DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the applicant's amendment submitted on 01/20/2026. Claims 4-5, 9 and 13 have been amended. Claims 11-12 have been canceled. Claims 16-22 are newly added. Thus, claims 1-10 and 13-22 are currently pending in the instant application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0088], the limitation recites “the second cross section S2 is a surface of the second part 202” should be changed to --the second cross section S2 is a surface of the second part 212-- because of a minor error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show recites “a notch of the second groove on the first side is entirely located on the concave surface of the first groove, or a notch of the second groove on the first side is partially located on the concave surface of the first groove” in claims 4 and 18, and the limitation recites “a notch of one of the plurality of second grooves on the first side is partially located on the concave surface of the first groove; and the plurality of second grooves comprise at least one second groove whose notch on the first side is located outside the first groove” in claims and 19 as described in the specification. There are not any reference number shown a notch in any drawings. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10,13-17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S Publication No. 20200076058 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zang discloses an antenna slot structure, wherein the antenna slot structure comprises:
a metal frame (via a multiple conductive or metal segment housing 602), wherein the metal frame comprises a first part (which is a first housing segment 620) and a second part (which is a second housing segment 630), and the first part (620) and the second part (630) are separated to form an antenna slot (see fig. 6A-6B and 7A-7B, see paragraph [0046], [0052], and [0132]);
at least one of the first part (620) and the second part (630) is provided with a first groove at the antenna slot; the first groove starts from the antenna slot and extends toward a direction away from the antenna slot (see fig. 6B, which is the first groove is the portion of 620 which has its bottom the opening 646 – this structure is equivalent to structure 2111 in fig. 4A).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose an insulating plastic, and the insulating plastic fills the first groove and the antenna slot.
However, Zhang discloses a liquid polymer may be injected into a gap defined between the first housing segment and the second housing segment to define a non-conductive housing segment. The liquid polymer may be injected into the first and second openings. The liquid polymer may have an array of fibers dispersed within the polymer and substantially aligned along one or more fiber directions (see paragraph [0016], [0019], and [0054]). Zhang further discloses the non-conductive housing segment 703 being formed from a non-conductive material (e.g., a fiber reinforced polymer), the gap filled by the non-conductive housing segment 703 may be configured to reduce capacitive coupling between the first housing segment 620 and the second housing segment 630 (see paragraph [0133]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna slot structure as taught by Zhang having the insulating plastic fills the first groove and the antenna slot, such as the non-conductive housing segment at least partially or completely fills the openings, holes, and recesses of the interlock features thereby creating or enhancing the structural coupling between the housing segments (see paragraph [0131]).
The modification provides the non-conductive housing segment at least partially or completely encapsulates an interior surface(s) of the housing segments and forms a water-tight or waterproof seal between the first and second housing segments. The water-tight or waterproof seal may be due to a surface bond formed between the (interior) surfaces of the first and second housing segments and mating surfaces of the non-conductive housing segment; and the surface bond is improved or facilitated by etching portions (e.g., one or more interior surfaces) of the first and second housing segments to enhance the roughness of the respective portions thereby enhancing the bond (see paragraph [0132]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang disclose the antenna slot structure according to claim 1, wherein a concave surface of the first groove comprises at least one of the following: a milled trench or a laser carving (see opening 646 in concave portion of fig. 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 8. Additionally or alternatively, other material removal techniques may be used including, without limitation, laser ablation, laser melting, laser cutting, abrasive grinding, surface blasting, and so on, see paragraph [0150]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the antenna slot structure according to claim 1, wherein the metal frame (via first housing segment 620 and second housing segment 630) comprises a first side and a second side connected in sequence, and the first groove is located on the first side (see fig. 6A-6B and 8);
