Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed September 1st, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce Saint-Gobain’s CHR A2005 PTFE-Glass Pressure Sensitive Adhesive Tape, on the Palletizer of Bhardwaj, so that the stoppers are resistant to tears, punctures, abrasion and wear (see Brochure PDF under benefits).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce Hutchinson’s activator with a pneumatic piston with a cast self-lubricated polyamide sliding guide, on the Palletizer of Bhardwaj, in order to employ force feedback to provide a robust controller design (see Para. 0007).
In response to applicant's argument that Pierson fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness regarding claim(s) 10 and 11, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant's argument that Miedema is non-analogous art regarding claim 12, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Miedema teaches a similar structure to a palletizer, for agricultural use, wherein it has side tracks made of nylon, and wherein the rollers are made of aluminum or carbon fiber, giving the benefits of strength and lightness to any similar structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhardwaj (US 11407601 B1) in view of Saint Gobain (Brochure PDF; as evidenced by supporting email), further in view of Hutchison (US 20180340554 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Bhardwaj discloses a palletizer head as claimed in claim 1, comprising a palletizing head system (see Fig. 1A) adapted for performing palletization of full layers, comprising a palletizing head (see Fig. 1A) formed from a metal frame coupled to a plate made of aluminum or another metal (see Col. 2, lines 60-65), adapted to couple the head to a robot (see Fig. 3A-3B), while the head is in continuous motion; further comprising a side track system (see Col. 6, lines 30-35) with side stoppers (see Col. 12, lines 30-40).
Bhardwaj fails to disclose side stoppers covered by a fiberglass textile impregnated with PTFE which is further covered with a pressure- sensitive silicone adhesive and a temperature-resistant PVC liner; further comprising an activator comprising a pneumatic piston with a cast self-lubricated polyamide sliding guide.
However, Saint-Gobain teaches a CHR® A2005 PTFE-Glass Pressure Sensitive Adhesive Tape being a fiberglass textile impregnated with PTFE covered with a pressure-sensitive silicone adhesive structure (see brochure PDF), wherein a PVC liner is part of the composition of the tape (see email PDF attached; PVC based yellow dimpled industrial std liner).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce side stoppers covered by a fiberglass textile impregnated with PTFE which is further covered with a pressure- sensitive silicone adhesive and a temperature-resistant PVC liner on the palletizer head of Bhardwaj, as taught by Saint Gobain, so that the stoppers are resistant to tears, punctures, abrasion and wear (see Brochure PDF under ‘Benefits’).
Further, Hutchison teaches a pneumatic actuation system wherein an activator (100; see Para. 0065) comprising a pneumatic piston (108; see Para. 0065) with a cast self-lubricated polyamide sliding guide (see Para. 0065 for polyamide material and interior of cylinder wall 104 for guide).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce an activator comprising a pneumatic piston with a cast self-lubricated polyamide sliding guide on the palletizer head of Bhardwaj, as modified by Saint-Gobain, as taught by Hutchison, in order to employ force feedback to provide a robust controller design (see Para. 0007).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhardwaj (US 11407601 B1) in view of Saint-Gobain (Brochure PDF; as evidenced by supporting email) and Hutchison (US 20180340554 A1), further in view of Pierson (US 8257011 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain and Hutchinson, discloses the palletizer head as claimed in claim 9, wherein the head is adapted to move the containers to the center of the head, thereby guiding the formation of a layer of containers layer over the pallet, and keeping the container layers joined together during the palletizing process within the head, and centralizing the layer of said containers within said head, providing a known reference for deposition of the layer over the pallet, thus assuring square, alignment and plumb line of the container pile (see Col. 13 lines 65-67 and Col. 14, lines 1-5; also see Fig. 3A-3D).
Bhardwaj fails to disclose a mechanical curtain attached to the metal frame, comprising a plurality of rollers, said rollers being connected to and driven by a chain, wherein the chain is functionally connected to a motor and guided by side tracks, wherein the rollers are adapted to move a plurality of containers within the head; and further comprising a centralizer formed by side moving stoppers; wherein the head is activated by activators comprising pneumatic pistons, wherein said pneumatic pistons comprise, on their edges, guides made from self-lubricated polyamide material;
However, Pierson teaches a palletizer puller bar comprising a mechanical curtain (see annotated Fig. 4 below) attached to the metal frame (12; see Fig. 4), comprising a plurality of rollers (100; see Fig. 4), said rollers being connected to and driven by a chain (102a and 102b; see Fig. 4), wherein the chain is functionally connected to a motor (104; see Fig. 4) and guided by side tracks (see annotated Fig. 4 below), wherein the rollers are adapted to move a plurality of containers within the head (see Fig. 7); and further comprising a centralizer formed by side moving stoppers (see Fig. 6-10 for side stoppers centralizing a plurality of containers).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a mechanical curtain attached to the metal frame, comprising a plurality of rollers, said rollers being connected to and driven by a chain, wherein the chain is functionally connected to a motor and guided by side tracks, wherein the rollers are adapted to move a plurality of containers within the head; and further comprising a centralizer formed by side moving stoppers on the palletizer head of Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain and Hutchinson, as taught by Pierson, in order to facilitate loose organization of a layer of items (see Col. 5, lines 35-40).
