DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A copy of Japanese Application JP2021-050339 has been filed with a priority date of 08 December 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/031040 to Calanca et al. (herein Calanca as cited on the 2/28/2025 IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Calanca discloses an apparatus 1 (i.e., centrifugal filtration cartridge) (see [0119]; Figs. 10-12) comprising; hollow device 2 (i.e., filter cup) comprising filter 9 that captures a microorganism (see [0118]; Figs. 10-12) and a nozzle that discharges a liquid D that has passed through the filter (see Figs. 11-12); and element 22 (i.e., contamination prevention box) connectable to the filter cup 2 and internally storing a measurement container 26 configured to store the liquid D discharged from the nozzle (see [0111-0120]; [0134-0136]; Figs. 10-12), wherein the contamination prevention box 22 includes a partition wall 21 disposed between the filter cup 2 and an opening surface of the measurement container 26 (see Figs. 10-12), the partition wall 21 has an opening 23 through which the nozzle can pass, and the nozzle has a length in which a top of the nozzle is located below a lower end of the opening and enters inside the measurement container 26 when the contamination prevention box 22 is connected to the filter cup 2 (see Figs. 10-12).
Regarding claim 2, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and discloses wherein a cross-sectional area of the opening is larger than a cross-sectional area of the nozzle and smaller than a cross-sectional area of the opening surface of the measurement container (see Figs. 10-12).
Regarding claim 6, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and wherein the nozzle has an area, and thus thickness, of well below 5 mm (see [0060]; reference 10 of Figs. 3 & 5 and Figs. 10-12).
Regarding claim 9, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and wherein there is a gap between a side surface of the nozzle and the opening 23 where the contamination prevention box 22 is connected to the filter cup 2 (see Figs. 10-12).
Regarding claim 10, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and discloses a holder, the combination of the measurement container 26 and partition wall 21, that holds the filter cup 2 and a covering device 11 (i.e., lid) connectable to a contamination prevent box 20 that covers an upper side of filter cup 2 (see [0107]; Figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 13, Calanca discloses the centrifugal filtration device of claim 1 and discloses a microbial test method (see [0141]; Figs. 10-12) thus disclosing the preparing step of claim 13. Calanca discloses the method further comprises: pipetting a test sample into the filter cup 2 (see [0127, 0141]; Fig. 10); connecting the filter cup 2 to the measurement container 26 (see [0141]; Figs. 10-12); and installing the centrifugal filtration cartridge 1 in a centrifuge in a state wherein the filter cup 2 and the measurement container 26 are connected to each other, and performing centrifugal filtration with the filter (see [0141]; Figs. 11-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/031040 to Calanca et al. (herein Calanca as cited on the 2/28/2025 IDS.
Regarding claim 4, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however, fails to disclose “wherein the contamination prevention box stores a plurality of the measurement containers, the partition wall has a plurality of openings provided in respective upper portions of the plurality of measurement containers, and the filter cup has a plurality of nozzles equal in number to the number of the plurality of measurement containers” as recited in the instant claims. However, the limitations as recited in claim 4 merely amount to duplication of elements and their arrangements as disclosed in independent claim 1. MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. Duplication of Parts states that a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new or unexpected results is produced. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate parts so that the contamination prevention box stores a plurality of the measurement containers, the partition wall has a plurality of openings provided in respective upper portions of the plurality of measurement containers, and the filter cup has a plurality of nozzles equal in number to the number of the plurality of measurement containers for the benefit of multiple simultaneous analysis.
Regarding claim 5, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and discloses wherein the partition wall 21 couples and locks with filter cup 2 (i.e., creates a seal) closing off opening 23 (see [0111]; Figs. 10-12).
Calanca fails to disclose “wherein … the tip of the nozzle has a needle shape” as recited in the instant claim, however, MPEP 2144.04 IV. B. Changes in Shape states that the courts have held that a particular configuration of a claimed element is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the rat would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have any desired shape of nozzle for the benefit of controlling discharge of liquid.