at least one of the first part (620) and the second part (630) is further provided with one or more second grooves on the second side (see fig. 6A-6B and 8); and the insulating plastic covers the first side and the second side and fills the one or more second grooves (see paragraph [0049] and [0132]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the antenna slot structure according to claim 3, wherein a concave surface of the one or more second grooves comprises at least one of the following: a milled trench or a laser carving (see opening 646 or 648 in the concave portion of fig. 6A-6B, and 8. Additionally or alternatively, other material removal techniques may be used including, without limitation, laser ablation, laser melting, laser cutting, abrasive grinding, surface blasting, and so on, see paragraph [0150]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the antenna slot structure according to claim 3, wherein the one or more second grooves comprise at least one of the following: a through groove or a blind groove (see fig. 6A-6B and 8, which has opening 646 or 654 in the concave portion, and does not extend through the entire frame, which is a blind hole or blind recess, see paragraph [0126] and [0127]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the antenna slot structure according to claim 3, wherein the first part and the second part both comprise the one or more second grooves, and a quantity of the one or more second grooves comprised in the first part is equal to a quantity of the one or more second grooves comprised in the second part (see fig. 6B discloses a second groove which has its bottom opening 648, which may considered as a second groove meaning that there is one second groove on the first part 620 and one second groove on the second part 630, via an array of holes 662 may be formed into a surface of the machined recess 660 and may be at least partially filled with the polymer of the split, see paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the antenna slot structure according to claim 1, wherein the first part (620) and the second part (630) both comprise the first groove, and a quantity of first grooves comprised in the first part is equal to a quantity of first grooves comprised in the second part (see fig. 6-8), which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises one or more antenna slot structures (see abstract, fig. 6A-6B and 7A-7B, paragraph [0002]),
wherein each of the one or more antenna slot structures comprises: a metal frame (via a multiple conductive or metal segment housing 602, and the first housing segment 620 and the second housing segment 630 may be formed from a conductive material including a metal or metal alloy. Example metals include, without limitation, steel, stainless steel, aluminum, titanium, and/or a metal alloy, see paragraph [0122]),
wherein the metal frame comprises a first part (which is a first housing segment 620) and a second part (which is a second housing segment 630), and the first part (620) and the second part (630) are separated to form an antenna slot (which is the first housing segment 620 defines a first end surface 622 formed along an end of the first housing segment 620. The first end surface 622 is opposite a second end surface 632 of the second housing segment 632. The first end surface 622 and the second end surface 632 define an external gap that is eventually filled with the non-conductive housing segment (see non-conductive housing segment 703 of FIGS. 7A and 7B), see a marked-up figure 6A above, and paragraph [0124], and see fig. 6A-6B and 7A-7B, paragraph [0046], [0052], and [0132]);
at least one of the first part (620) and the second part (630) is provided with a first groove at the antenna slot; the first groove starts from the antenna slot and extends toward a direction away from the antenna slot (see fig. 6B, which is the first groove is the portion of 620 which has its bottom the opening 646 – this structure is equivalent to structure 2111 in fig. 4A, which is an array of holes 662 may be formed into a surface of the machined recess 660 and may be at least partially filled with the polymer of the split (e.g., the non-conductive housing segment 703 of FIGS. 7A and 7B), see paragraph [0130] and [0135]).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose an insulating plastic, and the insulating plastic fills the first groove and the antenna slot.
However, Zhang discloses a liquid polymer may be injected into a gap defined between the first housing segment and the second housing segment to define a non-conductive housing segment. The liquid polymer may be injected into the first and second openings. The liquid polymer may have an array of fibers dispersed within the polymer and substantially aligned along one or more fiber directions (see paragraph [0016], [0019], and [0054]). Zhang further discloses the non-conductive housing segment 703 being formed from a non-conductive material (e.g., a fiber reinforced polymer), the gap filled by the non-conductive housing segment 703 may be configured to reduce capacitive coupling between the first housing segment 620 and the second housing segment 630 (see paragraph [0133]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna slot structure as taught by Zhang having the insulating plastic fills the first groove and the antenna slot, such as the non-conductive housing segment at least partially or completely fills the openings, holes, and recesses of the interlock features thereby creating or enhancing the structural coupling between the housing segments (see paragraph [0131]).
