DETAILED ACTION
Status
This instant application No. 18/275985 has claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13-17, 19-24 and 26 pending.
Priority /Filing Date
This application is a U.S. National Phase Application based on International Patent Application No. PCT/US2022/015526, filed on February 7, 2022, which claims the priority of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/147,001, which was filed on February 8, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the Applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated August 4, 2023 and January 25, 2024 are acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of each of the PTOL-1449s initialed and dated by the Examiner is attached to the instant Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13-17, 19-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Abdollahramezani et al. hereafter Abdollahramezani (“Dynamic hybrid metasurfaces, Nano letters, August 11, 2020, 14 pages- IDS NPL document), in view of Lei et al. hereafter Lei ("3D printing of auxetic metamaterials with digitally reprogrammable shape", ACS applied materials & interfaces. May 29, 2019, 25 pages- IDS NPL document).
Regarding Claim 1, Abdollahramezani discloses a reprogrammable system (Abdollahramezani: abstract: reconfigurable hybrid metasurface platform), comprising:
a first side configured to be reprogrammable in at least a first direction, the first side being formed by a reprogrammable structure having one or more layers stacked in a second direction (Abdollahramezani: pg. 9 col. 1 to col. 2; pg. 10, col. 2, Fig. 4a, 4b: three GST crystallization levels. Each manifold (identified by a distinct color) represents the range of responses available from the metasurface with one of the three GST crystalline levels ... Figures 4a and 4b clearly show the advantage of using the recongurable metasurfaces in providing a large range of programmable responses for a metasurface enabled by the large dynamic range of the GST optical properties at different crystallization levels………..For the design of meta-atoms, periodic boundary conditions in the x and y directions of the unit cell are employed. Also, the perfectly matched layer (PML) is considered in the z direction to mimic a free-space to monitor far field scattering);
Abdollahramezani fails to teach:
wherein an individual layer of the one or more layers has repeating unit cells, a first unit cell of the repeating unit cells including elements, wherein the elements are connected by connecting joints; and
wherein the first unit cell of the repeating unit cells shares at least one element and/or at least one connecting joint with a second unit cell of the repeating unit cells.
However, Lei, in an analogous art, teaches:
wherein an individual layer of the one or more layers has repeating unit cells, a first unit cell of the repeating unit cells including elements, wherein the elements are connected by connecting joints (Lei: pg. 2 and 6, Fig.1: the curved meshes ensure the rotation of the mesh joints to achieve auxetics. The rotations of these mesh joints are governed by the mesh curvature, which continuously changes during deformation. Due to the shape memory effect, the mesh curvature after printing can be programmed, which can be used to tune the rotation of the mesh joints and the mechanical properties of auxetic metamaterial structures, including the Poisson's ratios, moduli, and fracture strains……..Designs of the 2D meshes: (a) the unit cell with different center angles); and
wherein the first unit cell of the repeating unit cells shares at least one element and/or at least one connecting joint with a second unit cell of the repeating unit cells (Lei: pg. 5 and 6, Fig 1c: one mesh joint has four branches, which continues to possess a rotational symmetry. Figure 1c shows the control parameters in-the mesh geometry. In this study, for the mesh with different curvatures, we kept the span of the half edge has 7.5mm, and the beam thickness t as 0.5mm. Therefore, the unit's dimension is 15mm X 15mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Abdollahramezani by including an individual layer of the one or more layers has repeating unit cells, a first unit cell of the repeating unit cells including elements wherein the elements are connected by connecting joints; and wherein the first unit cell of the repeating unit cells shares at least one element and/or at least one connecting joint with a second unit cell of the repeating unit cells as taught by Lei because the modification would provide a novel auxetic metamaterial, which by utilizing the shape memory effect of the constituent materials, the in-plane moduli and Poisson's ratios can be continuously tailored (Lei, pg. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 1, further comprising:
biasing blocks configured to bias the connecting joints, wherein an individual biasing block is configured to be inserted into an individual connecting joint to bias the individual connecting joint (Lei, pg. 2, 8 and 11).
Regarding Claim 3, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 1, further comprising:
actuators configured to actuate the connecting joints, wherein an individual actuator is coupled to an individual connecting joint to actuate the individual connecting joint (Lei, pg. 2, 8 and 11); and
a controller configured to control the actuators (Lei, pg. 2, 8 and 11).
Regarding Claim 5, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 1, further comprising a second side configured to be reprogrammable in a direction different from the first direction., the second direction being substantially perpendicular to the first direction (Abdollahramezani: pg. 9 col. 1 to col. 2; pg. 10, col. 2, Fig. 4a, 4b).
Regarding Claim 7, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei further disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 1, wherein the first unit cell has at least an auxetic state and/or a non-auxetic state (Lei, pg. 2, 11 and 12).
Regarding Claim 8, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 1, wherein the first unit cell has at least a positive state with a positive Poisson's ratio, a zero state with a zero Poisson's ratio, a negative state with a negative Poisson's ratio, and/or a shear state with the zero Poisson's ratio (Lei, pg. 2, 11 and 12).
Regarding Claim 9, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 1, wherein the connecting joints are formed of a compliant material and wherein the elements are formed of a noncompliant material (Lei, pg. 6).
Regarding Claim 11, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 1, further comprising a global force applying device configured to apply a global force to the reprogrammable structure, wherein the global force is a compressive force and/or an extending force (Lei, pg. 7 and 16).
