DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/04/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 14, and 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, line 3 recites “functionalized” should read – functionalized --.
Claim 6, lines 4, 7, and 10, recite “functionalized” should read – functionalized --.
Claim 14, line 9 recites “sanitisable” should read – sanitizable --.
Claim 15, lines 5, 6, 8, 9, and 16, recite “functionalizing” should read – functionalizing --.
Claim 15, line 18 recites “stabilizer” should read – stabilizer --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8, 9 and 15 the phrase "preferably" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "preferably"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 12 and 15 the phrase "optionally" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "optionally"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al, “Design of Highly Stretchable Conductors for Next-generation Electronics” herein referred to as “Wang” (see attached).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a deformable porous elastic conductor comprising (Chapter 4, section “4.2.1 Synthesis and characterization of standing enokitake-like gold nanowire film”);
a 3D porous elastomeric substrate (various polymeric substrates that are considered to be elastomeric such as PET, PDMS, Ecoflex, and polyurethane, caption of Figure 4.3, nanowires are spaced apart resulting in porosity, Figure 4.1),
wherein a plurality of the surfaces of the 3D porous elastomeric substrate are covalently functionalised with complexing moieties (schematic of Figure 4.1 and associated discussion discloses amine functionalization using 3-aminopropyl)trimethoxysilane (APTMS)); and a plurality of metal nanowires, each complexed to at least one of the complexing moieties (Figure 4.2 discloses gold nanowires), wherein the metal nanowires are upstanding, relative to the surface to which they are attached via their respective complexing moiety (Figure 4.1d, page 107).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to claim 1, wherein the metal nanowires comprise a nanoparticle head and a nanowire tail (Figures 4.1d, 4.10, and 4.11, caption for Figure 4.11).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to any preceding claim 1, wherein the metal nanowires comprise; (i) a metal selected from the group consisting of gold, platinum, palladium, rhodium, copper, silver, ruthenium, osmium, iridium, rhenium, iron, cobalt, nickel, zinc, manganese, titanium, vanadium, chromium, molybdenum, tungsten, magnesium, lead and aluminium; and/or (ii) a noble metal; and/or (iii) gold (Figure 4.1 caption: standing gold nano-wire based films on an elastomeric surface).
Regarding claim 4 , Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to any preceding claim 1 which is; (i) compressible; and/or (ii) biocompatible; and/or (iii)chemically inert (elastomeric polymers are the fundamental support scaffold materials used in stretchable conductors, the advantages include easy fabrication, biocompatibility, high transparency, chemical inertness and mechanical strength, section “2.1.1 Elastomers as the substrates or supporting matrix”).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to any preceding claim 1, wherein; (i) the 3D porous elastomeric substrate is a sponge, or a synthetic polymer sponge, or a polyurethane sponge; and/or (ii) the complexing moieties are amine groups (amine functionalization using 3-aminopropyl)trimethoxysilane (APTMS), Figure 4.1).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to any preceding claim 1, wherein; (i) the plurality of the surfaces of the 3D porous elastomeric substrate are covalently functionalised with an (Aminoalkyl)trialkyloxysilane, or (3- Aminopropyl)trimethoxysilane or (3-Aminopropyl)triethoxysilane; and/or (ii) the plurality of the surfaces of the 3D porous elastomeric substrate are covalently functionalised with an alcoholic solution of (Aminoalkyl)trialkyloxysilane, or (3- Aminopropyl)trimethoxysilane or (3-Aminopropyl)triethoxysilane; and/or (iii)the plurality of the surfaces of the 3D porous elastomeric substrate are covalently functionalised with an aqueous solution of (Aminoalkyl)trialkyloxysilane, or (3- Aminopropyl)trimethoxysilane or (3-Aminopropyl)triethoxysilane (functionalization using APTMS solution in water, section 4.1.1 Materials and 4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AUNWs).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to any preceding claim (i) having a conductivity which is insensitive to tension, compression, bending or twisting (SNA films grown from Ecoflex exhibited exceptional stretchability up to 800%, without any loss of conductivity (Figure 4.3f red solid line), section “4.2.2 Outstanding Stretchability and mechanism”); or (ii) having a linear region of response to strain when measured as relative change in resistance (AR/Ro) with strain or relative change in current (AI/Io) with strain.