DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/23/26 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 9-11, and 16 have been amended. Claims 3-8, 12-15, and 17-20 are in the original/ previously presented form. Thus, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims and the remarks filed 04/23/26 have overcome the specification objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 01/23/26. Applicant has amended the claims to remove the recitation of an “active dimension”. On page 6, Applicant points to [0033], [0035], and [0036] for support for the “compressible dimension”. Upon consultation of these paragraphs, it seems that a compressible dimension is supported by the specification as an axial length that is changeable under a compressive force. Thus, the examiner has withdrawn the specification objections.
Applicant amendments to the claims have overcome each and every claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 01/23/26.
Applicant amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112b rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 01/23/26 if Applicant adopts the suggestions in the claim objection section below (Claim 11 has been properly amended to overcome the previously applied 112b rejection. It appears that claim 2 should align in scope with claim 11. Therefore, claim 2 appears to be missing the word “which” to overcome the 112b rejection. Claim 9 has been properly amended to overcome the previously applied 112b rejection. It appears that claim 16 should align in scope with claim 9. Therefore, claim 16 should be amended in accordance with claim 9 to overcome the previously applied 112b rejection. Again, see the claim objections below).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
“a gap defined by a relative position between an outer surface of the flow modifier and an inner surface of the flow chamber defines a flow channel” such as at least in claim 1
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 9-10 read “and modify one or more flow channel properties” and should likely read “and modify the one or more flow channel properties” to provide proper antecedent basis for the recitation of “one or more flow channel properties”
Claim 1 in the last lines of the claim read “an adjustment mechanism configured to adjust a resistance member property and controllably modify …” and should likely read “an adjustment mechanism configured to adjust [[a resistance member property]] the one or more resistance member properties and controllably modify …” to provide proper antecedent basis for the structure and to align with the language as previously recited in claim 1
Claim 2 lines 1-3 read “wherein the one or more resistance member properties the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust” and should likely read “wherein the one or more resistance member properties which the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust” for grammatical reasons
Claim 9 lines read “comprises at least one of a biasing constant, and a compressible dimension of the resistance member.” And should likely read “comprises at least one of a biasing constant[[,]] and a compressible dimension of the resistance member” for grammatical reasons
Claim 10 lines 6-10 read “a flow modifier disposed within the flow chamber, being positioned within the flow chamber such that a gap defined by a relative position between an outer surface of the flow modifier and an inner surface of the flow chamber defines a flow channel through which fluid flows,” and should likely read “a flow modifier disposed within the flow chamber, the flow modifier being positioned within the flow chamber such that a gap defined by a relative position between an outer surface of the flow modifier and an inner surface of the flow chamber defines a flow channel through which fluid flows,” for grammatical reasons
Claim 10 lines 11-12 read “and modify one or more flow channel properties” and should likely read “and modify the one or more flow channel properties” to provide proper antecedent basis for the recitation of “one or more flow channel properties”
Claim 16 lines 1-3 read “wherein the resistance member property the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust comprises at least one of a biasing constant, and a compressible dimension of the resistance member” and should likely read “wherein the [[resistance member property]] one or more resistance member properties which the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust comprises at least one of a biasing constant[[,]] and a compressible dimension of the resistance member” for grammatical reasons and to properly address the previously applied 112b rejection
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chappel et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2012/0048403), hereinafter Chappel.
