DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/15/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-10 in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2020/0359688).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a smoking article (cigarette) comprising the claimed structural components, as follows:
a tobacco medium accommodation portion containing a solid tobacco material including cut tobacco leaves, wherein the cut tobacco may be formed by finely cutting a reconstituted tobacco sheet and arranged as a column within the cigarette (¶¶ [0038]–[0039]);
a paper wrapper/paper tube structure enclosing the tobacco medium accommodation portion (¶¶ [0016], [0018], [0032], [0036], [0063]; FIGS. 1A–1B, 3);
a moisturizer accommodation portion disposed on one side of the tobacco medium accommodation portion (¶¶ [0032]–[0035]; FIGS. 1A–1B), the moisturizer accommodation portion comprising an aerosol generating material including glycerin and propylene glycol (¶¶ [0033]–[0035]);
and a filter portion disposed on the opposite side of the tobacco medium accommodation portion (¶¶ [0041]–[0043]; FIGS. 1A–1B).
Claim 1 further recites “wherein the entire cigarette column portion is heated by a heater.” However, because the heater is not a component of the claimed smoking article, this limitation merely describes a condition of use involving an external aerosol generation device and does not impose a structural limitation on the smoking article itself. Jang nonetheless teaches use of the cigarette with an aerosol generation device including a heater configured to heat the tobacco medium accommodation portion (¶¶ [0046]–[0049], [0052]–[0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Claim 4 depends from claim 1 and further recites that the cut tobacco leaves are prepared by finely cutting a slurry-type reconstituted tobacco sheet. Claim 4 recites product-by-process language and, under MPEP § 2113, is evaluated based on the product itself rather than the recited process.
Jang teaches cut tobacco strands formed by finely cutting a reconstituted tobacco sheet, including slurry-type reconstituted tobacco sheets, for use in a tobacco medium accommodation portion (¶¶ [0038]–[0039]). Because Jang teaches the same cut tobacco product, regardless of the process by which it is made, claim 4 is anticipated by Jang under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 recites that the cut tobacco leaves are arranged in the same direction. Jang teaches forming the tobacco medium accommodation portion by combining a plurality of tobacco strands in parallel, thereby arranging the strands in the same direction (¶ [0038]). Accordingly, claim 5 is anticipated by Jang under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Regarding claim 6, Claim 6 recites that the aerosol generating material comprises glycerin and propylene glycol, and optionally nicotine. Jang teaches that the moisturizer accommodation portion contains glycerin and propylene glycol, and may further include nicotine (¶¶ [0033]–[0035], [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Claim 7 recites that the filter portion comprises a first filter portion having a cavity and a second filter portion filled with a filtration material. Jang teaches a filter portion composed of one or more segments, including a tube filter having a hollow cavity and additional filter segments formed of filtration material (¶ [0090]; FIGS. 5A–5B).
Regarding claim 8, Claim 8 recites that at least one segment is wrapped with a segment wrapper. Jang teaches that individual segments of the cigarette are wrapped by wrappers, and further teaches segment-level wrapping around the moisturizer accommodation portion (¶¶ [0032]–[0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 9 recites that a plurality of segments is wrapped with a total wrapper. Jang teaches that the cigarette is wrapped by at least one wrapper enclosing the plurality of segments constituting the cigarette (¶¶ [0032], [0070]; FIGS. 1A–1B). Accordingly, claim 9 is anticipated by Jang under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2020/0359688) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Minzoni (US 2018/0177235).
Regarding claim 2, Claim 2 recites that a length of the cigarette column portion is one-half of a length of the medium accommodation portion.
Jang teaches a smoking article including a tobacco medium accommodation portion comprising multiple segments arranged along a longitudinal direction (¶¶ [0032]–[0036]; FIGS. 1A–1B). However, Jang does not teach a specific length ratio between the cigarette column portion and the overall medium accommodation portion.
Minzoni discloses aerosol-generating smoking articles in which relative lengths of individual segments are selected and adjusted to achieve desired aerosol delivery, draw characteristics, and compatibility with aerosol-generating devices (¶¶ [0048]–[0053], [0060]–[0064]). Minzoni further discloses that segment lengths may be proportioned relative to one another while maintaining a desired overall article length (¶¶ [0056]–[0059]).
Jang and Minzoni are in the same field of endeavor, namely aerosol-generating smoking articles configured for use with electronic heating devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a length of the cigarette column portion that is one-half of the length of the medium accommodation portion in the smoking article taught by Jang, in view of Minzoni’s disclosure of proportioning segment lengths to achieve predictable aerosol delivery and draw characteristics.
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 recites that the cigarette column portion has a length of 4 to 8 mm and that the paper tube portion has a length of 4 to 8 mm.
Jang teaches a smoking article having a tobacco medium accommodation portion and a paper tube structure arranged along the longitudinal axis of the article (¶¶ [0032], [0036]–[0039]). However, Jang does not teach specific numerical length ranges for the cigarette column portion or the paper tube portion.
Minzoni discloses selecting specific segment lengths within defined millimeter-scale ranges for aerosol-generating articles to tune aerosol formation, cooling, and draw performance (¶¶ [0050]–[0055], [0061]–[0064]). Minzoni further discloses that such dimensional selections represent routine design choices made to optimize performance while maintaining overall article compatibility (¶¶ [0056]–[0059]).
Jang and Minzoni are in the same field of endeavor, namely aerosol-generating smoking articles for use with electrically heated aerosol-generating devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select cigarette column and paper tube lengths within the claimed ranges of 4 to 8 mm in the smoking article taught by Jang, in view of Minzoni’s disclosure of selecting specific segment dimensions as a matter of routine optimization.
Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 recites that the medium accommodation portion has a resistance to draw of 50 to 70 mmH₂O.
Jang teaches a smoking article configured for aerosol generation and inhalation by a user, including airflow through the tobacco medium accommodation portion (¶¶ [0032]–[0036], [0046]–[0049]). However, Jang does not teach a specific numerical resistance-to-draw range for the smoking article.
Minzoni discloses designing aerosol-generating smoking articles to achieve desired draw resistance characteristics, including adjusting airflow paths, hollow segments, and internal structures to provide an acceptable resistance to draw for user inhalation (¶¶ [0065]–[0071]). Minzoni further discloses that resistance to draw is a design parameter routinely selected and tuned to achieve predictable user experience and aerosol delivery (¶¶ [0072]–[0074]).
Jang and Minzoni are in the same field of endeavor, namely aerosol-generating smoking articles intended for use with electronic aerosol-generating devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the medium accommodation portion of the smoking article taught by Jang to have a resistance to draw within the range of 50 to 70 mmH₂O, in view of Minzoni’s disclosure of tuning draw resistance as a routine design consideration.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747