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to any preceding claim 1 having either; A[[.]] (i) a conductivity of 1500 S m-1 or better, preferably a conductivity of 5500 S m-1 or better; and/or(ii) insensitivity to tensile strain as measured by relative resistance (R/Ro) of 15% or less at up to 44% strain; and/or (iii)insensitivity to compressive strain as measured by relative change in resistance (AR/Ro), of 42% or less at up to 80% compressive strain; and/or (iv)insensitivity to bending as measured by relative change in resistance (AR/Ro), of 8% or less at up to 1800 bending; and/or (v) insensitivity to twisting as measured by relative change in resistance (AR/Ro), of 21% or less at up to 10800 twisting; and/or (vi)insensitivity to washing with aqueous detergent solution as measured by relative change in resistance (AR/Ro), of 26% or less at up to 10 cycles of washing with aqueous detergent solution; and/or (vii) insensitivity to tape stripping tests as measured by relative change in resistance (AR/Ro), of 14% or less at up to 10 cycles of tape stripping test; and/or (viii) insensitivity to scratch tests as measured by relative change in resistance (AR/Ro),of 41% or less at up to 10 cycles of scratch test; and/or (ix)insensitivity to rubbing tests as measured by relative change in resistance (AR/Ro), of 50% or less at up to 10 cycles of rubbing test; or B[[.]] (i) a linear region of response to tensile strain when measured as relative change in resistance with strain (AR/Ro), in the range of 30-50% tensile strain, or 50-70% tensile strain, or 10-70% tensile strain (section “5.2.3 Mechanical robustness of the transparent nanowire-based electrode”, Figure 5.10a which illustrates a linear response in the range between 51% to 127%) ; and/or (ii) a linear region of response to compressive strain when measured as relative change in current (AI/Io) with compressive strain, in the range of 5kPa to 38kPa; preferably with a sensitivity within the linear region of 8.42kPa1.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to claim 1, embedded in a solid elastomeric material, PDMS elastomer, or an addition cure silicone rubber, preferably wherein the embedded deformable porous elastic conductor is (section “4.2.1 Synthesis and characterization of standing enokitake-like gold nanowire film”, polymer substrates including polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), Ecoflex (super stretchy silicone rubber) and polyurethane); (i) insensitive to tensile strain as measured by relative resistance (R/Ro) of 1.3 or less at up to 60% strain and 1.9 or less at up to 100% strain; and/or(ii) stretchable up to approximately 340% without loss of conductivity and/or without significant deterioration in conductivity (films retained more than 93% initial conductance after stretching to 800%, Figure 4.3h, page 110); and/or (iii)highly durable, as determined by 12% or less changes in conductivities under 5000 stretch-release cycles at 30% strain.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the deformable porous elastic conductor according to claim 1, when used as a soft electronic device, or a sensor, or a wearable sensor (the circuit was composed of 9 standing enokitake nanowire-based Janus film sensors for measuring 11 facial muscle groups, section “4.1.6 Wireless facial expression monitoring”, page 105), or a soft inductive-capacitive sensor, or a dry soft electrode, or a biophysiological monitoring electrode.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses an electrode, a biophysiological monitoring electrode (section “5.2.1 Transparent electrode fabricated by self-assembled nanomesh-templated gold nanowires”), a supercapacitor (section “4.2.4 Application as a supercapacitor”), an antenna, or an electrocatalyst comprising the deformable porous elastic conductor according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses a device, selected from the group comprising a data collection device, a biophysiological monitoring device (section “4.2.5 Application as facial expression recognition smart mask”, such excellent skin attachability also motivated the use of SNAs-based film as an electronic skin (e-skin) patches for detecting childhood Autism spectrum disorder), an Electrocardiograph (ECG) device, an Electromyograph (EMG) device, and an Electroencephalograph (EEG) device, comprising the deformable porous elastic conductor according to claim 1; optionally wherein the device is wearable, and capable of wirelessly transmitting data to a separate data logging and processing device.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the deformable porous elastic conductor or the electrode; (i) maintains a stable electrical resistance of 1Ω for over 30 days of use (long term stable electrical responses for SNAs-based gold films after storage for 1, 7, 25, and 40 weeks, caption of Figure 4.12, Figure 118); and/or (ii) has a thickness of approximately 2mm, or a thickness of less than approximately 2mm,or a thickness of approximately 1.5mm, or a thickness of less than approximately 1.5mm, or a thickness of approximately 1mm (PDMS with thickness of 1mm was chosen as the substrate of standing Janus film, Page 106, “4.1.7 Characterization”), or a thickness of less than approximately 1mm.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the device; (i) comprises an ultrathin battery, having a thickness of not more than 1mm; and/or (ii) comprises a flexible circuit board, comprising at least one microprocessor and a wireless transmitter (the circuit was composed of 9 standing enokitake nanowire-based Janus film sensors for measuring 11 facial muscle groups, and the supporting circuit was constructed with 3.3V power supply and 13,330ohm resistors, Bluetooth low energy technology used to transfer the analogue reading data of each sensor to an Android OS equipped mobile device (e.g., phone or pad style device, section “4.1.6 Wireless facial expressions monitoring”, Figure 4.3), ; and/or (iii) comprises a soft flexible adhesive for attaching the device to a user, or a subject, or a surface from which data is to be collected; and/or (iv) is not more than 6.1cm long, not more than 2.6cm wide and not more than 4mm thick; and/or (v) is reusable, cleanable and sanitisable.
