Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention in the reply filed on October 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard, the “or” language, the condition would also not occur and the step or function claimed would never be realized, hence the claim does not require to perform the step or function. See Ex parte Katz, 2011 WL 514314, at 4-5 (BPAI Jan. 27, 2011, 2011 WL 1211248 at 2 (BPAI Mar. 25, 2011); see also In re Johnston, 435 f.3d 1381, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2006)( "optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted”). “Or” conditions are not limitations against which prior art must be found. Under the broadest scenario, the steps or functions dependent on the “or” condition would not be invoked, and such, the Examiner is not required to find these limitations in the prior art in order to render the claim anticipated. In re Am. Acad. Of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 f.3d 1359, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Specification
The use of the term ZIGBEE, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG Radio Access Network (NG-RAN); Stage 2 functional specification of User Equipment (UE) positioning in NG-RAN (Release 15), 3GPP TS 38.305 V15.8.0(2021-03).3GPP 2021-03-29.
3rd Generation Partnership Project discloses a method of measurement reporting for determination of a position of a UE (user equipment), the method comprising measuring, at the UE, a plurality of PRS resources (positioning reference signal resources) (fig 8.2.3.3.1-1, pages 46-47, chapter 8.2.3.3.1 and transmitting, from the UE to a network entity, a PRS measurement report including one or more first measurements of one or more first PRS resources of the plurality of PRS resources and including an indication of one or more second PRS resources of the plurality of PRS resources corresponding to one or more second measurements made by the UE and omitted from the PRS measurement report (chapters 8.2.1, 8.2.3.3.1 to 8.2.3.3.2, pages 46-47.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG Radio Access Network (NG-RAN); Stage 2 functional specification of User Equipment (UE) positioning in NG-RAN (Release 15), 3GPP TS 38.305 V15.8.0(2021-03).3GPP 2021-03-29 in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0067990 (Opshaug, et al).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 13, by 3rd Generation Partnership Project discloses all subject matter, note the above paragraph which states determination of a position of a UE (user equipment), the method comprising measuring, at the UE, a plurality of PRS resources (positioning reference signal resources) (fig 8.2.3.3.1-1, pages 46-47, chapter 8.2.3.3.1 and transmitting, from the UE to a network entity, a PRS measurement report including one or more first measurements of one or more first PRS resources of the plurality of PRS resources and including an indication of one or more second PRS resources of the plurality of PRS resources corresponding to one or more second measurements made by the UE and omitted from the PRS measurement report (chapters 8.2.1, 8.2.3.3.1 to 8.2.3.3.2, pages 46-47), except for a transceiver, a memory, and a processor, communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, the means, and non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium comprising processor-readable instructions. Opshaug, et al teaches the use of a transceiver, a memory, and a processor, communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, the means, and non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium comprising processor-readable instructions in an user equipment for the purpose of supporting location of a user equipment (UE) performed by the UE, may include determining to use a measurement gap for intra-frequency positioning measurements outside a bandwidth part of the UE, note figure 3, #354a-r, 382, 380, claim 36. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of a transceiver, a memory, and a processor, communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, the means, and non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium comprising processor-readable instructions in an user equipment for the purpose of supporting location of a user equipment (UE) performed by the UE, may include determining to use a measurement gap for intra-frequency positioning measurements outside a bandwidth part of the UE in the user equipment of 3rd Generation Partnership Project in order to have a second PRS resources comprises a PRS resource identity for each of the one or more second PRS resources.
Regarding claim 9, this is the inherent means plus function of the apparatus claim and is rejected for the same reasons stated above.
Regarding claims 2, 6, 10, and 14, note ¶3, 49, 72, 101, etc. in Opshaug, et al shows the indication of the one or more second PRS resources comprises a PRS resource identity for each of the one or more second PRS resources.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG Radio Access Network (NG-RAN); Stage 2 functional specification of User Equipment (UE) positioning in NG-RAN (Release 15), 3GPP TS 38.305 V15.8.0(2021-03).3GPP 2021-03-29 in view of WO 2020/064698.
3rd Generation Partnership Project discloses all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for the PRS measurement report includes a further indication corresponding to at least one of the one or more first measurements and indicating whether at least one of the one or more first measurements resulted from full processing of a respective one of the one or more first PRS resources or partial processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources (claims 3, 7, 11, 15) and the indication indicates whether the at least one of the one or more first measurements resulted from partial time processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources, or partial frequency processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources, or a combination thereof (claims 4, 8, 12, 16). WO 2020/064698 teaches the use of the PRS measurement report includes a further indication corresponding to at least one of the one or more first measurements and indicating whether at least one of the one or more first measurements resulted from full processing of a respective one of the one or more first PRS resources or partial processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources and the indication indicates whether the at least one of the one or more first measurements resulted from partial time processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources, or partial frequency processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources, or a combination thereof for the purpose of operational tasks to be performed in slots that are partially overlapped by measurement gaps in a wireless communication system, note pages 15-21. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of the PRS measurement report includes a further indication corresponding to at least one of the one or more first measurements and indicating whether at least one of the one or more first measurements resulted from full processing of a respective one of the one or more first PRS resources or partial processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources and the indication indicates whether the at least one of the one or more first measurements resulted from partial time processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources, or partial frequency processing of the respective one of the one or more first PRS resources, or a combination thereof for the purpose of operational tasks to be performed in slots that are partially overlapped by measurement gaps in a wireless communication system, as taught by WO 2020/064698, in 3rd Generation Partnership Project, in order to perform scheduled communications operations for a serving cell comprises determining a communication slot that is partially overlapped by a measurement gap, the communication slot being associated with a serving cell of the wireless device.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Conclusion
If applicants wish to request for an interview, an "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form (PTOL-413A) should be submitted to the examiner prior to the interview in order to permit the examiner to prepare in advance for the interview and to focus on the issues to be discussed. This form should identify the participants of the interview, the proposed date of the interview, whether the interview will be personal, telephonic, or video conference, and should include a brief description of the issues to be discussed. A copy of the completed "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form should be attached to the Interview Summary form, PTOL-413 at the completion of the interview and a copy should be given to applicant or applicant's representative.
WILLIAM D. CUMMING
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2645
/WILLIAM D CUMMING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645