DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 5-14 filed August 14th 2025 are pending in the current action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 14th 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim(s) 1, 2-14 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flack et al. (US2012/0150993) in view of Lee et al. (US2010/0036909) in view of Inoue JP2020-159546 (the Examiner will be citing from US2022/0094806 to use as the translation of the Japanese application JP2020-159546) in the office action dated May 14th 2025.
With regards towards applicant’s arguments pertaining to Inoue, the Examiner must respectfully disagree. The applicant characterizes that determining a processing flow “based on information stored in a database” does not read upon the limitation “embedding a process for transmitting a processing request based on the operation information contained in the screen component to the external system”. The Examiner notes that this is precisely how a process is embedded in the specification. Consider applicant’s ¶150 replicated below:
FIG. 16 is a view illustrating an example of a display screen 6b according to the fourth example embodiment. The display screen 6b is one to which a device control menu 66 is added in addition to the header 61, the search form field 62, and the list display field 63 described above. The device control menu 66 has the content generated on the basis of display information, processing logic, setting information, and operation information of the screen configuration information whose type is a menu. The device control menu 66 is a selection field in which any one of a plurality of menus including data acquisition 661, data update 662, and restart 663 can be selected by a pull-down. The operation information is set to each of the data acquisition 661, the data update 662, and the restart 663. When any menu is selected, a processing request based on the set operation information is transmitted to the database. Namely, when an operational user U2 selects any of the data acquisition 661, the data update 662, and the restart 663, the operation according to the selected menu is executed for the external system. Data acquisition for a record checked in the list display field 63 is executed from the database of the external system, and operation information to be outputted to the operation terminal 120 is set to the data acquisition 661. Note that the data acquisition 661 may be set with processing logic similar to that of the export button 64 described above. In a case where each item value of a display record in the list display field 63 can be edited, operation information for transmitting a processing request for updating data of the checked record in the database of the external system is set to the data update 662. Alternatively, operation information for updating data of the content of a record inputted into an update data entry field whose display is omitted in FIG. 16 in the database of the external system is set to the data update 662. Operation information for transmitting a restart instruction of an OS, a WEB application server, a database, or the like to the external system when selected is set to the restart 663.
Inoue presents the embedded process flow in previously cited Figs. 8-11. The Examiner now expands on the embedded process flow by referring to Inoue Figs. 14-18 and ¶117-121 where “The setting screen 700 illustrated in FIG. 15 is a display screen for the application developer to make detailed settings for the application. The application developer uses the setting screen 700 to set the processing flow executed by each component (function) included in the application, the processing flow settings (parameter) of the application, and the content of the scan settings.” These settings selected by the user are then executed by the communication terminal to package the data into registration information (Inoue Fig. 16) and then executed at the service providing system located externally to the communication terminal. To put it in the words of the applicant’s specification: “When any menu is selected, a processing request based on the set operation information is transmitted to the database.” Thus, the Examiner finds the applicant’s arguments unpersuasive and the claims remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flack et al. (US2012/0150993) in view of Lee et al. (US2010/0036909) in view of Inoue JP2020-159546 (the Examiner will be citing from US2022/0094806 to use as the translation of the Japanese application JP2020-159546)
Consider claim 1, where Flack teaches an operation support apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; (See Flack ¶139) and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: register a data source definition and a screen definition, (See Flack Fig. 4 and ¶13, 47-51 where the content adaptation server 402 adapts content from the retailer web server 404 for delivery to the particular mobile client that is requesting such content. Such information can include, for example, information identifying the mobile client or one or more characteristics thereof, such as a mobile operating system, browser, screen size, screen resolution, support for particular multimedia technologies/formats or software versions, and so on.) the first data source definition containing a connection destination information, (See Flack ¶ 84-85 where the assisted server can be associated with a redirection endpoint URL) and a data attribute for accessing a database managed by an external system (See Flack ¶ 91, 97 where there is a cookie identifying the session_id to access the content in the content adaptation server 402 and the retailer server 404), the screen definition containing a second data attribute of a processing target and a display format of target data; (See Flack ¶124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) specify a screen definition designated by a screen display request received from a request source, (See Flack ¶13, 124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) and specify a data source definition corresponding to a data attribute contained in the specified screen definition, and specify one or more data attribute groups corresponding to identification information of a third data attribute contained in the specified screen definition; (See Flack ¶13, 122 where a request for information that can be used to provide the requested content to the mobile client in a format adapted for display by the mobile client such as max_image_width: “92”) select connection processing means corresponding to the connection contained in the specified data source definition; (See Flack ¶59-62 where the URL to the content can be redirected to a mobilized URL if the request is from a mobile device) use the selected connection processing means to acquire target data from the database on a basis of connection destination information and a data attribute contained in the specified data source definition; (See Flack ¶59-62 where the content adaptation server 402 adapts submitted content into a mobile-client specific format to provide the content to the identified mobile