The present application, filed on or after 16 Mar 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-14 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-14 as detailed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites in error “subjecting the electromagnetic signals to a frequency analysis using at least one frequency analyzing means of the at least one receiving device; and analying [<< analyzing] the electromagnetic signals….”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Included in the interpretation, along with the description location in the Spec., are the signal converting means (App. Pub. At ¶39, defined as comprising photodiodes, CMOS sensors, etc.);
spectral analyzing means (defined at ¶104 as a spectroscope for separating a signal into component wavelengths);
frequency analyzing means (defined at ¶104 as comprising a spectral analyzing means plus photodiodes); and
recording control means (defined as a trigger device ¶110), all found throughout the independent claims and corresponding dependent claims.
Not included in the interpretation are amplifying means (amplifier), digitizing means (photodiode), storage means (memory), receiving variable determining means (photodiode), and intensity determining means (photodiode), as they connote structure to one skilled in the art from the description and surrounding context.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
+_+_+ Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao - U.S. Pub. 20190257927 +_+_+
As for Claim 1, Yao teaches at least one signal converting means for converting electromagnetic signals, which originate from electromagnetic scanning signals, into electrical signals (Fig. 5, Detector array, converting received scanned LiDAR signals to electrical signals); at least one frequency analyzing means for analyzing the frequency of signals, wherein at least one frequency analyzing means includes at least one spectral analyzing means, using which electromagnetic signals is analyzed to form at least one electromagnetic spectrum, which is output in at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means (Fig. 5, Diffraction grating diffracting received signal into multiple spectral frequencies); and at least two signal converting means, using which separate electrical signals can be determined, are assigned to different sections of at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means, wherein the different sections of at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means correspond to different frequency ranges of at least one electromagnetic spectrum (¶50|4: “In this example, a diffraction grating system is used to de-multiplex the returned signals at the different WDM wavelengths into different returned beams at the different WDM wavelengths, respectively, for optical detection. In this specific example as illustrated, a lens is used to receive the different returned beams at the different WDM wavelengths from the diffraction grating and to direct the beams [in different directions and to different regions of the detector array] to a detector array such as a CMOS sensor array or a CCD sensor array.”)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein at least one spectral analyzing means includes at least one spectral apparatus (Fig. 5. Detector array and processing electronics board)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein at least one signal converting means includes at least one electro-optical component, using which electromagnetic signals can be converted into electrical signals (Fig. 5. Detector array and processing electronics board, turns received electromagnetic signals into electric signals.)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein at least one frequency analyzing means includes at least one recording control means, using which a respective recording starting point in time and/or a respective recording duration can be controlled for at least a part of the signal converting means (¶42|40: “FIG. 2A, the pulses in the detector output signals reflect different time delays with respect to the pulses in the LO signal and contain position information of detected objects encountered by the scanning output probe beams at the different WDM wavelengths.”)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein the receiving device includes at least one storage means for storing at least a part of the electrical signals determined using the signal converting means (¶100|1: “In some implementations, a signal processor is operated to calculate and obtain a 3-dimensional point cloud map using the information of the identification of photodetectors designated to the different WDM wavelength channels, the motor encoder angle, and the distances of the reflections.”)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein the receiving device includes at least one amplifying means for amplifying at least a part of the electrical signals determined using the signal converting means (¶83|15: “a receiver unit (RU) connected with a third port of the optic circulator receives reflected light beams of different wavelengths from the BFU and demultiplexes them into different optical paths to be received by different photodetectors followed by amplifiers and electronic circuitry….”)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein the receiving device includes at least one digitizing means for digitizing at least a part of the electrical signals determined using the signal converting means (Fig. 6, signal processing unit containing ADCs.)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein at least one frequency analyzing means includes at least one signal coupling region for coupling in electromagnetic signals (Fig. 6, receiver unit mixers.)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein the receiving device includes at least one receiving variable determining means for determining at least one receiving variable for at least one detected object directly or indirectly from electrical signals which can be determined using the signal converting means (¶100|1: “In some implementations, a signal processor is operated to calculate and obtain a 3-dimensional point cloud map using the information of the identification of photodetectors designated to the different WDM wavelength channels, the motor encoder angle, and the distances of the reflections.”)
As for Claim 10, which depends on Claim 1, Yao teaches wherein the receiving device includes at least one intensity determining means for determining an intensity variable, which characterizes an intensity of at least one electromagnetic signal introduced into the receiving device (¶72|23: “The opto-electronic feedback loop includes an optical delay element for producing a delay, a photodetector responsive to intensity variation of input optical signals for converting the optical signal from the optical delay element into an electrical modulation signal and an electrical interface with the laser oscillator to feed electrical modulation signal to the gain medium which modulates the optical gain in the optical feedback loop.”)
