DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longmoore (US 2007/0014993) in view of Haetzelt (US 2020/0317688).
Claims 1, 7 and 8
Longmoore discloses a consumer product comprising a laminate packaging comprising
an outer oriented multilayer film (30) comprising a polypropylene/polyolefin-based polymer; an inner multilayer film (10) comprising a polypropylene/polyolefin-based polymer (see [0030], [0035] and [0036]); wherein the outer and the inner layers are made of the same polypropylene/polyolefin-based polymer, which is propylene-based polymer (see [0038] and [0042]). Longmoore further discloses the laminate of the packaging material could be used to enclose and store personal care items (see [0010]). Longmoore does not disclose the personal care items could include a composition comprising 0.2% to 1.02% by weight of a perfume. However, Haetzelt discloses a personal care product, such as a liquid soap, comprising at least 1% by weight of perfume (see [0041], [0042], and [0182]). The percentage of at least 1% by weight of perfume disclosed by Haetzelt falls within the required range of 0.2% to 1.2%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Longmoore having the soap disclosed by Haetzelt as a type of personal care product enclosed within the laminate packaging.
Claim 2
Haetzelt further discloses the fragrance substance of the perfume could be formed from a single composition (see [0036]).
Claims 3 and 4
Longmoore further discloses further discloses the inner and outer multilayers appear to have same size or thickness (see figure 1), wherein Longmoore discloses the thickness of the inner multilayer could be 50 microns (see [0054] and [0055]).
Claim 5
Longmoore further discloses the oriented layer is uniaxially or biaxially oriented multilayer film (see [0056]).
Claim 9
Haetzelt further discloses the composition is an aqueous based composition (see [0182]).
Claim 10
Longmoore further discloses the inner multilayer film is vacuum metalized (see [0035]).
Claim 14
Haetzelt further discloses the composition is a domestic cleaning liquid (see [0182] and [0186]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longmoore (US 2007/0014993) and Haetzelt (US 2020/0317688) as applied to claim 1 above.
Longmoore discloses the outer oriented multilayer film is uniaxially oriented polypropylene (see [0056]). Longmoore further discloses the outer oriented multilayer film could also be polyethylene (see [0036], [0064] and claim 4). Examiner noticed that polyethylene is known to be a lightweight, durable, and have a cost-effective nature polymer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer oriented multilayer film being formed from polyethylene material for lightweight, durable, and have a cost-effective nature purpose to the consumer product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument of the teaching of Haetzelt, the examiner disagrees. Haetzelt discloses a composition which could be provided in a liquid form (see [0042]), and the composition comprises a range of between 0.0001 to 100, 0.1 to 90, or 1 to 90 percentage by weight (see [0041]), wherein all these mentioned ranges include a number which falls within the required range of 0.2 to 1.2 percentage by weight of the perfume.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736