Regarding Claim 13, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 1, wherein the reprogrammable structure has an extended state and a compressed state (Lei, pg. 7 and 16).
Regarding Claim 14, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 13, wherein the reprogrammable structure is configured to be programmed when the reprogrammable structure is in the extended state (Lei, pg. 7 and 16).
Regarding Claim 15, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the reprogrammable system of claim 13, wherein the first side is further configured to display a profile when the reprogrammable structure is in the compressed state (Abdollahramezani: pg. 3; pg. 12, col. 2, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 16 and 26, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose a method for controlling the reprogrammable system of claim 1 (See the citations of claim 1) (A computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions executable by one or more processors, that when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform acts for controlling the reprogrammable system of claim 1(Abdollahramezani : pg. 2, col. 1; see statements for claim 1), the acts comprising:), the method comprising:
encoding the reprogrammable structure by calculating a system matrix based on a desired profile to be displayed (Abdollahramezani: pg. 2, col. 2; Fig. 1, pg. 3; pg. 12, col. 2), wherein the system matrix has joint values for connecting joints, and wherein an individual joint value defines an angle between two elements connected by an individual connecting joint;
programming the reprogrammable structure by biasing the connecting joints based on the system matrix; and
expressing the desired profile via the first side in the first direction by applying a (Abdollahramezani: Fig. 1, pg. 3; pg. 9 col. 1 to col. 2; pg. 10, col. 2; pg. 12, col. 2).
Abdollahramezani fails to teach
wherein the system matrix has joint values for connecting joints, and wherein an individual joint value defines an angle between two elements connected by an individual connecting joint;
programming the reprogrammable structure by biasing the connecting joints based on the system matrix; and
global force.
However, Lei, in an analogous art, teaches
wherein the system matrix has joint values for connecting joints, and wherein an individual joint value defines an angle between two elements connected by an individual connecting joint (Lei: pg. 2; pg. 6; pg 8; pg. 11);
programming the reprogrammable structure by biasing the connecting joints based on the system matrix (Lei: pg. 2; pg. 6; pg 8; pg. 11) ; and
global force (Lei: pg. 7 and pg. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Abdollahramezani by including wherein the system matrix has joint values for connecting joints, and wherein an individual joint value defines an angle between two elements connected by an individual connecting joint; programming the reprogrammable structure by biasing the connecting joints based on the system matrix; and global force as taught by Lei because the modification would provide a novel auxetic metamaterial, which by utilizing the shape memory effect of the constituent materials, the in-plane moduli and Poisson's ratios can be continuously tailored (Lei: pg.2).
Regarding Claim 17, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the global force is a compressive force (Lei: pg. 7 and 16). the method further comprising:
applying a first extending force to the reprogrammable structure (Lei: pg. 7 and 16); and
reprogramming the reprogrammable structure by applying a second extending force to the reprogrammable structure (Lei: pg. 7 and 16).
Regarding Claim 19, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the method of claim 16, wherein applying a global force to the reprogrammable structure comprises determining a magnitude of the global force (Lei: pg. 7 and 16).
Regarding Claim 20, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the force is in a third direction, the third direction being substantially perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Abdollahramezani: pg. 9 col. 1 to col. 2; pg. 10, col. 2). Lei further teaches global force (Lei: pg. 7 and 16).
Regarding Claim 21, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the global force is between O Newton (N) non-inclusive and 0.7 N inclusive (Lei: pg. 7 and 16).
Regarding Claim 22, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the method of claim 16, wherein encoding the reprogrammable structure further comprises slicing the desired profile into coordinate points (Abdollahramezani: Fig. 3, pg. 8 and Fig. 4, pg. 9).
Regarding Claim 23, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the desired profile comprises a binary pattern (Abdollahramezani: Fig. 1, pg. 3; pg. 9 col. 1 to col. 2; pg. 10, col. 2; pg. 12, col. 2).
Regarding Claim 24, the combinations of Abdollahramezani and Lei disclose the method of claim 16, wherein biasing the connecting joints comprises controlling an individual actuator to actuate an individual connecting joint to which the individual actuator coupled, to bias the individual connecting joint (Lei: pg. 2, 8 and 11); and/or
inserting an individual biasing block into an individual connecting joint (Lei: pg. 2, 8 and 11).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zheng-Dong Ma (Patent No.: US 9,376,796 B2) teaches reconfigurable, expandable-collapsible structures based upon negative Poisson's ratio (NPR) auxetic unit cells achieve rapidly deployable apparatus, devices and systems, wherein a plurality of joint bodies, each joint body having a plurality of connection features, are coupled to interconnecting link members with opposing ends, each end including connection features that engage with the connection features of the joint bodies.
Jahromi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180348025 A1) provide programmable materials capable of real-time, significant adjustment in their mechanical response. When combined with autonomous sensing and control strategies, these materials can be used in a new series of structural components with enhanced static and dynamic efficiency.
William Jacob Spenner Dolla (Patent No.: US 8,652,602 B1) conceptually presents auxetic structures exhibiting negative Poisson's ratios including planar auxetic structures formed from x-axis and y-axis strands of selected waveforms.
Wadley et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0274865 A1) defines a sandwich panel core that may be comprised of a lattice structure utilizing a network of hierarchical trusses, synergistically arranged, to provide support and other functionalities.
6. Examiner’s Remarks: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Correspondence Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IFTEKHAR A KHAN whose telephone number is (571)272-5699. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9:00AM-6:00PM (CST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Emerson Puente can be reached on (571)272-3652. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IFTEKHAR A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2187