DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-15 are pending in the application. Claims 2 and 13 have been cancelled.
Amendments to claims 1, 12 and 14, filed on 7/28/2026, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “thermally balanced.” The specification discloses that the term "thermally balanced" means a substrate that maintains flatness within a temperature range of 25° C. to 70° C., as measured by edge lift test ([0028]). However, it is unclear what edge lift measurements are considered to indicate flatness and what measurements are not. Claims 3-11 are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “thermally balanced.” The specification discloses that the term "thermally balanced" means a substrate that maintains flatness within a temperature range of 25° C. to 70° C., as measured by edge lift test ([0028]). However, it is unclear what edge lift measurements are considered to indicate flatness and what measurements are not.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “thermally balanced.” The specification discloses that the term "thermally balanced" means a substrate that maintains flatness within a temperature range of 25° C. to 70° C., as measured by edge lift test ([0028]). However, it is unclear what edge lift measurements are considered to indicate flatness and what measurements are not. Claim 15 is rejected because it depends on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. (US 2008/0187739 A1) in view of Francis et al. (US 2018/0154606 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5-6 and 12, Baker teaches a high strength, light weight composite (a lightweight multilayer substrate) that has: (a) a core (at least one top layer) comprising a thermoset polymer and having a surface and (b) a laminate bonded to at least a portion of the surface of the core, the laminate comprising: (i) at least one layer of fibrous material having a surface, and (ii) at least one layer of thermoset binder (alternatively, at least one top layer) which is bonded to at least a portion of the surface of at least one layer of fibrous material, each thermoset binder layer optionally comprising a low density filler (Abstract).
FIG. 1A shows a composite 10 having a fibrous material layer 12 which has a surface 14 ([0059]). A layer of thermoset binder 16 is bonded to at least a portion of the surface 14 of fibrous material layer 12 ([0059]). Composite 10 also has a core 20, which comprises a thermoset polymer and has a surface 22 ([0059]). The fibrous material of fibrous material layer 12 can be a woven or non-woven material (a nonwoven core) ([0060]). The examiner notes that the composite is made using a mold or a double belt press ([0136] and [0179]). Therefore, the non-woven material is thermally compressed.
The composite also has a modulus of rupture of greater than about 2,000 pounds per square inch, and a coefficient of thermal expansion of from about 2.0x10-7 in/in/° F. to 2.0x10-5 in/in/° F (about 3.6x10-7 m/(m*°C) to 3.6x10-5 m/(m*°C), as calculated by the examiner) ([0127]). Typically, the coefficient of thermal expansion is about 2.0x10-6 in/in/° F (about 3.6x10-6 m/(m*°C)) ([0127]). In a preferred embodiment, a composite comprises expanded volcanic ash, a polyurethane core, and epoxy as the thermoset binder has a specific gravity less than about 0.60 grams per cubic centimeter and a flexural modulus greater than 6000 MPa ([0128]). As calculated by the examiner, this would be equivalent to a specific modulus range of greater than 10,000 MPa/(g/cm3), which falls within the claimed range of greater than 1200 (MPa/(g/cm3)) .
Baker does not explicitly disclose, in one embodiment, wherein the composite has the disclosed properties and comprises the fibrous material in the form of a non-woven material.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have provided, in a composite having the properties disclosed by Baker, either a woven or non-woven material for the fibrous material layer, as these are the two types of materials taught by Baker for use as the fibrous material layer.
Baker does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermally compressed nonwoven core comprises at least one thermoplastic fiber layer, wherein the at least one thermoplastic fiber layer comprises thermoplastic fibers, or wherein the lightweight multilayer substrate is thermally balanced between 25 °C and 70 °C.
