DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 06/04/2026. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamura et al. (USPG Pub No. 2014/0354858), hereinafter “Kawamura”.
Regarding claim 4, Kawamura discloses a zoom optical system comprising a first lens group (G1) and a rear group (G2-G4) arranged in order from an object side along an optical axis (see Figs. 5A-5C, Paragraph 484), the first lens group (G1) having negative refractive power (Paragraph 484), the rear group (G2-G4) including at least one lens group (see Fig. 5A, Paragraph 484), wherein a space between lens groups adjacent to each other changes at zooming (see Figs. 5A-5C, Paragraph 489), and the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.45 < (-f1)/TLt < 1.25 (Paragraph 499: Example 5) where f1: focal length of the first lens group, and TLt: entire length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state (Paragraph 499: Example 5).
Regarding claim 35, Kawamura discloses a method for manufacturing a zoom optical system which comprises a first lens group (G1) and a rear group (G2-G4) arranged in order from an object side along an optical axis (see Figs. 5A-5C, Paragraph 484), the first lens group (G1) having negative refractive power (Paragraph 484), and the rear group (G2-G4) including at least one lens group (see Fig. 5A, Paragraph 484), the method comprising arranging the lens groups in a lens barrel such that a space between lens groups adjacent to each other changes at zooming (see Figs. 5A-5C, Paragraphs 489, 505), and the method further comprising one of features (A) or (B), wherein the feature (A) comprises: satisfying the following conditional expression: 0.45 < (-f1)/TLt < 1.25 (Paragraph 499: Example 5) where f1: focal length of the first lens group, and TLt: entire length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state (Paragraph 499: Example 5), and the feature (B) comprises: the rear group including, in order from the object side, a second lens group (G2) having positive refractive power and a third lens group (G4) having positive refractive power (Paragraph 499: Example 5), and satisfying the following conditional expression: 0.35 < (-f1)/TLt < 1.25 where f1: focal length of the first lens group, and TLt: entire length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state (Paragraph 499: Example 5). The features are presented in the alternative wherein Kawamura satisfies at least one of the recited features.
Regarding claim 36, Kawamura discloses a zoom optical system comprising a first lens group (G1) and a rear group (G2-G4) arranged in order from an object side along an optical axis (see Figs. 5A-5C, Paragraph 484), the first lens group (G1) having negative refractive power (Paragraph 484), the rear group including, in order from the object side, a second lens group (G2) having positive refractive power and a third lens group (G4) having positive refractive power (Paragraphs 484, 499: Example 5), wherein a space between lens groups adjacent to each other changes at zooming (see Figs. 5A-5C, Paragraph 489), and the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.35 < (-f1)/TLt < 1.25 where f1: focal length of the first lens group, and TLt: entire length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state (Paragraph 499: Example 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kawamura (USPG Pub No. 2014/0354858) in view of Koida (USPG Pub No. 2023/0367109 as translation for WO 2022/124184 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 37, Kawamura discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.133 ≤ Bfw/fRPR < 0.35 0.50 < (-f1)/fRt ≤ 1.656 where Bfw: back focus of the zoom optical system in a wide- angle end state, fRPR: focal length of a lens group having positive refractive power and disposed closest to an image side in the rear group, and fRt: focal length of the rear group in a telephoto end state. In the same field of endeavor, Koida discloses wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.133 ≤ Bfw/fRPR < 0.35 0.50 < (-f1)/fRt ≤ 1.656 where Bfw: back focus of the zoom optical system in a wide- angle end state, fRPR: focal length of a lens group (G6) having positive refractive power and disposed closest to an image side in the rear group, and fRt: focal length of the rear group in a telephoto end state (see Table 7). Bfw/fRPR = 59.400/292.990 = 0.203; (-f1)/fRt = (50.756)/60.862 = 0.834 wherein f1 is the focal length of the first negative lens group G2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom optical system of Kawamura with wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.133 ≤ Bfw/fRPR < 0.35 0.50 < (-f1)/fRt ≤ 1.656 where Bfw: back focus of the zoom optical system in a wide- angle end state, fRPR: focal length of a lens group having positive refractive power and disposed closest to an image side in the rear group, and fRt: focal length of the rear group in a telephoto end state of Koida for the purpose of providing correction of a variety of aberrations and having excellent imaging performance (Paragraph 159).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 4 and 35-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 7/29/2026