Further, Hutchison teaches a pneumatic actuation system wherein activators (100; see Para. 0065) comprising a pneumatic piston (108; see Para. 0065), wherein said pneumatic pistons comprise, on their edges, guides (interior wall of cylinder 104; see Para. 0065) made from self-lubricated polyamide material (see Para. 0065 for polyamide material). See motivation of claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Bhardwaj, in view of in view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchinson and Pierson, discloses the palletizer head as claimed in claim 10, further adapted to move and organize the container layers over a layer table positioned at a height which is compatible with the floor level, thus being easily reached by the operators, wherein said system draws the container over a pallet continuously, while the container layers are delivered to the layer table (see annotated Fig. 3G below).
Regarding claim 13, Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchison and Pierson, discloses the palletizing head as claimed in claim 10, wherein centralizing said container layer within said device, providing a known reference for the deposition of the layer over the pallet, assuring a square shape of the containers (see Col. 13 lines 65-67 and Col. 14, lines 1-5; also see Fig. 3A-3D); and further comprising coupling pins (see Col. 3, lines 40-45), having the function of keeping the container layer joined during the palletizing process within the head (see Col. 3, lines 40-60).
Bhardwaj fails to disclose wherein the centralizer comprises a plurality of moving side stoppers covered by a fiberglass textile impregnated with PTFE, covered with a pressure-sensitive silicone adhesive and protected with a PVC synthetic liner, wherein linear movements are performed by an activator comprising a pneumatic piston coupled to a sliding guide, made of self-lubricated polyamide, and further comprising coupling pins, having the function of keeping the container layer joined during the palletizing process within the head.
However, Pierson further teaches a palletizer puller bar wherein a centralizer comprises plurality of moving side stoppers (see Fig. 6-10 for side stoppers centralizing a plurality of containers). See motivation of claim 10.
Further, Saint-Gobain teaches a CHR® A2005 PTFE-Glass Pressure Sensitive Adhesive Tape being a fiberglass textile impregnated with PTFE covered with a pressure-sensitive silicone adhesive structure (see brochure PDF), wherein a PVC liner is part of the composition of the tape (see email PDF attached; PVC based yellow dimpled industrial std liner). See motivation of claim 9.
Further, Hutchison teaches a pneumatic actuation system wherein linear movements are performed by an activator (100; see Para. 0065) comprising a pneumatic piston (108; see Para. 0065) coupled to a sliding guide, made of self-lubricated polyamide (see Para. 0065 for polyamide material and interior of cylinder wall 104 for guide). See motivation of claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchison and Pierson, discloses the palletizing head as claimed in claim 10, further comprising a layer forming station (see annotated Fig. 3A below), wherein organized layers of containers are formed, wherein a robot (see annotated Fig. 3A below), upon being informed that there is a layer ready over the layer table, displaces the head over the container layer, positioning said head in a central position with the container layer and, in that moment, a sensorial device (see Col. 2, lines 20-30) indicates that the head is positioned within the working area (see Fig. 3A-3G).
Regarding claim 15, Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchison and Pierson, discloses the palletizing head as claimed in claim 14, wherein said mechanical curtain is positioned in such a way to allow the robot to position the head over the container layer, levelling said curtain with the layer table and, in the same movement, the layer centralizer set is fully opened, granting slack between said centralizer and the container layer, thus compensating an eventual imprecision in the organization of the containers within the layer, and, once the head is positioned over the container layer and the curtain aligned with the layer table, the centralizer set closes itself, moving the movable side stoppers covered with a fiberglass textile impregnated with PTFE covered with a pressure-sensitive silicone adhesive and protected with a synthetic PVC liner on the four sides of the set, joining the containers and leaving the container layer always with the same side measurements, centralizing them within the head (see Fig. 3A-3D for the centralizing of the containers by the palletizing head). All the structure is present in Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchison and Pierson, therefore capable of performing the function.
Regarding claim 16, Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchison and Pierson, discloses the palletizing head as claimed in claim 15, wherein a centralized process is performed during the horizontal movement of the continuously moving head, as shown by Figure 13, the curtain starting a horizontal movement backwards, with the same speed, from the robot movement, making the curtain having zero speed movement over the layer table, dragging the container layer over the curtain, as per Figure 14, wherein, upon identifying, by means of the feedback of the spatial position of the head, that the container layer is fully positioned within the head, by means of the movement, the robot continues its displacement and, by means of the movement, is located in the palletization position, subsequently receiving the command to open the curtain, horizontally displacing it, fitting the container layer in the palletization position pile and, at the end of this movement, the robot vertically lifts the head until the container layer has fully exited from the head (see Fig. 3A-3G for the palletizing head transferring the container layer). All the structure is present in Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchison and Pierson, therefore capable of performing the function.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhardwaj (US 11407601 B1) in view of Saint-Gobain (Brochure PDF; as evidenced by supporting email), Hutchison (US 20180340554 A1) and Pierson (US 8257011 B2), further in view of Miedema (US 5203259 A).
Regarding claim 12, Bhardwaj, view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchinson and Pierson, discloses the palletizer head as claimed in claim 10.
Bhardwaj, as modified by Saint-Gobain, Hutchinson and Pierson, fails to disclose wherein the side tracks are made of nylon, and where the rollers are made of aluminum or carbon fiber.
However, Miedema teaches a blueberry destemmer (see Fig. 1 for similar structure) wherein the side tracks (115; guide; see Fig. 3) are made of nylon (see Col. 5, lines 30-40), and where the rollers (90; see Fig. 7) are made of aluminum or carbon fiber (see Col. 4, lines 30-40).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the side tracks are made of nylon, and where the rollers are made of aluminum or carbon fiber on the on the palletizer head of Bhardwaj, in view of Saint-Gobain, Hutchinson and Pierson, as taught by Miedema, for strength and lightness (see Col. 4, lines 30-40).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654