client 400) generate display screen information containing the display format contained in the specified screen definition and the acquired target data; (See Flack ¶50 where the content adaptation server 402 will check a local cache to see if it already has the requested content appropriate for the mobile client) and output means configured to output the generated display screen information to the request source. (See Flack ¶50 where the content adaptation server will respond with the adapted content) wherein at least a part of the plurality of screen components includes operation information for the external system, (See Flack ¶124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) and wherein the processor is further configured to generate the display screen information by embedding a process for transmitting a processing request based on the operation information contained in the screen component to the external system in response to manipulation of a user against the arranged screen component. (See Flack ¶ 53 where the layout of a requested web page may be adjusted and inline images resized/resampled/recolored in accordance with the display size and capabilities of the target device/browser)
Flack teaches connection destination by using a session ID; however, Flack does not explicitly teach a connection method. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches connection method (See Lee Table 3 where there is a Channel ID identifying the channel over which the content is delivered) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the data of Flack to further include the channel information as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of providing other relevant metadata alongside the session ID regarding the connection to better characterize the interaction.
Flack teaches display settings; however, Flack does not explicitly teach the screen definition containing a second data attribute of a processing target and the display format of target data processing logic for performing processing for adding display information according to content of the target data to the target data and displaying the target data, and by embedding the processing logic so as to perform the processing for adding the display information on a basis of the acquired target data and display the acquired target data. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Inoue teaches the screen definition containing a second data attribute of a processing target and the display format of target data processing logic for processing and displaying the target data, and by embedding the processing logic so as to process and display the acquired target data. (See Inoue Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-88, 117-119, and claim 1 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Flack teaches transmitting a processing request and a template; (See Flack ¶60 where a menu may be specified to use the page) however, Flack does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Inoue teaches executing the instructions (See Inoue Figs. 8-11, 14-18 and ¶85-88, 117 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Consider claim 2, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the screen definition contains a plurality of screen components, wherein at least a part of the plurality of screen components includes the first data attribute contained in the data source definition, (See Flack ¶124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to arrange each of the screen components at a display position according to the display format, and generate the display screen information so as to display the acquired target data on the screen component containing the second data attribute. (See Inoue Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-88 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application where in response to determination that the setting item set to non-display is included in the one or more setting items of the application settings information, switch a display setting of the setting item from non-display to display, to cause the setting item to be displayed on the setting screen.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Consider claim 5, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation information contains processing logic for at least any of data acquisition or data update with respect to the database, or an instruction for the external system. (See Lee ¶37-39 where the user may send a ContentUpdate request to update the content at the content provider) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the content server of Flack may allow for updating as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would change the permissions of the content server to be dynamically updated to allow for greater user interactivity on their website.
Consider claim 6, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing request includes at least any request of a data acquisition process or a data update process with respect to the database, or execution of an instruction for the external system. (See Lee ¶37-39 where the user may send a ContentUpdate request to update the content at the content provider) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the content server of Flack may allow for updating as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would change the permissions of the content server to be dynamically updated to allow for greater user interactivity on their website.
Consider claim 7, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the data source definition contains second processing logic in the first data attribute, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to generate the display screen information so as to contain the second processing logic contained in the second data attribute corresponding to the acquired target data. (See Inoue Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-88 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Consider claim 8, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the request source is a provision source server of content, (See Lee’s abstract where a user creates content according to a predetermined rule and submits the content with associated content information, so that a DCD service provider can easily handle the content after receipt) wherein a screen definition ID for identifying the screen definition is contained in the content, and wherein the processor is further configured to receive a screen display request designating the screen definition ID from the provision source server at a time of display processing of the content in the provision source server, and specify the screen definition corresponding to the screen definition ID. (See Flack ¶122-125 where the device can specify a name of the device a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the mobile device of Flack may be a source of content when the user provides the content as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would change the permissions of the content server to be dynamically updated to allow for greater user interactivity on their website.