Regarding claim 1, Chappel discloses an adjustable flow resistor comprising:
a housing (2, see FIGURE 7) having an inlet (1) to receive a fluid of an input flow (see [0047]);
a flow chamber (see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ below) disposed in the housing (2);
a flow modifier (5) disposed within the flow chamber (see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above), the flow modifier (5) being positioned within the flow chamber such that a gap (see [0058-0060], particularly [0059] disclosing a gap in combination with the spiral channel in FIGURE 7) defined by a relative position between an outer surface of the flow modifier and an inner surface of the flow chamber (see [0059]: “The channel could be also be made of the annulus formed by the gap between the rod and the cylinder, this gap being defined by the relative sizes of the different parts (outer diameter of the rod 5, inner diameter of the cylinder 2)”) defines a flow channel (6) through which fluid flows (see [0047]: 6 called a fluidic channel), the flow channel (6) having one or more flow channel properties (flow channel length, aligning with Applicant disclosure in [0027]: flow channel properties include length), the flow modifier (5) configured to move within the flow chamber (see [0047-0057]: 5 axially movable in cylinder to displace the piston/ thus modifying the flow channel length to maintain a constant flow rate) and modify one or more flow channel properties (the flow channel length) in response to a pressure of the input flow acting on the flow modifier (5, see [0052-0057]: piston displaced to change length of flow channel to maintain a constant flow rate);
a resistance member (7) disposed within the housing (2) and configured to apply a force on the flow modifier (5 , see [0061]: 7 pushes on 5), the resistance member (7) having one or more resistance member properties (length, see different lengths from figure 2 to figure 3. Resistance member property includes length according to applicant disclosure in [0039]: constant flow rate achieved by modifying length of spring) configured to affect movement of the flow modifier (5, see [0052]: 5 must move against force of spring and thus spring is “configured to affect movement” of the flow modifier because the spring force changes with length); and
an adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162]: i.e.: a screw with preselected positions at the outlet) configured to adjust a resistance member property (see [0161-0162]: a preload on the spring is changed and thus a property of the spring is configured to adjust per calculations shown in [0069-0108] and the table following [0108]) and controllably modify a constant flow rate of the fluid moving out of the flow chamber (see [0048-0057]: piston 5 moves against force of spring 7 to increase channel 6 length and thus the spring length must change to compensate. For example, see length change of 7 from figure 2 to figure 3. Thus, when the adjustment mechanism changes the resistance member property, the modification of the flow rate will change as related to the spring pre-load & spring length).
Regarding claim 2, Chappel discloses the adjustable flow resistor of claim 1, and Chappel further discloses wherein the one or more resistance member properties (see [0161-0162]: a preload on the spring is changed and thus a property of the spring is configured to adjust per calculations shown in [0069-0108] and the table following [0108]) the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust (see [0161-0162]) comprises an elastic property (length, see different spring lengths from figure 2 to figure 3. See also Chappel [0069]-[0108] and the table following [0108] calculating spring stiffness for the design based on the preload, which affects the compression length of the spring during use. The elastic property comprising a length of the spring aligns with applicant disclosure in at least Applicant’s [0029]: an elastic property of the resistance member is that the member is a spring governed by Hooke’s law and see [0039] & [0041] of Applicant disclosure further explaining the relationship of length of the spring to maintaining the flow rate—length is part of Hooke’s law.).
Regarding claim 3, Chappel discloses the adjustable flow resistor of claim 1, and Chappel further discloses
wherein the adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162]: i.e.: a screw with preselected positions at the outlet) includes a lumen (see outlet lumen in ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above) extending along a length (length from the end of the flow chamber to the end of the outlet) of the adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162]: i.e.: a screw with preselected positions at the outlet) such that the fluid exits the adjustable flow resistor through a distal end (rightward end in FIGURE 7 or see fluid flow exiting outlet 4 by fluid flow arrows shown in FIGURE 3) of the adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162]: i.e.: a screw with preselected positions at the outlet), and
wherein the fluid flows through the lumen at the constant flow rate (see [0048-0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Chappel discloses the adjustable flow resistor of claim 1, and Chappel further discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162]: i.e.: a screw with preselected positions at the outlet) comprises a plurality of adjustment points (see [0161-0162]: preselected positions==more than 1== plurality), when activated an adjustment point is configured to modify the constant flow rate to a predefined flow rate associated with the adjustment point (see [0161-0162]: adjustment mechanism changes preload on spring which is “configured to modify the constant flow rate to a predefined flow rate” according to the calculations related to preload in [0069-0108] and the table in [0108]).
