DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filling of the Amendment on 08/29/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 is a dependent claim of claim 6, but claim 6 was canceled in the amendment filed on 08/29/2025. Therefore, claim 9 should be dependent claim of claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, 13, 16-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. (Tong et al., "Modeling and Analysis of Dual-Active-Bridge Isolated Bidirectional DC/DC Converter to Minimize RMS Current with Whole Operating Range", IEEE, April 12, 2017, pages 5302-5316.), hereinafter Tong, in view of Bae (US 2023/0291300).
Regarding claim 1, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) a dual active bridge (DAB) converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) comprising: an inductor (figure 1, part L) (pages 5303-5305; II. DERIVATION AND ANALYSIS OF THE GENERAL MODEL OF THE DAB CONVERTER; the DAB converter that is constructed by two single-phase full bridges. These full bridge circuits (i.e., H1 and H2 ), which generate ac voltages vp (t) and vs (t), are connected by a magnetic tank that includes an inductor L and a high-frequency transformer with the turn ratio n:1. The inductance of L can be the leakage inductance of the transformer or an individual auxiliary inductor); and a controller (figure 23, part controller) configured or programmed to control the DAB converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) using triple-phase-shift control (figure 23, part controller) (Abstract; The triple phase shift (TPS) modulation scheme, which provides three control freedoms, is of great importance for the optimized operation of a dual active bridge (DAB) isolated bidirectional dc/dc converter. First of all, this paper introduces an accurate, universal model to describe the analytic expressions of the DAB converter under TPS control).
Tong does not expressly disclose a variable inductor.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) a converter (figure 3, part converter) comprising: a variable inductor (figure 3, part L2); and a controller (figure 3, part 130) configured or programmed to control the converter (figure 3, part converter) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain a dual active bridge (DAB) converter comprising: a variable inductor; and a controller configured or programmed to control the DAB converter using triple-phase- shift control, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) the controller (figure 23, part controller) such that switches in a leg of a high-voltage (HV) H-bridge (figure 1, part S3/S4) of the DAB converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) are turned on (figures 1 and 2, part S3/S4; turned on) and turned off with near zero current switching (figures 1 and 2, part S3/S4; turned off) and such that switches in both legs (figure 1, parts Q1/Q2 and Q3/Q4) of a low-voltage (LV) H-bridge (figure 1, part H2) of the DAB converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) turn off (figure 1, parts Q1/Q2 and Q3/Q4; turn off) with reduced current switching or near zero current switching (page 5309; left column; lines 4-9; the switching devices S3 , S4 , Q1 , Q2 , Q3 , and Q4 can achieve zero-current switching, and the switching losses can be reduced. In consequence, a remarkable improvement of efficiency for DAB converter can be accomplished). However, Tong does no expressly disclose an inductance of the variable inductor is controlled by the controller such that switches in a leg of a high-voltage (HV) H-bridge of the DAB converter are turned on with zero voltage switching or partial zero voltage switching and turned off with near zero current switching.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) an inductance of the variable inductor (figure 3, part inductance of L2) is controlled by the controller (figure 3, part 130; through 135) such that switches in a leg (figure 1, part T3/T2) of a high-voltage (HV) H-bridge (figure 1, part 110) of the converter (figure 3, part converter) are turned on with zero voltage switching or partial zero voltage switching (figure 1, part T3/T2; turned on) and turned off with near zero current switching (figure 1, part T3/T2; turned off) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120… The control unit 130 controls the inductance of the adjustable inductor 120 according to the input voltage of the zero voltage switching unit 110 or the current flowing through the adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain an inductance of the variable inductor is controlled by the controller such that switches in a leg of a high-voltage (HV) H-bridge of the DAB converter are turned on with zero voltage switching or partial zero voltage switching and turned off with near zero current switching and such that switches in both