The modification provides the non-conductive housing segment at least partially or completely encapsulates an interior surface(s) of the housing segments and forms a water-tight or waterproof seal between the first and second housing segments. The water-tight or waterproof seal may be due to a surface bond formed between the (interior) surfaces of the first and second housing segments and mating surfaces of the non-conductive housing segment; and the surface bond is improved or facilitated by etching portions (e.g., one or more interior surfaces) of the first and second housing segments to enhance the roughness of the respective portions thereby enhancing the bond (see paragraph [0132]).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Zhang discloses the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the electronic device comprises a plurality of antenna slot structures, and further comprises a first short edge, a first long edge, a second short edge, and a second long edge connected in sequence; the plurality of antenna slot structures comprise a first group of antenna slot structures and a second group of antenna slot structures; the first group of antenna slot structures is located on the first long edge; and the second group of antenna slot structures is located on the second long edge (see fig. 6-8); and electronic device according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of antenna slot structures further comprises a third group of antenna slot structures and a fourth group of antenna slot structures; the third group of antenna slot structures is located on the first short edge; and the fourth group of antenna slot structures is located on the second short edge (see fig. 6-8), which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang disclose the antenna slot structure according to claim 13, wherein a concave surface of the first groove comprises at least one of the following: a milled trench or a laser carving (see opening 646 in concave portion of fig. 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 8. Additionally or alternatively, other material removal techniques may be used including, without limitation, laser ablation, laser melting, laser cutting, abrasive grinding, surface blasting, and so on, see paragraph [0150]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the antenna slot structure according to claim 13, wherein the metal frame (via first housing segment 620 and second housing segment 630) comprises a first side and a second side connected in sequence, and the first groove is located on the first side (see fig. 6A-6B and 8);
at least one of the first part (620) and the second part (630) is further provided with one or more second grooves on the second side (see fig. 6A-6B and 8); and the insulating plastic covers the first side and the second side and fills the one or more second grooves (see paragraph [0049] and [0132]).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang discloses the antenna slot structure according to claim 17, wherein a concave surface of the one or more second grooves comprises at least one of the following: a milled trench or a laser carving (see opening 646 or 648 in the concave portion of fig. 6A-6B, and 8. Additionally or alternatively, other material removal techniques may be used including, without limitation, laser ablation, laser melting, laser cutting, abrasive grinding, surface blasting, and so on, see paragraph [0150]).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang discloses the antenna slot structure according to claim 17, wherein the one or more second grooves comprise at least one of the following: a through groove or a blind groove (see fig. 6A-6B and 8, which has opening 646 or 654 in the concave portion, and does not extend through the entire frame, which is a blind hole or blind recess, see paragraph [0126] and [0127]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the objections above should be fixed in order place application in allowance condition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s amendment to the specification referring to paragraph [0088]. FIG. 4C, the second part 212 forms a second cross section S2 at the antenna slot 22, and the second cross section S2 is a surface of the second part [[202]] 121 adjacent to the antenna slot. There is still not any reference number 121 shown in the specification or drawings. Therefore, the examiner still objects to the specification.
In response to applicant’s remarks on page 9 about the drawing objections. However, there are not any reference number shown a notch in any drawings or in the specification. Therefore, the examiner still objects to the drawings.
In response to applicant’s remarks on pages 9-14, particularly that Zhang does not teach or suggest that "the metal frame comprises a first part and a second part, and the first part and the second part are separated to form an antenna slot; at least one of the first part and the second part is provided with a first groove at the antenna slot; the first groove starts from the antenna slot and extends toward a direction away from the antenna slot; and the insulating plastic fills the first groove and the antenna slot". Such an underline limitation is completely absent from Zhang. The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
First, the applicant is also advised that in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the interferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Preda, 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968). In this case, the examiner submits in the office action above that in claim 1 and clarify that Zhang discloses a metal frame (via a multiple conductive or metal segment housing 602, and the first housing segment 620 and the second housing segment 630 may be formed from a conductive material including a metal or metal alloy. Example metals include, without limitation, steel, stainless steel, aluminum, titanium, and/or a metal alloy, see paragraph [0122]), wherein the metal frame comprises a first part (which is a first housing segment 620) and a second part (which is a second housing segment 630), and the first part (620) and the second part (630) are separated to form an antenna slot (which is the first housing segment 620 defines a first end surface 622 formed along an end of the first housing segment 620. The first end surface 622 is opposite a second end surface 632 of the second housing segment 632. The first end surface 622 and the second end surface 632 define an external gap that is eventually filled with the non-conductive housing segment (see non-conductive housing segment 703 of FIGS. 7A and 7B), see a marked-up figure 6A above, and paragraph [0124], and see fig. 6A-6B and 7A-7B, paragraph [0046], [0052], and [0132]);
at least one of the first part (620) and the second part (630) is provided with a first groove at the antenna slot; the first groove starts from the antenna slot and extends toward a direction away from the antenna slot (see fig. 6B, which is the first groove is the portion of 620 which has its bottom the opening 646 – this structure is equivalent to structure 2111 in fig. 4A, which is an array of holes 662 may be formed into a surface of the machined recess 660 and may be at least partially filled with the polymer of the split (e.g., the non-conductive housing segment 703 of FIGS. 7A and 7B), see paragraph [0130] and [0135]).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose an insulating plastic, and the insulating plastic fills the first groove and the antenna slot.