Regarding claim 5, Chappel discloses the adjustable flow resistor of claim 1, and Chappel further discloses wherein: the resistance member (7, see FIGURE 7) is a spring or a coil (see [0047]: spring 7); and the adjustment mechanism is configured to (configured to is functional language. Therefore the device needs only be capable of performing the function. Outlet is positioned adjacent the spring and is therefore configured to constrain at least the end of the spring) constrain at least a portion of the spring or the coil (see [0161-0162] and FIGURE 7).
Regarding claim 6, Chappel discloses the adjustable flow resistor of claim 5, and Chappel further discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism is rotatable (see [0161-0162]: adjustment mechanism “screwed” manually or by external means such as a motor 22 as shaft of outlet connector. A motor or manual screw is rotatable) and configured to adjust a length of the spring or coil constrained by the adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162] for adjustment mechanism changing preload on spring which is subsequently configured to adjust a length of the spring per calculations shown in [0069-0108] and the table following [0108]).
Regarding claim 9, Chappel discloses the adjustable flow resistor of claim 1, and Chappel further discloses wherein the one or more resistance member properties (see [0161-0162]: a preload on the spring is changed and thus a property of the spring is configured to adjust per calculations shown in [0069-0108] and the table following [0108]) the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust (see [0161-0162]) comprises at least one of a biasing constant, and a compressible dimension of the resistance member (length==compressible dimension of the resistance member, see different lengths from figure 2 to figure 3. Resistance member property includes length according to applicant disclosure in [0039]: constant flow rate achieved by modifying length of spring).
Regarding claim 18, Chappel discloses a method for adjusting a flow rate, the method comprising:
introducing a flow of fluid into a chamber (chamber formed within cylindrical device in FIGURE 3, see fluid flow arrows in FIGURE 3 and Pin as described in [0048-0059]) having a flow modifier (5) moveably situated (see [0047]: piston 5 axially movable) within the chamber (see FIGURE 3) and having a flow channel (6) defined by a gap between the flow modifier (5) and an inner surface of the chamber (see [0059-0060]: 6 between rod and inner surface of cylinder);
applying a first force from the fluid flow (Pin by fluid flow such as shown in FIGURE 3) against a proximal end (leftward side in FIGURE 2) of the flow modifier (5) to affect a length (see change in length from FIGURE 2 to FIGURE 3) of the flow channel (6) within the chamber (chamber within cylinder 2) to passively provide a constant rate of fluid flow (see [0048-0050]: fluid flow at constant rate regardless of the inlet side pressure/ force) through the chamber (chamber within cylinder 2);
setting an elastic property of a resistance member (7, see [0161-0162]: preload on spring is set and thus the elastic properties, including lengths are set as shown by the calculations in [0069-0108] and the table under [0108]) to apply a second force against (see [0061]: 7 pushes on 5 and thus provides a second force) a distal end (rightward end) of the flow modifier (5) to affect movement of the flow modifier (5) within the chamber (chamber within cylinder 2) and modify the constant rate of fluid flow through the chamber (see [0047-0057]: piston 5 displaced against the spring and thus achieves the constant flow rate).
Regarding claim 19, Chappel discloses the method of claim 18, and Chappel discloses further comprising outputting the fluid at a predetermined constant flow rate that is independent of a flow rate of the introduced flow of fluid (see [0048-0050]: fluid flow at constant rate regardless of the inlet side pressure/ force).
Regarding claim 20, Chappel discloses the method of claim 18, and Chappel further discloses wherein the setting step comprises using an adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162]: i.e.: a manual screw or motor provided at shaft outlet with preselected positions) to adjust the elastic property of the resistance member (7, see [0161-0162]: preload on spring is set and thus the elastic properties, including lengths are set as shown by the calculations in [0069-0108] and the table under [0108]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappel (U.S. PGPUB No. 2012/0048403).
Regarding claim 7, Chappel discloses the adjustable flow resistor of claim 1, but in the embodiment of FIGURE 7, Chappel is silent to “further comprising a stopper situated between the flow chamber and a distal end of the adjustment mechanism.”