legs of a low-voltage (LV) H-bridge of the DAB converter turn off with reduced current switching or near zero current switching, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) the controller (figure 23, part controller) is configured or programmed to operate in low (pages 5308-5309; B. Solution of GOC Equation at Low Power Level), medium (pages 5309-5310; C. Solution of GOC Equation at Medium Power Level), and high power modes (page 5310; D. Solution of GOC Equation at High Power Level); and the controller (figure 23, part controller). However, Tong does not expressly disclose the controller is configured or programmed to control the variable inductor such that the DAB converter is operated in the medium power mode near a boundary between the low and the medium power modes.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) the controller (figure 3, part 130) is configured or programmed to control the variable inductor (figure 3, part L2; through 135) such that the converter (figure 3, part converter) is operated in the medium power mode near a boundary (figure 3, part converter at medium power mode near a boundary) between the low (figure 3, part converter at low power mode) and the medium power modes (figure 3, part converter at medium power mode; through 135) (paragraphs [0041]-[0055]; through adjustment 135 of the inductance of L2, the converter can operate in any power mode as example operate in the medium power mode near a boundary between the low and the medium power modes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain the controller is configured or programmed to operate in low, medium, and high power modes; and the controller is configured or programmed to control the variable inductor such that the DAB converter is operated in the medium power mode near a boundary between the low and the medium power modes, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) the HV H-bridge (figure 1, part H1) is connected to a HV voltage (figure 1, part V1); the H-LV bridge (figure 1, part H2) is connected to a LV voltage (figure 1, part V2); and the controller (figure 23, part controller) is configured or programmed to include: a first proportional-integral (PI) controller (figure 23, part PI controller Gcv) to determine a parameter x (figure 23, part x) based on comparison of a reference voltage (figure 23, part Vref) and a measured voltage corresponding to either the HV voltage or the LV voltage (figure 23, part Vout); a voltage ratio calculator (figure 23, part voltage ratio calculator that determine voltage ratio M) to determine a voltage ratio (figure 23, part voltage ratio M) based on either: a turns ratio of a transformer (figures 1 and 23, part n of the transformer between H1 and H2), the HV voltage (figure 1, part V1), and the LV voltage (figure 1, part V2); or the turns ratio of the transformer (figures 1 and 23, part n of the transformer between H1 and H2), the reference voltage (figure 23, part Vref), and the measured voltage (pages 5304 [first to lines of left column] and 5313 [F. Close Loop Control Structure for the Proposed Controller and Real-Time Optimization]; the voltage conversion ratio M is defined as M = (n × V2/V1); the voltage conversion ratio M, for online implementation, is calculated by M = (n Vref /V1)); a boundary calculator (figure 23, part boundary calculator that calculate Lower bound of Pnt and Upper bound of Pnt) (page 5307; TABLE II; Lower bound of Pnt and Upper bound of Pnt) to calculate, based on the voltage ratio (figure 23, part voltage ratio M) , a first boundary value (figure 23, part Lower bound of Pnt) corresponding to the boundary between the low and the medium power modes (figure 18, part boundary between Low Power Level and Medium Power Level) and a second boundary value (figure 23, part Upper bound of Pnt) corresponding to a boundary between the medium and high power modes (figure 18, part boundary between Medium Power Level and High Power Level) (pages 5308-5310; Low Power Level, Medium Power Level and High Power Level); and a phase-shift-ratio calculator (figure 23, part phase-shift-ratio calculator that determine the three phase shifts ratios D0-D2 for DAB converter) to determine phase shift ratios (figure 23, part three phase shifts ratios D0-D2) used in the triple-phase-shift control (figure 23, part controller) based on the parameter x (figure 23, part x), the voltage ratio (figure 23, part voltage ratio M), the first boundary value (figure 23, part Lower bound of Pnt), and the second boundary value (figure 23, part Upper bound of Pnt)(page 5304; left column; lines 3-21; the TPS modulation scheme, D0, D1, and D2 can be controlled independently to adjust the power Pt transferred from the input port to the output port and shape the inductor current iL (t). Then, there are three control degrees of freedom for the TPS control).