However, Francis teaches providing a surfacing film on a front face and a rear reinforcement layer on a rear face on opposite sides of a symmetric central multilayer laminate, wherein the surfacing film and the rear reinforcement layer are structured to provide a panel that has balanced coefficients of thermal expansion on opposite sides of the neutral plane ([0018] and [0021]). In Example 1, warping of a panel when subjected to thermal stresses was determined ([0112]). All panels were cured as 250x270 mm flat panels at 160° C ([0112]). After de-molding, the panel was allowed to cool to room temperature (20° C.) and the panel was placed onto a flat surface to check for distortion ([0112]). To measure the level of distortion, three corners were held against the surface while measuring the distance of the highest corner from the reference flat surface ([0112]). There was no measurable warping of this panel as the height was measured at 0 mm ([0112]). Francis also teaches that the reinforcement layer 10 is comprised of a rear ply 34 of fiber reinforced resin matrix composite material ([0046] and FIG. 5). The rear ply 34 includes a second fibrous layer 36 of a plurality of continuous fibers in a resin matrix 38 ([0046]). The second fibrous layer 36 may be a non-woven material ([0049]). Typically, the continuous fibers of the second fibrous layer 36 are composed of glass fibers, thermoplastic fibers or aramid fibers ([0052]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included thermoplastic fibers in the non-woven material of Baker and to have provided the composite of Baker with a structure that exhibits no measurable warping when subjected to thermal stresses over a temperature range of 20° C to 160° C in order to obtain high performance body panel parts that have a balanced structure and meet combinations of requirements, such as low weight, high stiffness, resistance to deformation and good impact strength (Francis: [0001], [0003] and [0112]; also see [0012], [0018], [0021], [0052] and [0057]).
Claims 1 and 12 include product-by-process limitations, specifically wherein the thermally compressed nonwoven core is thermally compressed at a temperature above the glass transition temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers but below the melting temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers. The product being claimed appears to be the same as or obvious over the prior art product, in which case differences in process are not considered to impart patentability. Thus, the burden is shifted to Applicant to show that any differences in process would result in an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In addition, Francis teaches that a preform may be formed by subjecting an assembly of fibrous layers and resin, optionally in the form of prepreg layers, to a temperature of from 0 to 150° C. and/or a preform moulding pressure of from 0.01 to 80 bar or more preferably 0.9 to 50 bar to form the preform in a preform mould ([0082]). In an embodiment, Francis teaches wherein a multilayer laminate was heated to soften resin (e.g. an epoxy resin impregnated in the prepreg layers), and the heated laminate was then draped (in ambient temperature, i.e. at 20° C.) under the action of gravity into mould tool to form a preform ([0106]). Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have heated the thermoplastic fibers in the reinforcing layer between their glass transition temperature and their melting temperature under pressure (e.g., in a drape forming process such as a double diaphragm vacuum forming process) in order to similarly only soften, rather than to melt, the thermoplastic fibers for preliminary shaping of a prepreg layer (also see [0076] of Francis).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 9, Francis teaches that, in some embodiments, a filled resin surfacing film on the front face (at least one bottom layer) may be thermally balanced by both the surfacing film and the rear reinforcement layer (at least one top layer) including continuous fibers, for example a lightweight woven glass fiber layer, in a filled resin film (a reinforcing layer), with equal areal weights of resin and filler in the surfacing film and the rear reinforcement layer ([0020]). Francis also teaches that the surfacing film may comprise resin with particulate filler, for example inorganic filler particles and/or milled carbon fibers and/or milled glass fibers (a reinforcing layer) ([0011]). Francis further teaches wherein a reinforcement layer 10 (at least one top layer) is comprised of a rear ply 34 of fiber reinforced resin matrix composite material ([0046] and FIG. 5). The rear ply 34 includes a second fibrous layer 36 of a plurality of continuous fibers in a resin matrix 38 ([0046]). The second fibrous layer 36 may be a non-woven material that is continuous, in particular a unidirectional (UD) material or a multiaxial material, for example layers of aligned tows stitched together to form a biaxial fabric having structural fibers in two directions, typically two orthogonal directions, or any other multiple layer configuration ([0049]).
