CTNF 18/275,987 CTNF 85504 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 08/04/2023, has been considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ pump pulse-controlled or time-controlled reset device of the release valve ” ( as recited in claim 9 ) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 07-44 AIA The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The written specification fails to disclose the claimed limitations reciting “ a pump pulse-controlled or time-controlled reset device of the release valve .” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. [Claim 9] The claim recites the limitation of “a pump” in the 2 nd line of the claim. The examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, since it is unclear if this limitation is referring to the previously recited “diaphragm pump,” or if a new structure is being introduced into the claim limitations. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that “a pump” refers to the previously recited “diaphragm pump.” [Claim 9] The claim recites the limitation of “a pump pulse-controlled or time-controlled reset device of the release valve .” The examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, since the claimed limitation lacks adequate specificity to determine what is required by a “reset device” as claimed. As noted in the objection to the specification above, the written disclosure provides no guidance for the claimed “reset device.” Additionally, the claimed limitations provide no additional structural or functional limitations to define said “reset device.” Furthermore, it is unclear how the claimed “reset device of the release valve” is meant to be controlled by the pump via a pulse or time. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that any “reset” mechanism of the claimed release valve meets the limitations of the claim. [Claim 11] The claim recites the limitation of “the conveying device” in the 4 th line of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, since it is unclear if this refers to the previously recited “diaphragm pump,” or if a new structure is being introduced into the claim limitations. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that “the conveying device” refers to the previously recited “diaphragm pump.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Murden (PGPub 2014/0289956) . [Claims 1, 4 and 11] Murden teaches a device and method (figure 3) for pulsed liquid dispensing (paragraph [0004]), comprising: a double diaphragm pump (conveying device; see 112b interpretation above) (figure 3, item 44; paragraph [0010]), a feed line (figure 3, item 58) connected to an inlet connection (figure 3, item 60) of the conveying device (figure 3, item 44) (paragraph [0011]), a dispensing unit (figures 2/3, items 66/68/72/78) (paragraphs [0012], [0013]) having a rigid lance (figure 3, items 66/68) with a dispensing tube (figure 2, item 72), a gripping part (figure 2, item 78), and a manually actuated release valve (not shown) (paragraph [0013]), the dispensing unit (figures 2/3, items 66/68/72/78) being connected to an outlet connection (figure 3, item 64) of the conveying device (figure 3, item 44) (paragraph [0012]), wherein, once the release valve (paragraph [0013]) is open, a number of pump cycles of the diaphragm pump (figure 3, item 44) correlates with a volume of dispensed liquid (paragraphs [0013], [0016], [0017]); connecting the diaphragm pump (figure 3, item 44) to an energy source or to an energy reservoir (figure 3, items 30a-30d) (figure 3; paragraph [0010]); opening the release valve (paragraph [0013]) while the diaphragm pump (figure 3, item 44) is running (paragraphs [0013], [0016], [0017]); and closing the release valve (paragraph [0013]) after completion of a predetermined number of pump cycles of the diaphragm pump (figure 3, item 44) (paragraphs [0013], [0016], [0017]). [Claims 2 and 3] Murden teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 2 and 3 depend. In addition, Murden discloses a compressed air container (energy reservoir) (figure 3, items 30a-30d) for driving the diaphragm pump (figure 3, item 44) (figure 3; paragraph [0010]). [Claim 5] Murden teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends. Murden further discloses the feed line (figure 3, item 58) is a suction line (paragraph [0015]). [Claim 6] Murden teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 6 depends. Murden also teaches a tank container (figure 3, item 50) connected to the feed line (figure 3, item 58) (paragraph [0011]). [Claim 7] Murden teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 7 depends. Murden also discloses a transport carriage (figure 3, item 52) (paragraph [0011]). [Claim 8] Murden teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 8 depends. In addition, Murden discloses a control element (figure 3, item 40) is connected upstream of the diaphragm pump (figure 3, item 44) (figure 3; paragraph [0010]). [Claim 9] Murden teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 9 depends. Murden also teaches a pump (figure 3, item 44) pulse-controlled or time-controlled reset device (pull/release of handle 78 “resets” valve) of the release valve (paragraph [0013]) (see 112b interpretation above) (paragraphs [0013], [0016], [0017]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON E FLICK whose telephone number is (571)270-7024. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7 a.m.-3 p.m. Eastern Time. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bhisma Mehta can be reached at 571-272-3383. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 02/24/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/275,987 Page 2 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/275,987 Page 3 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/275,987 Page 4 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/275,987 Page 5 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/275,987 Page 6 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/275,987 Page 7 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/275,987 Page 8 Art Unit: 3783