Regarding claim 5, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) a converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) comprising: a high-voltage (HV) H-bridge (figure 1, part H1) including first (figure 1, part S1/S2) and second HV legs (figure 1, part S3/S4); a low-voltage (LV) H-bridge (figure 1, part H2) including first (figure 1, part Q1/Q2) and second LV legs (figure 1, part Q3/Q4); a transformer (figure 1, part transformer between H1 and H2) connecting the HV (figure 1, part H1) and the LV H-bridges (figure 1, part H2); an inductor (figure 1, part L) connected between the HV H-bridge (figure 1, part H1) and the transformer (figure 1, part transformer between H1 and H2) (pages 5303-5305; II. DERIVATION AND ANALYSIS OF THE GENERAL MODEL OF THE DAB CONVERTER; the DAB converter that is constructed by two single-phase full bridges. These full bridge circuits (i.e., H1 and H2 ), which generate ac voltages vp (t) and vs (t), are connected by a magnetic tank that includes an inductor L and a high-frequency transformer with the turn ratio n:1. The inductance of L can be the leakage inductance of the transformer or an individual auxiliary inductor); and a controller (figure 23, part controller) configured or programmed to control switching of switches in the HV (figure 1, part H1) and the LV H-bridges (figure 1, part H2), wherein the controller (figure 23, part controller) is configured or programmed to control the switching of the switches in the HV (figure 1, part H1 [S1-S4]) and the LV H-bridges (figure 1, part H2 [Q1-Q4]) using triple-phase-shift control (figure 23, part controller) (Abstract; The triple phase shift (TPS) modulation scheme, which provides three control freedoms, is of great importance for the optimized operation of a dual active bridge (DAB) isolated bidirectional dc/dc converter. First of all, this paper introduces an accurate, universal model to describe the analytic expressions of the DAB converter under TPS control).
Tong does not expressly disclose variable inductor; and a controller configured or programmed to control an inductance of the variable inductor.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) a converter (figure 3, part converter) comprising: a variable inductor (figure 3, part L2) connected between the HV H-bridge (figure 3, part 110) and the transformer (figure 3, part 150); and a controller (figure 3, part 130) configured or programmed to control an inductance of the variable inductor (figure 3, part L2; through 135) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120… The control unit 130 controls the inductance of the adjustable inductor 120 according to the input voltage of the zero voltage switching unit 110 or the current flowing through the adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain a converter comprising: a high-voltage (HV) H-bridge including first and second HV legs; a low-voltage (LV) H-bridge including first and second LV legs; a transformer connecting the HV and the LV H-bridges; a variable inductor connected between the HV H-bridge and the transformer; and a controller configured or programmed to control switching of switches in the HV and the LV H-bridges and control an inductance of the variable inductor, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) the controller (figure 23, part controller) is configured or programmed to control current in switches in the second HV leg (figure 23, part current through S3/S4) at turn on and at turn off (figure 23, part current through S3/S4; turn on and off). However, Tong does not expressly disclose control the inductance of the variable inductor to control current in switches in the second HV leg at turn on and at turn off.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) the controller (figure 3, part 130) is configured or programmed to control the inductance of the variable inductor (figure 3, part inductance of L2; through 135) to control current in switches in the second HV leg (figure 3, part current in T3/T2) at turn on and at turn off (figure 3, part T3/T2; turn-off and turn-on) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120… The control unit 130 controls the inductance of the adjustable inductor 120 according to the input voltage of the zero voltage switching unit 110 or the current flowing through the adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain the controller is configured or programmed to control the inductance of the variable inductor to control current in switches in the second HV leg at turn on and at turn off, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 8, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) the controller (figure 23, part controller) is configured or programmed to control such that switches in the second