Regarding claims 7-8, as applied above, Francis teaches, in Example 1, that all panels were cured as 250x270 mm flat panels at 160° C ([0112]). To measure the level of distortion, three corners were held against the surface while measuring the distance of the highest corner from the reference flat surface ([0112]). There was no measurable warping of this panel as the height was measured at 0 mm ([0112]). The examiner notes that the panels would therefore have an edge lift of less than 0.50%, and less than 0.25%, as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, Baker in view of Francis remains as applied above to claims 1 and 2, teaching a lightweight multilayer substrate as claimed, including a reinforcement layer 10 (a nonwoven core) that may be a non-woven, in particular a unidirectional (UD) material or a multiaxial material, for example layers of aligned tows stitched together to form a biaxial fabric, and that typically includes continuous fibers composed of glass fibers, thermoplastic fibers or aramid fibers (bonding thermoplastic fibers together) (see particularly [0046], [0049] and [0052] of Francis). Francis also teaches a surface film (at least one top layer) ([0018]-[0020]; also [0011]). Francis further teaches that, in one embodiment a panel part and a reinforcement part comprise prepregs, incorporating a resin layer adjacent to or at least partly impregnating the central plies and rear ply ([0076]). Depending on the part complexity, the prepreg layers may be first drape formed, typically using a matched tool set in a double diaphragm vacuum forming process ([0076]). The examiner notes that, as applied to the reinforcement layer, this process would also include a step of bonding thermoplastic fibers together to create at least one thermoplastic fiber layer, and compacting (compressing) the at least one thermoplastic fiber layer, as claimed. Francis further teaches that the prepreg layup is then subjected to compression molding to form the molded composite panel ([0076]). Francis teaches that, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, in the composite panel 2, a rear reinforcement layer 10, formed from the reinforcement part and the front layer 6, formed from the surface resin film, are integrally molded with the central multilayer portion 8, formed from the panel part, to provide one or more primary structural regions 10 of the composite panel 2 ([0080]). In addition, as applied above to claim 1, Baker teaches the claimed specific modulus and thermal expansion coefficient properties, and Francis teaches thermally balanced composites.
Baker in view of Francis does not explicitly disclose wherein the step of compressing the at least one thermoplastic fiber layer to create the thermally compressed nonwoven core occurs at a temperature above the glass transition temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers but below the melting temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers.
However, Francis teaches that a preform may be formed by subjecting an assembly of fibrous layers and resin, optionally in the form of prepreg layers, to a temperature of from 0 to 150° C. and/or a preform moulding pressure of from 0.01 to 80 bar or more preferably 0.9 to 50 bar to form the preform in a preform mould ([0082]). In an embodiment, Francis teaches wherein a multilayer laminate was heated to soften resin (e.g. an epoxy resin impregnated in the prepreg layers), and the heated laminate was then draped (in ambient temperature, i.e. at 20° C.) under the action of gravity into mould tool to form a preform ([0106]).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have heated the thermoplastic fibers in the reinforcing layer between their glass transition temperature and their melting temperature under pressure (e.g., in a drape forming process such as a double diaphragm vacuum forming process) in order to similarly only soften, rather than melt, the thermoplastic fibers for preliminary shaping of a prepreg layer (also see [0076] of Francis).
Regarding claim 15, Baker teaches using a double belt press ([0179]-[0180]). Baker teaches that, as is known in the art, a double belt press has an upper belt and a lower belt, each belt being in the form of a closed or continuous loop ([0180]).
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. (US 2008/0187739 A1) in view of Francis et al. (US 2018/0154606 A1), as applied above, further in view of Pourdeyhimi et al. (US 7,060,344 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 3-9 and 12, Baker in view of Francis remains as applied above, teaching the claimed limitations.
In the alternative, with respect to the claimed product by process limitations (wherein the thermally compressed nonwoven core is thermally compressed at a temperature above the glass transition temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers but below the melting temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers), Pourdeyhimi is further applied below.