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses a method of fabricating the deformable porous elastic conductor of claim 1, the method comprising the steps of; (i) optionally, pre-treating the 3D porous elastomeric substrate; preferably via air plasma treatment (an elastomeric substrate is first treated using an oxygen plasma to render its surface hydrophilic by the formation of hydroxyl groups, Page 106, section “4.2.1 Synthesis and characterization of standing enokitake-like gold nanowire Film”); (ii) functionalising the 3D porous elastomeric substrate with a functionalising agent; preferably via introducing a functionalising agent in the presence of the application of sonication and/or the application of negative pressure to facilitate infiltration or penetration of the functionalising agent into the 3D porous elastomeric substrate (the substrates were functionalized with an amino group by silanisation reaction , Page 104, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); preferably wherein the functionalising agent is; a) an (Aminoalkyl)trialkyloxysilane, or (3-Aminopropyl)trimethoxysilane, or (3-Aminopropyl)triethoxysilane (APTMS, page 104, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); and/or b) an alcoholic solution of an (Aminoalkyl)trialkyloxysilane, or (3- Aminopropyl)trimethoxysilane, or (3-Aminopropyl)triethoxysilane (section “4.1.1 Materials” and “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); and/or c) an aqueous solution of an (Aminoalkyl)trialkyloxysilane, or (3- Aminopropyl)trimethoxysilane, or (3-Aminopropyl)triethoxysilane; (iii) seeding the functionalised 3D porous elastomeric substrate with metal nanoparticles (APTMS-modified substrates were immersed into excess citrate-stabilized Au seeds (3-5nm) solution for 2 hours to ensure the saturated adsorption of gold seeds, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); preferably via introducing a seed solution comprising metal nanoparticles and optionally a stabiliser, optionally in the presence of the application of sonication and/or the application of negative pressure to facilitate infiltration or penetration of the seed solution into the 3D porous elastomeric substrate ((APTMS-modified substrates were immersed into excess citrate-stabilized Au seeds (3-5nm) solution for 2 hours to ensure the saturated adsorption of gold seeds via vigorous stirring , section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); preferably wherein the metal nanoparticles are noble metal nanoparticles; most preferably wherein the metal nanoparticles are gold nanoparticles (Au seeds (gold nanoparticles), section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); and (iv) growing metal nanowires from the metal nanoparticles (typical nanowire heights were obtained by adjusting the growth time, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); preferably via introducing a growth solution comprising a metal salt, a reducing agent and a surfactant or ligand (seed particle -anchored substrates were in contact with a growth solution, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”), optionally in the presence of the application of sonication and/or the application of negative pressure to facilitate infiltration or penetration of the growth solution into the 3D porous elastomeric substrate (vigorous stirring, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); preferably wherein the metal nanowires are gold nanowires and the metal salt is HAuCl4 (12 mM HAuCl4, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); and/or preferably wherein the reducing agent is L-ascorbic acid (29 mM L-ascorbic acid, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); and/or preferably wherein the surfactant or ligand is 4-mercaptobenzoic acid (980 uM MBA, section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”); optionally wherein the growth of the nanowires is tuned by fabricating a series of the deformable porous elastic conductors with varying concentrations of growth solution (section “4.1.2 Synthesis of standing AuNWs”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cheng et al. (US 20200152346) discloses an elastic conductor comprising: an elastomeric substrate, and an array of nanowires, wherein the nanowires are upstanding relative to the surface of the substrate (Abstract).
/D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794