0305419) teaches photographic waste treatment.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772