Pourdeyhimi teaches deep molded three-dimensional structures fabricated from flat planar nonwoven substrates of various types in a variety of shapes (col. 1, lines 61-63). The key to the invention for a wide range of products is to ensure that during the heating process, the fibers approach their onset of melting and are only partially melted (col. 2, lines 7-10). Pourdeyhimi also teaches that thermo-forming of nonwoven substrates is accomplished through a combination of two material phenomena: (1) rheological and (2) mechanical deformation (col. 4, lines 52-63). Rheological deformation implies that a certain amount a molecular movement is induced though the application of heat to the substrate thus softening the fiber to the point of laminar movement (same par.). To maintain fibrous characteristics without considerable change to molecular orientation and crystallinity, the forming temperature must be maintained to be above the glass transition and below the melting temperature (e.g., thermoplastic fibers or polymers have a melting temperature between 70–450° C.) (same par.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have carried out the double diaphragm vacuum forming process of Baker in view of Francis at a forming temperature above the glass transition and below the melting temperature of the thermoplastic fibers in the non-woven reinforcement layer in order to maintain fibrous characteristics without considerable change to molecular orientation and crystallinity, thereby obtaining nonwoven structures that can retain textile hand in combination with other advantageous properties, such as good resilience and compression recovery (see the paragraphs cited above and col. 3, lines 18-32).
Claims 1 and 12 include product-by-process limitations, specifically wherein the thermally compressed nonwoven core is thermally compressed at a temperature above the glass transition temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers but below the melting temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers. The \ product being claimed appears to be the same as or obvious over the prior art product, in which case differences in process are not considered to impart patentability. Thus, the burden is shifted to Applicant to show that any differences in process would result in an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product.
Regarding claims 14-15, Baker in view of Francis remains as applied above, teaching the claimed limitations.
In the alternative, with respect to the claim 14 limitation “wherein the step of compressing the at least one thermoplastic fiber layer to create the thermally compressed nonwoven core occurs at a temperature above the glass transition temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers but below the melting temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers,” Pourdeyhimi is further applied below.
Pourdeyhimi teaches deep molded three-dimensional structures fabricated from flat planar nonwoven substrates of various types in a variety of shapes (col. 1, lines 61-63). The key to the invention for a wide range of products is to ensure that during the heating process, the fibers approach their onset of melting and are only partially melted (col. 2, lines 7-10). Pourdeyhimi also teaches that thermo-forming of nonwoven substrates is accomplished through a combination of two material phenomena: (1) rheological and (2) mechanical deformation (col. 4, lines 52-63). Rheological deformation implies that a certain amount a molecular movement is induced though the application of heat to the substrate thus softening the fiber to the point of laminar movement (same par.). To maintain fibrous characteristics without considerable change to molecular orientation and crystallinity, the forming temperature must be maintained to be above the glass transition and below the melting temperature (e.g., thermoplastic fibers or polymers have a melting temperature between 70–450° C.) (same par.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have carried out the double diaphragm vacuum forming process of Baker in view of Francis at a forming temperature above the glass transition and below the melting temperature of the thermoplastic fibers in the non-woven reinforcement layer in order to maintain fibrous characteristics without considerable change to molecular orientation and crystallinity, thereby obtaining nonwoven structures that can retain textile hand in combination with other advantageous properties, such as good resilience and compression recovery (see the paragraphs cited above and col. 3, lines 18-32).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. (US 2008/0187739 A1) in view of Francis et al. (US 2018/0154606 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, further in view of Roebroeks et al. (US Patent No. 5,547,735).
Regarding claim 10, Baker in view of Francis remains as applied above.
Baker in view of Francis does not explicitly disclose wherein the reinforcing layer is an aluminum film or sheet.
