Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umeda et al., United States Patent Publication 2014/0010464 (hereinafter “Umeda”).
Claim 1:
Umeda discloses:
An image processing apparatus, comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (see paragraph [0049]). Umeda teaches memory to store instructions; and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (see paragraph [0050]). Umeda teaches a processor:
acquire a plurality of person images each including a person, person identification information being generated for each of the plurality of person images and being provided to a person included in the person image, and time series information indicating a time series of the plurality of person images (see paragraphs [0073], [0078], [0143]). Umeda teaches acquiring a plurality of images of faces and having time information related to the images;
classify the person images having the person identification information being the same, into an identical group (see paragraph [0058]). Umeda teaches classifying the person having the same face into a group;
simultaneously display, on a display, at least one person image belonging to a target group being the group being a processing target, and an item input field for inputting correction item information indicating a correction item to be executed for the target group, and also decides decide a display position of the person image belonging to the target group by using the time series information (see paragraph [0158] and figure 12). Umeda teaches simultaneously displaying the images and an input field for a correction input field; and
execute correction processing according to the correction item information being input in the item input field (see paragraph [0158] and [0159]). Umeda teaches executing correction processing based on the input field.
Claim 2:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to
the display control unit displays display the person image satisfying a predetermined condition and another person image among the plurality of person images, in different methods (see paragraphs [0085]-[0089]). Umeda teaches displaying the recognized face that satisfy a predetermine condition vs another person’s image features.
Claim 3:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the
instructions to
the display control unit displays display a plurality of correction items in the
item input field in a selectable manner (see paragraphs [0158]-[0163]). Umeda teaches different corrections that can be performed to correct the classification or correct the face and improve accuracy.
Claim 5:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the correction item information being input in the item input field indicates division of the target group into a plurality of groups (see paragraph [0158]). Umeda teaches when the correction includes dividing the picture into a different group, and,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to
as the correction processing, cause, among the person images belonging to the target group, the person image being selected or the person image not being selected to belong to a new group (see paragraph [0158]). Umeda teaches moving the correct image into the new group.
Claim 6:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the correction item information being input in the item input field indicates integrating of another group collectively into the target group (see paragraph [01568]). Umeda teaches the ability to move pictures within/into different groups,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the
instructions to
as the correction processing select at least one of candidate groups by using the person image belonging to the target group, and display at least part of the person images belonging to the candidate group (see paragraph [0158]). Umeda teaches selecting a target group and moving images from one group to another candidate group, and
select, from the candidate groups, a group to be integrated into the target group according to information being input from an outside, and adds add the group being selected to the target group (see paragraph [0158]). Umeda teaches selected a candidate group to move the picture into and take the picture out of the group to be in the correct group.
Claim 7:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to
the correction execution unit select, as the candidate group, the group including the person image similar to the person image belonging to the target group (see paragraph [0158]). Umeda teaches the candidate group is a person similar to the target group such as a father/son, and
set a reference range of a similarity degree for selecting the candidate group, based on information being acquired from an outside (see paragraphs [0158]-[0160]). Umeda teaches changing parameters so that the face dictionary gets updated for subsequent recognition accuracy.
Claim 8:
Umeda discloses:
the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to
decide a display position of the person image belonging to the target group and a display position of the person image belonging to the candidate group, by using the time series information (see paragraph [0143]-[0144]). Umeda teaches deciding where an image fits into the images based on timing information.
Claim 10:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the correction item information being input in the item input field indicates deletion of at least one person image from the target group (see paragraph [0158]). Umeda teaches deleting a picture from a group that is not in the right group, and,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the
instructions to
as the correction processing, delete, from the target group, among the person images belonging to the target group, the person image being selected or the person image not being selected (see paragraph [0158]). Umeda teaches deleting from the among the person going to a target group, the person classified in the wrong group.
Claim 13:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the
instructions to
crop the new person image by using information relating to the person image included in the target group (see paragraphs [0143], [0144], [0158] and [0159]). Umeda teaches cropping new faces and recognizing new faces by changing the face dictionary to improve the future recognitions.