Flack teaches transmitting a processing request; however, Flack does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Inoue teaches executing the instructions (See Inoue Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-88 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Consider claim 9, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the connection method is database connection, the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to use the selected connection processing means to execute connection processing with the database on a basis of the connection destination information for the external system, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire the target data after the connection processing by executing search processing for data corresponding to the second data attribute against the database. (See Inoue Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-88 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application. In certain embodiments target data is extracted from a data source with a URL link that holds the data) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Consider claim 10, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the connection method is a WEB connection, the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to use the selected connection processing means to transmit a data acquisition request including the connection destination information and the second data attribute to the external system, and receive a response from the external system, thereby acquiring the target data. (See Inoue Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-88, 155 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application. In certain embodiments target data is extracted from a data source with a URL link that holds the data which may be from the web) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Consider claim 11, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate, as the display screen information, a display screen for displaying the acquired target data in accordance with the display format contained in the specified screen definition, and wherein the processor is further configured to output the generated display screen to the request source. (See Flack ¶13, 122 where a request for information that can be used to provide the requested content to the mobile client in a format adapted for display by the mobile client such as max_image_width: “92” to display on the screen of the mobile client)
Consider claim 12, where Flack in view of Lee in view of Inoue teaches the operation support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate, as the display screen information, screen generating control information for generating, in the request source, a display screen for displaying the acquired target data in accordance with the display format, and wherein the processor is further configured to output the generated screen generating control information to the request source. (See Flack ¶13,52, 122 where a request for information that can be used to provide the requested content to the mobile client in a format adapted for display by the mobile client such as max_image_width: “92,” the layout of a requested web page may be adjusted and inline images resized/resampled/recolored in accordance with the display size and capabilities of the target device/browser)
Consider claim 13, where Flack teaches an operation support system comprising: a database managed by an external system; and an operation support apparatus communicably connected to the external system, wherein the operation support apparatus includes: a memory storing instructions; (See Flack ¶139) and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: register a data source definition and a screen definition, (See Flack Fig. 4 and ¶13, 47-51 where the content adaptation server 402 adapts content from the retailer web server 404 for delivery to the particular mobile client that is requesting such content. Such information can include, for example, information identifying the mobile client or one or more characteristics thereof, such as a mobile operating system, browser, screen size, screen resolution, support for particular multimedia technologies/formats or software versions, and so on.) the data source definition containing the connection destination information, (See Flack ¶ 84-85 where the assisted server can be associated with a redirection endpoint URL) and a first data attribute for accessing the database managed by the external system (See Flack ¶ 91, 97 where there is a cookie identifying the session_id to access the content in the content adaptation server 402 and the retailer server 404) specify a screen definition designated by a screen display request received from a request source, (See Flack ¶13, 124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) and specify a data source definition corresponding to a data attribute contained in the specified screen definition, and specify one or more data attribute groups corresponding to identification information of a third data attribute contained in the specified screen definition; (See Flack ¶13, 122 where a request for information that can be used to provide the requested content to the mobile client in a format adapted for display by the mobile client such as max_image_width: “92”) select connection processing means corresponding to the connection contained in the specified data source definition; (See Flack ¶59-62 where the URL to the content can be redirected to a mobilized URL if the request is from a mobile device) use the selected connection processing means to acquire target data from the database on a basis of connection destination information and a data attribute contained in the specified data source definition; (See Flack ¶59-62 where the content adaptation server 402 adapts submitted content into a mobile-client specific format to provide the content to the identified mobile client 400) generate display screen information containing the display format contained in the specified screen definition and the acquired target data; (See Flack ¶50 where the content adaptation server 402 will check a local cache to see if it already has the requested content appropriate for the mobile client) and output the generated display screen information to the request source. (See Flack ¶50 where the content adaptation server will respond with the adapted content) wherein at least a part of the plurality of screen components includes operation information for the external system, (See Flack ¶124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) and wherein the processor is further configured to generate the display screen information by embedding a process for transmitting a processing request based on the operation information contained in the screen component to the external system in response to manipulation of a user against the arranged screen component. (See Flack ¶ 53 where the layout of a requested web page may be adjusted and inline images resized/resampled/recolored in accordance with the display size and capabilities of the target device/browser)
Flack teaches connection destination by using a session ID; however, Flack does not explicitly teach a connection method. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches connection method (See Lee Table 3 where there is a Channel ID identifying the channel over which the content is delivered) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the data of Flack to further include the channel information as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of providing other relevant metadata alongside the session ID regarding the connection to better characterize the interaction.