HV leg (figure 1, parts S3/S4) are turned on (figure 1, parts S3/S4; turned on) and are turned off with near zero current switching (figures 1 and 2, part S3/S4; turned off) and such that switches in the first and the second LV legs (figure 1, parts Q1/Q2 and Q3/Q4) are turned off (figure 1, parts Q1/Q2 and Q3/Q4; turn off) with reduced current switching or near zero current switching (page 5309; left column; lines 4-9; the switching devices S3 , S4 , Q1 , Q2 , Q3 , and Q4 can achieve zero-current switching, and the switching losses can be reduced. In consequence, a remarkable improvement of efficiency for DAB converter can be accomplished). However, Tong does no expressly disclose control the inductance of the variable inductor such that switches in the second HV leg are turned on with zero voltage switching or partial zero voltage switching and are turned off with near zero current switching.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) the controller (figure 3, part 130) is configured or programmed to control the inductance of the variable inductor (figure 3, part inductance of L2; through 135) such that switches in the second HV leg (figure 1, part T3/T2) are turned on with zero voltage switching or partial zero voltage switching (figure 1, part T3/T2; turned on) and are turned off with near zero current switching (figure 1, part T3/T2; turned off) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120… The control unit 130 controls the inductance of the adjustable inductor 120 according to the input voltage of the zero voltage switching unit 110 or the current flowing through the adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain the controller is configured or programmed to control the inductance of the variable inductor such that switches in the second HV leg are turned on with zero voltage switching or partial zero voltage switching and are turned off with near zero current switching and such that switches in the first and the second LV legs are turned off with reduced current switching or near zero current switching, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 [based on objection presented above]). Further, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) the controller (figure 23, part controller) is configured or programmed to operate in low (pages 5308-5309; B. Solution of GOC Equation at Low Power Level), medium (pages 5309-5310; C. Solution of GOC Equation at Medium Power Level), and high power modes (page 5310; D. Solution of GOC Equation at High Power Level); and the controller (figure 23, part controller). However, Tong does not expressly disclose the controller is configured or programmed to control the variable inductor such that the converter is operated in the medium power mode near a boundary between the low and the medium power modes.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) the controller (figure 3, part 130) is configured or programmed to control the variable inductor (figure 3, part L2; through 135) such that the converter (figure 3, part converter) is operated in the medium power mode near a boundary (figure 3, part converter at medium power mode near a boundary) between the low (figure 3, part converter at low power mode) and the medium power modes (figure 3, part converter at medium power mode; through 135) (paragraphs [0041]-[0055]; through adjustment 135 of the inductance of L2, the converter can operate in any power mode as example operate in the medium power mode near a boundary between the low and the medium power modes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain the controller is configured or programmed to operate in low, medium, and high power modes; and the controller is configured or programmed to control the variable inductor such that the converter is operated in the medium power mode near a boundary between the low and the medium power modes, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, claim 4 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). Further, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) the controller (figure 23, part controller) is configured or programmed to include a pulse width modulator (figures 1, 2 and 23, part pulse width modulator that control S1-S4 and Q1-Q4 with TPS) to control the switching of the switches in the HV (figure 1, part H1 [S1-S4]) and the LV H-bridges (figure 1, part H1 [Q1-Q4]) using pulse width modulated signals based on the phase shift ratios (figure 23, parts Do-D2) )(page 5304; left column; lines 3-21; the TPS modulation scheme, D0, D1, and D2 can be controlled independently to adjust the power Pt transferred from the input port to the output port and shape the inductor current iL (t). Then, there are three control degrees of freedom for the TPS control).