However, in FIGURE 5, Chappel teaches an embodiment of the device further comprising a stopper (21, see FIGURE 5 with 21 disposed leftward of 19 and [0128]: plug 21) situated between the flow chamber (see 19 in FIGURE3. Therefore, the plug 21 as shown in the embodiment of FIGURE 5 would be seated to the left of 19 and thus between the flow chamber and distal end) and a distal end (rightward outlet of device) of the adjustment mechanism (adjustment mechanism on outlet 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piston flow modifier disclosed in Chappel FIGURE 7 to be a gas filled chamber closed by a stopper as taught by Chappel FIGURE 5 for the purpose of reducing the device sensitivity to shocks (see [0128]), thus achieving “further comprising a stopper situated between the flow chamber and a distal end of the adjustment mechanism”.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aklog et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0251579), hereinafter Aklog.
Regarding claim 8, Chappel discloses the adjustable flow resistor of claim 1, but Chappel is silent to “wherein the resistance member is a pressurized gas chamber.”
However, Aklog teaches an adjustable flow system (see FIG. 5C-D with resistance member formed of compressible gas 28 constant flow rate achieved by adjusting a length of a gas space 27 as shown by length of space 27 in Fig. 5C to 5D and described in [0043]) comprising a resistance member (gas vessel 29 with compressible gas 28, see further explanation of compressible gas 28 in [0036-0038]), wherein the resistance member is a pressurized gas chamber (29, vessel 29 filled with compressible gas 28, see [0042-0043]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the resistance member disclosed in Chappel with the resistance member of a pressurized gas chamber as taught by Aklog for the purpose of forming a drive mechanism for infusion without the need for any outside power source, pump, or gravity (see [0035]) which facilitates delivery of different fluid volume percentages form the fluid chamber (see [0043]), thus achieving “wherein the resistance member is a pressurized gas chamber.”
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappel (U.S. PGPUB No. 2012/0048403) in view of Aklog (U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0251579).
Regarding claim 10, Chappel discloses an adjustable flow system (see FIGURE 7 and [0063]: Figure 7 incorporates previously disclosed element of FIGURES 2/3. Thus, paragraphs related to description of figures 2/3 are referenced for description of overlapping structures/ features) comprising:
a first pathway (pathway at inlet connector 1, see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ below) for directing fluid (see [0047]);
an adjustable flow resistor (2) having its input end (see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above) in communication with the first pathway (see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above and [0047]) for receiving a flow of fluid (see [0047]), the adjustable flow resistor (2) including:
a flow chamber (chamber within cylinder 2);
a flow modifier (5) disposed within the flow chamber (see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above), being positioned within the flow chamber such that a gap (see [0058-0060], particularly [0059] disclosing a gap in combination with the spiral channel in FIGURE 7) defined by a relative position between an outer surface of the flow modifier and an inner surface of the flow chamber (see [0059]: “The channel could be also be made of the annulus formed by the gap between the rod and the cylinder, this gap being defined by the relative sizes of the different parts (outer diameter of the rod 5, inner diameter of the cylinder 2)”) defines a flow channel (6) through which fluid flows (see [0047]: 6 called a fluidic channel), the flow channel (6) having one or more flow channel properties (flow channel length, aligning with Applicant disclosure in [0027]: flow channel properties include length), the flow modifier (5) configured to move within the flow chamber (see [0047-0057]: 5 axially movable in cylinder to displace the piston/ thus modifying the flow channel length to maintain a constant flow rate) and modify one or more flow channel properties (the flow channel length) in response to a pressure of the flow of fluid acting on the flow modifier (5, see [0052-0057]: piston displaced to change length of flow channel to maintain a constant flow rate);
a resistance member (7) disposed within (see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above) the adjustable flow resistor (2) and configured to apply a force on the flow modifier (5, see [0061]: 7 pushes on 5), the resistance member (7) having one or more resistance member properties (length, see different lengths from figure 2 to figure 3. Resistance member property includes length according to applicant disclosure in [0039]: constant flow rate achieved by modifying length of spring) configured to affect movement of the flow modifier (5, see [0052]: 5 must move against force of spring and thus spring is “configured to affect movement” of the flow modifier because the spring force changes with length); and
an adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162]: i.e.: a screw with preselected positions at the outlet) configured to adjust one or more resistance member properties (see [0161-0162]: a preload on the spring is changed and thus a property of the spring is changed) and controllably modify a constant flow rate of the fluid flow exiting the adjustable flow resister (see [0048-0057]: piston 5 moves against force of spring 7 to increase channel 6 length and thus the spring length must change to compensate. For example, see length change of 7 from figure 2 to figure 3. Thus, when the adjustment mechanism changes the resistance member property, the modification of the flow rate will change as related to the spring pre-load & spring length); and
a second pathway (see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above) in communication with an output end (see ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above, or numeral 9 in FIGURE 2 & [0047]) of the adjustable flow resistor (2) to direct fluid exiting the adjustable flow resistor (as seen by fluid flow arrows in FIGURE 3).