As for Claim 11, Yao teaches at least one emitting device for emitting electromagnetic scanning signals into at least one monitoring region (Fig. 5, beam forming unit, for emitting laser light into to-be-monitored environment); at least one receiving device, which includes at least one signal converting means for converting electromagnetic signals, which originate from electromagnetic scanning signals, into electrical signals (Fig. 5, detector array for receiving reflected signals); at least one frequency analyzing means for analyzing the frequency of signals, wherein at least one frequency analyzing means includes at least one spectral analyzing means, using which electromagnetic signals is analyzed to form at least one electromagnetic spectrum, which can be output in at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means (Fig. 5, Diffraction grating diffracting received signal into multiple spectral frequencies); and at least two signal converting means, using which separate electrical signals are determined, are assigned to different sections of at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means, wherein the different sections of at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means correspond to different frequency ranges of at least one electromagnetic spectrum (¶50|4: “In this example, a diffraction grating system is used to de-multiplex the returned signals at the different WDM wavelengths into different returned beams at the different WDM wavelengths, respectively, for optical detection. In this specific example as illustrated, a lens is used to receive the different returned beams at the different WDM wavelengths from the diffraction grating and to direct the beams [in different directions and to different regions of the detector array] to a detector array such as a CMOS sensor array or a CCD sensor array.”)
As for Claim 12, Yao teaches a vehicle (¶36|1: “In some implementations for LiDAR sensing for a vehicle, a LiDAR sensor for autonomous operation or other LiDAR-assisted operations of the vehicle may be mounted at a selected location of the vehicle ( e.g., on the top of the vehicle) and is operated to operate a laser in the LiDAR to emit a laser beam while continuously rotating the emitted laser beam to get a full 360 degree azimuth field of view (FOY) of the surroundings.”) comprising: at least one detection device for monitoring at least one monitoring region for objects by electromagnetic scanning signals, wherein the at least one detection device comprises at least one emitting device for emitting electromagnetic scanning signals into at least one monitoring region (Fig. 5, beam forming unit, for emitting laser light into to-be-monitored environment), and at least one receiving device, wherein at least one receiving device includes at least one signal converting means for converting electromagnetic signals, which originate from electromagnetic scanning signals, into electrical signals (Fig. 5, Detector array, converting received scanned LiDAR signals to electrical signals), and at least one frequency analyzing means for analyzing the frequency of signals, wherein the at least one frequency analyzing means includes at least one spectral analyzing means, using which electromagnetic signals are analyzed to form at least one electromagnetic spectrum, which is output in at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means (Fig. 5, Diffraction grating diffracting received signal into multiple spectral frequencies), at least two signal converting means, using which separate electrical signals can be determined, are assigned to different sections of at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means, wherein the different sections of at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means correspond to different frequency ranges of at least one electromagnetic spectrum (¶50|4: “In this example, a diffraction grating system is used to de-multiplex the returned signals at the different WDM wavelengths into different returned beams at the different WDM wavelengths, respectively, for optical detection. In this specific example as illustrated, a lens is used to receive the different returned beams at the different WDM wavelengths from the diffraction grating and to direct the beams [in different directions and to different regions of the detector array] to a detector array such as a CMOS sensor array or a CCD sensor array.”)
As for Claim 13, Yao teaches emitting at least one electromagnetic scanning signal into the at least one monitoring region using at least one emitting device (Fig. 5, beam forming unit, for emitting laser light into to-be-monitored environment); converting electromagnetic echo signals from electromagnetic scanning signals reflected in the at least one monitoring region using at least one signal converting means of a receiving device into electrical signals (Fig. 5, Detector array, converting received scanned LiDAR signals to electrical signals); subjecting the electromagnetic signals to a frequency analysis using at least one frequency analyzing means of the at least one receiving device (Fig. 5, Diffraction grating diffracting received signal into multiple spectral frequencies); and [analyzing] the electromagnetic signals in at least one spectrum using at least one spectral analyzing means, wherein the at least one spectrum is output in at least one spectrum output region of the at least one spectral analyzing means, and wherein different ranges of the at least one electromagnetic spectrum are converted using respective assigned signal converting means to form separate electrical signals (¶50|4: “In this example, a diffraction grating system is used to de-multiplex the returned signals at the different WDM wavelengths into different returned beams at the different WDM wavelengths, respectively, for optical detection. In this specific example as illustrated, a lens is used to receive the different returned beams at the different WDM wavelengths from the diffraction grating and to direct the beams [in different directions and to different regions of the detector array] to a detector array such as a CMOS sensor array or a CCD sensor array.”)
As for Claim 14, which depends on Claim 13, Yao teaches wherein an electromagnetic scanning signal and the corresponding electromagnetic echo signal are coupled into at least one spectral analyzing means and analyzed in at least one electromagnetic spectrum (Fig. 4, Receiver unit combining received signal with LO signal to calculate beat frequency.)
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645