Election/Restrictions
Claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/03/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-5 and 7-8 in the reply filed on 04/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani et al. (US 20200075964 A1, provided in the IDS filed 08/03/2023).
Regarding claims 1-2, and 5, Mizutani teaches an electrode catalyst with a carbon support that has a mode size of pores in the range of 2.1 nm to 5.1 nm (0038). This pore size is mesoporous as “mesoporous” is known in the art to mean between 2 and 50 nm. The carbon support also has catalyst metal particles inside (0035) and contain platinum as a catalytic metal (0045). The size of the catalyst particles is 2.5-5.1 nm (0017), which necessarily means that the mean particle size is also between those two values and forms a value less than 6 nm, rendering the claimed range obvious. The modal pore size is 2.1-5.1 nm (0038), which is a range that is inside the claimed range of 2-50 nm and is therefore obvious. these ranges together provide a potential r/R ratio between 0.49 (2.5/5.1) and 2.43 (5.1/2.1). Realistically, the ratio cannot go over 1.0 as the particles would not physically fit inside the pores, however, a modified range of 0.49-1 still overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-.6 and is therefore obvious in view of overlapping ranges and routine experimentation in order to prevent a decrease in performance, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Mizutani teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the carbon support is greater than 0.1 microns but less than 50 microns as shown in figures 1 and 2a. To further explain, figure 1 shows a schematic of an electrode catalyst (0024) and figure 2a shows a 3D-TEM image of an electrode catalyst (0025). Using the scale in the top left of figure 2a that denotes 0.1 micron, it is clear that the particle size is larger than 0.1 micron and figure 1 shows that the electrode catalyst is expected to terminate and does not extend significantly further than shown via fig. 2a. These figures together show that the electrode catalyst is definitively larger than 0.1 microns but smaller than 50 microns which forms a value within the claimed range and is therefore obvious.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Mizutani teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the electrode catalyst is for a fuel cell (0001).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani et al. (US 20200075964 A1) in view of Miyata et al. (US 20220021005 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Mizutani teaches claim 1 as described above but is silent to a total pore surface area greater than 80% or more of a total surface area per unit mass of mesoporous carbon support. Miyata teaches an electrode catalyst for a fuel battery that contains a mesoporous material and a metal catalyst (Miyata, abstract). Miyata further teaches that the mesoporous material has a pore surface area ratio of greater than 0.9, or 90%, in order to reduce the deterioration of the catalyst activity due to the covering of the catalyst metal particles with the ionomer (Miyata 0035, 0045). As 90% is greater than 80%, the range is obvious in view of overlapping ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the electrode catalyst with a carbon support as described by Mizutani in claim 1 and modify the carbon support to have a pore surface area ratio of greater than 0.9 in order to reduce the deterioration of catalyst activity.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728