DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, and 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter James Tchoryck, Jr. et al. (US 20130314694), hereinafter ‘Tchoryck’ in view of GYEYOUNG KIM et al. (KR 20190068955), hereinafter ‘Kim’.
With regards to Claim 1, Tchoryck discloses
An air current observation device (the atmospheric measurement system 10, Fig.1; As each new measurement is added to the map, model or database 62, it is compared to previous measurements to determine if the new measurement indicates significant changes in the current conditions [0227]; Referring to FIG. 61, the various aspects of the range-imaging LIDAR system 24', 24.sup.i-24.sup.viii can be used in a variety of applications, including flight control or flight data monitoring, for example, for an aircraft 400 or UAV 402; or monitoring atmospheric or weather conditions from an aircraft 400.1, 400.2, UAV 402, balloon 404, satellite 406, or ground-based LIDAR system 408 [0410]), comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to generate, when an optical sensing device installed in a tower-like structure (Lidar 24, Fig.62) irradiates an aerial area in a periphery of the tower-like structure with laser light and the optical sensing device receives reflected light corresponding to the laser light, air current information relating to an air current in the aerial area, based on the laser light and the reflected light (Referring to FIG. 2, the atmospheric measurement system 10 provides for either communication between the LIDAR systems 24 and a central, network or cloud processor 60, or for communication amongst the associated LIDAR systems 24, so as to provide for exchanging pertinent data as necessary to construct a map, model or database 62 of the associated atmospheric data with respect to space and time [0218]; Referring to FIG. 13, the image 114 of the set of scatter fringe patterns 47.1, 47.2, 47.3, 47.4 and reference fringe pattern portions 104.1, 104.2, 104.3, 104.4 comprises an array of N rows by M columns of pixels 118, each of which is captured by the CCD detection system 34.1' and stored in a memory 124 of the associated data processor 53 of the range-imaging LIDAR system 24' [0264], i.e. inherently discloses “at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions …”, emphasis added; FIG. 3 illustrates a LIDAR system of an atmospheric measurement system, and an associated measurement volume [0004]; One of first and second beams (28) of corresponding first and second light (13) are projected into an atmosphere (20) and at least one physical property of the atmosphere (20) is detected from the interference pattern (47) generated from the resulting scattered light (30), Abstract; the atmospheric measurement system 10 comprises a network 22 of LIDAR systems 24, each of which provide for remotely sensing atmospheric data including wind speed v and atmospheric density .rho. at one or more different range bins 26 along one or more associated beams of light 28 projected into the atmosphere 20, from scattered light 30 scattered by the atmosphere 20 from within the range bins 26 and received by associated receive optics 32, e.g. one or more telescopes 32', of each LIDAR system 24 that cooperate with one or more associated detection systems 34 [0182]; substantial portion of the scattered light 30 is reflected from the second beam splitter optic 136 [0392]), and generate an air current map indicating a distribution of the air current in the aerial area by using the air current information (provide for a map of atmospheric data over space and time, which can be used for anticipatory control of the associated wind farm 12 and the associated power grid 56 supplied therefrom, or for other applications, such as weather forecasting [0198]; using measurements from separate associated LIDAR systems 24, and combines these calculated vector measures with the associated atmospheric data scalars in the map, model or database 62 that can then be distributed to the various wind turbines 14 for control thereof [0219]; Wind velocity v provides the information necessary to generate extended maps showing the location of a particular air mass with its temperature T, density .rho., and molecular-to-aerosol ratio [0231]; provide for mapping the air data products as they vary along the line of projection 424 [0442]; The atmospheric measurement system 10 can be used for assessing or prospecting the suitability of land for wind farm development. The information provided by the map, model or database 62, including wind velocity v, temperature 7', density .rho., or combinations thereof [0645]).
However, Tchoryck does not disclose wherein a plurality of recommended flight routes of a flying object in the aerial area are computed based on the air current map, and a degree of recommendation indicating a degree by which each of the recommended flight routes is recommended is computed.
Kim discloses a plurality of recommended flight routes of a flying object in the aerial area are computed based on the map (Figs. 4, 6, 7a and 7b), and a degree of recommendation indicating a degree by which each of the recommended flight routes is recommended is computed (the flight path correcting unit 432 can generate another avoidance path by considering both the weather information set in the three-dimensional virtual space and the remaining battery amount. That is, if it is determined that the remaining battery amount is sufficient, the flight path correcting unit 432 can set an avoidance path that can avoid the topographical object most quickly while ignoring the wind direction. On the other hand, if it is determined that the remaining battery amount is not sufficient, the flight path correcting unit 432 can set an avoidance path according to the wind direction, p.6).
Kim also discloses considering air current map (when flying in the direction opposite to the direction of the wind … according to the speed and the moving direction of the UAV 100 at the current position, p.6), i.e. “based on air current map”, emphasis added.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tchoryck in view of Kim to compute a plurality of recommendations for a flight route based on air current map including a degree by which each of the recommended flight routes is recommended to predictably select an optimum flight route from the standpoint of weather condition and/or battery power consumption, in one example, if/when such an optimum recommendation would be of interest to a user.
With regards to Claim 2, Tchoryck discloses detecting a wind direction and a wind velocity in the aerial area, based on a difference between a frequency component included in the laser light and a frequency component included in the reflected light [0183, 0250, 0320, 0325].