Chappel is silent to a first pathway for directing fluid, specifically, “from a fluid reservoir;” and an adjustable flow resistor having its input end in communication with the first pathway for receiving a flow of fluid, specifically “from the fluid reservoir”.
However, Aklog teaches an adjustable flow system (see FIGs. 8A-C with constant flow rate achieved by adjusting a length of a spring as shown by length of spring 86 in Fig. 8B to 8C and described in [0071-0074]) comprising a first pathway (97) for directing fluid from a fluid reservoir (81) and an adjustable flow resistor (see ‘Modified FIG. 8A’ below)
having its input end (91) in communication with the first pathway (97) for receiving a flow of fluid from (see [0061-0067]) the fluid reservoir (81).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first pathway for directing fluid flow disclosed in Chappel to direct fluid flow specifically from a reservoir such that the input end of the flow resistor receives flow of fluid from the reservoir as taught by Aklog for the purpose of allowing the fluid to accumulate in a designated area prior to introduction into the inlet of the flow resistor such that the inlet fluid of the reservoir has a known pressure (see [0061-0063]), thus achieving a first pathway for directing fluid, specifically, “from a fluid reservoir;” and an adjustable flow resistor having its input end in communication with the first pathway for receiving a flow of fluid, specifically “from the fluid reservoir”.
Regarding claim 11, the modified system of Chappel teaches the system of claim 10, and Chappel further discloses wherein the one or more resistance member properties (see [0161-0162]: a preload on the spring is changed and thus a property of the spring is configured to adjust per calculations shown in [0069-0108] and the table following [0108]) which the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust (see [0161-0162]) comprises an elastic property (length, see different spring lengths from figure 2 to figure 3. See also Chappel [0069]-[0108] and the table following [0108] calculating spring stiffness for the design based on the preload, which affects the compression length of the spring during use. The elastic property comprising a length of the spring aligns with applicant disclosure in at least Applicant’s [0029]: an elastic property of the resistance member is that the member is a spring governed by Hooke’s law and see [0039] & [0041] of Applicant disclosure further explaining the relationship of length of the spring to maintaining the flow rate—length is part of Hooke’s law.).
Regarding claim 12, the modified system of Chappel teaches the system of claim 10, and Chappell further discloses wherein: the resistance member (7, see FIGURE 7) is a spring or a coil (see [0047]: spring 7); and the adjustment mechanism is configured to (configured to is functional language. Therefore the device need only be capable of performing the function. Outlet is positioned adjacent the spring and is therefore configured to constrain at least the end of the spring) constrain at least a portion of the spring or the coil (see [0161-0162] and FIGURE 7).
Regarding claim 13, the modified system of Chappel teaches the system of claim 12, and Chappell further discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism is rotatable (see [0161-0162]: adjustment mechanism “screwed” manually or by external means such as a motor 22 as shaft of outlet connector. A motor or manual screw is rotatable) to adjust a length of the spring or coil constrained by the adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162] for adjustment mechanism changing preload on spring which is subsequently configured to adjust a length of the spring per calculations shown in [0069-0108] and the table following [0108] and the different lengths of the spring as shown from FIGURE 2 to FIGURE 3).
Regarding claim 14, the modified system of Chappel teaches the system of claim 10, but Chappel (FIGURE 7) is silent to “wherein the resistance member is a pressurized gas chamber.”