Regarding claim 13, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) the inductor (figure 1, part L). However, Tong does not expressly disclose a controlled DC power source connected to the variable inductor.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) a controlled DC power source (figure 3, part controlled DC power source inside of 130 that control L2 through 135) connected to the variable inductor (figure 3, part L2; through 135) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120… The control unit 130 controls the inductance of the adjustable inductor 120 according to the input voltage of the zero voltage switching unit 110 or the current flowing through the adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain a controlled DC power source connected to the variable inductor, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Tong discloses (see figures 1-28) a method of controlling a converter (figure 1, part DAB converter), the converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) including: a high-voltage (HV) H-bridge (figure 1, part H1) including first (figure 1, part S1/S2) and second HV legs (figure 1, part S3/S4); a low-voltage (LV) H-bridge (figure 1, part H2) including first (figure 1, part Q1/Q2) and second LV legs (figure 1, part Q3/Q4); a transformer (figure 1, part transformer between H1 and H2) connecting the HV (figure 1, part H1) and the LV H-bridges (figure 1, part H2); an inductor (figure 1, part L) connected between the HV H-bridge (figure 1, part H1) and the transformer (figure 1, part transformer between H1 and H2); and switches in the first (figure 1, part S1/S2) and second HV legs (figure 1, part S3/S4) and in the first (figure 1, part Q1/Q2) and second LV legs (figure 1, part Q3/Q4) (pages 5303-5305; II. DERIVATION AND ANALYSIS OF THE GENERAL MODEL OF THE DAB CONVERTER; the DAB converter that is constructed by two single-phase full bridges. These full bridge circuits (i.e., H1 and H2 ), which generate ac voltages vp (t) and vs (t), are connected by a magnetic tank that includes an inductor L and a high-frequency transformer with the turn ratio n:1. The inductance of L can be the leakage inductance of the transformer or an individual auxiliary inductor), the method comprising: switching (figure 23, part through controller) the switches (figure 1, parts S1-S4 and Q1-Q4) using triple-phase-shift control (Abstract; The triple phase shift (TPS) modulation scheme, which provides three control freedoms, is of great importance for the optimized operation of a dual active bridge (DAB) isolated bidirectional dc/dc converter. First of all, this paper introduces an accurate, universal model to describe the analytic expressions of the DAB converter under TPS control); control (figure 23, part through controller) current in the switches in the second HV leg (figure 1, part current in S3/S4) at turn off and at turn on (figure 1, part S3/S4; turn-off and turn-on).
Tong does not expressly disclose variable inductor; and controlling an inductance of the variable inductor to control current in the switches in the second HV leg at turn off and at turn on.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) a method of controlling a converter (figure 3, part converter), the converter (figure 3, part converter) including: a variable inductor (figure 3, part L2) connected between the HV H-bridge (figure 3, part 110) and the transformer (figure 3, part 150); the method comprising: controlling (figure 3, part 130) an inductance of the variable inductor (figure 3, part inductance of L2; through 135) to control current in the switches in the second HV leg (figure 3, part current in T3/T2) at turn off and at turn on (figure 3, part T3/T2; turn-off and turn-on) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120… The control unit 130 controls the inductance of the adjustable inductor 120 according to the input voltage of the zero voltage switching unit 110 or the current flowing through the adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain a method of controlling a converter, the converter including: a high-voltage (HV) H-bridge including first and second HV legs; a low-voltage (LV) H-bridge including first and second LV legs; a transformer connecting the HV and the LV H-bridges; a variable inductor connected between the HV H-bridge and the transformer; and switches in the first and second HV legs and in the first and second LV legs, the method comprising: switching the switches using triple-phase-shift control; and controlling an inductance of the variable inductor to control current in the switches in the second HV leg at turn off and at turn on, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 17, claim 8 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, claim 9 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, claim 10 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, claim 12 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 14, 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. (Tong et al., "Modeling and Analysis of Dual-Active-Bridge Isolated Bidirectional DC/DC Converter to Minimize RMS Current with Whole Operating Range", IEEE, April 12, 2017, pages 5302-5316.), hereinafter Tong, in view of Bae (US 2023/0291300), and further in view of Peretz (US 2020/0287413).
Regarding claim 14, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). However, Tong does not expressly disclose the controlled DC power source includes a buck converter.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) the controlled DC power source (figure 3, part controlled DC power source inside of 130 that control L2 through 135) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120… The control unit 130 controls the inductance of the adjustable inductor 120 according to the input voltage of the zero voltage switching unit 110 or the current flowing through the adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Peretz teaches (see figures 1-15) the controlled DC power source (figure 5A, part controlled DC power source generated by ACL_BuckP that generates IbiasP to control the Variable Inductor Lp) includes a buck converter (figure 5A, part Buck Bp) (paragraphs [0095]-[0103]; The bias driver has been realized by a buck converter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Tong and Bae with the control features as taught by Peretz and obtain the controlled DC power source includes a buck converter, because it provides more efficient control with more accurate adjustment for different power levels in order to obtain stabilization in the overall system (paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 15, Tong and Bae teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). However, Tong does not expressly disclose the variable inductor includes a core and a bias winding wound around the core; and the bias winding is connected to the controlled DC power source to adjust the inductance of the variable inductor.