With regards to Claim 3, Tchoryck discloses the optical sensing device is installed in the tower-like structure as discussed in Claim 1, and the at least one processor generates the air current map of a three-dimensional shape by using the air current information (calculate a wind or airspeed vector in 3-D space [0418]; may be used to provide for determining an associated 3-D relative wind vector [0456];The 3-D volumetric nature of the data produced by the atmospheric measurement system 10.sup.vii can also be used in conjunction with computational fluid dynamics (CFD) software [0650]).
Tchoryck also discloses a plurality of wind turbines [0178] and measuring wind parameters with sufficient spatial and temporal resolution [0656].
Tchoryck is silent wherein the optical sensing device is installed in each of a plurality of the tower-like structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tchoryck in view of Kim to use a plurality of the tower-like structures with installed optical sensing devices in each of them to accurately represent atmospheric conditions throughout a wind farm, where a plurality of tower-like structures (“wind turbines”) are used to accommodate/reflect changes in the local conditions (direction 50 of the wind [0184]; determining the necessary local set of atmospheric data needed for local control of the associated wind turbines 14 [0219]).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchoryck in view of Kim as discussed in Claim 1.
Tchoryck also discloses providing/outputting data (provide for a map of atmospheric data over space and time, which can be used for anticipatory control of the associated wind farm 12 and the associated power grid 56 supplied therefrom, or for other applications, such as weather forecasting [0198]; The air data products can be used directly by an aircraft flight computer for flight control purposes [0411]).
However, Tchoryck is silent wherein the at least one processor outputs information including the air current map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tchoryck in view of Kim that the at least one processor would output information including the air current map to be used in other applications of interest as discussed above.
With regards to Claim 6, Tchoryck additionally discloses the information including the air current map is output to an environment measurement system, and used for measurement of an atmospheric environment in the aerial area (available atmospheric data from associated LIDAR systems 24 having value for meteorological forecasts, could be included in the associated map, model or database 62 [0232]; also, [0198]).
With regards to Claims 9 and 17, Tchoryck in view of Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in Claim 1.
With regards to Claims 10 and 18, Tchoryck in view of Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in Claims 9 and 2 and Claims 17 and 2, respectively.
With regards to Claims 11 and 12, Tchoryck in view of Kim as modified discloses the limitations as discussed in Claims 9, 3, 4, and 6, respectively.
With regards to Claims 19 and 20, Tchoryck in view of Kim as modified discloses the limitations as discussed in Claims 17, 3 and 4, respectively.
Claims 5, 7, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchoryck in view of Kim, in view of Junichi Furumoto (US 20170192128), hereinafter ‘Furumoto’.
With regards to Claim 5, Tchoryck in view of Kim as modified discloses the invention as discussed in Claim 4.
Tchoryck additionally discloses that the air current observation device according to claim 4, wherein the information including the air current map is output to an operation management system of a flying object (The air data products can be used directly by an aircraft flight computer for flight control purposes [0411]; The air data products can be used directly by an aircraft flight computer for flight control purposes [0468]).
Tchoryck also discloses determining air turbulence areas (the associated atmospheric measurement system 10 can provide for detecting associated atmospheric turbulence [0198]).
However, Tchoryck does not specifically disclose the information including the air current map used for computation of a recommended flight route in the aerial area.
Furumoto discloses the information including the air current map used for computation of a recommended flight route in the aerial area (A map of a predetermined range and weather information in an area displayed on the map (current information and predicted weather information) are displayed on the map display section 220. For example, current weather of fine, cloudy, or rain is displayed with icons 221 to 223 or a color-coded area 224. In addition, movement prospect of a future rainy area, prospect of time when it stops raining, and the like are displayed in a form of comments 225, 226.
Also, information linked to the information selected with the tab of the information selection-display section 210 is also displayed. For example, when the tab 211a of “recommended route 1” is selected, a route 227 is displayed on the map [0231-0232]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tchoryck in view of Kim, in view of Furumoto to predictably use available information including the air current map for computation of a recommended flight route in the aerial area based on the weather information as discussed above (Furumoto) and/or to avoid turbulence (the LIDAR system 24 can be used to enhance aircraft safety, for example, by providing for mapping the winds in the vicinity of an aircraft and thus providing the pilot with information that is difficult at best to obtain with other means. For example, in a roto-craft, the LIDAR system 24 can provide wind information outside of the rotor down wash so as to aid the pilot in maintaining hover in gusty wind conditions. In a conventional fixed-wing aircraft, the LIDAR system 24 can provide a measure of cross winds during landing or takeoff, and can be used to detect clear air turbulence during flight, Tchoryck [0667]).
With regards to Claim 7, Tchoryck discloses the invention as discussed in Claim 1.
However, Tchoryck does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor measures an atmospheric environment in the aerial area by using the air current map; and the at least one processor information including a result of measurement by the environment measurement means.
Furumoto discloses measuring atmospheric environment (weather information) [0012] and displaying measured an atmospheric environment in the aerial area by using the air current map; and information including a result of measurement by the environment measurement means (Figs. 7 and 8; [0229, 0231, 0234, 0382-0387]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tchoryck in view of Kim, in view of Furumoto that the at least one processor measures an atmospheric environment in the aerial area by using the air current map; and the at least one processor would correspondingly output information including a result of the measurement by the environment measurement means to inform a user of changing atmospheric conditions.
With regards to Claim 13, Tchoryck in view of Kim, in view of Furumoto discloses the limitations as discussed in Claims 9 and 5.
With regards to Claims 15-16, Tchoryck in view of Kim, in view of Furumoto discloses the limitations as discussed in Claims 9 and 6-8, respectively.
With regards to Claims 25 and 26, Tchoryck in view of Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in Claims 1 and 17, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 (17) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857