Claim 14:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the
instructions to
crop the new person image by using an
input from a user. (see paragraph [0142]). Umeda teaches cropping an image within the frame that was not previously trimmed.
Claim 15:
Umeda discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to display the plurality of person images belonging to the target group in time series order, and make a space for a position being equivalent to the frame image from which the person image belonging to the target group is not cropped (see paragraph [0143]-[0144]). Umeda teaches deciding where an image fits into the images based on timing information and make space for the image to be added in place.
Claim 16, 17:
Although Claim 16 is a method claims and Claim 17 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the apparatus of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda, in view of Momosaki, United States Patent Publication 20100104145.
Claim 4:
Umeda fails to expressly disclose a moving image.
Momosaki discloses:
wherein the plurality of person images are cropped from a plurality of frame images constituting a moving image (see paragraph [0023]). Momosaki teaches a plurality of images of a same person constituting a moving image, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the
instructions to
display, on the display, a moving image reproduction field for reproducing the moving image simultaneously with the person image and the item input field (see paragraph [0023]) Momosaki teaches a playback processing module configured to play back the moving image data and to display the moving image data on a second display area on the display screen; and a emphasizing processing module configured to display, when the moving image data is played back on the second display area, a face image on the first display area with emphasis.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Umeda to include a plurality of images constituting a moving image for the purpose of effectively previewing images as a list of thumbnail images, as taught by Momosaki.
Claim 9:
Umeda discloses:
when a plurality of the candidate groups are selected, decide a display position of the person image belonging to each of the plurality of candidate groups by using a difference between a position of the person image belonging to the candidate group within the frame image and a position of the person image belonging to the target group within the frame image (see paragraphs [0092] and [0143]) Umeda teaches determining the difference between positions of the images and the candidate groups to see which group it belongs.
Umeda fails to expressly disclose a moving image.
Momosaki discloses:
wherein the plurality of person images are cropped from a plurality of frame images constituting a moving image (see paragraph [0023]). Momosaki teaches a plurality of images of a same person constituting a moving image, and
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Umeda to include a plurality of images constituting a moving image for the purpose of effectively previewing images as a list of thumbnail images, as taught by Momosaki.
Claim 11:
Umeda fails to expressly disclose a moving image.
Momosaki discloses:
wherein the plurality of person images are cropped from a plurality of frame images constituting a moving image (see paragraph [0023]). Momosaki teaches a plurality of images of a same person constituting a moving image, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to display the moving image, and also displays, in the moving image, a mark indicating a position of the person image and the person identification information associated with the person image in an overlapping manner (see paragraph [0117]). Momosaki teaches displaying a mark/emphasis on the person and identification of the person , and
receive selection of at least one of the mark and the person identification information, as selection of the person image (see paragraph [0117]). Momosaki teaches a user being able to select a thumbnail.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Umeda to include a plurality of images constituting a moving image for the purpose of effectively previewing images as a list of thumbnail images, as taught by Momosaki.
Claim 12:
Umeda discloses:
the correction item information being input in the item input field indicates that a new person image to be included in the target group is cropped from any of the frame images (see paragraphs [0108]-[0110]). Umeda teaches identifying arbitrary pictures to be cropped and included to groups, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the
instructions to
display the frame image from which the person image belonging to the target group is not cropped (see paragraphs [0142]). Umeda teaches displaying the image that is not framed, and
crop the new person image from the frame image (see paragraph [0142]). Umeda teaches cropping an image within the frame that was not previously trimmed.
Umeda fails to expressly disclose a moving image.
Momosaki discloses:
wherein the plurality of person images are cropped from a plurality of frame images constituting a moving image (see paragraph [0023]). Momosaki teaches a plurality of images of a same person constituting a moving image, and
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Umeda to include a plurality of images constituting a moving image for the purpose of effectively previewing images as a list of thumbnail images, as taught by Momosaki.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 12/27/25