DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group A in the reply filed on 02/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 9, 11-15, 48, and 50 were identified by the Applicant as currently pending claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 48 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 48 recites “computer-readable memory coupled to the processor” which should read “a computer-readable memory coupled to the processor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4253825 (Fasano hereinafter) in view of CN 207797663 (Cheng hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Fasano teaches a dryer system that discloses a conveyer for conveying the material between an inlet and an outlet of the dryer (Figure 1 and conveyor belts 10/11 with the inlet at 5 and outlet at 14 leading towards 15); and a duct for carrying hot fluid fluidly isolated from the material (Duct 38/39), the duct extending adjacent to the conveyer from a first side of the conveyer to a second side of the conveyer opposite to the first side to heat the material from the first side and the second side by transferring heat from the hot fluid (Evident from Figure 1, ducts 38/39 with Column 2 Lines 28-47).
Fasano is silent with respect to the duct including a plurality of vanes configured to distribute the hot fluid laterally in the duct, relative to a direction of flow of the hot fluid in the duct, to heat the material substantially uniformly across the conveyer, the plurality of vanes being configured to orient the flow of the hot fluid at least partially parallel to a material-conveying direction as the material is moved by the conveyer.
However, Cheng teaches belt dryer with associated duct heater that discloses duct including a plurality of vanes configured to distribute the hot fluid laterally in the duct (Figures 1-3, specifically Figure 3, show the heating ducts 3 (14/15) and the internal vanes as seen in Figure 3), relative to a direction of flow of the hot fluid in the duct, to heat the material substantially uniformly across the conveyer, the plurality of vanes being configured to orient the flow of the hot fluid at least partially parallel to a material-conveying direction as the material is moved by the conveyer (Evident from Figure 3 of Cheng).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heating ducts of Fasano with the ducting of Cheng to allow for equal heat distribution.
Regarding claim 13, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Fasano and Cheng would further disclose a heater configured to heat a fluid received from the duct to heat the fluid to generate the hot fluid for recirculation through the duct (Heat generator 17 of Fasano and the recirculation system of Cheng in the ducts as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above), the fluid being generated by cooling the hot fluid (Inherent of recirculation and the reheating pathing required).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4253825 (Fasano) in view of CN 207797663 (Cheng) and further in view of US 2452983 (Birdseye hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Fasano and Cheng would further disclose that the conveyor includes a plurality of belt conveyors that are vertically spaced apart from each other and extend partially over each other to sequentially convey the material at least partially vertically (Evident from Figure 1 of Fasano and their shown conveyor system), the duct extending underneath each belt conveyor of the plurality of belt conveyors to heat the material from under and above ((Evident from Figure 1 of Fasano and Figure 1 of Cheng).
Fasano is silent with respect to the dryer further comprising an agitator positioned to receive the material as the material falls between vertically adjacent belt conveyors of the plurality of belt conveyors.
However, Birdseye teaches a conveyor belt dryer that discloses an agitator positioned to receive the material as the material falls between vertically adjacent belt conveyors of the plurality of belt conveyors (Figure 1 shows the agitators 21 and 27 positioned below the conveyors 13 and 22, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conveyor belt and the material’s path with the agitators of Birdseye to break up the material and ensure complete drying.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4253825 (Fasano) in view of CN 207797663 (Cheng) in view of US 2452983 (Birdseye) and further in view of US 2010/0227073 (Frank hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 but are silent with respect to the agitator being driven by a motor coupled to a controller to agitate the material.
However, Frank teaches an agitator that discloses the agitator being driven by a motor coupled to a controller to agitate the material (¶ 53-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the agitator of Fasano/Cheng/Birdseye with the motor drive of Frank to allow for specific control of the agitator relative to the conveyor belt speed.
Regarding claim 5, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 but are silent with respect that the agitator includes a plurality of paddles distributed around a central axis of rotation.
However, Frank teaches an agitator that discloses the agitator includes a plurality of paddles distributed around a central axis of rotation (¶ 52-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the agitator of Fasano/Cheng/Birdseye with the paddles of Frank to allow for increased breakage of the material passing over the agitator.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4253825 (Fasano) in view of CN 207797663 (Cheng) and further in view of GB 1265371 (Kemmerling hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Cheng further discloses that the plurality of vanes is a first plurality of vanes (Figure 3 of Cheng).
However, Kemmerling teaches a conveyor belt system for moving a material that discloses a second plurality of vanes positioned in a material path to partially obstruct the material as it moves on the conveyor (Page 14 Lines 54-95 and Figures 1, 6, and 7 shows the conveyor belt 15 with the material 10 and the second vanes 152 partially objected the material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conveyor belt path of Fasano/Cheng with the adjustable vanes of Kemmerling to allow for the shape and height of material to controlled.