Bae teaches (see figures 1-6) the variable inductor (figure 3, part L2); and the controlled DC power source (figure 3, part controlled DC power source inside of 130 that control L2 through 135) to adjust the inductance of the variable inductor (figure 3, part L2; through 135) (paragraphs [0044]-[0055]; In order to prevent such power loss, the zero voltage switching circuit 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes an adjustable inductor 120… The control unit 130 controls the inductance of the adjustable inductor 120 according to the input voltage of the zero voltage switching unit 110 or the current flowing through the adjustable inductor 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]).
Peretz teaches (see figures 1-15) the variable inductor (figure 1, part Lp) (figure 6A) includes a core (figure 6A, part core) and a bias winding (figure 6A, part bias winding that receive Ibias) wound around the core (figure 6A, part core); and the bias winding (figure 6A, part bias winding that receive Ibias) is connected to the controlled DC power source (figures 1, 5A and 6A, part controlled DC power source generated by ACL_BuckP that generates IbiasP to control the Variable Inductor Lp) to adjust the inductance of the variable inductor (figure 1, part Lp) (figure 6A) (paragraphs [0104]-[0105]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Tong and Bae with the control features as taught by Peretz and obtain the variable inductor includes a core and a bias winding wound around the core; and the bias winding is connected to the controlled DC power source to adjust the inductance of the variable inductor, because it provides more efficient control with more accurate adjustment for different power levels in order to obtain stabilization in the overall system (paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 22, claim 15 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination):
Regarding claim 11, the controller is configured or programmed to include a second PI controller to control the variable inductor based on a comparison of the parameter x and the first boundary value;
Regarding claim 20, the controlling the inductance of the variable inductor uses PI control to control the inductance of the variable inductor based on a comparison of the parameter x and the first boundary value;
In combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argues on pages 8-11 of the Applicant's Response ("Applicant respectfully disagrees because Bae does not teach or suggest that Bae’s variable inductor 120 could have been used in Tong et al.’s DAB converter. Bae is directed to a full bridge converter including MOSFETs T1—Ta, while Tong et al. is directed to dual-active bridge (DAB) converter”).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because the rejection is a 103 combination between Tong and Bae. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the primary reference Tong discloses the dual active bridge (DAB) converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) with the controller (figure 23, part controller) configured or programmed to control the DAB converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) using triple-phase-shift control (figure 23, part controller) (Abstract; The triple phase shift (TPS) modulation scheme, which provides three control freedoms, is of great importance for the optimized operation of a dual active bridge (DAB) isolated bidirectional dc/dc converter. First of all, this paper introduces an accurate, universal model to describe the analytic expressions of the DAB converter under TPS control). Bae teaches a variable inductor (figure 3, part L2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the inductor of Tong with the variable inductor features as taught by Bae and obtain a dual active bridge (DAB) converter comprising: a variable inductor; and a controller configured or programmed to control the DAB converter using triple-phase-shift control, because it provides more efficient control with zero voltage switching operation for multiples power levels in order to reduce power losses (paragraph [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art combine the dual active bridge (DAB) converter (figure 1, part DAB converter) of Tong with the variable inductor (figure 3, part L2) features as taught Bae, in order to obtain the claimed limitation because it reduces power losses with more efficient zero voltage switching control in order to obtain more efficient power converter. Additional, in order to provides more evidence of this obvious combination the reference Saeed et al. (SAEED et al., "Dual-Active-Bridge Isolated DC–DC Converter With Variable Inductor for Wide Load Range Operation", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS, Vol. 36 No. 7, January 5, 2021, 17 pages.) teaches a dual active bridge with variable inductor in this type of control (figure 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art combine Tong and Bae to obtain the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838