However, Roebroeks teaches a glass fiber reinforced metal-polymer laminate comprising at least two metal sheets and a reinforcing layer between each of the metal sheets (col. 1, lines 42-44). The metal sheets in the laminate may be of a metal selected from the following group: aluminum alloys, steel, titanium alloys, copper alloys and magnesium alloys (col. 1, lines 45-47). Preferably, at least one of the metal sheets comprises an aluminum-copper alloy of the AA2000 series or an aluminum-zinc alloy of the AA 7000 series (col. 1, lines 47-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included a metal sheet comprising an aluminum alloy in the composites of Baker in view of Francis as a matter of conventional use in aircraft flooring and firewall applications and/or because aluminum sheets can be used to provide composites with superior impact resistance in combination with other properties that are desirable for applications such as aircraft flooring and firewall liners (Abstract, col. 17-20, col. 1 lines 29-33, and col. 5 lines 58-64).
Regarding claim 11, Roebroeks teaches wherein a reinforcing layer has a matrix of thermosetting epoxy resin, preferably a metal adhesive (col. 3, lines 56-57).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends, with respect to the 112(b) rejections of claim 1, 3-12 and 14-15, the following: ‘Claim 1 recites that "the lightweight multilayer substrate is thermally balanced between 25 °C and 70 °C." That limitation is not left to conjecture; the specification supplies an express definition, a defined test specimen, a defined measurement procedure, and defined numerical thresholds that together establish, with reasonable certainty, which substrates satisfy the "thermally balanced" limitation of claim 1 and which do not.’
Regarding this contention, applicant’s specification discloses that the term "thermally balanced" means a substrate that maintains flatness within a temperature range of 25° C. to 70° C., as measured by edge lift test ([0028]). The specification further discloses that, in one embodiment, the edge lift is less than 1 mm (0.50%) for a substrate that is 8 in×8 in. ([0045]). In another embodiment, the edge lift is less than 0.5 mm (0.25%) for an 8 in×8 in substrate ([0045]). The continuous double belt press process can also enable very flat materials over smaller distances to achieve the specification of flatness required in many industries, including the flooring industry ([0048]). Specifically, the edge lift over a 1 m distance is less than 2 mm ([0048]). Therefore, it is unclear what flatness, as measured by edge lift (e.g., 2 mm over a 1 m distance, or 1 mm or 0.5 mm for an 8 in.×8 in substrate), needs to be maintained in order for a substrate to be thermally balanced as claimed.
Applicant contends the following: “The Office Action asserts that the non-woven material of Baker is thermally compressed because the composite is made using a mold or a double belt press. However, Baker does not disclose the limitation that thermally compression occurs at a temperature above the glass transition temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers and below the melting temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers. The addition of Francis to Baker does not rectify this deficiency.”
Regarding this contention, claims 1 and 12 include the product-by-process limitation “wherein the thermally compressed nonwoven core is thermally compressed at a temperature above the glass transition temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers but below the melting temperature of at least one of the thermoplastic fibers.” The product being claimed appears to be the same as or obvious over the prior art product, in which case differences in process are not considered to impart patentability. Thus, the burden is shifted to Applicant to show that any differences in process would result in an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In addition, or in the alternative, in an embodiment, Francis teaches wherein a multilayer laminate was heated to soften resin (e.g. an epoxy resin impregnated in the prepreg layers), and the heated laminate was then draped (in ambient temperature, i.e. at 20° C.) under the action of gravity into mould tool to form a preform ([0106]). Based on this teaching, as applied above, a person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have heated the thermoplastic fibers in the reinforcing layer between their glass transition temperature and their melting temperature under pressure (e.g., during a drape forming process) in order to similarly only soften, rather than melt, the thermoplastic fibers for preliminary shaping of the prepreg layers (also see [0076] of Francis).
With respect to the method of claim 14, Baker, Francis and Pourdeyhimi (modified Baker) is applied above, wherein Pourdeyhimi meets the newly claimed process limitations. Modified Baker is also applied above to claims 1 and 12 as an alternate rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Osawa (JP2012236897A, see attachment) teaches pressing a non-woven fabric made of a thermoplastic resin together with a reinforced-fiber sheet at a temperature ranging from a glass transition temperature (Tg) or higher to less than a melting point (Tm) of the thermoplastic resin.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kevin Worrell/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789