However, Aklog teaches an adjustable flow system (see FIG. 5C-D with resistance member formed of compressible gas 28 constant flow rate achieved by adjusting a length of a gas space 27 as shown by length of space 27 in Fig. 5C to 5D and described in [0043]) comprising a resistance member (gas vessel 29 with compressible gas 28, see further explanation of compressible gas 28 in [0036-0038]), wherein the resistance member is a pressurized gas chamber (29, vessel 29 filled with compressible gas 28, see [0042-0043]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the resistance member disclosed in Chappel with the resistance member of a pressurized gas chamber as taught by Aklog for the purpose of forming a drive mechanism for infusion without the need for any outside power source, pump, or gravity (see [0035]) which facilitates delivery of different fluid volume percentages form the fluid chamber (see [0043]), thus achieving “wherein the resistance member is a pressurized gas chamber.”
Regarding claim 15, the modified system of Chappel teaches the system of claim 10, but in the embodiment of FIGURE 7, Chappel is silent to “further comprising a stopper situated between the flow chamber and a distal end of the adjustment mechanism.”
However, in FIGURE 5, Chappel teaches an embodiment of the device further comprising a stopper (21, see FIGURE 5 with 21 disposed leftward of 19 and [0128]: plug 21) situated between the flow chamber (see 19 in FIGURE3. Therefore, the plug 21 as shown in the embodiment of FIGURE 5 would be seated to the left of 19 and thus between the flow chamber and distal end) and a distal end (rightward outlet of device) of the adjustment mechanism (adjustment mechanism on outlet 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piston flow modifier disclosed in Chappel FIGURE 7 to be a gas filled chamber closed by a stopper as taught by Chappel FIGURE 5 for the purpose of reducing the device sensitivity to shocks (see [0128]), thus achieving “further comprising a stopper situated between the flow chamber and a distal end of the adjustment mechanism”.
Regarding claim 16, the modified system of Chappel teaches the system of claim 10, and Chappel further discloses wherein the resistance member property (see [0161-0162]: a preload on the spring is changed and thus a property of the spring is configured to adjust per calculations shown in [0069-0108] and the table following [0108]) the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust (see [0161-0162]) comprises at least one of a biasing constant, and a compressible dimension of the resistance member (length==compressible dimension of the resistance member, see different lengths from figure 2 to figure 3. Resistance member property includes length according to applicant disclosure in [0039]: constant flow rate achieved by modifying length of spring).
Regarding claim 17, the modified system of Chappel teaches the system of claim 10, and Chappel further discloses
wherein the adjustment mechanism (see [0161-0162]: i.e.: a screw with preselected positions at the outlet) includes a lumen (see lumen of second pathway in ‘Modified FIGURE 7’ above) extending along a length (length of second pathway lumen) of the adjustment mechanism to an outlet (outlet at rightward exit of device from second pathway), and
wherein the fluid flows through the lumen at the constant flow rate (see [0048-0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7, Applicant argues that Chappel fails to disclose the newly amended limitation of the “gap” because “Suggesting via a broadest reasonable interpretation that a channel could be between surfaces in various configurations is not the same as the flow modifier being positioned within the flow chamber such that a gap defined by a relative position between an outer surface of the flow modifier and an inner surface of the flow chamber defines a flow channel through which fluid flows.” However, as set forth in the rejection of the newly amended limitation, Chappel discloses a gap between an outer surface of the flow modifier and the inner surface of the flow chamber (see at least the rejection of claim 1 above, such as a gap as described in Chappel [0059]). Therefore, the examiner was not persuaded by this argument because the argument is a mischaracterization of the rejection as currently set forth in view of the newly amended subject matter. Thus, the examiner disagrees with this argument and has maintained the 35 U.S.C. § 102 claim rejection of independent claims 1 and 18 under Chappel. The examiner has also maintained the 35 U.S.C. § 103 claim rejection of independent claim 10 under Chappel in view of Aklog.
No further arguments were presented. Therefore, all depending claim rejections were subsequently maintained by the examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN PAIGE VOKES/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783