Regarding claim 9, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Fasano, Cheng, and Kemmerling would further disclose that the second plurality of vanes are configured to rise and fall vertically in response to the flow of the material being obstructed by the second plurality of vanes (Page 14 Lines 54-95 of Kemmerling).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4253825 (Fasano) in view of CN 207797663 (Cheng) and further in view of US 2007/0028478 (Saarela hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Fasano further discloses that the conveyor is configured to convey the material in a longitudinal direction when receiving the material via the inlet of the dryer (Evident from Figure 1 and material loaded at the inlet at 2 of Fasano); a conduit configured to receive the material from the inlet of the dryer to supply the material to the conveyor via an outlet of the conduit (Conduit 3 with inlet at 2 and outlet leading towards 5 and the conveyors).
Fasano is silent with respect to the conduit extending over a conveying surface of the conveyor between a pivot and the outlet of the conduit, the pivot and the outlet of the conduit being separated in the longitudinal direction; and a driver coupled to the conduit to rotate the conduit about the pivot to move the outlet of the conduit at least partially laterally over the conveying surface to spread the material on the conveying surface.
However, Saarela teaches a conveyor system that discloses a conduit extending over a conveying surface of the conveyor between a pivot and the outlet of the conduit (Figure 1 has the conduit at 41 which is extended over the equivalent conveyor 21 and able to pivot per ¶ 59), the pivot and the outlet of the conduit being separated in the longitudinal direction (Evident of Figure 1 and resultant of the combination with Fasano); and a driver coupled to the conduit to rotate the conduit about the pivot to move the outlet of the conduit at least partially laterally over the conveying surface to spread the material on the conveying surface (¶ 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material delivery of Fasano with the pivotable conduit of Saarela to allow for even loading of the material onto the conveyor belt.
Regarding claim 12, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 where the combination of Fasano, Cheng, and Saarela would further disclose that the pivot and the outlet of the conduit are predominantly separated in the longitudinal direction (Evident from Figure 1 of Saarela).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4253825 (Fasano) in view of CN 207797663 (Cheng) and further in view of US 6606948 (Austin hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Cheng does further disclose that the heating fluid is recirculated in the system.
Fasano is silent with respect to a mixing valve configured to receive fluid from the duct to mix the fluid with a second hot fluid to generate the first hot fluid for recirculation through the duct, the fluid being generated by cooling of the first hot fluid
However, Austin teaches a heat transfer system that discloses receiving a fluid from a heat transfer duct to mix the fluid with a second fluid to regenerate the temperature of the first fluid for recirculation through the duct (Figure 1 shoes the mixing valve 7 used to impart the desired thermal aspects on the fluid within lines 5 to 4 from the heat exchanger 8). The resultant combination would utilize the mixing valve system of Austin to reheat the now cooled fluid from the duct of Cheng such that the mixing valve is configured to receive fluid from the duct to mix the fluid with a second hot fluid to generate the first hot fluid for recirculation through the duct, the fluid being generated by cooling of the first hot fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reheating and recirculation pathing of Fasano/Cheng with the teachings of Austin to ensure that the recirculation heating fluid is maintained at an appropriate temperature.
Claims 15 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4253825 (Fasano) in view of CN 207797663 (Cheng) and further in view of US 2006/0112701 (Dykstra hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a controller configured to control a mass flow rate of the hot fluid through the duct based on a temperature, after transferring heat from the hot fluid to material, of at least one of the hot fluid or material.
However, Dykstra teaches the control of a heat exchanger system that discloses a controller configured to control a mass flow rate of the hot fluid through the duct based on a temperature, after transferring heat from the hot fluid to material, of at least one of the hot fluid or material (Figure 1 and ¶ 33, 35 discloses the use of controlling the mass flow rate of the fluid based on a temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat exchanger and control in Fasano/Cheng with the teachings of Dykstra to increase the efficiency and temperature control of the heat generator of Fasano.
Regarding claim 48, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a processor; and a computer-readable medium coupled to the process and storing process-executable instructions that, when executed, configure the processor cause sensing a sensed variable, the sensed variable being at least one of a temperature, after transferring heat from the hot fluid to the material, of at least of the hot fluid or the material, or a pressure of the hot fluid after transferring heat from the hot fluid to the material, and controlling a mass flow rate of the hot fluid through the duct based on the sensed variable.
However, Dykstra teaches the control of a heat exchanger system that discloses a processor; and a computer-readable medium coupled to the process and storing process-executable instructions that, when executed, configure the processor cause sensing a sensed variable, the sensed variable being at least one of a temperature, after transferring heat from the hot fluid to the material, of at least of the hot fluid or the material, or a pressure of the hot fluid after transferring heat from the hot fluid to the material, and controlling a mass flow rate of the hot fluid through the duct based on the sensed variable (Figure 1 and ¶ 33, 35 discloses the use of controlling the mass flow rate of the fluid based on a temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat exchanger and control in Fasano/Cheng with the teachings of Dykstra to increase the efficiency and temperature control of the heat generator of Fasano.
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4253825 (Fasano) in view of CN 207797663 (Cheng) and further in view of US 2013/0074357 (Wagner hereinafter).
Regarding claim 50, Fasano’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the hot fluid includes gases generated by a gasification system.
However, Wagner teaches a drying system that discloses the inclusion of gases from a gasification system (¶ 27-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heating fluid of Fasano/Cheng with the hot gasification gases of Wagner to further allow for recovery and recycling of gases generated by the system therefore increasing efficiency.
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762