DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “The engaged portion” in line 3. The examiner suggests amending to remove the capitalization of --The-- to a lower case --the--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: wire gripping portion, first actuating portion, second actuating portion, engaging portion and engaged portion in claims 1-5; third actuating portion in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kearney US 1464939.
Kearney discloses (see Figures 1-3 above) a wire gripper, comprising: a wire gripping portion (formation gap between 1 and 2) configured to grip a linear object (A) by being closed; and first and second actuating portions (16 and 2) and configured to transition to an engageable state (17 sliding along 18 to open jaws 1 and 2) when the first actuating portion (16) is pushed; wherein in the engageable state (opening of gripping portion), the wire gripping portion is open.
As for claim 2, Kearney discloses wherein among the first and second actuating portions (16 and 2), one has an engaging portion (17) and other one has an engaged portion (18), and when the first actuating portion (16) is pushed, the engaging portion (17) and the engaged portion (18) transition to an engageable state (sliding 17 along slot 18).
As for claim 3, Kearney discloses wherein when the first actuating portion (16) is pushed, the first (16) and second actuating portions (2) transition to the engageable state (opening position), and when the first actuating portion (16) is further pushed in the engageable state, the engaging portion (17) and the engaged portion (18) transition to an engaged state (fully open position, 17 slides to the end of slot 18 to a fully engaged/open state).
As for claim 4, Kearney discloses wherein the first actuating portion (16) has a pushing portion (handle of 16) and a support portion (15), and the engaging portion (17) or the engaged portion (18) is disposed at a connecting part (joint between 15 and 16) between the pushing portion and the support portion (see Figs. 1-3 above).
As for claim 5, Kearney discloses wherein when the pushing portion (16) is pushed, the engaging portion (17) and the engaged portion (18) transition to the engageable state (opening of gripping portion).
As for claim 6, Kearney discloses wherein the engaged portion (18) is formed in a recess shape (slot).
As for claim 7, Kearney discloses wherein the wire gripping portion (gap between 1 and 2) has a first wire gripping portion (2) and a second wire gripping portion (1) disposed opposite to the first wire gripping portion, the first wire gripping portion and the second wire gripping portion grip the linear object (A) by being closed (see Figs. 1-2 above), the first wire gripping portion has a third actuating portion, and the third actuating portion (11 and 12) moves in a direction away from the second wire gripping portion (1) when the linear object passes between the third actuating portion and the second wire gripping portion (see Figs. 1 and 2).
As for claim 8, Kearney discloses wherein when engagement is released (handle 16 is pulled backwards), the wire gripping portion moves in a closing direction (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 9, Kearney discloses wherein the second actuating portion (2) has an annular portion (9).
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Svensson US 977236.
Svensson discloses (see Figures 5 and 6 above) a wire gripper, comprising: a wire gripping portion (formation gap between a and B) configured to grip a linear object (I’) by being closed; and first and second actuating portions (E and A) and configured to transition to an engageable state (p engages p’ or g’ and h2) when the first actuating portion (E) is pushed; wherein in the engageable state (opening of gripping portion), the wire gripping portion is open.
As for claim 2, Svensson discloses wherein among the first and second actuating portions (E and A), one has an engaging portion (hook, p; lug g’) and other one has an engaged portion (pin, p’; recess h2), and when the first actuating portion is pushed, the engaging portion and the engaged portion transition to an engageable state (sliding E along A in slot, h, causing p/g’, to move towards p’/h2 to an engageable position/state).
As for claim 3, Svensson discloses wherein when the first actuating portion is pushed, the first and second actuating portions transition to the engageable state (opening position), and when the first actuating portion (E) is further pushed in the engageable state, the engaging portion (p, g’) and the engaged portion (p’, h2) transition to an engaged state (fully open position, E slides along A and p engages p’ or g’ engages h2).
As for claim 4, Svensson discloses wherein the first actuating portion (E) has a pushing portion (E) and a support portion (F), and the engaging portion (p, g’) or the engaged portion (p’, h2) is disposed at a connecting part (g) between the pushing portion and the support portion (see Figs. 5 and 6 above).
As for claim 5, Svensson discloses wherein when the pushing portion (E) is pushed, the engaging portion (p, g’) and the engaged portion (p’, h2) transition to the engageable state (opening of gripping portion).
As for claim 6, Svensson discloses wherein the engaged portion (h2) is formed in a recess shape (enlarged recess, see Fig. 6 above)
As for claim 8, Svensson discloses wherein when engagement is released, the wire gripping portion moves in a closing direction (dashed lines, see Figs. 8 and 9).
As for claim 9, Svensson discloses wherein the second actuating portion has an annular portion (pin, p’ is annular shaped).
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723