DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on June 01, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 4, and 14 are currently amended. Claim 8 is canceled. Claims 1-7 and 9-14 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 14 have overcome the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on March 09, 2026.
The previous rejections of claims 1 and 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Kim are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2019/0088914 A1, hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a battery module ([0035] and Fig. 2, battery case), comprising: a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells ([0036] and Fig. 2, cell assembly 11 including a plurality of stacked battery cells 11); a module housing configured to accommodate the battery cell assembly; and an end cover coupled to the module housing ([0035], [0041] and Figs. 1 and 2, frame cover 200 welded to side surface of frame unit 100), wherein when a flame or gas is generated inside the module housing, the end cover is configured to disperse the flame or gas and guide the flame or gas in a predetermined direction ([0057] and Fig. 6, gas G discharged through discharge unit 230 of frame cover 200), and wherein the end cover includes: a first dispersion guider configured to primarily disperse the flame or gas ([0049]-[0052] and Fig. 3, barrier plate 210 with inlet hole A); and at least one second dispersion guider disposed to face the first dispersion guider and configured to secondarily disperse the flame or gas ([0073] and Fig. 8, guide rail 231 facing barrier plate 210), wherein the at least one second dispersion guider has a rib structure of a whirlwind shape to sequentially disperse the flame or gas ([0073] and Fig. 8, guide rail 231 with spiral shape).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein the end cover is provided at ends of the module housing and guides the flame or gas in the module housing to an upper side of the ends of the module housing ([0059] and Figs. 2 and 3, two frame covers 200 on each end of frame unit 100 with outlet hole B).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 2. Choi further discloses wherein the end cover includes a cover body mounted at the ends of the module housing ([0042] and Fig. 3, plates 221-225), and wherein the cover body has a discharge hole that is opened toward an upper side of the cover body to discharge the flame or gas ([0059] and Fig. 3, outlet hole B).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 3. Choi further discloses wherein the first dispersion guider is provided to the cover body ([0049]-[0052] and Fig. 3, barrier plate 210 with inlet hole A).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 4. Choi further discloses wherein the first dispersion guider is disposed to face the battery cell assembly ([0044] and Figs. 2 and 3, barrier plate 210 facing cell assembly 10).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 4. Choi further discloses wherein the end cover includes a directional guider disposed to face the second dispersion guider ([0059] and Fig. 8, discharge unit 230 facing guide rail 231) and configured to guide a discharge direction of the flame or gas ([0059] and Fig. 6, gas G flows into discharge unit 230).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 9. Choi further discloses wherein the directional guider is configured to communicate with the discharge hole and guide the flame or gas toward the discharge hole ([0059] and Fig. 6, discharge unit 230 may communicate with the outside through outlet hole B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2019/0088914 A1) in view of Iwatsuki et al. (WO 2020059298 A1, hereinafter “Iwatsuki”).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 4. Choi does not disclose wherein the first dispersion guider is a mesh member made of a metal material.
Iwatsuki discloses wherein the first dispersion guider is a mesh member made of a metal material ([0044], metal filter 34 is made of a metal mesh).
Choi and Iwatsuki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the barrier plate of Choi with the teachings of Iwatsuki to yield the predictable result of dispersing the flame or gas, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B). In addition, doing so would allow for the capture of fine particles contained in the gas (Iwatsuki [0055]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2019/0088914 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0097192 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 4. Choi does not disclose wherein the at least one second dispersion guider is configured to communicate with the discharge hole.
Kim discloses wherein the at least one second dispersion guider is configured to communicate with the discharge hole ([0062] and Fig. 5, mesh member 370 is in communication with cover outlet 350).
Kim is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of Choi with the teachings of Kim to yield the predictable result of dispersing the flame or gas, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A). In addition, doing so would allow for the filtration of flame, dust, and fragments (Kim [0076]).
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2019/0088914 A1) in view of Kusunoki et al. (US 2015/0072184 A1, hereinafter “Kusunoki”).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 9. Choi does not disclose wherein the directional guider includes at least one offset fin.
Kusunoki discloses wherein the directional guider includes at least one offset fin ([0146] and Fig. 11C, shield plates 131I-134I).
Kusunoki is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of Choi with the teachings of Kusunoki, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would reduce the possibility of foreign matter entering the battery (Kusunoki [0150]).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 9. Choi does not disclose wherein the directional guider is formed by a plurality of first rows alternately stacked with a plurality of second rows in a vertical direction, each of the plurality of first rows and the plurality of second rows formed in the shape of a square wave, with the second row offset in a horizontal direction relative to the first row.
Kusunoki discloses wherein the directional guider is formed by a plurality of first rows alternately stacked with a plurality of second rows in a vertical direction ([0146] and Fig. 11C, first row consisting of 132I and 134I and second row consisting of 131I and 133I), with the second row offset in a horizontal direction relative to the first row (Fig. 11C, first and second rows are horizontally offset). Kusunoki further discloses that the shield plates are semicircle plates ([0147]-[0148] and Fig. 11C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of Choi with the teachings of Kusunoki, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would reduce the possibility of foreign matter entering the battery (Kusunoki [0150]).
Modified Choi does not teach that each of the plurality of first rows and the plurality of second rows formed in the shape of a square wave. However, changing the first and second rows from a semicircular shape to a square wave shape would not modify the operation of the battery module, and such a change in shape would have been a matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2019/0088914 A1) in view of Kim (US 2019/0097192 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses a battery pack comprising the battery module as defined in claim 1 ([0021]). Choi does not disclose the battery pack further comprising a pack case configured to package the at least one battery module.
Kim discloses a battery pack, comprising: at least one battery module ([0079] and Fig. 6, battery pack 1 may include at least one battery module 10); and a pack case configured to package the at least one battery module ([0079] and Fig. 6, pack case 50 for packaging the at least one battery module 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of Choi with the teachings of Kim to yield the predictable result of a battery pack containing at least one battery module of Choi inside a pack case, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 13, modified Choi discloses the limitations of claim 12. Choi further discloses a vehicle, comprising the battery pack as defined in claim 12 ([0022]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 01, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8 that the mesh member 370, flame-retardant member 380, and pre-filter 390 of Kim different in both structure and function from the claimed first dispersion guider and second dispersion guider, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the features of Kim are configured to filter dust or debris, they also filter flame and pass gas g ([0071]-[0077]). It is the Examiner’s position that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the filtering of flame and passing of gas as disclosed by Kim as dispersion of flame or gas. For this reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection of claim 7 as obvious over Choi in view of Kim is maintained.
In response to Applicant's arguments on page 8 that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the second dispersion guider 350 is configured to rotate and disperse flame or gas by means of the whirlwind-shaped rib structure”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, Applicant states “However, the guide rail 231 of Choi is formed on the outer side of the case cover and guides the flow of gas.” It is the Examiner’s position that although this is not recited in the claims, the second dispersion guider of the instant application is also formed on the outer side of the case cover and guides the flow of gas (Figs. 4 and 6).
In response to Applicant’s arguments on page 9 that “Choi discloses a structure for guiding the flow of flame or gas, and does not disclose or suggest the core inventive concept of the present invention, namely sequential dispersion of flame or gas”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Choi discloses that when flame is introduced into the extinguishing space S, it flows up into the upper portion of the extinguishing space S, where it is extinguished ([0073]-[0077] and Fig. 8). It is the Examiner’s position that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the extinguishing of flame as disclosed by Choi as dispersion of flame. For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and amended claim 1 is rejected as anticipated by Choi.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 30 July 2026