DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 and 9-11 in the reply filed on March 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 20, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 5, line 1 and page 10, lines 13 and 15, “(Al)” should read “(Mg)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, “(Al)” should read “(Mg)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “an additive for secondary battery electrolyte” in lines 1-2. Claim 1, which claim 9 depends on, recites “an additive for secondary battery electrolyte” in line 1, but it is unclear if the “an additive for secondary battery electrolyte” of claim 9 refers to the “an additive for secondary battery electrolyte” of claim 1. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the “an additive for secondary battery electrolyte” of claim 9 as the “an additive for secondary battery electrolyte” of claim 1. Claims 10-11, which depend on claim 9, are similarly rejected. The examiner suggests amending the limitation of claim 9 to “the additive for secondary battery electrolyte” to rectify this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatta et al. (US 2016/0336614 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hatta et al. discloses an additive for secondary battery electrolyte, containing magnesium silicate ([0814], [0818], and [0833], solid particles that can be hydrous magnesium silicate).
Regarding claim 3, Hatta et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hatta et al. further discloses wherein the magnesium silicate has a mass ratio of 50 to 70 wt% of oxygen (O), 5 to 20 wt% of magnesium (Al), and 15 to 35 wt% of silicon (Si) ([0833], sepiolite with formula Mg9Si12O30(OH2)4•6H2O, 55.84 wt% O, 16.60 wt% Mg, and 25.57 wt% Si).
Regarding claim 9, Hatta et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hatta et al. further discloses a secondary battery electrolyte comprising an additive for secondary battery electrolyte, containing the magnesium silicate according to claim 1 ([0793], electrolyte layer 56 including solid particles).
Regarding claim 11, Hatta et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Hatta et al. further discloses a secondary battery comprising the secondary battery electrolyte according to claim 9 ([0754] and [0760], non-aqueous electrolyte battery with wound electrode body 50 including electrolyte layer 56).
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (Materials Letters 2020, disclosed by Applicant in IDS filed on August 02, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. discloses an additive containing magnesium silicate (page 1 abstract, hydrated magnesium silicate (MSH)).
Regarding claim 3, Sun et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Sun et al. further discloses wherein the magnesium silicate has a mass ratio of 50 to 70 wt% of oxygen (O), 5 to 20 wt% of magnesium (Al), and 15 to 35 wt% of silicon (Si) (page 2, col. 1, 2MgO•3SiO2•2H2O with sepiolite structure, 52.26 wt% O, 16.49 wt% Mg, and 28.57 wt% Si).
Regarding claim 4, Sun et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Sun et al. further discloses wherein the magnesium silicate has a surface area of 50 to 500 m2/g (page 2, col. 2, BET specific surface area of 453 m2/g).
Regarding claim 5, Sun et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Sun et al. further discloses wherein the magnesium silicate has a pore size of 0.1 to 20 nm (page 2, col. 2, pore size of MSH mainly 2-10 nm).
Claims 1, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2008/0254370 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. discloses an additive for secondary battery electrolyte, containing magnesium silicate ([0020], multinary metal oxide salt including Mg2SiO4).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Lee et al. further discloses a secondary battery electrolyte comprising an additive for secondary battery electrolyte, containing the magnesium silicate according to claim 1 ([0013], electrolyte containing multinary metal oxide salt).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Lee et al. further discloses a secondary battery comprising the secondary battery electrolyte according to claim 9 ([0024] and [0025], lithium secondary battery comprising an electrolyte with multinary metal oxide salt).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta et al. (US 2016/0336614 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hatta et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hatta et al. further discloses wherein the solid particles have a particle size D50 of preferably 0.1 μm (100 nm) or more ([0861]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 4, Hatta et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hatta et al. further discloses wherein the magnesium silicate has a surface area of 50 to 500 m2/g ([0863], BET specific surface area of the solid particle is preferably 1 m2/g or more and 60 m2/g or less). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 10, Hatta et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Hatta et al. further discloses wherein the secondary battery electrolyte comprises the additive for secondary battery electrolyte in an amount of 0.1 to 2.0% by weight based on the total weight% of the secondary battery electrolyte ([0864], solid particles added with respect to electrolytes in an amount of 1 mass % or more and 60 mass % or less). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2008/0254370 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Lee et al. further discloses wherein the secondary battery electrolyte comprises the additive for secondary battery electrolyte in an amount of 0.1 to 2.0% by weight based on the total weight% of the secondary battery electrolyte ([0021], multinary metal oxide salt used in an amount of 0.01-10 wt% by weight of the electrolyte). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hatta et al. (US 2016/0240887 A1) and Brambilla et al. (Journal of Sol-Gel Science and Technology 2009, disclosed by Applicant in IDS filed on August 02, 2023) disclose additives containing magnesium silicate.
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 17 April 2026