Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending. Claims 1-2 and 9 are presented for this examination. Claims 3-8 are withdrawn. Claims 1 and 9 are amended.
Status of Previous Rejection
Art rejection over Wang in view of Bae are withdrawn from previous office action of 09/25/2025 in view of amendment of claim 1.
Art rejection over Fujikura in view of Kawamata are maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 08/23/2023, 06/10/2024 and 05/15/2025 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim interpretation
Instant claim 1 and 9 required limitation after “when viewing a cross section which is parallel to a rolling direction and a thickness direction” is optional limitation due to conditional term “when”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikura (US20140238558 from IDS 08/03/2023) in view of Kawamata (JP2002219916A from IDS 06/10/2024).
As for claims 1-2 and 9, Fujikura discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet produced by hot rolling. Steel No A8 (Table 2) has C=0.003%, SI=0.5%, Mn=0.2%, P=0.08%, Al=0.3%, and Sn=0.1% and N=0% all within presently claimed composition ranges.
With respect to instant claims 1 and 9 required wherein clause, first, they are optional limitation according to claim interpretation above.
Second, Fujikura discloses AIN number density for the same Steel No A8 (table 2 of Col 6)is 2 piece/ µm3.
Since thickness of the steel sheet remains constant throughout the same observed area, number density of AlN per unit area is expected to be the same as number density of AlN per volume. Hence, Steel No A8 is expected to have AlN density of 2 piece/ µm2 which is within claimed density range.
As the structure of the steel sheet is made of ferrite grains. AlN precipitates is expected to exist in a grain and at a grain boundary of ferrite grains.
Fujikura differs from instant claims 1 and 9 such that it does not disclose present of Ti, Nb, V and Zr as claimed.
Kawamata discloses that Ti, Nb, V and Zr are well known impurities (paragraph [0037]) which Ti <=0.003%, V<=0.005%, Nb<=0.003% and Zr<=0.003%. (paragraph [0023])
Fujikura discloses presence of inevitable impurities. Kawamata evidences impurities such as Ti, Nb, V and Zr need to be controlled within claimed ranges. Table 2 (paragraph [0034]) explicitly discloses Ti, V, Nb and Zr should be controlled at 0.0011% (Inventive Example of Table 2)
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the invention is made to control impurities of Ti, Nb, V and Zr at 0.0011% as suggested by Kawamata, in the hot rolled steel sheet of Fujikura for reducing inevitable impurities because Kawamata suggests controlling inevitable impurities such as Ti, Nb, V and Zr improved magnetic properties.
Response to Argument
In response to argument filed on 12/22/2025 that examiner’s calculated number density based on Wang no longer overlaps with the claimed ranges, argument is moot since Wang is withdrawn.
In response to argument that Fujikura’558 disclosed number density of the AlN is expected to be zero, argument is not persuasive because Table 2 of Col 6 in Fujikura discloses Inventive Steel No A8 has number density of AlN of 2 at final rolling temperature of 960 degree C.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733