Flack teaches display settings; however, Flack does not explicitly teach the screen definition containing a second data attribute of a processing target and the display format of target data processing logic for performing processing for adding display information according to content of the target data to the target data and displaying the target data, and by embedding the processing logic so as to perform the processing for adding the display information on a basis of the acquired target data and display the acquired target data. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Inoue teaches the screen definition containing a second data attribute of a processing target and the display format of target data processing logic for processing and displaying the target data, and by embedding the processing logic so as to process and display the acquired target data. (See Inoue Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-88, 117-119, and claim 1 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Flack teaches transmitting a processing request and a template; (See Flack ¶60 where a menu may be specified to use the page) however, Flack does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Inoue teaches executing the instructions (See Inoue Figs. 8-11, 14-18 and ¶85-88, 117 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Consider claim 14, where Flack teaches an operation support method executed by a computer, the method comprising: registering a data source definition and a screen definition, (See Flack Fig. 4 and ¶13, 47-51 where the content adaptation server 402 adapts content from the retailer web server 404 for delivery to the particular mobile client that is requesting such content. Such information can include, for example, information identifying the mobile client or one or more characteristics thereof, such as a mobile operating system, browser, screen size, screen resolution, support for particular multimedia technologies/formats or software versions, and so on.) the data source definition containing a connection destination information, (See Flack ¶ 84-85 where the assisted server can be associated with a redirection endpoint URL) and a data attribute for accessing a database managed by an external system (See Flack ¶ 91, 97 where there is a cookie identifying the session_id to access the content in the content adaptation server 402 and the retailer server 404), the screen definition containing a data attribute of a processing target and a display format of target data; (See Flack ¶124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) specifying a screen definition designated by a screen display request received from a request source, (See Flack ¶13, 124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) and specify a data source definition corresponding to a data attribute contained in the specified screen definition; (See Flack ¶13, 122 where a request for information that can be used to provide the requested content to the mobile client in a format adapted for display by the mobile client such as max_image_width: “92”) selecting connection processing means corresponding to the connection contained in the specified data source definition; (See Flack ¶59-62 where the URL to the content can be redirected to a mobilized URL if the request is from a mobile device) using the selected connection processing means to acquire target data from the database on a basis of connection destination information and a data attribute contained in the specified data source definition; (See Flack ¶59-62 where the content adaptation server 402 adapts submitted content into a mobile-client specific format to provide the content to the identified mobile client 400) generating display screen information containing the display format contained in the specified screen definition and the acquired target data; (See Flack ¶50 where the content adaptation server 402 will check a local cache to see if it already has the requested content appropriate for the mobile client) and outputting the generated display screen information to the request source. (See Flack ¶50 where the content adaptation server will respond with the adapted content) wherein at least a part of the plurality of screen components includes operation information for the external system, (See Flack ¶124-125 where the device can specify a width of a screen and Max_image_width safe for display on the device) and wherein the processor is further configured to generate the display screen information by embedding a process for transmitting a processing request based on the operation information contained in the screen component to the external system in response to manipulation of a user against the arranged screen component. (See Flack ¶ 53 where the layout of a requested web page may be adjusted and inline images resized/resampled/recolored in accordance with the display size and capabilities of the target device/browser)
Flack teaches connection destination by using a session ID; however, Flack does not explicitly teach a connection method. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches connection method (See Lee Table 3 where there is a Channel ID identifying the channel over which the content is delivered) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the data of Flack to further include the channel information as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of providing other relevant metadata alongside the session ID regarding the connection to better characterize the interaction.
Flack teaches display settings; however, Flack does not explicitly teach the screen definition containing a second data attribute of a processing target and the display format of target data processing logic for performing processing for adding display information according to content of the target data to the target data and displaying the target data, and by embedding the processing logic so as to perform the processing for adding the display information on a basis of the acquired target data and display the acquired target data. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Inoue teaches the screen definition containing a second data attribute of a processing target and the display format of target data processing logic for processing and displaying the target data, and by embedding the processing logic so as to process and display the acquired target data. (See Inoue Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-88, 117-119, and claim 1 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Flack teaches transmitting a processing request and a template; (See Flack ¶60 where a menu may be specified to use the page) however, Flack does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Inoue teaches executing the instructions (See Inoue Figs. 8-11, 14-18 and ¶85-88, 117 where a component ID for identifying a component included in the application, and application processing information indicating the processing content of the application. The application processing information includes screen definition which is information to be displayed on the screen used by the user and processing flow information indicating the processing flow in the application.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the screen definition display settings of Flack by further adding further processing flow information as taught by Inoue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques of further embedding information to improve existing processes in the same manner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624