DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “wherein said liquid flows through the or each chamber and the absorptive treatment device”. It is unclear whether “the or each” intends to refer to multiple chambers or the single recited chamber. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting claim 20 to recite “flows through the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, 20-23, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Phillips, WO 2019/111238 (Phillips, IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, Phillips discloses a method for separating an amount of a PFAS substance such as PFOS (Claims 1, 16) from water, comprising:
Introducing an amount of water containing the substance into a chamber via an inlet (Claim 1);
Introducing a flow of gas into the chamber and producing a froth layer which rises above an interface of the water and introduced gas, the froth layer including an amount of water and a concentrated amount of the substance (Claim 1);
Removing a portion of the froth layer from an upper portion of the chamber (Claim 1); and
Passing an amount of water from the chamber through an absorptive treatment device arranged to remove a further amount of the substance (see “Stage 13 PFAS Absorbent”, fig. 5, Claims 11-12 and 19-20).
Regarding claims 3-5, Phillips discloses a method further comprising controlling the water content of the froth layer by controlling a physical parameter of the flow of introduced gas via a flow controller (Claims 1, 4).
Regarding claims 6-7, Phillips discloses a method wherein controlling a physical parameter of the froth layer comprises using a froth depth regulation device (Claim 8) or a device for confining a cross-sectional flow path of the froth in the upper portion of the chamber (Claim 10).
Regarding claim 8, Phillips discloses a method wherein the froth layer is collapsed during the removal step from the upper portion of the chamber, prior to undergoing a secondary treatment step (Claim 11).
Regarding claim 9, Phillips discloses a method where collapsed froth layers are serially transferred to additional chambers, where froth portions in each chamber are transferred to downstream chambers and subsequently passed through the absorptive treatment device (see “Stage 7” and “Stage 13”, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Phillips discloses a method wherein the secondary treatment step uses absorptive process (see “Stage 13 PFAS Absorbent”, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Phillips discloses a method wherein the liquid flows into each chamber via gravity (fig. 5)
Regarding claims 21-23, Phillips is relied upon in the rejection of claims 1, 3-12, and 20 set forth above.
Regarding claim 25, Phillips discloses an apparatus for separating an amount of a substance from water comprising one or more chambers which:
Are arranged to admit movement of water via gravity (Claim 17, fig. 5);
Have respective gas introduction devices for producing a froth layer (Claim 17, figs. 1-4);
Have a device for removing at least some of the froth layer from an upper portion of the chamber (Claim 17); and
An exit for discharging remaining water (Claims 34-35).
Regarding claim 26, Phillips discloses an apparatus further comprising an absorptive treatment device (see “Stage 13 PFAS Absorbent”, fig. 5) placed in fluid communication with the exit. Phillips further discloses an apparatus arranged to gravity-feed water from the chamber exit through the absorptive treatment device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips in view of Schroder et al., US 6770205 (Schroder).
Regarding claim 14, while Phillips selects an absorptive material (see “Stage 13 PFAS Absorbent”, fig. 5), Phillips does not disclose the material is a composite particle comprising an aggregate core surface coated with a reactive absorbent material. However, Schroder discloses that it is common to use activated carbon-coated sand for the purposes of treating pollutants in wastewater (abstract, C2/L32-40).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Phillips to utilize the carbon-coated sand as described in Schroder since it has been shown that such materials are effective in remediating wastewater and the selection of known materials on the basis of their suitability for an intended use is no more than obvious design choice absent a showing a criticality or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 15, Phillips (in view of Schroder) discloses the adsorptive solid material is housed in a permeable reactive barrier (i.e. sand in absorption tanks as seen in the rejection of claims 1+14).
Regarding claim 16, Phillips (in view of Schroder) discloses a method wherein the preselected material is suitable for absorption of PFAS materials including PFOS (Claims 1, 16).
Conclusion
DIRK R. BASS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/DIRK R BASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779