DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Journal of Organometallic Chemistry, 2000, 606(2), 112-124 (herein “Laine”).
As to claims 1-3 and 6: Laine describes complexes (see formulas 10-11 in Scheme 1 on p. 113) that are according to the presently recited Formulas 3 and 3A.
As to claims 7-9: Laine further discloses polymerization of norbornene using the complexes (see section 2.4 and Table 5).
As to claim 10: Laine further discloses the cocatalyst MAO (see Table 5).
As to claim 13: Laine further discloses the solvent dichloromethane (see section 3.4).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Journal of Coordination Chemistry, 2014, 67(13), 2312-2329 (herein “Kim”).
As to claims 1-4: Kim describes a complex (see formula L5PdCl2 at the bottom right of Scheme 1, section 3.1, p. 2320) that is according to the presently recited Formulas 3 and 1D.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Laine in view of Polymer, 1998, 39(25), 6501-6511 (herein “Charpentier”).
The discussion set forth above regarding Laine with respect to base claims 1, 7, and 10 is incorporated here by reference. As set forth above, Laine describes a method according to claim 10. Laine’s method includes the cocatalyst methylaluminoxane (MAO; see section 3.4 and Table 5).
Laine does not disclose the presently recited cocatalysts.
Charpentier describes various aspects of aluminoxanes (see the abstract). Charpentier discloses that modified methylaluminoxane (MMAO) has the advantages over conventional MAO of high solubility in both aliphatic and aromatic solvents and a longer shelf-life (see the paragraph bridging pp. 6502-6503).
In light of Charpentier, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use modified methylaluminoxane in place of the cocatalyst methylaluminoxane described in Laine in order to take advantage of its solubility and longer shelf-life. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed Laine’s polymerization using modified methylaluminoxane in place of methylaluminoxane.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be allowable if written in independent form.
Conclusion
/RICHARD A. HUHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764