Regarding claim 7, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, however, fails to disclose “wherein, in a state where the contamination prevention box is connected to the filter cup, a plane including the tip of the nozzle is located at a distance of 1 mm or more below from a lower surface of the partition wall” as recited in the instant claim. Calanca does disclose the partition wall 21 is designed to control the position of the filter cup 2 and thus the nozzle within the contamination prevention box 22 (see [0111]; Figs. 10-12). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust the position of the nozzle, including 1 mm or more from a lower surface of the partition wall, within the contamination prevention box by adjusting the size/shape of the partition wall 21 as desired for the benefit of accommodating a particular shape of the filter cup 2 (see [0111] of Calanca).
Regarding claim 8, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, however, fails to disclose “wherein, in a state where the contamination prevention box is connected to the filter cup, a plane including the tip of the nozzle is located at a distance of 1 mm or more below from the opening surface of the measurement container” as recited in the instant claim. Calanca does disclose the partition wall 21 is designed to control the position of the filter cup 2 and thus the positions of the nozzle within the measurement container (see [0111]; Figs. 10-12). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust the position of the nozzle, including 1 mm or more from the opening surface of the measurement container, by adjusting the size/shape of the partition wall 21 as desired for the benefit of accommodating a particular shape of the filter cup 2 (see [0111] of Calanca).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/031040 to Calanca et al. (herein Calanca as cited on the 2/28/2025 IDS in view of United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0341641 to Williams et al. (herein Williams as cited on the 02/28/2025 IDS.
Regarding claim 3, Calanca discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and discloses what could be considered a first box of the measurement container above the partition wall 21 and a second box of the measurement container below the partition wall 21 (see Figs. 10-12).
Calanca fails to disclose “the first box and the second box are configured to be separable” as recited in the instant claim.
Williams discloses an apparatus for collection, filtration and concentration of biological samples (see abstract) comprising: a filter cup 10; a filter (see [0026]); a nozzle 15; and a contamination prevention box, the combination of 6, 7, 12, 13, & 14 for storing a measurement box, the combination of 6, 12, & 14, wherein 6 (i.e., first box) and 12 (i.e., second box) are configured to be separable (see Figs. 1, 3, & 9).
Williams and Calanca are analogous in the field of centrifugal filtration cartridges. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the measurement container of Calanca to be comprised of a first and second box configurable to separable for the benefit of providing both a sampling portion and a processing portion which reduces sample handling, thereby decreasing the possibility of contamination of the sample and the contact environment (see [0044] of Williams).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 3, including the measurement container 6, 12, & 14 and the first 6 and second 12 boxes of Williams (see Figs. 1, 3, & 9 of Williams) and thus the combination of references render obvious “wherein the measurement container protrudes from the second box when the first box and the second box are separated” as recited in the instant claim as element 14 of the measurement container protrudes from second box 12 when the first box 6 and second 12 are separated (see Fig. 1 of Williams). Furthermore, Williams discloses this design is advantageous for reducing spilling and preventing contamination and would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date (see [0034] of Williams).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/031040 to Calanca et al. (herein Calanca as cited on the 2/28/2025 IDS in view of United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0341641 to Williams et al. (herein Williams as cited on the 02/28/2025 IDS and in further view of United States Patent Application Publication US 2020/0164376 to Gedig et al. (herein Gedig).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1, however fails to disclose “a waste liquid container connectable to the filter cup in a state where the contamination prevention box is removed therefrom” as recited in the instant claim.
Gedig discloses a flow cell for the selective enrichment of particles from a fluid sample (see abstract), wherein the flow cell comprises a filter element 25 (see [0052]) that is connected to a waste conduit 26 (see Fig. 6A; [0070]).
Gedig is analogous in the art of particle separation for analysis using filtration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the filter cup of Calanca in view of Williams connectable to a waste liquid container for the benefit of removing undesirable sample components (see [0070] of Gedig).
Conclusion
/KATHRYN ELIZABETH LIMBAUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797