However, Zhang discloses a liquid polymer may be injected into a gap defined between the first housing segment and the second housing segment to define a non-conductive housing segment. The liquid polymer may be injected into the first and second openings. The liquid polymer may have an array of fibers dispersed within the polymer and substantially aligned along one or more fiber directions (see paragraph [0016], [0019], and [0054]). Zhang further discloses the non-conductive housing segment 703 being formed from a non-conductive material (e.g., a fiber reinforced polymer), the gap filled by the non-conductive housing segment 703 may be configured to reduce capacitive coupling between the first housing segment 620 and the second housing segment 630 (see paragraph [0133]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna slot structure as taught by Zhang having the insulating plastic fills the first groove and the antenna slot, such as the non-conductive housing segment at least partially or completely fills the openings, holes, and recesses of the interlock features thereby creating or enhancing the structural coupling between the housing segments (see paragraph [0131]).
The modification provides the non-conductive housing segment at least partially or completely encapsulates an interior surface(s) of the housing segments and forms a water-tight or waterproof seal between the first and second housing segments. The water-tight or waterproof seal may be due to a surface bond formed between the (interior) surfaces of the first and second housing segments and mating surfaces of the non-conductive housing segment; and the surface bond is improved or facilitated by etching portions (e.g., one or more interior surfaces) of the first and second housing segments to enhance the roughness of the respective portions thereby enhancing the bond (see paragraph [0132]).
Furthermore, with respect to the above distinguishing technical features, insulating plastics, as a common nonmetallic insulating material, are often used for filling of crevices and fixing of structures. Thus, it will be apparent to one of person skilled in the art that the technical solution of claim 1 can be obtained in combination with the technical means commonly used in the art on the basis of comparative to Zhang.
Second, applicant is reminded that during patent examination, the pending claims must be "given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541,550-51 (CCPA 1969). Further, the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQe2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Also, claims in a pending application should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974). Things clearly shown in reference patent drawing qualify as prior art features, even though unexplained by the specification. In re Mraz, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). Therefore, the examiner interprets the claim as broadest reason interpretation as stated in the office action above and the marked up drawing above.
For the reason stated as stated above, the examiner still maintains the rejections and makes this office action as final.
Citation of Relevance Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wu (CN 108281753 A) discloses antenna system and a mobile terminal. the antenna system comprises at least one antenna group, each antenna set comprises a first antenna and a second antenna, the first antenna is formed on metal frame, comprising a second slot is opened with a first slot on the metal frame and connected with the first gap; a first gap extending along the circumferential direction of the metal frame, the second slit extending along the direction vertical to the direction of the first gap to divide the first gap edge of the metal frame into a first branch and a second branch, and a second antenna is formed on the metallization pattern layer arranged at intervals with the metal frame. the metal pattern layer is located on the circuit board side facing away from the space in the metal frame. In the invention, the mobile terminal is added to the original basis at least one of antenna groups, the mobile terminal can satisfy the 5G to mobile communication and data transmission to, and ensure good antenna isolation and correlation.
Froese et al. (U.S Publication No. 20220006176 A1) discloses a device includes a display and a housing. The housing surrounds the display and has four corners defining portions of an exterior surface of the device. The housing includes a first housing segment defining at least part of a first corner of the four corners and configured to operate as an antenna; a second housing segment defining at least part of a second corner of the four corners; and a third housing segment defining at least part of a third corner of the four corners. The third corner forms part of the housing diagonally opposite the second corner. The housing further includes a non-conductive housing component that structurally couples the first housing segment to another portion of the housing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844 04/16/2026